NIV Study Bible
Format: Imitation LeatherChange
Price:$30.98+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

356 of 365 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2011
This review is for the hardcover edition of the NIV Study Bible 2011 in book form (not Kindle).

One thing to notice right from the start is that this new study Bible is called "NIV Study Bible" and not "Zondervan NIV Study Bible".

Initially I was reluctant to purchase another updated NIV Study Bible (since I've had several improved versions already of the NIV Study Bible); However, when I opened this updated edition and began reading it, I recognized right away that there were significant improvements.

A. The NIV text is revised -- this Study Bible uses the updated 2011 text rather than the 1984 NIV text. The main difference in the updated 2011 text is use of more gender inclusive language ("brothers and sisters" instead of brethren), and significant differences in translation than the 1984 NIV version.

Here are some of the significant changes:

1) Psalm 23: 4: "Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil ..." (2011 version); the older version (1984) reads "Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil."

2) In Genesis 1:6 the 1984 version says, "And God said, 'let there be an expanse between the waters to separate water from water"; in the 2011 version, Gen. 1:6 says, "Let there be a vault between the waters to separate water from water."

3) Rom. 1:16: The 1984 version leaves out the conjunction "For" in the beginning: "I am not ashamed of the gospel .." The 2011 version correctly adds "For" in the beginning: "For I am not ashamed of the gospel.."

4) Rom. 8:5 The 1984 version translates the Greek word "sarx" as "sinful nature": "Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires." The 2011 version is much improved: "Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance to the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires." The 2011 translation "flesh" is much more accurate and closer to the original. I had a very difficult time accepting the 1984 translation "sinful nature" -- it is a mistranslation of "sarx," which should be translated as "flesh" (cf. ESV, NASB, NRSV)

5) Phil. 2:6 (2011): "Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage" (1984 version says " .. consider equality with God as something to be grasped.").

6) 1 Cor. 7:1 (2011): "Now for the matters you wrote about: 'It is good for a man not to have sexual relations with a woman'"; the 1984 version says "It is good for a man not to marry."

While I preferred Gen. 1:6 and Psalm 23:4 in the 1984 version, I liked the significant changes in the NIV (2011) as listed above. To its credit, this 2011 NIV text still retains the Messianic title "Son of Man" in Daniel 7:13; it did not go the way of the NRSV and translate it as "someone like a human being."

One thing that teachers using the 2011 NIV text need to know is that it reads differently from the NIV 1984 version. When I read from the NIV 2011 to my Sunday School students, they asked me, "Which Bible are you reading from?" Many of them had the 1984 NIV and the new 2011 version had different wording.

B. New updated features, charts and articles

1) There are colored introductions to each Bible book; colored illustrations, maps, and charts. These colored illustrations make this updated version much more appealing to read

2) Slightly updated notes -- the notes are very similar to the 2008 updated Zondervan NIV Study Bible. Some of the notes include a brief explanation of the Jewish understanding of biblical concepts (e.g. the notes to the Prologue of John in John 1:1-18).

3) New helpful colored charts and articles

Ancient Texts Relating to the Old Testament (all the Ancient Near Eastern Texts that are important for understanding the Old Testament)

In the Old Testament, there are explanatory articles and charts that explain key cities (e.g. the City of the Jebusites, Solomon's Jerusalem)

Explanatory articles on the Tabernacle, Tabernacle Furnishings, Old Testament Festivals, Old Testament Sacrifices, etc.)

Explanatory articles (and maps) on Important OT events (The Exodus, David's Conquests, Wilderness Wanderings, Division of the Land in Joshua's Conquests, etc)

In the prophetic books, there are charts like "Visions in Daniel" that explain and compare the vision of the statue (ch. 2) and the four kingdoms (ch. 7) in Daniel

Major Archaeological Finds for the NT (right after John chapter 21)

Colored Harmony of the Gospels

Charts that Summarize Christ's Life and Ministry (Jesus' Early Life, Jesus' Baptism and Temptation; Summary Charts on Christ's Life from Childhood, Baptism, Ministry, Last Week, and Resurrection -- (all within the "Matthew" section in the New Testament)

All the maps inside the text are in color (e.g. Paul's Missionary Journeys in the Book of Acts; Seven Churches in Asia Minor in Revelation)

Colored pictures and descriptions of important archaeological sites (e.g. Herod's Temple, Roman Colosseum, Jewish ritual bath, Temple of Trajan, etc.)

