Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the day...
The Philadelphia 76ers are one of the original NBA teams and, as this box set so amply illustrates, have had an impressive roster of players through their legacy, from when they were known as the Warriors, up to the present with Allen Iverson. Several documentaries and featurettes explore various aspects of the team's legacy, its triumphs and star players...
Published on August 15, 2005 by Cubist

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but lacking
When I heard a DVD collection of this sort was being done on the 76ers, I was excited. I was hoping that I'd be able to see vintage games of the 1967 76ers (a team which I'm much too young to have seen play) in their entirety. I had read and heard a lot about the aforementioned team and was eager to see just how good they were.

After I saw that no complete...
Published on January 27, 2006 by B. Riemann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but lacking, January 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
When I heard a DVD collection of this sort was being done on the 76ers, I was excited. I was hoping that I'd be able to see vintage games of the 1967 76ers (a team which I'm much too young to have seen play) in their entirety. I had read and heard a lot about the aforementioned team and was eager to see just how good they were.

After I saw that no complete games were included of the 67 team, I was disappointed, but decided to buy the collection anyway. I figured that since it was a team that many people consider to be the best ever, there would at the very least be some detailed account of their championship run ranging from half an hour to an hour in length. Instead, there are a total of little more than 10 minutes of footage regarding the 1967 team scattered throughout this collection, and much less than that when you consider how much footage is repeated (different features on the team show the same interviews and highlights...I must have seen Wilt Chamberlain shoot the same finger roll over Nate Thurmond at least three times).

While it is possible that the NBA lost some of it's old film and simply had very little material to work with (which may explain why there are no complete games of the 1967 team), it is still inexcusable and they definitely could have done more. MUCH more time is devoted in this collection to the Charles Barkley and Allen Iverson eras (which produced no championships and were mostly mediocre). It shouldn't be this way.

With that said, I found the coverage of the early 80s teams to be pretty thorough. Two classic games in their entirety as well as an hour long video account of the 1983 season and short features on rivalries with the Lakers and Celtics at this time as well as short features on Julius Erving, Maurice Cheeks and Moses Malone. You can't complain TOO much about a purchase that allows you to see game 7 of the 1982 conference finals (with Andrew Toney demonstrating why he was the Boston Strangler, and the famous "Beat LA" chant at the end).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the day..., August 15, 2005
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
The Philadelphia 76ers are one of the original NBA teams and, as this box set so amply illustrates, have had an impressive roster of players through their legacy, from when they were known as the Warriors, up to the present with Allen Iverson. Several documentaries and featurettes explore various aspects of the team's legacy, its triumphs and star players.

There is a treasure trove of vintage footage of players like Wilt Chamberlain and Dr. J in action. Also covered are the classic, individual rivalries, like Chamberlain vs. Boston Celtics' Bill Russell (who jokes, "I never could stop him. But I could put up some speed bumps. That's the best I could come up with."), and franchise ones, like the long-standing grudge matches between the Celtics and the Lakers. Back in the day, these teams played tough, grueling matches with heartbreaking defeats and exhilarating wins on both sides.

Also included are brief looks at key seasons in the team's history, such as the 1966-67 season when they defeated the Celtics and the 1982-83 season when they won the championship. There are also mini-profiles of some of their legendary alumni, like Dr. J and his simply breathtaking style of play. Some of the shots he made seemingly defied the odds (and gravity).

Fans of the Sixers will not be disappointed by this box set. It features a nice mix of team history and vintage games that will have one waxing nostalgic for the glory days when the team was one of the greatest in the NBA.

The "1982 Eastern Conference Finals, Game 7" allows one to watch, in its entirety, the exciting game where the Sixers defeated the Celtics in Boston to go onto the NBA finals.

The "1983 NBA Finals, Game 4" is a very exciting and highly emotional game where Dr. J and the Sixers swept the Lakers to win the championship in one of the all-time great match-ups.

The "1990 Eastern Conference Semifinals, Game 3" sees Barkley score an impressive 34 points to help his team defeat the Chicago Bulls.

A.I. tops Barkley in the "2001 NBA Finals, Game 1" when he scores an astounding 48 points to hand Shaquille O'Neal and the Lakers an upset in overtime.

Finally, as an added bonus is the already released Iverson DVD entitled, "The Answer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr J gets his title, July 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
This is a 6 disc set of the Philadelphia 76ers and the team's greatest moments. Disc 1 is the history lesson part. Various players and successful seasons are profiled. Disc 2 thru 6 are individual games presented in their interity. Darryl "Chocolate Thunder" Dawkins does the hosting for disc 1.

The first disc is basically old material already released during the VHS days. Stuff you get include 76ers A History, rivalries with the Lakers and Celtics, 66-67/75-76/82-83/00-01 seasons, today's team, and Sixers greats(Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving, Darryl Dawkins, Maurice Cheeks, Moses Malone, Charles Barkley, and Allen Iverson).

When you see clips from the 66-67 season, its amazing how much the racial make-up of the league had changed in a few short years. It's funny watching highlights from the 82-83 season. The way the players and fans looked(uniform, clothes, hair, makeup, etc) ranges from funny to frightening. The 00-01 season was all about Allen Iverson along with then Sixers president Pat Croche. Croche is one excitable dude.

