Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth New Age/Electronica
I am not a particularly big fan of Deep Forest though I do enjoy a bit of Enigma. I found Mythos to be smooth and relaxing with a very slight touch of darkness. What is really most impressive is the sheer technical skill of the group. The guitar is flawless and the electronic soundscapes are imaginative. My only complaint is that occassionally the vocals interfere with...
Published on January 3, 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rich Classical Melodies(Light on Tribal Rhythms)
This releases' liner notes promise "rich classical melodies with African tribal rhythms and traditional Oriental and Middle Eastern tones to create a sound that is unique, otherworldly, and elegant". World Beat and ethnic lovers take note, you might be let down. While it certainly has some nice music, "otherworldly" is kind of stretching it a bit...
Published on September 27, 2002 by Douglas J. Hultsman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth New Age/Electronica, January 3, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Sunny and not-so-sunny California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
I am not a particularly big fan of Deep Forest though I do enjoy a bit of Enigma. I found Mythos to be smooth and relaxing with a very slight touch of darkness. What is really most impressive is the sheer technical skill of the group. The guitar is flawless and the electronic soundscapes are imaginative. My only complaint is that occassionally the vocals interfere with the mood.
My favorite tracks on this album are the darkly spectral ones like "Sirens" and "the Odessy" and the simple yet haunting ones like "Introspection"
It took a few sessions in my CD player to absorb the delicious layers of music but it is now one of my favorite albums and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice relaxing backround music, February 28, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
Someone actually gave me a copy of this cd that didn't have the "similar to Enigma/Delerium/Deep Forest" sticker on it that I later saw attributed to it. I'd say it's the closest in sound to Delerium as both bands are Canadian, except I like Mythos *much* more than Delerium (although I still prefer Enigma to any of them, ranking Mythos to the same liking as Deep Forest). It has a more classical and gypsy feel to it with beautifully blended exotic vocals - nice atmospheric but not very intense music.
Mythos however, is perfect backround music for reading, taking a bubble bath, a romantic dinner, or meditating as a opposed to more energizing activities like Deep Forest is more appropriate for.
Highley reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberating New Age Music, October 4, 2002
By 
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
The two Vancouver born musicians behind the group Mythos, keyboardist/pianist Bob D'Eith and guitarist Paul Schmidt, have created an album of puuuuuure bliss! Sure it might be mellow new age music but its got more of a melodic intent than similar groups like Amethystium, Tangerine Dream and Mehdi. It's mellow enough to sleep to, yes, but it's also something you can blare your stereo to with some heavy bass and percussion parts. I think that this album is wonderfully balanced between smooth instrumentals and lush, aural soundscapes that commonly feature mind-blowing vocal performanes by soprano/alto singers Annette Ducharme, Christine Duncan and Jennifer Scott. Paul Schmidt plays the guitar on songs like "La Cathedral" while Bob D'Eith plays the keyboard/piano on songs like "Motif" and "Introspection", which gives the album a classical yet sensual feel. It's on songs like "November" and, especially for me, the breathtaking "Planinata" that Mythos displays the true force of their talents. "The Odyssey" even gives the album a touch of the gothique with spanish guitar strumming and Gregorian/Mors Syphilitica-style singing. Towards the middle of the song, however, the vibe turns entirely into something you'd hear from Tangerine Dream.

Another stunning track is "Sirens", which sounds awfully alike to the song "Siren's Whispering" by Vangelis, with gorgeous, spine-tingling operatic vocals that soar over a hypnotic yet chilling classical beat. Another personal favorite is "The Nile", which has a slight Egyptian world edge to it... I also like the subtle female cooing on the closing track, "Paradox".
Mythos may not be as effectively dynamic or as rememberable as Enigma or Govinda but they're certainly a joy to listen to.
I highly recommend this to euphoric new age fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in music maximized, the Mythos way., August 12, 2004
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
Mythos..the name suggests the mystical. Infact that's the essence of this wonderful collection of sublime and subtle artistic expression. This is a compilation of 16 pieces of music which through a delicate and thoughtful balance of soulful guitar, haunting piano, nicely placed keyboard sounds and soothing Celtic female vocals with a enya like feel to the vocals evoke gothic soundscapes.

