Customer Reviews


738 Reviews
5 star:
 (663)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Going Strong...
"NCIS" returns for a ninth season as network television's highest ranked drama, featuring its terrific blend of criminal case-of-the-week excitement and the equally entertaining interaction among the members of a well-chosen cast. Mark Harmon returns as crusty Senior Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs, still feuding with his boss, the Director of NCIS, and still closely...
Published on October 25, 2011 by D.S.Thurlow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dvd's are good
This was rated like brand new but they weren't. The cases were sticky and they were hard to open. However, the DVD's themselves were fine. I was able to watch most of them without any scratches. However, not all of them were scratch free, which is fine. It's just I believe the ad said they were like new. They were used but I would have paid the same price for used DVD;s...
Published 19 months ago by Marni Melton


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Going Strong..., October 25, 2011
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
"NCIS" returns for a ninth season as network television's highest ranked drama, featuring its terrific blend of criminal case-of-the-week excitement and the equally entertaining interaction among the members of a well-chosen cast. Mark Harmon returns as crusty Senior Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs, still feuding with his boss, the Director of NCIS, and still closely managing his team, who he treats as a second family.

As the new season opens, Tony DiNozzo (Michael Weatherly), on special assignment for a new "Sec-Nav", searches for a supposed traitor within the ranks of NCIS. Tony barely survives the assignment, leaving behind an unsolved mystery and doubts about the relationship between the new Secretary of the Navy and Director Vance (Rocky Carroll). The mystery, and Tony's assailant, will eventually resurface, while the assignment will haunt Tony, causing him to reexamine his career and life (and yes, his relationship with Ziva). Gibbs will have his own appointment with destiny later in the season. An extended story arc in late season ends with a thrilling finale and team members in mortal danger.

As in previous seasons, the spotlight rotates among the agents from show to show, in some cases filling in missing backstory. Lilly Tomlin has an hilarious guest appearence as Agent McGee's (Sean Murray) grandmother, to whom the Sixties were very good. Goth chick forensics expert Abby Sciuto (Pauley Parrette) learns that what she thinks she knows about her family might not be true. Medical examiner "Ducky" Mallard (David McCallum) tries online dating, while Agent Ziva David (Cote de Pablo) is reconfirmed in the importance of her new family at NCIS. Jamie Lee Curtis has an extended guest stint as an expert in psycological warfare, who chooses to practice on Gibbs. In one hilarious episode, the agents collaborate with fiesty red-headed Coast Guard investigator Abigail Borin (an excellent Diane Neal) to find the perfect woman for Gibbs; the comedy arises partly from the fact that Borin is Gibbs' female doppelganger, and partly from the end result of the search.

"NCIS: Season Nine" is highly recommended to the many fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NCIS Season started slow but strengthened, October 19, 2011
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
It's NCIS and not the LA version.
Writing a review for a show such as this is difficult because it has to be clear without spoiling the plots by giving too much detail.
Suffice it to say that if you have enjoyed NCIS in the past, this season as a whole will not dissapoint.

There's been little bad to say about the series in past years, but the first episodes of this season left a little to be desired in the terms of credibility. The overall impression was that the screenwriters were looking to find their feet and unsure exactly how to do that, but episode three the characters had begun again to settle back into the human dynamics and interpersonal cameraderie that has made this series an ongoing hit for so many years.

After the midpoint of the season the episodes really have a tendancy to go from strength to strength and pull the veiwer along just like in previous years as each builds upon the case before and allows full involvement with the unfolding storylines.

Enjoy it - I did, and still look forward to [hopefully] at least a couple more seasons.

Updating the review after a second viewing several months later; highlights in the set [without giving too much away] are two romances in the team, the re-entrance of an old favourite [or not depending upon preference], the death of a partner [twice], and a series finale that left a major question as it built anticipation for the new season, while opening the path in the last scene for a new team member. It would appear in the next season, one face will come and one face will go - to be determined.

The series started off for me at 3*, built through 5* for several episodes before dropping slightly as it drew to a close.

