Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased With This Release
For all of the fans that have been waiting for a NASCAR game with a very realistic and challenging career made, this is the one. I have played NASCAR games for many years over many different consoles and I must say that this is by far my favorite. I commend ETX and Deep Silver along with all developers who played a part in creating this game.
I find the career mode...
Published 5 months ago by Ethan Bryant

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a Beta
First, I am a gamer that loves racing, especially racing simulation games, and I cannot express how disappointed I am in this particular game. I have played the EA NASCAR games and did thoroughly enjoy the most recent Activision release, Inside Line. It felt like it was trying to be a good simulation of NASCAR racing, but had some bugs. I was willing to overlook those...
Published 3 months ago by Stephen Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a Beta, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First, I am a gamer that loves racing, especially racing simulation games, and I cannot express how disappointed I am in this particular game. I have played the EA NASCAR games and did thoroughly enjoy the most recent Activision release, Inside Line. It felt like it was trying to be a good simulation of NASCAR racing, but had some bugs. I was willing to overlook those issues as it was an early attempt for a new company making a NASCAR game. Unfortunately, they have not only failed to improve their offering, but have taken a step back.

First off, the AI, which was arguably the weakest point in the past Activision games, has seemingly gotten worse. While I do appreciate they tried to make the AI more aggressive, it seems to result in less of "putting their nose under you / giving a slight bump into a corner" effect and more them simply racing as if you didn't exist. On restarts occasionally, the car just above you will wobble back and forth. I thought originally it was simply them creating AI spinning their tires, but when it happened 3 times on subsequent restarts to the exact same car relative to my position in the starting lineup, it's obvious it's an AI failure.

The game modes are almost entirely the same. Career mode has gotten a bit of a polish, but the other modes show almost no effort into improving. One of my favorite modes, offline multiplayer racing with a full season, including standings, is not present, and with the marginally improved, yet still buggy and not satisfying online racing modes, one would think they would try to at least make offline split screening better.

One of my favorite features from the older EA games makes it's return, still with the same lack of thinking that made me hate the mode on the prior game, the highlights section. Re-racing scenarios that actually occurred from the past and current seasons sounds exciting, but the mode feels like a marketing department created it. They tout on the product that they use telemetry data to determine where the cars were at that point on the track, so when you race it is exactly the same as it was on television. This may sound exciting, but you quickly realize how entirely awful the concept is. When EA created the scenario mode, the AI would take over driving, so even though the scenario starts the same way, depending on how you drive the AI is forced to compensate and each try is different. With using telemetry, it does not matter what you do, the cars are simply on a given path and cannot be moved. I attempted at one track to cut an entire corner, turned to the right, and hit another car at essentially a 90 degree angle, not a glancing blow but my entire momentum going into his driver door. The impact threw my car completely backwards, towards the infield, and his car did not move in the slightest. In another example, more depressing since I was actually involved in the race, I was going down a straightaway at Indy. I was alongside another car to the inside, and he was directly behind another car. Apparently in the real race, he did not have anyone beside him because, halfway down the straightaway, he pulled out to pass, throwing my car completely into the inside wall and ruining the two prior laps I had put into the race. The "avoid the wreck" highlights are completely ruined as each car does exactly the same thing every single time, making avoiding the wreck a matter of two runs. First run to see the path, second run to take the path. I can remember EA's highlights where, even though the car would wreck at the same time each trial, the AI driving would cause different things to happen, leading to organically fun avoidance tests.

Finally, the graphics feel more "arcade-y" than the old series. The colors seem to bright, the bloom and spectacular lighting effects too intensified. I've been to races, both day and night, and the colors are not that vivid. I understand wanting a game to look good, but when you are trying to imitate real life, there is something to be said for discretion and subtlety.

The few positives I can find in this are mostly inconsequential. The main menu, rather than feeling like a lazy susan in the middle of a garage, now is condensed into one menu, making for much nicer navigation. The car views now include a view which has the camera in the exact same position as the view in which the wheel is shown, but with the wheel removed. This is different from the closer to the windshield view, which is still present, and is a welcome addition, although one wonders why "remove wheel" wasn't simply a graphics option. The career mode is deeper, although certainly not to a level of depth I would expect from a game that, based on it's split screen and online multiplayer disappointments, seems begging to be a single player racing game.

