Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars88
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$16.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 18, 2007
Mythology is another addition to the Ologies series of books. This book has been written from the perspective of a historian, with comments of a man searching for artifacts. Mythology is a great read as an introduction into Greek mythology. The stories are exciting and to the point without needing to dig through an entire Epic story. This book is great for kids or adults hoping for a little inspiration into the Greek myths of the past. If you are already an Ology fan, it's a great book to add to the collection.
0Comment51 of 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2008
This book is about greek mythology, it's filled with pockets and fold out stories on almost every page.
You'll learn new things on each page you read! On the sides of the pages there is a story about a greedy
treasure hunter. The book is big and easy to read with very nice illustrations. I've read the whole series and
I would place this one in the middle. It isn't as good as the dragon and wizardology books, but it's better
than the egypt and pirateology.

Robert, 10 years old.
22 comments67 of 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2007
Again this Christmas I purchased 5 copies of an 'ology book--this time it was Mythology. I am amazed each year that it is possible to buy a book this charming and this well put-together for such a small amount of money. My grandchildren now have all the books in the series thus far and I anticipate buying 'ology books for MANY years to come. Truth is, I buy them so I can have one too. The little secret pockets with treasures, the tiny "books within a book," the fold-out maps and the surprises on every page just get better and better. Where can you find "real" dragon scales? Why, in the Dragonology book, of course. And "real" gold powder from an ancient tomb in Egypt?? in the Egyptology book! These are books to be kept and treasured. And did I mention that you can learn the Dragon language in Dragonology? Wouldn't that be nice to know if they ever came back to surprise us???
11 comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2008
I really like Greek mythology and have read some books on it,so for anyone who is thinking of buying the book Mythology,I recommend also buying books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series,by Rick Riordan. They are about a boy who discovers his father is a Greek god and the adventures he has. As for Mythology, I think it is a great source for information on the ancient Greeks, and highly recommend it.

Ella, age 9
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2009
These are her thoughts about the book. She enjoyed the unusual construction of the book, including its little pockets and prizes and other surprises scattered throughout. The "pop up" features were especially entertaining. The colorful pictures were nice, especially those of the Greek gods. There is also a card game included (along with an instruction book) that she enjoys playing.Mythology (Ologies)
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
This book is incredible. It was required for my Mythology class in college and it is by far the most enjoyable book I have ever purchased for a class. My kids love looking at it and having it read to them. Just a fun fun book. It is also very informative.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My first grader has recently become interested in mythology after listening to the story of the winged horse, Pegasus. Seeing that this was offered at a great price here on Amazon, I promptly purchased it, and it has been such a joy to peruse the pages of this wonderful book with my daughter. The book itself is attractively bound, and has a lovely aquamarine color with embellishments on the front, and depicts Hercules killing the Hydra.

Written in the form of a mystery, the book purports to be a facsimile of a book that was used by a certain John Oro to contact the Greek Gods for his own benefit, and which results in ill-fated consequences. Lavishly illustrated, the book begins with an introduction to mythology and contains short stories of well-known Greek myths such as the story of King Midas and his Golden Touch, an excellent antique-looking map of ancient Greece, together with a genealogical table of the gods, monsters, and heroes of ancient Greece.

This is followed by pages on the creation of the gods; monsters and mythical beasts (contains a little insert which depicts the various serpents, as well as a specimen of the Golden Fleece); the origins of mankind (a pop-up of Pandora's box is included here); Zeus and Hera (with an insert containing 'sacred' oak leaves that can be used as an oracle); Poseidon and the sea (with a really abbreviated version of The Odyssey); Hades and the underworld (with a replica of an ancient obol); Ares, Aphrodite, and Hephaestus (with a golden replica of a death mask imprint); Apollo, Hermes, and Dionysus (with knowledge cards of the Gods of Olympus); Athena, Artemis, and Hestia (has lovely illustrations of the three Goddesses); Heracles and the Greek Heroes (and large illustration of the Cretan Labyrinth); and, the Trojan Horse.

At the back of the book there are some note paper to take notes on, as well as a feather quill ballpoint pen. This is an excellent value for a young child eager to learn about the vast stories contained in Greek mythology and makes an excellent introduction to the subject.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2010
Ologies are a way to inspire learning and interest, and this is a great Ology. It includes a fun 3-player card game, the signature pop-ups/pull-outs, a short Greek alphabet handbook, gorgeous illustrations, and a good mix of long and short mythological stories. I was a little bummed about some of the themes and stories from Greek mythology that were missing from the book, and some topics get nothing more than a mysterious introduction. The 8 year old that I purchased it for absolutely loved it, and was able to comprehend the information. I would recommend this to anyone buying a gift for a child aged 7-13.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
Just like the other books from the Ologies series we own, my kids have spent hours reading the narrative and exploring all the pockets and flaps in this book. Beautiful illustrations, too. Hey, anything that gets the kids to pass up yet another SpongeBob marathon makes me happy.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2008
Okay, so the book is not as comprehensive as Edith Hamilton, but it is such a beautiful book. Plus, it is a fun way to introduce your kids to mythology, and not just Greek mythology. Would highly recommend this book to mythology lovers. We just love the ology books.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse