Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K2000 = Quadro 4000 performance for half the price and 1/3 the power draw? Yes please!
It took some time for nVidia to renew its Quadro line, as all of the Quadro 600/2000/4000/5000 were based on the 1st generation of Fermi architecture, pushing 4 yo technology in the market.
All the new Quadros based on the Kepler architecture we first saw in 6xx GTX cards, are now following a Kxxxx naming pattern.

Lets start with

The CONs:...
Published 16 months ago by Dimitrios Tolios

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars K2000 is a good card for 3 DualLink DVI monitors, but price is extermely high.
My workstation has 3 DVI monitors: two 2560x1600 and one 1600x1200, and I'm doing some 3D work in AutoCAD, so regular video card is not good enough, because it will not render 3D objects correctly in AutoCAD.
Before this card I was using two FX 570 cards. FX 570 are good cards, but they are 6 years old, so I wanted to upgrade to something faster and also I want to...
Published 5 months ago by Slava


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K2000 = Quadro 4000 performance for half the price and 1/3 the power draw? Yes please!, June 30, 2013
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
It took some time for nVidia to renew its Quadro line, as all of the Quadro 600/2000/4000/5000 were based on the 1st generation of Fermi architecture, pushing 4 yo technology in the market.
All the new Quadros based on the Kepler architecture we first saw in 6xx GTX cards, are now following a Kxxxx naming pattern.

Lets start with

The CONs:

The K2000 is the mid/low-range addition in the line, replacing the Quadro 2000. On paper it is hard to compare the two cards, as despite the doubling of the CUDA cores in the newest K2000, the Fermi architecture offers vastly better compute performance per core than the newest Kepler architecture. If you are after boosting GPU accelerated applications with the K2000 like GPU renderers (Luxmark / VRay RT GPU / Octane Render etc) or the Adobe Mercury engine, you will be disappointed by the K2000. Its compute performance pales in comparison with the old Quadro 2000, or any gaming card even at half or 1/3 its price range which of course offers vastly increased core count and faster clocks.
More and more operations used in graphic and photo/video oriented applications are using GPGPU, but the K2000 is a horrible (for Y2013) compute card.

The PROs:

The K2000 has a lot of improvements over its predecessors: the RAM has been doubled, reaching 2GB, over the 1GB the Quadro 2000 had, and matching that of the Quadro 4000. The bus remains limited to 128bit and theoretically being much slower than the 256 and 384 bit high-end Quadros utilize, but real life performance proves that 128bit suffice for most of the viewport acceleration operations the card is called to perform at.
Real life memory utilization hasn't exceeded 1.4GB in any of the usage scenarios the card was subjected to.

It is a low wattage card, like the Quadro 2000, requiring no auxiliary PCIe power connector, which means that the peak power of 75W the PCIe 16x port provides are more than enough. nVidia reports a TDP of 51W. The card runs relatively cool and quiet, releasing minimal heat inside your case, something that the Quadro 4000 was notorious for - just like most powerful Fermi cards of its generation. The Quadro 4000 requires a 6pin PCIe connector, and and its rated @ 142W.

Despite the decreased power envelope, the K2000 manages to match or even surpass the Quadro 4000 in standardized tests based on the OpenGL API.
According to the SPECapc - Maya® 2012 benchmark, the K2000 is noticeably faster than the 2000, falling between that and the 4000 scores.
Check the link: [...]

In other suits, like Lightwave, Pro/E, CATIA and Siemens TCVIS & NX, the K2000 manages to suprass or at least match the performance of the Quadro 4000.
Check the link: [...]

Overall this card - though far from cheap - represents a good value for an mid-range workstation card, offering equivalent or even better performance than what you would get for a card double its price less than a year ago.
If you are interested in a fast, quiet and cool running card to be used in a 3D modelling and CAD workstation, take a closer look in the K2000.
If you want something to double as a gaming card, or as a GPU accelerator for the apps mentioned above, be prepared to pay for a K5000, or consider using the K2000 in conjunction with a headless GTX that will be kicking in exclusively as a GPGPU unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speedy card for 3D Modeling and Design, April 14, 2013
By 
Tempest790 (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
I use this card for Autodesk Maya. I finally upgraded from my old Quadro 600 that worked good, but was looking for more performance. This card delivers. It's definitely pricier than consumer cards, but works well when you use 3D design programs or even Photoshop. I don't own a Quadro 4000, but looking at the specs, the K2000 is similar with more CUDA cores at half the price (win-win).

So far the only down side is early driver issues. 30 bit color no longer works in Maya, and the Force 10-bit mode in the driver causes both Photoshop and Maya to crash. That's very disappointing, since that's why I wanted a card with two displayport outputs to drive my 30 bit enabled primary monitor and displayport only second monitor.

However, like I've seen with the 600, drivers are updated frequently by NVidia, so I'm confident they'll get support up and running especially with their certified drivers.