I thoroughly enjoyed the 82 Conference Finals game 7 at the Celtics along with the game 4 sweep of the Showtime Lakers in 83. I have never seen these games before, and although I am not a Sixers fan, I still love watching the Dr J Sixers performing at their highest. Funny how a player would give an opposing player a hand to pick him up. Haven't seen that since I started watching the NBA in the early 90's.

The 1990 Semifinal game 3 between the Bull and Sixers was from a cable channel called Prism in Philly. Those were the days when the player's support shorts would show from underneath their regular team shorts. Disc 5 is game 1 between A.I.'s Sixers and the Kobe/Shaq Lakers. Then finally Disc 6 is all about Allen Iverson "The Answer". Again, lots of Pat Croche in this.

Very nice set for fans of 76ers or fans of NBA history in general. The highlight of this set for me was watching Julius Erving finally win his long awaited championship. You do get a lot of Allen Iverson material. I didn't mind, but it will seem dated since Iverson was still protrayed as Philly's "Answer". Still, get the set and relive some of Dr J at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection, December 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
There could have been more classic games from the 80's, but overall a good collection and good video quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuel for a Sixers junky., January 11, 2008
By 
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
It is great to get in the time machine and see these old games. The whole set has some wonderful, perfect selections and some others that are debatable. I'm talking mostly about the games included here. I started following the Sixers religiously in 1983 and haven't wavered since, so I feel I have a sense of what works and doesn't work. Of course the 1982 Eastern Conference Finals game and the 1983 Championship win are marvelous and enough to justify the price tag. Even though I never saw the 1982 game as it happened it is legendary and what a thrill to get a look at young Andrew Toney dominating the game. The Charles Barkley victory against the Bulls in 1990 is good entertainment but hardly a classic. There must be a better representation of the imprint Charles left on the team, but, unfortunately, perhaps not a meaningful playoff game. Seeing Jordan in his prime IS worthwhile, by the way.

Next, I think the game 1 victory over the Lakers in 2001 pales by comparison to the playoff series that year against the Vince Carter-led Raptors. How about the game 7 that came down to the final shot? That was classic Allen Iverson basketball. Game 1 against the Lakers was somewhat of a fluke, seeing how the Lakers won the next four. I guess I appreciate the Allen Iverson disk, but it seems like a throw in. I would have preferred another classic game from days when the Sixers were the class of the league. What about a playoff games from Dr. J's younger days? However, any vintage Sixers is good Sixers, and so I recommend this without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical DVD, February 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
For 20 dollars plus this dvd is worth it, and if you are a true 76ers fan then you should diffinitely purchase this. It has all of the history of the franchise going back to the 1940s teams. It has the wilt chamberlin Billy Cunningham era, to the 9-73 76ers, to the arrival of Dr.J and the whole dunking guys like daryl dawkins and moses malone and them to there finals apperance and victory in 1983. To the fall of that team and rise of Charles Barkely, to the trade of him. Then to the era of Iverson. It has the games when they swpt LA in game 4, and the 7th game vs Boston in 1983, then the series when they lost to Chicago and that one game they won in Philadelphia in the 1990 confrence semi-finals, then my favroite the game when Iverson stepped over lue in game one of the 2001 NBA Finals. The only con to this is that they should have games from the 1983 season and 2001 like that game 2 vs Indiana game 2 vs Toronto game 5 vs Toronto game 7 vs Toronto game 7 vs Milwakee and the seasonal game when they beat Sacramento on TNT in feburary of 2001. But overall, this DVD is difintely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History of the 76ers, Non-Winners Included, March 1, 2011
By 
Sharklady (New York, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
As a diehard fan of the 76ers of the 1980's and of Moses Malone in general, I just had to have this DVD. The history of the team was informative and thorough, and the entire championship-winning game vs. the Lakers was well worth the cost of the entire set alone. An added bonus of that game was the commentating of Bill Russell as more often than not the listener/viewer had no clue what he was talking about! He'd babble something totally irrelevant to the game that it's no wonder he "retired" from commentating NBA games. But what SHOULD have been included in this boxed set was the 76ers' prior-season loss of the championship against Los Angeles and, of course, Philadelphia's road TO the championship such as the games of the Eastern Conference finals. Also, to include so much footage of Allen Iverson was a HUGE mistake as no championships were ever won with him on the team. If you're going to include so much of Iverson, do likewise with Dr. J (who won one championship) and Charles Barkley (who also never won a ring but was a great player). All in all, I can honestly say that about three of the five disks were of totally uninteresting games and useless footage, which is really a shame because over the lifetime span of the 76ers, there have been some awesome players who should have been either included or properly featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
just what every 76ers fan needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Throw some DVDz on that on that..., April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
This set is pretty dope. It will tots make you love HD and Blu Ray, because the pic quality of the old games is tots booty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History (DVD)
With the team rebuilding this is the perfect way to get a young fan caught up on the past and a good way for a veteran to re live the good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

NBA Dynasty Series - Philadelphia 76ers - The Complete History
$49.98 $16.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.