Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, just hard to set up
[[REVISED 9/30/2012]]
This product DOES successfully connect a printer directly to an ethernet network.

However, I recommend NOT using the software which came with the unit. I (along with many other users) found it impossible to properly set up for network use using the included CD.

Instead, here's the way I used to successfully configure...
Published on April 27, 2012 by JMH

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ensure your Printer is Compatible! (Not for Kodak)
The items seems very easy to set-up, and the software easy to load and navigate. THe server saw my printer fine, as did the others on the wireless network, however it became obvious quickly that it didn't support a Kodak printer. The paperwork lists compatible printers, and I'd offer that you need to look it up on the net to ensure printer compatibility. If your's is, I...
Published on February 2, 2012 by Ronzander1


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, just hard to set up, April 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
[[REVISED 9/30/2012]]
This product DOES successfully connect a printer directly to an ethernet network.

However, I recommend NOT using the software which came with the unit. I (along with many other users) found it impossible to properly set up for network use using the included CD.

Instead, here's the way I used to successfully configure it:
(it looks complicated, but it's actually easy to do)
1) Connect the unit to the router (using the included ethernet cable), a power outlet (using the included power adaptor), and the printer itself (via the USB cable of your printer).
2) Turn on the printer.
3) Using your computer, determine the IP address of the print server. Enter it into the address bar of your web browser (as you would a website). Its default is 169.254.10.10, though it may differ. 192.168.1.X (with X being a number between 1 and 9 or 100 and 110) are also common possibilities. Guess and check until you find the address at which the server's information is displayed in your browser. (The unit is not uPNP compatible, so you cannot simply view it as a device on your network using this method.) I know, this can be the hardest step.
4) Write down the IP address which successfully connected you to the server. You'll need it coming up.
5) Go to Control Panel, and then open 'Printer and Faxes' or 'Devices and Printers'. (The title depends on your version of Windows)
6) Click 'Add a Printer'.
7) Select 'LOCAL printer', NOT network printer. (I don't know why, but this method was successful for me)
8) Select 'Create New Port', and then 'Standard TCPIP' from the dropdown menu.
9) Next to where it says 'Hostname or IP Address', enter that IP address you wrote down before. Include the 3 dots. Next to where it says 'Port Name', change it so that it is exactly the same as the IP address in the box above.
10) Click 'Next'. The computer will then perform a search for minute or two, but should not find anything. When it's done searching, select 'Custom'. Then click on 'Settings'.
11) In the 'Protocol' section, select 'LPR', NOT RAW.
12) In the 'LPR Settings' section, type in any name in the box next to 'Queue Name'. (Any plain-letter combination should work)
13) Click 'OK', and then click 'Next'.
14) The computer will search for drivers for a minute or two, then display you with a list.
-A) If the printer was previously connected to your computer, its driver is likely in the list. If you find it, select it and click 'Next'.
-B) If the printer was not previously connected to your computer, or you cannot find the driver, click on 'Windows Update'. After a minute or two you will have many more drivers to choose from. If you find yours, select it and click 'Next'. (An internet connection is required for this option)
-C) If the driver still cannot be found in the list, try to find the printer's driver CD. If you can find it, insert it and click on 'Have Disk'. Navigate the CD until you find where the drivers are stored. Once you find them, select on ANY driver file in the folder. Click 'Open' and then click 'OK'. If your driver is in the new list now shown, select it and click'Next'.
-D) If you do not have a driver on a CD, locate one from your manufacturer's website or at driverguide.com. Download the driver files (unzip if necessary), and click on 'Have Disk'. Navigate to were the files are saved. Once you find them, select on ANY driver file in the folder. Click 'Open' and then click 'OK'. If your driver is in the new list now shown, select it and click "Next'.
15) You can change the name of the printer now if you'd like. If not, simply leave it the way it is and click 'Next'.
16) Select 'Do Not Share', since the printer is not actually attached to the PC itself. Then click 'Next'.
17) Choose whether or not you'd like this printer to be the default. Click 'Print a test page'.
-A) If one prints, you're all set! Now click 'Finish'.
-B) If one does NOT print, click 'Finish' anyway. Open the print queue and delete everything in there. Ensure the LED and ethernet lights are lit on the print server device. Now open Notepad or WordPad and type a few words and now see if you can get them to print. More than likely they will.