Unless you need the extra performance or two displayport outputs, the K600 can be had at less than half the cost and still has good performance, making it a better value in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Workstation Card, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
I built a high-end graphics workstation for my daughter who is a senior in college majoring in graphics arts. After months of research, weighing price and features of NVIDIA vs.the competition, I decided to go NVIDIA. I run a team that provides modeling and simulation services to the government. All our machines use NVIDIA Quadro cards. All my technicians swear by them. I consulted other professionals and they universally recommended the Quadro series for workstation applications, mostly because of the drivers. That is the big difference with NVIDIA Quadros, their drivers. I then had to decide how much pain to endure in terms of price. I was afraid the 600-series cards would not be powerful enough for life after college and the 4,000 series prices are just cost prohibitive for me personally. As it is, this card was the single most expensive part of the build. Having said all that, I could not be more pleased. The performance on the Autodesk software my daughter uses is outstanding. No hesitation even with her most demanding 3D animation products. I didn't know much about drivers, but there are more to the Quadro drivers than just making the card work. The features and flexibility you get are unmatched in anything you would experience on your average PC. The ability to create multiple virtual desktops for your different process applications is very useful. My daughter can now have a series of applications open and diaplayed on her dual-monitor rig with a set of views for animation, another for photo editing, another for writing, all by loading the desired profile. All the apps load and the displays pop up in the precise location she wants them, all by selecting a saved profile. Buying this card was a good decision and research pays off. Building a workstation for professional use is much different than building a system for home use or gaming. Lastlyy, I had no issues whatsoever installing the card or installing the software/drivers. It worked perfectly the first time I pushed the power button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great card, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
This K version works faster than the standard 2000 card due to the new processor chips. Would like to upgrade them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for CAD and an outstanding value., April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
This and the AMD/ATI FirePro W5000 seem the best value in CAD gpu's right now. More performance than ever before and the fair price point of $400. Until your software vendor can prove, substantiate, and quantify improved performance, these are all the card you'll need for your CAD workstation.

I bought the FirePro W5000 last year when there was a ~$200 rebate. I'm using RapidWorks and it fared poorly on their Performance Profiler in the "Binding Texture Download" section. RapidWorks is the same software as Geomagic and RapidForm XOR.

This K2000's score in the Binding Texture Download crushed the W5000 and otherwise was roughly half to 2/3 performance of the W5000 in the other Profiler tests. Windows Experience dropped from 7.6 with the W5000 to 7.3 with the K2000. I have not observed big difference in Rhino 5. Anecdotally, in RapidWorks, rotating the model seems to be less disruptive. It doesn't disappear as much as with the W5000 card.

Quadro K2000:
» Windows Experience: 7.3
» Texture Mapping Fill Rate: as resolution goes smaller, K2000 doubles W5000's performance
21 million triangles/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( good )
132 million triangles/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
» Texture Download Bandwidth:
2.2 GB/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
110.9 MB/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( extremely poor )
» Binding Texture Download Bandwidth:
2.4 GB/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
1.0 GB/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( very good )
» Pixel Buffer Readback Bandwidth: 5.0 GB/sec ( high-end )
» Depth Buffer Readback Bandwidth: 2.1 GB/sec ( high-end )
» Maximum Theoretical Panning Speed: 270.6 fps ( high-end )

W5000:
» Windows Experience: 7.6
» Texture Mapping Fill Rate:
78 million triangles/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
79 million triangles/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
» Texture Download Bandwidth:
3.6 GB/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( high-end )
483.1 MB/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( normal )
» Binding Texture Download Bandwidth:
117.8 MB/sec at maximum resolution of 4096 x 4096 texels, 32 bpp ( extremely poor )
100.3 MB/sec at 16 x 16 texels, 32 bpp ( extremely poor )
» Pixel Buffer Readback Bandwidth: 3.7 GB/sec ( high-end )
» Depth Buffer Readback Bandwidth: 3.4 GB/sec ( high-end )
» Maximum Theoretical Panning Speed: 437.2 fps ( high-end )

It seems most CAD programs embrace nVidia (as does mine), so I replaced my W5000 with the K2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Low-Mid Range Card for Adobe CS, July 4, 2014
By 
F. Lovelett (Sykesville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
Installation was non-eventful under Windows 7 64-bit Pro. The Quadro K2000 gave my older Dell workstation (T7400) a new lease on life for 2-D graphics editing & photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
Performs exactly as expected. I can edit videos with no problems. It was easy to install and makes my job easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, I just installed it for my old ..., July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
Great product, I just installed it for my old Dell Precision 690 and now supports some new Autodesk Maya features I couldn't use before. I was scared at first if it would work but it runs smoothly and it was easy to install and no need to plug extra power cables or anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great video card, August 7, 2014
By 
Wayne (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
Great video card. Power efficient so it runs off the PCIe power. It's also very quiet which is also a big factor for me. The card feels likes a huge upgrade from the gaming video cards I used to buy, as the workstation cards deliver performance and stability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The video playback can sometimes be choppy but that's likely ..., September 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB GDDR5 Graphics card (PNY Part #: VCQK2000-PB) (Personal Computers)
The video playback can sometimes be choppy but that's likely due to the fact that I'm running a quad monitor configuration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.