Helpful charts that illustrate key biblical terms and concepts in the NT book (e.g. "Slavery vs. Freedom" chart in Galatians)

Helpful articles that explain key theological concepts ("The Church and the Tribulation" article -- taken from Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds set)

4) Study Helps Section in the Back

Table of Weights and Measures
Revised Spelling of Proper Names (compared to the 1984 NIV version)
Topical Index
Index to the Notes
Concordance
Index to Maps at the End of the Study Bible

What I found most helpful was the Topical Index, which helps the reader find the right Scripture passage for a given topic. It was helpful that the concordance followed right after the Topical Index.

The colored maps are excellent in the back.

5) Suggestions for Future Editions

I hope someday the NIV Study Bible would include a Brief Survey of Biblical Theology, a brief overview of church history, and articles on key words in the Bible. Study Bibles such as the Ryrie Study Bible, MacArthur's Study Bible, and the ESV Study Bible include these helpful articles.

However, the new NIV Study Bible is a pleasure and delight to read. I'm so glad the editors included the colored charts, articles, and maps within the text of the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Highly recommended!!
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2005
I own many different study Bibles, from the Scoffield, New Scoffield, Thompson Chain Reference, Dake Bible, NIV Topical Study Bible and several Parallel Bibles. While I use them all, my favorite for study and for Scripture reading is the NIVSB. The language is easy to understand and the study notes are fairly comprehensive. The commentary hails from a conservative evangelical theology.

Book binding quality:

The binding is strong and is durable. I've carried this Bible around a lot, and it has held up with no sign of failure.

Scripture Page layout:

The Scriptures are laid out in the natural paragraph form, rather than the bullet form based on verse numbering. The Scriptures are laid out in two columns, with a column for Scripture cross-references in the middle. The bottom of each page contains commentary listed by corresponding verse. The words of Christ are in red, and contextual sections have headings that correspond to the outline at the beginning of each book.

Introduction to Books:

Each book of the Bible has a discussion of the author, audience and purpose, date and place of writing, characteristics, sources and a short outline of the book.

Commentary:

The notes deal with archaeological, historical, lexical (minimal lexical inputs) and cultural aspects that pertain to conservative hermeneutical exegesis. In disputables, the often do make definitive conclusions, but also at times give different views giving info on what the editors believe is the most probable correct conclusion. It is impossible to put all information on a topic into a study Bible, but the NIVSB does a good job of packing a lot of information in for a significant level of understanding.

Indices:

There are several helpful and easy to use indices at the back of the Bible. An Index of Subjects acts as a topical study help. An Index of Notes acts as an index for the subjects of NIVSB commentaries. There are several map and measurement aids and finally a standard but fairly comprehensive concordance is included.

A note on the NIV translation:

The NIV translation is a controversial translation. It has begun to outsell the long-beloved King James Version (KJV) Bible. I am not here to say one translation is the one to read while another should be shunned. I prefer to study many different versions, hence my use of parallel Bibles. But, please know that many of the negative reviews tend to be based on dislike of the NIV translation. Until Zondervan creates a parallel study Bible, this will remain one of my favorite Bibles.

To find comprehensive information of a topic or passage, I use my Thompson Chain Reference. For seminary study, I use parallel Bibles (Evangelical Parallel NT and NIV/KJV Parallel). For initiation of a study, reading and study away from home, I use the NIVSB. There is a wealth of information in this study Bible.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
167 of 177 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2011
First of, the content is amazing.. commentaries, maps, etc... exactly what I wished for.

Unfortunately, the layout (in Kindle) is disappointing. There is no index to go to a specific chapter or verse. To do that I would need to go way back to the table of contents. It's difficult clicking the commentaries (I was hoping it would show below similar to magazines or my annotations). To go to the maps if would take several clicks and by that time, it would be difficult to return to the verse I came from.

In summary, the content is really good and for a straightforward read of the Bible, functional. But if you would like to really study the Bible or use this for a study, it's really difficult.

UPDATE: After using the study Bible even more.. I now love it! The content is really good.. full of commentaries and even pictures. Navigation is not perfect, but it just takes getting used to. What I would do is to read the chapter, go back to v1 and read the commentaries for the rest of the chapter. I am now at Leviticus and what was a difficult and boring read for me, now is much more meaningful and insightful. It's nice to have all that info anywhere.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
217 of 244 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2011
From the pre-publication hype, I really expected a blockbuster of a Bible. Add to that, this is the 2011 edition, which I was excited about reading. So my bias was very much positive when I first opened this version of the Book.