Second time around, overall, still well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NCIS Seasonal DVDs, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
I've been a fan of this show since the first episode; & I have not been disappointed ever with the DVD collections that have followed from it. Production standards are high and bonus material is excellent. I never hesitate to preorder the next season's DVDs as soon as possible. I just realized I'm reviewing season 9 which hasn't even finished or shipped (I have preordered it!) yet. My comments stand for all 8 seasons so far; and I am confident that they will hold true for this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NCIS: SEASON 9, February 6, 2012
By 
C. Schindler (Newport News, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
I have been a die hard NCIS fan from the beginning. I can't wait for the DVD's to come out. I watch them over and over and over. Season 9 is really good. The only negative thing I have to say about 9 years of NCIS is WHY DID THEY HAVE TO KILL OFF MIKE FRANKS?
Other than that- it's super. I am hoping the characters of Investigator Abby Boran-USCG will be brought back for Gibbs to start dating. I would also like to see the computer girl come back for McGee to start dating. They make great couples. This show is so good and always seems to have places to go. Because of the characters involved, they never run out of stories to tell. This is great! I'm looking forward to more years of NCIS. IT'S THE BEST111111111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and shocking series, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
We received the DVD set of Season Nine of NCIS. My wife and I don't watch this when it is broadcast, so we anxiously await the DVDs. We were not disappointed. Season Nine has some new special actors who add to the personal history of the main characters - in a very interesting way. And the close of the series is not only a cliff hanger, its a shocker. Lots of possibilities await in Season Ten. Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and Terrifing. NCIS season 9, eps. 24., July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I could not keep my eyes off of This episode. There are some as good, but this is the best so far.
The plot is fabolous and will leave you on the edge of your seats. Never has Director Vance been so determined in his support for the NCIS team.And for once, the entire intelligence community is behind them. The death and destruction as well as other suprises will keep you guessing until next season. (I have not heard anything about a 10th season). Can the show end like this? What do you know or think?
I watched this on Amazon's inbstant video service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to Season 9 on DVD, May 3, 2012
By 
Kelly Renner (Easton, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
I have loved this show from the first episode! The characters are so well developed and I watch Seasons 1-8 over and over again. I still laugh and cry watching these episodes. I wish I could find out when the 9th season is coming out on DVD. I hope this show doesn't end for a long time to come! I love Gibbs, Tony, and I wish Mike Franks was still alive because I really liked his character also. Keep putting out the great episodes!!! Love this Show!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best season finale EVER!!!, May 16, 2012
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
SPOILER ALERT!
Ok, I watched the season finale last night, and I am floored! The end leaves you hanging, and anticipating the next season:

The NCIS team have been chasing a man who thinks the death of his son on a Navy ship could have been avoided, and that it's NCIS's fault. So he begins to target the team, especially Gibbs. After two explosions on Naval ships reveal faults in hundreds of Navy ships with faulty wiring, he sends the team on a chase, where he stays one step ahead of them the whole way.

In the final episode, he kidnaps director Vance, and puts a bomb in his car.

Just as NCIS headquarters are being evacuated, the bomb goes off.

Abby and Gibbs are in the lab during the blast (the bomb is right outside the window), Ziva, and Tony are in the elevator, and McGee is on the second floor with some other agents, just above Abby's lab, and is hurled across the room by the blast.

Dr. Malard is at palmers wedding, and recieves a call that NCIS has been attacked: Then collapses on the beach from a heart attakc.

Like I said, it leaves you hanging, wanting just a bit more, and worrying about the team, not knowing what will happen next season.

SUPER SPOILER ALERT! UPDATE:
NO one dies! yay!
(After having seen season premier of season 10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dvd's are good, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
This was rated like brand new but they weren't. The cases were sticky and they were hard to open. However, the DVD's themselves were fine. I was able to watch most of them without any scratches. However, not all of them were scratch free, which is fine. It's just I believe the ad said they were like new. They were used but I would have paid the same price for used DVD;s so it's not an issue. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NCIS is great but the DVDs are poor quality, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NCIS: Season 9 (DVD)
Several of the DVDs would skip and we could not view large portions of the video. I love the NCIS series, but am disappointed with the quality of the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

NCIS: Season 9
NCIS: Season 9 by Thomas J. Wright (DVD - 2012)
$64.99 $19.98
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.