I always believe a useful review is one which allows you have a feel for the product being reviewed. So at the expense of being a bit verbose and long, below is my track-by-track full blooded thoughts on each track. Some evoke in me a highly personal acoustic soundscape, but this will be my own personal mental ambience, which may or may not give an of idea whether you will like this CD or not.

1) Brazil - Gothic keyboards give that ghostly edge to the music and the guitar bring some cheer into this gloomy gothic ambience before we get the female vocals singing witch like vocals.

2) June - A simple breezy crisp guitar coupled with a keyboards in the background with the cooing female vocals. Anyone will fall in love with this the first time they hear it.

3) Sunless sea - This is a piano dominated track with prominent electronic percussion. It creates in me a feeling of gothic tragedy and calmness at the same time. Like something bad is going to happen and you cant do anything about. An intense foreboding before the death to come.

4) November - The guitar here had got a sunny feeling to it like you are on beach. Very cheerful mood. The guitar tune is so lovely with the cooing and the middle-ages kind of vocals which has that earthy village Irish folksong kind of touch to it. Beautiful crystalline guitars.

5)Planinata - Echoing folksy vocals. lyrical guitar phrase. Nice beats and percussion.

6)Le Cathedral - Pure guitar solo in the classical vein. Reminds me of Bach's solo concerto pieces. It's got that baroque feel to it as the music is very fast and played with good virtuosity.

7) The Odyssey - This one gives you this gothic "Lord of the rings" kind of feel. Chants which feel like black magic chants or some evil demonic sacrificial chants are being sung in the background. All the while virtuoso guitar playing accentuates the black and gloomy feel to this piece. Dread and oncomming doom is depicted in this piece.

8) Angel's weep - The angels weeping is depicted by the soft wailing aria like vocals with airy guitars, and dollops of scarce carefully placed piano notes. When I listen to this piece I feel I am walking into the face of a strong cool breeze on a beach with the sun just about to set casting a beautiful twilight on the beach. The female does smart things with here voice box, hitting real high notes.

9) The Nile- An amazing piece which although is named the Nile, which suggests an Egyptian flavor actually turns out to be an India raga played on guitar accompanied by percussive beats

10) Motif - Short and nice piano piece which can fit right into the concert hall as a piano romanza. This piece has a very strong Yanni feel to it. Superb.

11) Sirens - A pure Aria in the classical sense with the by now very palatable Mythos musical background. Watch out for the passage on the guitars just after and before the aria passage is repeated. This guitar scoring is beau. And then this same scoring is repeated note for note on the piano/keyboard. Beautiful !!!

12) Prelude - Like the "Le cathedral", this one is pure solo guitar fit. watch out for the fast guitar frills. There is a fugue like effect here as the guitar frills overlay the continuous single guitar theme going on behind giving the music that dense wavy feel to the music. This music is pure impressionistic music - kind of like, classical Debussy.

13) Introspection - gentle and beautiful piano piece. This is fit to be the andante movement of a classical piano concert. Watch out for the quick piano section where variation on the central them is undertaken.

14) Evolution - Starts of with birds chirping in the jungle. Very effervescent fizzy sound. Kind of like space age sounding. Nice cosmic ambience.

15) Premonition - cool vocals and nice piano work.

16) Paradox - The best track to end this compilation. At times feels gothic, at times sunny. Nice piano phrase interspersed with crystalline guitar with the beautiful female cooing.

Also the art work is strikingly novel and which sets just the right mystical atmosphere before listening to this CD.All most all the tracks on this CD are likeable the first time you hear them, as they all have this common haunting "mythos" feel to it.