Let's start with the positives. The content is good, pretty much as advertised. There are many, many references, about 90 maps, etc. And it's the 2011 edition, which I wanted.

I'm out of positives. Here are my concerns and issues.

__________________________________________
1) By far the biggest: Navigation is really poor.
---- (A) When you are reading pane (i.e., somewhere in the text of the Bible), there is no indication of what book you are reading until you get to the next chapter. All you see are verse numbers. Tapping the screen once causes translucent bars to appear at the top and bottom. The top bar shows the book (e.g., Matthew), but the bottom bar shows the "location" -- a 6-digit number like 303531 (for Matthew, Chapter 10, verse 35).
---- (B) Your bookmarks use the same cryptic "location" code as their identification. If you have only a few bookmarks that may not be a problem, but if you create more than a dozen bookmarks the 6-digit reference system will have you tearing out your hair.
---- (C) If you press a cross-reference link, you are taken to that link on a one-way journey. There is no "back" function -- the regular "back" key takes you out to the Kindle icon on the main screen, not back to where you were before you touched the cross-reference. Restarting the application usually takes you back to the notes page, not the verse you were reading before following the cross-ref.
---- (D) When you add your own note to a page, a little blue box (with the note number) appears on top of the Bible text, covering it up so you can't see it any more.

__________________________________________
2) Typographic issues: These may seem minor, but for me they seriously detract from the usability of the Bible in study mode.
---- (A) Pages are all justified (except for poetry). In a paper Bible this is not a problem, but in an electronic Bible on a 7" screen, rather ugly gaps appear in the word spacing. There should be an option for ragged-right viewing (i.e., turn off justification), but I can't find such an option.
---- (B) The choices for font sizes favor large to very large print. Even the smallest font size is too large (and I suffer from much less than perfect eyesight).
---- (C) There is only one reading font. You can't change it.
---- (D) Words of Christ are not highlighted. This is a real disappointment, as there is another "study" version of this Bible (due out October 25) that has "words of Christ in red" and that costs a buck less. (I suppose that version might not have some maps.)
E) There is way too much "white space" -- often pages have only 50-60% coverage. In a paper Bible that is nice, but on a tablet we need a bit more efficient use of space. For example, after the last verse of a poetic passage, there are 4 or 5 blank lines, only one of which is needed. (Actually, none are needed, since poetry is set ragged-right.)
F) Line spacing is inconsistent due to note marks. Lines WITH a note have a greater line spacing than lines WITHOUT notes, making for an awkward "stuttering" of line intervals.

__________________________________________
3) Problems with graphics
---- (A) For some maps, resolution is low. Zooming in on one of these maps in order to read a city name, for example, yields the blurry-fuzzy-ghosty image of a JPG file without sufficient resolution. As there are only 90 maps, a little more resolution would not have bulked up the book that much. Actually, the photographs seem to be at much higher resolution -- resolution that's not really needed. For example, I would easily have traded all resolution in the image of the temple of Trajan for more resolution in the maps of Paul's missionary journeys.
---- (B) Maps are sometimes rotated 90% from what you would expect. This might be a bug, or it might be the design, but it's disconcerting.

__________________________________________
BOTTOM LINE: If this were not the NIV version plus a huge amount of other resources, I'd give this book one star. I suspect that those who want to use this as a "study Bible" (as I do) will be very disappointed, as it's virtually impossible to flip back and forth between text and notes or to keep track of personal notes and bookmarks. Those who don't care about the reference material, but who just want the new NIV version in a readable format, won't be overly disappointed -- but that functionality is available for $9.99 in another Kindle version.

My next step? See if I can return it on the basis that it did not live anywhere near up to the hype.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
With the release this year of the updated translation of the NIV, Zondervan has released an updated version of their well-known study Bible. I would like to review it briefly, with a review in three parts. First, some brief thoughts on the updated NIV text itself, on which the Bible is based; second, a note about the study features; and third, look at the aesthetics of the Bible and its production.

