Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to NLP
I find this book an excellent introduction to the field of Neuro-Linguistic Programming. While there are a few other good introductory level books, this one is specific to the work context and for many people this is the best place to start improving your communication skills. Most challenges in the work place arise as a result of ineffective communication. Improvements...
Published on March 1, 2007 by Charles Hopkins

versus
14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough deapth
The author has touch on many a NLP techniques and has not talked enough about them to enable the reader to learn those techniques.
Published on September 20, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to NLP, March 1, 2007
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
I find this book an excellent introduction to the field of Neuro-Linguistic Programming. While there are a few other good introductory level books, this one is specific to the work context and for many people this is the best place to start improving your communication skills. Most challenges in the work place arise as a result of ineffective communication. Improvements in this area can lead to greater job satisfaction and more opportunities for advancement. Sue Knight writes in an easy to read style that will be accessible to all readers. I had purchased the first edition, but this newest edition has so much additional information that I purchased a second copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, September 17, 2002
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
Neuro linguistic programming, which sounds like a diabolical technique straight out of A Clockwork Orange, is actually a relatively straightforward method of paying attention to the verbal and non-verbal messages that people constantly emit. By noting the inflection, body language and eye movements of others, you can glean a better understanding of what they are really thinking. Conversely, by controlling the signals that you send, you can make sure that people are getting the right message. With the caveat that many elements of NLP are straight out of Communications 101, we from getAbstract recommend this book to anyone in business whose communications skills could use an upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great holiday read!, May 28, 2002
By 
Miss Mary Roadnight (Watlington United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
I took this book on holiday with me and when I picked it up for a quick flick through I was amazed that I couldn't put it down! The only problem was that I was constantly drawn into the book by wonderful revelations about how to improve your personal effectiveness and there is so much in the book that deserves really thorough study, like the "thought provokers" at the end of each chapter. It will take me a long time before I have really extracted all the goodness from this remarkably accessible book.
NLP at Work is delightfully free of jargon. The style and language Sue uses are very attractive, and an excellent example of how to deliver messages effectively. She illustrates points with mini real life case studies. The stories which punctuate the book are delightful in themselves, but also rich in wisdom and wonderful catalysts to greater understanding.
Sue invites the reader to explore their heart's desire, and to understand that whatever they desire, they are capable of achieving. "What you think is what you get." Achieving potential, both one's own, and that of those around us, is a very attractive proposition. Sue leads the reader through a wonderful journey of exploration. She helps us to understand ourselves and our own individual map of the world in a new way. She shows us how to be more effective in our business and personal lives. She helps us to acknowledge our own true values, and to ensure that our lives are in harmony with them.
NLP at work is satisfyingly well constructed and laid out. It is delightfully surprising and entertaining, and it is deeply rewarding and helpful to anyone wanting to learn and grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
Pretty insightful book - now I just need to incorporate the techniques into my daily life. The techniques are broken down into lay men's terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, April 6, 2009
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
I got this book a week ago and it is just great, one I will be going back to many times.

An Excellent Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and informative, September 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
This is a well-written book on NLP in the workplace. The author's style is clear and easy to follow. There is little jargon and an emphasis on getting ideas across in plain English. A very good overview of NLP and its applications. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for more than just work, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
I bought this book to find ways to deal with difficult people and situations at work. I find this book to apply to life in general, not just work. It is a great read and Sue explains things clearly and sets up exercises so you can assess your own style and strengths/weaknesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, March 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
It came very quickly, It went fine. DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, April 28, 2012
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
A well written book that is easy to read and to follow, I have a hard copy and now the Kindle version so I can dip in and out wherever I am! A wonderful life changing & life enhancing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I use NLP as an excellent tool for Coaching others and have read a lot ..., July 30, 2014
This review is from: NLP at Work, Second Edition: Neuro Linguistic Programming, The Difference That Makes a Difference in Business (People Skills for Professionals) (Paperback)
I use NLP as an excellent tool for Coaching others and have read a lot of other books in this field. This one stands out due to the practical exercises that make it easy for the reader to apply and learn how it works. If you could only buy one book it would be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.