If you are an ambient music fan, then Mythos has got to be on your collection.

Vikram
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrancing Canadian New Age, October 17, 2001
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
I was first introduced to Mythos through the short-lived Canadian television series "Due South" which featured not one but two spinoff soundtrack CDs of Canadian talent. Mythos' "November" was on the second Due South CD and several of the songs from "Mythos" were used in various fourth-season episodes of "Due South."
Mythos reminds me of Enigma, Sarah Brightman's "Dive" album, Gregorian, Deep Forest, Yanni, Vangelis, and Delerium. Mysterious choirs, floating guitar solos, prominent synth drumbeats, and multiple echo effects make you feel like you've just discovered another sonic universe full of mystery. There is an undercurrent of mystery and melancholy on some of the songs such as "November" and "Angels Weep."
The female vocals are gorgeous and angelic. To me this album seems a natural extension of the synth work done on Sarah Brightman's "Dive" album, which included tracks such as "Siren", which very closely paralleled the "Sirens" track on "Mythos." Both albums are ocean-themed, featuring soothing, wavelike melodies and ethereal sopranos.
This is Canadian New Age at its best. It never feels like forced "ethnic" music or beats, as do Deep Forest albums. The tracks flow smoothly into the next. I agree that it IS sometimes difficult to distinguish between the songs or to even recall a specific melody, but I use this CD for relaxation, not for choosing Juno Awards. And taken on that basis this is a wonderful CD and introduction to Mythos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Searching for soul expansion, October 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
What made me listen to this c.d. was a little sticker on the front saying it was similar to Deep Forest and Enigma. Too often the new age category is filled with some guy that likes his piano a little too much and throws a picture of a forest on his c.d. cover. That is not new age, Mythos is. Tracks 2 and 3 are particular favorites. Sunless Sea is a darker, more enchanting song than many other "new age" songs attempt to be. Not too much piano and plenty of soul make this a c.d. I wish I owned. If you know of any other bands similar to Mythos, please email me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy to own it!, September 22, 2000
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
I was initially interested in this album simply because of the artwork on the cover (I'm a fan of the artist Gil Bruvel, whose work is featured). Listening to the samples and viewing the other reviews on this page helped me to step out on a limb and buy the album for myself. And I'm so very glad I did.
It is a good album, as others have said, for background music. It works well while driving, cleaning the house, working on the computer, or while eating dinner. I do see a lot of similarities to Enigma (as other's have also stated), but I do find the music quite different. Engima has more of a techno-feel to it and the vocals are much stronger. Plus, I like the inclusion of guitar in this music.
If you like piano, guitar and the style of Enigma, you will probably enjoy this CD too. Also, the track "The Nile" would make a very good Middle Eastern (Belly) dance song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Age Fan's Must Have, July 29, 2005
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
This CD is so amazing from front to back that you simply must add it to your collection. It is cohesive with a common theme, but is diverse throughout. It is haunting at times, but that adds to the moody flavor of the album. It can touch deep places in your soul, and you can be carried away by the moving melodies and otherworldly vocals. For the connoisseur of fine new age music, as well as people just starting out. Mythos is definitely a good place to start. I highly recommend their other titles too. They are downright enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top five CDs in my collection, February 23, 2000
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of Mythos before, but the sticker claimed it resembled Enigma and Delerium, so I couldn't say no. It was one of the best impulse buys I'd ever made. The whole album is entrancing! "Brazil", "June", and "Paradox" are among the best songs. Sit alone or with a special someone in the dark with candles when you pop this one in. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complex, captivating, moving, entrancing, November 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mythos (Audio CD)
A brilliant combination of piano, guitar and nonlyrical vocals. This is new age music at its best. I've owned the C.D. for several months and still listen to it several times per week. It's good for listening with headphones in the dark. And because it's so captivating it's also good for taking your mind off exhaustion if you listen while working out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mythos
Mythos by Mythos
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.