Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: NBA Dynasty Series: Boston Celtics - The Complete History
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2004
The 5 disc set is well done with (6) great Celtic games in their entirity. Good to see two Celtic-Laker games from the '84 Finals, which was the greatest Finals series ever. Disc 1 has a good overview of the teams and championships from the 50 & 60's and 70's along with a segment on the Celtic-Laker rivalry in the '80's. Disc 2 has season ending compilations programs for the '81, '84 and '86 championship years.

Included:
'69 Finals Game 7 Celtics-Lakers (4th Qtr only)
'76 Finals Game 5 Celtics-Suns (greatest game ever played)
'81 East Conf Final-Game 7 Celtics-Sixers (Celts come back to win after being down 3-1)
'84 Finals Game 4 Celtics-Lakers
'84 Finals Game 7 Celtics-Lakers
'86 Finals Game 4 Celtics-Rockets
'87 East Conf. Finals Game 5 Celtics-Pistons (Bird steals the ball from an Isiah Thomas inbounds)
33 comments|116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2008
The other reviewers have said it all. There's not much to add.

I'd emphasize each disc, of the five in the set, has video on BOTH sides ... so we are talking about LOTS of highlights and full-length copies of games. It takes a whole "rainy day" to watch it.

DISC ONE
A-
INTRO
VIDEO: "THE CELTICS DYNASTY"
B-
VIDEO: BOSTON CELTICS: "A TRADITION OF GREATNESS"
THE CELTS ARE BACK: 1974 NBA PLAY-OFFS
THE GREATEST GAME EVER PLAYED: 1976 NBA PLAY-OFFS
RIVALRY RENEWED: 1984 NBA PLAY-OFFS

DISC TWO
A-
DYNASTY RENEWED: 1981 NBA PLAY-OFFS
1983-84 NBA SEASON: "PRIDE AND PASSION"
B-
SWEET SIXTEEN: 1986 NBA PLAY-OFFS
1986-87 NBA SEASON: "HOME OF THE BRAVE"
VIDEO: "SEARCHING FOR NUMBER 17"

DISC THREE
A-
1969 NBA FINALS: CELTICS V. LAKERS (GAME 7)
[4TH QUARTER/POST-GAME ONLY]
1976 NBA FINALS: CELTICS V. PHOENIX SUNS (GAME 5)
B-
1981 NBA EAST CONF FINALS: CELTICS V. SIXERS (GAME 7)

DISC FOUR
A-
1984 NBA FINALS: CELTICS V. LAKERS (GAME 4)
B-
1984 NBA FINALS: CELTICS V. LAKERS (GAME 7)

DISC FIVE
A-
1986 NBA FINALS: CELTICS V. ROCKETS (GAME 4)
B-
1987 NBA EAST CONF FINALS: CELTICS V. PISTONS (GAME 5)

My favorite segment of the entire series had to have been Game #7, as won by the Celts over the Lakers, in 1969, as Bill Russell and Sam Jones were retiring. You get 4th Quater and post-game only. As a grade-schooler, I was not allowed to stay up late enough, on a Monday night, to watch this game live from Los Angeles. In those days the networks lacked the "juice," to get weekday games from out west slotted into "prime time." That game may have tipped off at 10:30 p.m. EST -- way too late for me, then !! So I love seeing it now.

Pass the word ... the Celts are back !!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2011
I personally think that this Dynasty set is probably the best. I mean from a basketball fanatics standpoint the team in the 80's (The Cheif, Mchale, Bird, Ainge, Johnson) was one of the most selfless team minded basketball teams ever. Granted the Lakers at this same time had the same mentality it was just mesmerizing to see these guys battle it out. Not the fact that it has some old school footage as well. I do wish they put a bit of the Hawks/Celtics playoff games but i understand why they couldnt, it would have been quite alot of footage for one set. But the highlight is truly getting to see the 80's brawls between two of the greatest basketball teams ever assembled. I put this one in front of the Lakers Dynasty set only because it has a bit more valuable footage. A must buy for not only Celtics fans....but mostly for any basketball fan of any kind.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
basketball as it used to be--Cousy leading a fast break with Russell or Heinsohn trailing. Cousy may throw a pass over his head or behind his back to the trailing player because it is the best way to get the ball there. NOT for style points. A dunk was used as needed--up, in the hoop and back down. NOT for style. It still counted for two points. On offense, the ball moves quickly around to the open shooter, the shot goes up and it usually 10-12 seconds instead of the point guard dribbling, dribbling and dribbling then makes one pass and then a shot. THree other players stand around and watch. Now a team scoring 100 points is having a good offensive night even with the three point shot. In the time of the Celtics reign, 100 points might be an off night. A blocked shot by Russell would go to another Celtic, not smacked into the third row of seats and followed by chest pounding. These discs will show you how basketball should be played--five players working together, not the showtime, fundamentally poor, one-on-one nonsense call pro basketball today. They were really the good, old days--teamwork and fundamentals were a given. Get this five disk set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2009
As the sports DVD boom continues, the NBA shows it is head and shoulders above all the major professional sports in this field. While MLB and NHL DVD's give you the full games but lack bonus features; the NFL has also done this with the NFL teams and they started strong with the elite teams (Steelers, Packers, Cowboys, etc) they have watered it down and given less bang with your buck.

