Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to open our eyes
As early as elementary school we are taught the war was fought over the "peculiar institution." Unfortunately this falsehood is accepted for a number of reasons 1.) It fits our soundbite intellects because it's a short, simple explanation 2.) It's gratifying to the guilt complex of the liberal establishment in academia 3.) It glorifies our desire to make our...
Published on March 4, 2004

versus
20 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The slaves LOVED being slaves
The slaves LOVED being slaves. And their owners were very gentle and kind, and went to church a lot.
... end of book.

OK ... now you don't have to buy this "gem". . . . Your're welcome.
Published on April 8, 2011 by Constitutional Lawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to open our eyes, March 4, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
As early as elementary school we are taught the war was fought over the "peculiar institution." Unfortunately this falsehood is accepted for a number of reasons 1.) It fits our soundbite intellects because it's a short, simple explanation 2.) It's gratifying to the guilt complex of the liberal establishment in academia 3.) It glorifies our desire to make our government an idol worthy of our worship and service 4.) It ennobles the real father of our American empire, Abraham Lincoln
UNFORTUNATELY IT IS NOT TRUE
Irish-born Confederate General Patrick Cleburne said during the war, "If the South should lose, it means that the history of this heroic struggle will be written by the enemy. That our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers, will be impressed by all of the influences of history and education to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects for derision."
This is certainly the case now. Northern revisionists have distorted the causes for which the southern soldier fought and died during the horrible conflict. In an attempt to justify and cover up the North's true motives for waging the war they have indoctrinated young students in the South with a biased and often inaccurate account of the War Between the States. The war was not fought for the perpetuation or emancipation of slaves. The conflict was a struggle between those who desired a confederation of independent and autonomous states to those who desired a strong federal government. Southerners only desired the rights which had been penned by their forefathers in the constitution. The southern soldier fought not to retain their slaves (93% of southerners owned no slaves at the start of the war), but for their independence. They believed they had the right to secede. Each state had of its own free will entered the Union. Should it not, if so desired, have the right to withdraw also. And, after all, had not America seceded from Britain?
The Declaration of Independence states that when the government ceases to draw its power from the consent of the governed that, "...it is the right of the people to abolish it, and to institute a new government..."
By 1861 the South was contributing 80% of the country's revenue through trade with Britian and recieving next to nothing in return. This, and the South's ever slipping grip on states' rights was what inspired the South to fight for its independenece. Now that we have covered the TRUE reasons for the War Between the States, lets look at a few facts...
1.) As mentioned earlier 93% of southern families owned no slaves at the outbreak of the war.
2.) Lincoln, in his inaugural address and throughout the war, stated that he had no desire to free the slaves and he felt he had, "no lawful right to do so." (inaugural speech)
3.) Were the slave states remaining in the Union fighting to abolish slavery, even as it flourished within their own borders?
3.) What slaves did the Emancipation Proclamation free? Hmmm...the slaves in the states of rebellion! Did Lincoln really expect the Confederacy to free the slave because he told them to? Why did he choose not to free the slaves in the territories? It was a shrewd political move to incite slave rebellions in the South and to discourage Europe from providing aid to the South.
4.) The glorious Unioin general U.S. Grant, and future president, owned slaves until the end of the war. He said concerning the war, "If I thought this war was to abolish slavery, I would resign my commission and offer my sword to the other side."
5.) After Lincoln's issue of the Emancipation Proclamation, whole regiments like the 101st Illinois refused to fight. Enlistments went down, desertions went up, and northerners were furious at Lincoln (emancipation meant millions of slaves would come north!).
6.) Modern historians now estimate that 13,000 blacks saw combat in the Confederate army. Thousands more served as cooks, teamsters, and body servants. Are we to believe that these men would fight to preserve the institution that kept them in bondage?
I could go on and on and refute the pittiful arguments that claim the war was fought over slavery. You have to take the responsibility to read and learn for yourself. Please don't take my word for it! Research the causes for yourself and read about black confederates. Don't be misled by ignorant people who have little knowledge or understanding of the war and its causes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important, eye-opening book, April 15, 2003
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
Slavery has received numerous arguments and coverages which have ultimately fostered a series of unjust myths about history, and historical data is used by Kennedy to reveal the truth behind these myths. From the commonly-held misconceptions about the history of slavery (it has existed since prehistoric times and persists today) to the acknowledgment that slavery has been used by all races around the world, Myths Of American Slavery provides an important and iconoclastic coverage which surveys social, political and even religious interactions with slavery issues. An important, eye-opening book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Information for a New Generation, July 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
In the illiterate minds of today's rising generation, some of which are represented here, this is indeed startling and explosive news that goes against everything they've been taught. Nevertheless, much of what Kennedy reveals is old hat to "civil war" buffs and historians. (The lesson here is: Never get your facts from a text book.)

When I listen to today's black leaders demanding reparations, I just laugh, but it's a bitter laugh. Just how much would be enough to right the wrongs of American slavery? A hundred dollars per person of black ancestery? How about a thousand? Reparationists never say how much they want; they just say that any amount isn't enough, which leaves everyone in a quandry.

The "Christian" black activists who talk more about reparations and affirmative action than Christ, ignore the Bible's declarations that the children shall not pay for the misdeeds of their forebears. They are among the "vipers" and "hypocrites" who have perverted Christianity.

