Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosie the Riveter
NECA, you've amazed us again. As part of their line of BioShock 2 Player Select figures, NECA has finally released its long awaited 'Rosie Big Daddy' Figure. The figure, at a glance, looks like a static display peice, with next to no visible joints, and beautifuly sculpted parts. But upon closer inspection, the figure is very articulated. With 3 joints in each leg, one at...
Published on January 28, 2011 by John Smith

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken.
Not sure how it got broken, but the bars over Rosie's face are broken, the tube on the rivet gun is snapped,the small rope has popped off of the right arm. Also, the right arm won't bend at the elbow, so it's hard to put rosie into any pose involving the rivet gun. Looks cool, but not durable at all. I'm debating sending it back.
Published 11 months ago by william


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosie the Riveter, January 28, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
NECA, you've amazed us again. As part of their line of BioShock 2 Player Select figures, NECA has finally released its long awaited 'Rosie Big Daddy' Figure. The figure, at a glance, looks like a static display peice, with next to no visible joints, and beautifuly sculpted parts. But upon closer inspection, the figure is very articulated. With 3 joints in each leg, one at the hip, one at the knee, and one at the foot, and 3 in the arms; at the shoulders, elbows, and hands. The figure also comes with its iconic rivet gun, hence its name. The rivet gun is amazingly detailed, and fits perfectly in the figure's hands. Rosie also comes with his very own air tank which snaps into a large metal dich-like backpack.Many of the smaller details on him are individually applied, and many different textures and materials are used to make it, in the end resulting in an absolutely stunning figure. Its weight is also very evenly distributed, in part by the figure's huge feet, so its very unlikely that this figure will get accidently knocked down without direct contact. I do have some small complaints however. The figure comes in a plastic blister pack, which, fro ma collector's standpoint, is very undesirable. Once the figure is out of the packaging, its out for good, unlike with say, a cardboard box. I also hear ic can be fragile in some places, with some of the smaller details coming loose. this could be easily fixed with a dab of super glue I suppose, but so far I have no experience with broken Rosies as mine has held up very well in the 5 or so hours I've had it.

Some info on our friend, Rosie. To start off with, lets make something clear. Big daddies are the designated protectors of little sisters. What are little sisters you may ask? Little sisters are little girls in the city of Rapture (the underwater city in which the BioShock videogames have taken place in) that were mantally conditioned little girls created to go around the city gathering ADAM ( a chemical that, in short, gives you super powers such as telekinesis or the ability to shoot fire from your fingertips) from the corpses of dead ADAM users. When these little sisters began to be attacked by crazed ADAM addicts, it was made clear that a protector of some sort was needed, and right away. So the 'Protector Program' was started. This project eventually resulted in big daddies, who were people (mostly prisoners) that were grafted into huge diving suits and mentally conditioned to protect the little sisters fiercly and to their dying breath. Rosies were a type of big daddy that specialized in ranged combat and in repairing the city of Rapture itself. They were equipped with a multi-use rivet gun for these purposes, which serves as a weapon just as well as it does a tool for repairing leaking holes in the walls of Rapture.

In short, if you're a fan of bioshock or NECA, this figure is a must have. And so I bit you adieu, kind reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Jetson wouldn't know what to say to this., July 29, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
My 5 year old daughter, for some odd reason, doesn't care much for most kid's games that I buy her. Skylanders, Lego Batman and LittleBigPlanet are the only ones she'll play. Yet when she sees me play something like Fallout 3, Street Fighter, and now Bioshock, she's all over it. She absolutely loved the Little Sisters and two types of Big Daddies, mainly Rosie here. Of course I bought her the toy recently, and she was super excited. If you still haven't picked one of these up, you really should. It's a fantastic figure that looks great with the other Bioshock figures, or other toys in general. There's just one major flaw with it, but it's nothing that caution and care can't handle.

Rosie stands at about 7 inches tall and appears to be slightly taller than the Bouncer figure, though that's mostly due to his jumbo shrimp posture. When assembled, this is a bulky figure with the tank on its back, giving it a lot of presence on the shelf. NECA did amazing with the sculpt on Rosie, making sure every last detail of the design from the game model made it to plastic form. The helmet has a nice texture to it, the body suit looks properly thick and padded, and everything else is dead-on. I have zero complaints with the appearance of the figure. And while most people probably won't pay attention to it because it's on the back, the tank looks absolutely beautiful. Paint work is solid all around as well. Rosie's points of articulation are nicely hidden and she sports as much articulation as the Elite Bouncer. Shoulders, upper arms, elbows, wrists, upper legs, knees and feet can all be moved. Take care when bending some of the joints, as they can be very tight and easily broken. Rosie comes with one accessory- the huge rivet gun. The gun looks outstanding and fits perfectly into both hands.