First, the translation. There has been much controversy surrounding the release of this latest revision of the much loved NIV text, much like the controversy surrounding the release of what became the TNIV in 2005. This most recent NIV does preserve many of the changes that were made in the TNIV, though there are a small percentage of changes where the language has reverted back to the familiar text, along with some places where further revisions were made. I don't want to go into all of the details here. But in short, this latest NIV preserves the tradition of an outstanding translation that is readable and comprehensible. The translation committee is top notch, and contrary to much press to the contrary, not out to foist an egalitarian position on the Biblical text (most of the committee members are of the complementarian position, including the chair, Doug Moo). From what I have seen of the translation, it will be an outstanding text for reading and for study, and I am happy to have this latest version in my hands.

Second, the study notes and features. I have owned three previous editions of this study Bible, and from what I can see, the notes are largely unchanged. Each book of the Bible has a general introduction, that covers issues of authorship, audience, context, major themes, and an outline. These provide helpful information for getting a handle on what is going on for each book of the Bible. The second major "study" feature is study notes that run along the bottom half of each page, helping to explain or give additional background on key words or phrases, people, or themes from the text. They don't cover every verse, though more verses than not probably have some type of note. The third major study feature is the cross-reference system that helps point to other passages in the same book, in the same testament, and across both testaments that use a word or phrase. These are helpful basic resources (of these features, I find I use the cross-references the most). The endmatter includes a truncated but still useful concordance (I love having this right in my hands, even though it's getting easy to just look up passages and word-references on the internet), an index of subjects (that is, a topical index of what biblical passages cover various themes), an index of the notes, pointing the reader to various notes that cover a person or topic, and some helpful study maps.

The third aspect of this Bible upon which I want to comment is the aesthetics. The major change, besides the updated NIV text, from previous editions, is that the Study Bible is now set in four colors throughout. Select color images have been added throughout the text, both in the book introductions and in the text itself, and these add some visual interest and also illustrate the text with archaeological images from relevant contexts. The four-color interior does add a little bit to the overall feel, but the main improvement is in the charts and the already-mentioned images. But it's not an overly exciting interior; the layout is quite functional, with all of the elements working together on the page, just like in most previous editions of this Study Bible.

Overall, I give this Bible four stars. It's a nice, functional Study Bible. It is relatively conservative in its overall approach, but it isn't slanted to a particular tradition, and its notes are dependable, and provide a solid resource to draw on. I love the TNIV Study Bible that I have used over the last few years, with its one column layout, and hope they will soon bring out this new NIV Study Bible with that same format, which makes for easier reading and leaves nice room for notes. The color, images, and revamped charts and maps make this a nice Study Bible, and certainly a strong option.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
73 of 82 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2011
First, I must point out (but not to boast) that between my mother and I, we own, read and study from well over 35 different types of Bibles. I myself own over 17(and counting). I'm a Sunday School teacher, Evangelist/minister, who studies the Hebrew/Aramaic/Greek/Latin language and history, and love to read, learn and teach. I must say, by far, that this is indeed the most handy, intelligent, and interesting COMPACT Bible (that I have ever seen) that is available in the USA today. When it comes to COMPACT STUDY Bibles, this one is the top of the line. I don't think there ever was such a Bible that one could carry with them (on a train, bus, etc. I live in NYC so I use mass transit a lot)and still have important tools needed for deeper, eye opening, understanding of text, content, life application, historical and archaeological discoveries, dating/time keeping and even apologetics. This is one COMPACT Bible that has a little of everything in it (which causes the thickness). Also on the positive, the Bible is in full color adding to the aid of a closer grip on the photos on the pictures, places, and people (even the Words of Jesus are in red lettered text). There are numerous charts, timelines and maps that help grasp the locations, dates and history of each of the 66 Books. Each Bible Book is replete with information (esp. in the introductions) and handled with care by the contributors.
However, this Bible would be better if it had two thread markers instead of one (and an index would have been okay too). The reason is because many times in this Bible, when reading the footnotes and comments on certain verse, the Book directs you to other passages and other books in the Bible without always fully commenting, causing the reader to flip to different areas in the Bible just to get the comment or footnote. With only one thread marker in this Bible, you may want to order some paper book markers so that you can hold the section you are reading without losing it when you want to return to it (I also purchased extra small tabs/labels). One other huge problem with this translation is that it does NOT have the complete text and accounts in various passages in the Bible. Such as John 7:8, the text excludes Jesus staying that He wasn't going to the festival YET. because the text doesn't have the word YET, (which is in the KJV) it makes Jesus seem like a lair when He isn't. Also in Luke 9:55-56, the whole statement Jesus makes to James and John is excluded "Ye know not what manner of spirit ye are of.For the Son of man is not come to destroy men's lives, but to save them." With these(and others) makes it a lesser quality of have the actually text. Beside the seemingly one sided view in the comments based on the eschatology (that Rome is the Anti-Christ nation/kingdom which it probably will not be if you actually read what John says in Rev. 17:9-14; also Ezekiel 38; Micah 5; Psalms 83; etc.), comments/footnotes on every other study of theology (esp. the important ones) are accurate, clear and sold.
Again, I doubt anyone will find a better type of COMPACT STUDY Bible anywhere today. So if you are looking for a small STUDY Bible, then look nowhere else for now because this is the best COMPACT STUDY Bible available.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2012
This review is for the personal size hardcover edition of the NIV Study Bible 2011.