Overall, I would be ashamed to have my company's name on this particular product. If I put this into my Xbox and was not told anything about it, I would have guessed it to be a beta version. If you haven't played an Activision NASCAR game before and really, really want to, I can't say I wouldn't give it a go, but I would recommend Inside Line still. If you have played Inside Line, this will feel like a bit of a step backwards. The entire game has a feeling of a college student who has taken someone else's research paper, tried to copy it in their voice, but made multiple spelling and grammar mistakes, and turned it in. They took last year's game and somehow, with a cheat sheet to work from, somehow made it marginally worse. I am typically not this harsh on reviewing a game, but in this case it is particularly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars After their 4th Installment, you would think they have it right, not forget to copy stuff out of "The Inside Line's" features..., March 6, 2014
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Fifty dollars for all this: Roster Update, somewhat and last years paint schemes except for Daytona 2014, many rule updates are not in nor new chase format. The Game itself lags very badly Offline on Single player as well as Online Multiplayer. Career and Single player constantly freezes and you have to dashboard it. Makes you wonder how much of the game is actually on the disc. Online is horrible, I have been in multiple online races with all default cars and with custom cars and they both lag and players ghost constantly, I have been in a couple of league races with 5-6 other players who all have great connection speeds and ended up being on the track by myself while they were on another track but same location could all hear each other but not seeing the same thing on track. I ended up lapping everyone for 31 laps and winning, while they said I DNF'd and someone else won. Very Frustrating. Other times, yellow flags come out and when it goes back to restart you have lost or gained 8-10 positions always online and offline you will be 40th or more even if you were still running 2nd and they all wrecked behind you. Career Mode is just plain jane and ok, many lags, game freezes and just generic stuff, EA's was much more in depth and their product had all the stuff. I constantly hear everyone complaining in Online multiplayer races this month wanting stuff this game lacks that EA actually had and was ahead of their time on, which is ironic as back then they didn't want all that. One of the things i would have really liked and should have been easy was to have your Race Setups carry over from last game if you owned it, instead of having to re-create all of them after hours of game play and establishment thereof. Hoping they fix these issues with the update (last one took 6 months to update in the Inside line and remember they laughed and said "Ha Ha, we already got your money" in the last comments in between release and first update) that was postponed till supposedly sometime after Phoenix race they had last said. Other than that and some other things its great to atleast have a Nascar game, but after 3 installments you would think they would have most of this corrected already and not loss stuff from The Inside line like Tire wear. Some online racers i have met have actually given up on the lame League racing (even missing actual schedule template) and are running private races instead or even more so many are heading back to Nascar The Inside Line to play and giving up on this till the updates come out. Heard that EA (1998-2009 Nascar) and Codemasters (Excellent F1 2013 series) are trying to get the contract in the near future, wonder if that's why they didn't bother doing as much and seemingly coping last years and updating roster somewhat and graphics. If Eutechnyx continues to lose sales like last two games and reviews i read they will give up license. I also hear which probably will happen. If that does happen EA or Codemasters will definitely bring a better game. It's so many positives if EA or Codemasters take the license. Just think about.
Better career mode
Better online
Nationwide and trucks
Better presentation
Better physics?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs a star lower then one for this game, March 13, 2014
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
these games keep getting worse. Seems as if there just trying to push out the same game over and over with nothing improved! Don't waist your money on this game. EA Sports did the Nascar games better so maybe buy one of them before over paying for this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased With This Release, February 18, 2014
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
For all of the fans that have been waiting for a NASCAR game with a very realistic and challenging career made, this is the one. I have played NASCAR games for many years over many different consoles and I must say that this is by far my favorite. I commend ETX and Deep Silver along with all developers who played a part in creating this game.
I find the career mode most improved over previous years and the graphics got better as well. The cars drive with more grip than on previous games and as tires wear, you begin to slide and overdrive corner entry more easily. The pit stops are spot on (around 13 sec) and the game can be set on easy thru challenging. The restarts are more realistic than ever before in that it's very easy for you to spin your tires (especially at the beginning of your rookie season when your car and equipment are very low end and your suspension is refurbished instead of stock or built in-house). This game does include the 2014 lineup of drivers and teams even though it's released before the Daytona 500 and the start of the '14 season..
Austin Dillon's #3 is in the game, along with #42 Kyle Larson, #7 Michael Annett, #4 Kevin Harvick, #41 Kurt Busch, and #78 Martin Truex Jr., along with the other drivers in their regular numbers with new 2014 paint schemes.

I am overall extremely happy with this release and I wish to encourage ETX and Deep Silver to continue making NASCAR games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good shipping, OK game., June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The game is alright. If you, like me, have never played a Nascar game, I wouldn't recommend this. But as a die hard Nascar fan that sucks at the game, I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this game is a ok, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Its runs ok for a while then the game actually shuts off my controller if it has no problems it is amazein
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be Patched, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This would be probably the best Nascar game out there since 06. But right now the game needs to be patched, it has Freezing Problems, Sound Issues, and sometimes the AI are harder than what Difficulty you put them on....The AI does run into you a lot, so you have to know what's around you. Sometimes you get stuck on the Loading Screens, but that's usually when your sound problems get to you. Some of the Art Designs on the cars are done poorly....just waiting for the patch now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NASCAR 14 Xbox 360, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I like the game a lot but the first day a received it the game was freezing up a lot. I had to take it in and get it resurfaced. that cost me money that I did not want to spend a bran new game that has never been used at all. this is the only thing that I did not like about my order. I would recommend the game to any Nascar fan. I have had two other orders that I have had to return as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a good game, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This was a good buy. Decent price. And it shipped very quickly. I bought it as a gift for my brother and he absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LoVe, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is exactly what my son wanted. He is busy with game & that means for piece & quiet in my house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360
NASCAR '14 - Xbox 360 by Deep Silver (Xbox 360)
$39.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.