The major flaw with the figure isn't a big one but it's worth mentioning and could save you the hassle of returning the figure after ordering it. The two bars over Rosie's face are VERY thin. Mine arrived with one of them broken off, and the other was broken on one side. A little super glue will fix this easily. Just be careful with this area of the figure when handling it and Rosie should be safe. Also, this figure doesn't have a neat light up feature like the deluxe Bouncer has. Apparently Rosie will be getting re-released in the coming months, but it's the same version as this one. If one with a light up feature comes out, that'll be the one to go for. But as it is, this figure is worth owning either way. The last thing I have to mention is that it's kinda lame no Little Sister figure is included with Rosie. Why the heck not?

I'm really happy with the Bioshock figures we've bought so far. Sometimes I'll have Rosie displayed with the Gremlins on my shelf...other times I'll see Rosie protecting Littlest Pet Shop pets alongside Battle Cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool looking, but not for play, June 26, 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
Well, let's get down to business. First of all, it looks fantastic. Great details, awesome paint job and just a great looking figure. Second, this is NOT for play. I am merely 14, and I thought this was more of a toy than a collectable. Very wrong. First of all, thanks Neca for Sending it with a broken back price. Luckily, it's just the outstretched pipe, which can be glued back on with super glue, but it still would be very delicate. Another piece that broke was one of the rails covering the porthole on the helmet. I am in the process of gluing it back on. But, it has a very sturdy design with the body, arms are a bit tight, but put together pretty well. I wouldn't recommend buying this for Younger children, but I sometimes play with it. It's just that cool. So, overall, this is more for display. Probably won't be buying any more Neca products. But still, very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, February 11, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
Im 14, my mom's letting me review this because it was bought for me. Im a huge fan of the game and the merchandise. When I saw this figure I knew I had to have it since it is my 2nd favorite big daddy in the game. Its my 4th piece to my figure collection and I plan on getting more. Figure wise: very sturdy, joints dont stick, heavy, highly-detailed, and it came before the expected date. Excellent purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great figure!, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
The details on this Big Daddy Rosie figure are outstanding; though the articulation isn't great but I expected the figure to be like that. The rivet gun is nicely detailed as well. I had a bit of trouble trying to get the handle of the rivet gun in his hand. Just be careful working with the thumb to get it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, May 21, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
I received this as a gift and was surprised with it's size,detail, and heaviness. It completely captures the in game character's characteristics of heaviness and power. In addition, it very much resembles its video game counterpart.

When it comes to poseability, this thing can't do crazy stuff because part of the details that hide the joints restricts his movement just a bit. His legs can rotate but if you do it too much it looks like the figure is spreading his legs. The joints can be a bit tight due to some paint getting into them during production, but after messing around with the figure they'll begin to move a little smoother.

The figure comes with his signature rivet gun but can not actually use it as if he were fighting for his life; he merely holds it with both hands which upsets me because it takes away from what the character is meant to do.

I'd say this is more of a collector item than toy due to the fact that the figure has restricted mobility and,if not handled carefully first, a child could break it from putting to much stress on the joints rather than gently breaking them in. You must be careful too with the two bars on the front of the helmet because they are very fragile however its an easy fix with some superglue.

Ultimately this figure makes a good piece on your shelf, desk, etc. It is sure to pop out in any place it is put in ,and if your bent on using it as a toy, by all means go ahead, just make sure to break in the joints carefully so your kid or you can play with it. I'd recommend it be played by a child who knows how to take care his toys otherwise the figure won't make it long in your household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
This Bioshock Big Daddy Rosie came perfectly packaged in an official Bioshock cover. The product itself was quality and legit--not to mention super awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift For A Friend, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
I got this for a friend of mine for his birthday. We are both really into the Bioshock series. He loved it. When he first saw it, he didn't even realize that it could move. Very detailed and joints are very subtle, when still most will not notice them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Toy, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
The first thing you will notice about this figure when you take it out of the packaging is how heavy duty it seems. It's startling. High quality, great attention to detail. I don't feel like I could break this thing if I tried to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son wrote this, January 7, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NECA Bioshock 2 Series 2 Ultra Deluxe Action Figure Big Daddy Rosie (Accessory)
This is a great collectable figure for any one who loves bioshock. It is well made and extremely detailed. The only problem i have had so far is the rails over its eye glass are very delicate so be careful. This is a great item for any one who is a fan of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.