Notes:
- POWERED-OFF PRINTERS: If the printer is off, you can still click print just as if the printer was on. Though you may get an error message, the document WILL print within 30 seconds of turning the printer on. However, this does NOT work with Windows XP.
- MULTI-FUNCTION UNITS: If you are connecting an all-in-one printer (such as a print-scan-copy-fax unit), only PRINTING functionality will be available.
- STATIC IP ADDRESS: It is recommended that you set your print server's IP address to stay the same (static). This will prevent it fro changing, and you having to repeat this process again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ensure your Printer is Compatible! (Not for Kodak), February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
The items seems very easy to set-up, and the software easy to load and navigate. THe server saw my printer fine, as did the others on the wireless network, however it became obvious quickly that it didn't support a Kodak printer. The paperwork lists compatible printers, and I'd offer that you need to look it up on the net to ensure printer compatibility. If your's is, I believe this unit is both reasonably priced and easy to use, and thus an item you should consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than buying a new printer, December 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
We needed something to enable us to print to our USB non-networked 5-year-old laser printer from our laptops over a wifi network. Thought the price was right and better than buying a new printer. The set-up was a little tricky but I was accustomed to accessing our router through a browser so I knew I had to enter a password into the device's setup via the web browser once I determined the network address. The directions were a little vague on this. The laptops we use are Apples and they worked immediately. The desktop is a PC and that will need a little more work as I still need to do a USB connection directly to that to print (not a big deal at this time). That can wait for another weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works great with MAC but not Windows, January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
It loads just as specified for the Mac but the Windows 7 computer will not allow it to connect after following their instructions. Bummer. I will try their customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet! Works great!, July 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
USB adapter was smaller than expected, but is well designed and well engineered. Do not use the software supplied, as it doesn't work (Windows 7). Use the set up instructions supplied by JMH. If JMH instructions are followed precisely, the unit jumps to life immediately. Printed pages flow as if it were connected directly to the computer. Wireless notebooks in the house can now print directly. We no longer have to copy to flash drives to print from the desktop unit. What a pleasure!

Good purchase! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neewer usb 2.0 Print Server, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
I had a hard time configuring this device so that it would work. I tried some of the other reviewers suggestions. I had no luck but it put me on a good path along with help of a good friend. I have a hp 3320 series printer. After many attempts of reloading the software and using my netbook to access the printer. I got a different Ip address for the print server than I did from my desktops. After launching the printer wizard. I had to go into the port setting of the added printer and replaced the Ip address there with the Ip address I got from my netbook for the print server. Using this Ip address in the two desktop added printer I was able to get all computers to print from the print server. I hope this will help someone who may have this kind of trouble. Many of these reviews have help me a lot in the past. Once the device is configured correctly and set to default print and online ,it seem to work very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works and it reliable but you need to make sure what features you expect from this, May 26, 2013
By 
John Mauceri (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
this is good for attaching a legacy USB printer or storage device to your network. one thing i did not realize is i have a full office type printer so things like document scanning doesnt work so well. there are wireless printers now that may be a better value than this. however, if you have a 1 or 2 TB USB drive hanging around, then plug that puppy in and rock. eventually i see home routers having USB ports for adding external "core" devices, like a storage or a printer. buy this for putting your USB hardrive or print-only printer on your network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Convenient, Compact Device, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
This unit is excellent for networking older printers which adhere to standard LPR protocols. Not so useful with newer printers that send manufacturer specific information back to the sending computer. Especially poor with inkjet devices which want to send ink and paper status information back to the host.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great on paper but was DOA, September 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
This product seems to be offered by a number of sellers witch make me think it is a cheap product offered by many third parties. I was attracted by the price, but the one I received would not start up. It seemed to be stuck in some sort of initialization loop. As soon as the network activity light came on it would power cycle over and over. I returned it and am looking for an alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete junk, September 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER® USB 2.0 LRP Print Server Share a Networking USB Printer (Electronics)
Died after a few months. Had to be reset constantly.

Software is useless during the installation. Product support consists of other reviewers complaints.

Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.