One thing to notice right from the start is that this new study Bible is called "NIV Study Bible" and not "Zondervan NIV Study Bible".

Initially I was reluctant to purchase another updated NIV Study Bible (since I've had several improved versions already of the NIV Study Bible); However, when I opened this updated edition and began reading it, I recognized right away that there were significant improvements.

A. The NIV text is revised -- this Study Bible uses the updated 2011 text rather than the 1984 NIV text. The main difference in the updated 2011 text is use of more gender inclusive language ("brothers and sisters" instead of brethren), and significant differences in translation than the 1984 NIV version.

Here are some of the significant changes:

1) Psalm 23: 4: "Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil ..." (2011 version); the older version (1984) reads "Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil."

2) In Genesis 1:6 the 1984 version says, "And God said, 'let there be an expanse between the waters to separate water from water"; in the 2011 version, Gen. 1:6 says, "Let there be a vault between the waters to separate water from water."

3) Rom. 1:16: The 1984 version leaves out the conjunction "For" in the beginning: "I am not ashamed of the gospel .." The 2011 version correctly adds "For" in the beginning: "For I am not ashamed of the gospel.."

4) Rom. 8:5 The 1984 version translates the Greek word "sarx" as "sinful nature": "Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires." The 2011 version is much improved: "Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance to the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires." The 2011 translation "flesh" is much more accurate and closer to the original. I had a very difficult time accepting the 1984 translation "sinful nature" -- it is a mistranslation of "sarx," which should be translated as "flesh" (cf. ESV, NASB, NRSV)

5) Phil. 2:6 (2011): "Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage" (1984 version says " .. consider equality with God as something to be grasped.").

6) 1 Cor. 7:1 (2011): "Now for the matters you wrote about: 'It is good for a man not to have sexual relations with a woman'"; the 1984 version says "It is good for a man not to marry."

While I preferred Gen. 1:6 and Psalm 23:4 in the 1984 version, I liked the significant changes in the NIV (2011) as listed above. To its credit, this 2011 NIV text still retains the Messianic title "Son of Man" in Daniel 7:13; it did not go the way of the NRSV and translate it as "someone like a human being."

One thing that teachers using the 2011 NIV text need to know is that it reads differently from the NIV 1984 version. When I read from the NIV 2011 to my Sunday School students, they asked me, "Which Bible are you reading from?" Many of them had the 1984 NIV and the new 2011 version had different wording.

B. New updated features, charts and articles

1) There are colored introductions to each Bible book; colored illustrations, maps, and charts. These colored illustrations make this updated version much more appealing to read

2) Slightly updated notes -- the notes are very similar to the 2008 updated Zondervan NIV Study Bible. Some of the notes include a brief explanation of the Jewish understanding of biblical concepts (e.g. the notes to the Prologue of John in John 1:1-18).

3) New helpful colored charts and articles

Ancient Texts Relating to the Old Testament (all the Ancient Near Eastern Texts that are important for understanding the Old Testament)

In the Old Testament, there are explanatory articles and charts that explain key cities (e.g. the City of the Jebusites, Solomon's Jerusalem)

Explanatory articles on the Tabernacle, Tabernacle Furnishings, Old Testament Festivals, Old Testament Sacrifices, etc.)