And by the way, has anyone heard of the Turks, Romans and Greeks, who carried away tens of thousands of people of all colors into slavery? Has anyone heard of Spartacus, the white slave and gladiator? And then there were the white cowboys who wandered off and found themselves doing forced labor at the point of a gun while men on horseback supervised. Then there was forced duty aboard ships. Many a landlubber with a few too many to drink woke up in the holds of ships already at sea.

The authors could have written more about how American slavery compared to other world slavery throughout the ages. The institution was failing in the South because what began to dawn on plantation owners is what's dawned on our greedy corporate heads today. Contracting out the work was cheaper. That way, they didn't have to feed them or look after their medical needs, they didn't have to build quarters in which to house the slaves. And if some of them didn't work hard, they could be fired and replaced with someone else who could.

We also know the complicity of black Africans in selling other tribesmen into slavery. Yada, yada, yada.

The bottom line is that Abraham Lincoln was a tyrant and a money grubber who believed in extreme taxation for extreme government. When he put his dragon's hand upon the Bible and swore to uphold the Constitution, the 10th Amendment melted away. The story in this book is only a partial story. I recommend the excellent book, The Real Lincoln, by Thomas DiLorenzo, an Italian-American Yankee who found the roots of America in the Confederacy and the fight for independence.

Buy this book, then read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master Slave, May 30, 2004
By 
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
I agree. The Civil War created the foundation for the New Slavery, called Federal Slavery. Modern American slaves are victims to more confiscation than 19th century slaves.
I do not have to agree with all author Kennedy's points. Slavery was certainly a partial cause shown by reading Jefferson Davis's first inaugural speech in the 'new' confederate union. It had slavery all over it. But agreed the primary cause was taxation, likewise with most wars. This history of the world is one group living off the labor of another. I love how Kennedy speaks the truth here.
Even today, we are forced to choose between being a Slave or a Master. Parents, teach your children not to be the Slave. Books like this give profound historical insight. The game never ends.
This book further highlights that the Master & Slave relationship has not, and will not go away until people, black and white, have the courage to leave the modern Federal plantation. When forced, like in the USA, choose the master but embrace liberty. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally THE TRUTH!!!!, November 28, 2005
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
After decades of listening to the lies of the terrorist minority groups, otherwise known as the "Klan with a tan", finally the truth comes out! And it's about time! Kennedy has the guts to reveal, for the first time in a long time, the actual circumstances of slavery in America! This should be required reading in every one of Mr. Lincoln's Government Schools in the land!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, July 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
I love this book. For so many years I've always heard and read that my ancestors should have to bear the stain of slavery and I'd always suspected that there was another side to the story.Finally somebody sets the record straight.
Mr. Kennedy writes a well researched book that tells both sides of the story.While not absolving the southern states of any blame he merely points out the part of slavery that you don't read about in your modern 8th grade history books.He also correctly shows that there was much more to the War Between The States than the good guys and the bad guys fighting over freeing slaves.Now I can argue with my Yankee relatives with much more confidence !!!!
Regards, David C. Eason
Lafayette, Louisiana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening and depressing, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Extremely well-researched, and filled with passion and sorrow. Sorrow for the loss of the freedom of the South, but also for the loss of ALL of our freedom (amazingly presaged by the writings of St George Tucker the author quotes extensively) in the (still continuing transition of the United States from a federation of free states to an empire. Many other books have been written on the subject, among the, Ledbetter's "America, the forgotten history" series, and Tom DiLorenzo's books on Lincoln -- many other references are suggested in the review by "Seven".

By the way, it is interesting that NONE of the negative reviews of this book offer any facts (or studies) to support their disdain, but only partial regurgitation of the propaganda they learned in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Myths of American Slavery, August 6, 2013
By 
John Rogers (Kansas City, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
Another true review of the situation of American slaves. I highly recommend reading this for information you will never have seen anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True History, April 6, 2009
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
For anyone that thinks that War between 1861-1865 was about slavery and thinks that lincoln was a man of high morale, ethics, and equality, this is a real eye-opener. It reveals well documented facts that disprove the myths, half-truths, and out right lies that we have ALL been taught through the public school systems, Hollywood, and the media. It should be read by people from all states....South, North, East, and West. Both liberals and conservatives should take this book in. Im sure those that that want to discredit this book are the people that do Not want to admit the truth. As others stated, this book in NO WAY defends slavery. It opens the Truth of what the Feds have hid behind for a 140 years. In this day and age, even through the brainwashing it is ludicrous that people are blind enough to think that War was over slavery.....ESPECIALLY when one starts studying the facts. People 'ignorant' to True history still do not want to believe the facts even when their 'facts' do not add up. This book is Not writtin as an uneducated opinion writing. It is a Very well researched and Highly documented work of true history. It should be used to educate people......regardless of where they live, race, or political views. It is a shame this book is Not used in schools....and until State sovereignty is returned, it probably never will. 5 STARS ALL THE WAY. A Must Read For ALL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 13, 2006
This review is from: Myths of American Slavery (Hardcover)
Its amusing to see how the pseudo-intellectuals try to hold on to thier old Marxist 1960's world views in light of new evidence coming to light that discredits the official versions of BS history we were taught by the civil rights movement. Get a life as the pendulum is starting to swing in the other direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Myths of American Slavery
Myths of American Slavery by Walter Donald Kennedy (Hardcover - January 31, 2003)
$25.95 $21.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.