The NBA through NBA TV created "The Dynasty Series" and its continued excellence wins again with "The Boston Celtics"

When your purchase this set you get 5 dual discs (discs that have material on both sides) which allows you to have close to 22 hours of material.

If you purchase at Wal-Mart or hear at Amazon you will spend no more than $25-$30 for this set. That is a beyond a great deal. Unlike the competitor leagues this NBA series not only gives you documentaries but full games.

This set gives you the "Celtic Dynasty" which is an hour documentary on the Celtics rise to basketball supermacy. You get a bunch of other featurettes that concern Celtic playoff runs in the 1970's and 1980's.

What is the meat and potatos of this set is the games you receive the:

*1969 NBA Finals Game 7 Celtics-Lakers - 4th quarter only

*1976 NBA Finals Game 5 Celtics-Suns - the legendary game that went multiple OTs

*1981 NBA Eastern Conference Finals Game 7 Celtics-Sixers - Larry Bird matures and guides the Celtics to an Game 7 victory over Dr. J

*1984 NBA Finals Games 4 and 7 Celtics-Lakers - Bird and Magic's first meeting in the NBA Finals and you get 2 great games

*1986 NBA Finals Game 4 Celtics-Rockets - The Celtics steamroll the Twin Towers

*1987 NBA Eastern Conference Finals Game 5 Celtics-Pistons - Larry Bird steals the ball

If you are a new Celtics fan looking for material from their recent championship run with "The Boston 3-Party" you will be disappointed this is an older set, but if you love Celtics and know someone who enjoys great baseketball this is a must buy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2004
I own Larry Bird: Living Legend on DVD and bought this one for my uncle, who is also an avid Celtics fan. Im only 18 so I cant really appreciate as much the Celtics of old...Russel, Cousy, Heinson, Jonses, Cowens, Havlicek, etc., and Im probably too old to give a crap anymore about the "Pierce era," mostly b/c theyve sucked for so long, but it was the Larry era that really did it for me. I dont care who says what, Larry and Magic defined basketball. The 80's and perhaps early 90's was the greatest I've ever seen basketball get. And the '86 Celtics was the best team in NBA history. I personally havent seen the Celtics Dynasty DVDs but being that they include 7 past games, 5 of which are during the 80's, I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Like Red said, "I've been blessed to coach some of the greatest that ever played the game. But if I had to start a team today...the greatest player, and the one I'd take would be Larry Bird."
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2011
Here's the deal with box sets, they are overwhelming to watch let alone review. So, first off, Discs 1 and 2 are basically the former NBA championship videos converted to DVD. Great stuff, especially to see a bunch of the other teams (enjoyed brief glimpses of the KC-Omaha Kings or the Cavs with some serious yellow going on back then) and also to see those classic interview clips. One moot point is the music on the "Home of the Brave: 86/7 season" is so beyond Miami Vice cheesy, but it's about the only thing flawed in the whole setup. Seeing Kevin McHale hanging with Nils Lofgren in his hotel room is beyond bizarro, too. Don't ask...just watch the clip when it shows up.

You also have to see John Havlicek and Don Nelson dribbling through a Boston sporting goods store in a TV ad for the same in one of the '70s sections. The old clips of the '50s thru '70s were the best, and the quality is not bad given the technology of the time.

Discs 3 thru 5 are full games bar the 1969 Finals Game 7 which is just the 4th quarter of Celtics-Lakers, but who cares? Just to see Bill Russell vs. Wilt Chamberlain (and Jerry West and Elgin Baylor!) for even a 12-minute quarter was enough to satisfy. The choice of games is almost spot on. They don't just pick games from the Finals nor always the deciding game so you had someone who knows the right games to pick.

Having said that, the Rockets-Celtics Game 4 from the 1986 Finals was a kind of nothing game. They really needed to replace that with the famous Dominique Wilkins vs. Larry Bird mano a mano in the 1988 East SF, game 7 as after all there is never going to be an Atlanta Hawks box set...then again, who knew the Spurs would become a dynasty?

Anyway, for any basketball fan (bar maybe Lakers fans), this has plenty to keep you occupied for hours on end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
I was psyched to watch a classic game, it even included pre game stuff,but 30 minutes in the dvd started to crap out. It happened again with the second dvd I tried. I am too frustrated to try to watch the other DVD's. It's sad that there is no quality control on a the dvd's
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2010
The videos were outstanding quality given the games were over 25 years ago. Very hard to believe, but yes it's been that long ! The history of the team was interesting, as the celebratory videos from 81 and 86. The games they chose were pretty good, but I would've liked to have seen one or two more of the Pistons Eastern Conference championship, instead of two Finals games vs the Rockets. Those were good in that they won championships as a result, but we all know the Lakers games are classic, but those Celts-Pistons battles from the late 80's are sort of a forgotten gem. The one in the set is Game 7 from the 87 eastern finals...The one where Robert Parrish clocks Bill Laimbeer blatantly, and doesn't get called for it...Anyway, if you're a Celtics fan, this is a must have...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2005
I was very impressed with this compliation of Celtics history. I have been a fan since Bird's rookie year. The best part is the complete classic game footage. I can still hear the play by play voice of Dick Stockton calling those classic Celtic/Laker battles. I have been looking for these games for years and now am glad I have them. This is a must have for any basketball fan. If you want to see real basketball, unlike todays players, watch this collection of Celtic great games.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.