Explanatory articles (and maps) on Important OT events (The Exodus, David's Conquests, Wilderness Wanderings, Division of the Land in Joshua's Conquests, etc)

In the prophetic books, there are charts like "Visions in Daniel" that explain and compare the vision of the statue (ch. 2) and the four kingdoms (ch. 7) in Daniel

Major Archaeological Finds for the NT (right after John chapter 21)

Colored Harmony of the Gospels

Charts that Summarize Christ's Life and Ministry (Jesus' Early Life, Jesus' Baptism and Temptation; Summary Charts on Christ's Life from Childhood, Baptism, Ministry, Last Week, and Resurrection -- (all within the "Matthew" section in the New Testament)

All the maps inside the text are in color (e.g. Paul's Missionary Journeys in the Book of Acts; Seven Churches in Asia Minor in Revelation)

Colored pictures and descriptions of important archaeological sites (e.g. Herod's Temple, Roman Colosseum, Jewish ritual bath, Temple of Trajan, etc.)

Helpful charts that illustrate key biblical terms and concepts in the NT book (e.g. "Slavery vs. Freedom" chart in Galatians)

Helpful articles that explain key theological concepts ("The Church and the Tribulation" article -- taken from Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds set)

4) Study Helps Section in the Back

Table of Weights and Measures
Revised Spelling of Proper Names (compared to the 1984 NIV version)
Topical Index
Index to the Notes
Concordance
Index to Maps at the End of the Study Bible

What I found most helpful was the Topical Index, which helps the reader find the right Scripture passage for a given topic. It was helpful that the concordance followed right after the Topical Index.

The colored maps are excellent in the back.

5) Suggestions for Future Editions

I hope someday the NIV Study Bible would include a Brief Survey of Biblical Theology, a brief overview of church history, and articles on key words in the Bible. Study Bibles such as the Ryrie Study Bible, MacArthur's Study Bible, and the ESV Study Bible include these helpful articles.

However, the new NIV Study Bible is a pleasure and delight to read. I'm so glad the editors included the colored charts, articles, and maps within the text of the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Highly recommended!!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2012
I bought the kindle edition hoping to lighten the load in my backpack. For sure the print edition is a hulking load. But navigating the kindle edition is a big headache. I never know where I am in the text. Jump to a text note, then try to get back. Sure you can click to go back, but the pagination will be different when you go back. Try to jump to a new spot in the bible using the grab bar at the bottom? Good luck! Your chances of landing on a page of text notes or cross references are higher than landing on the text itself. Location 3256 out of 178,008 is meaningless. You have no idea where you are in the book unless you navigate by way of the table of contents. There are no page headings to let you know what book chapter and verse you are looking at. Sometimes you have to scroll back a page or two to find the next chapter heading. It will lighten your load, but your head will spin trying to use it.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2012
I am very disappointed in the Kindle version of the Zondervan NIV Study bible. I find none of what makes the hardcopy version my bible for the last 15-years. I find none of the tables, charts and map inserts that are scattered throughout the hardcopy version. It is enlightening when reading the hardcopy version to scan the Study Notes section to garner information, in the Kindle version you must leave your bible passage to link to a single study note and then return. I have been unable to read the study notes on their own. The color maps are static images often spread over several Kindle pages and therefore of reduced benefit. There is no taking advantage of zooming, rotating, copying or any of the tools expected in an electronic version. The Kindle does not allow contiguous highlighting over more than the single page displayed. The search command in Kindle is weak and I am unable to do advanced searches to limit the hits if trying to do any research. The Kindle version of the NIV does not have any People in the bible or organization by topic like the hardcopy version. And there are more disappointments. As a study bible this product fails.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2014
My husband purchased this Bible for me (and I'm writing this review) and what can I say but this - this Bible is amazing! I've previously owned a The Student Bible NIV as a teenager to now and recently wanted more of an "adult" Bible - this has it all! I love the extra features (extra references on the bottom of every page, colored key symbols and center-column referencing on every page too), the in-text maps and pictures are beautifully printed, the introduction into the OT and NT AND each book of the Bible is very useful and well-written plus there is an outline after each introduction and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the splash of color font printing (maps and pictures are color printed too!). There is also a very well thought out "Study Helps" section in the back with a table of weights and measurements, indexes, concordance, and even more colored printed maps. Zondervan really went the extra mile when thinking about this edition and its update - it has come a long way since the 1985 edition which I also used as a young child in school and church. A big thank you to everyone that worked on this!!
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.