Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars30
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2015
The second part of the book is much better than the beginning. I kept getting lost and had to review what I had already read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
I loved the rapid pace. I didn't care for all the violence, though it suited the story. Well written mostly but could have used editing for details that sometimes not clear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
Interesting characters and vivid descriptions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
Totally without merit and dull. All rehashed nonsense. This is not the "thriller" you savor for a good afternoon read.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
He is not the best of writers. I like his father writing better. But it's nice to read of Nairobi. The plot with the genocidech in Rwanda is i bit difficult to catch in the end. Need a better plot
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
I purchased this because my daughter lived in Africa for 2 years and I was interested in something from an east African author. It is a quick read and a pretty good story. Not spectacular but okay.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
Nairobi Heat by Mukoma Wa Ngugi

The setting for "Nairobi Heat" switches between Madison, Wisconsin and Nairobi, Kenya. When the author first takes the reader to Africa, "...the real Africa," I thought I'd stumbled upon a page-turning summer read:

"O veered off the main road and onto a dirt track and the city disappeared from view. We travelled on, headlights tunnelling through the darkness... then turned into a short, dirty street that ran between two rows of poorly built wooden houses... we almost ran into a dilapidated bar that proclaimed itself to be The Hilton Hotel."

Once inside the bar, the suspense lingers and the reader soon understands that darkness is a metaphor for evil that will propel the story. Mukoma Wa Ngugi lets us see and smell a seedy bar, and hear the cacophony on an overpopulated and narrow alley, but he does not write mystery well. As the novel unfolds, the plot doesn't convince.

For instance, neither the American nor Kenyan police conduct thorough investigations. To tie up loose ends, the author lets his cop characters kill off suspects at will and get away with murder; their superiors ask few if any questions.

Ngugi has created an ambitious imaginative premise, and I applaud him for that. Perhaps with more knowledge of police procedures it might have worked. Even if you have a low opinion of corporations, Ngugi would have us believe that a large multinational company like Shell has a totally corrupt board of directors, who are willing to exploit the horrors of genocide to make money.

Ngugi is a versatile writer, and in many places his words capture the mystery, beauty and complexity of Africa, including race relations. He has us look into corruption, violence and greed. He takes us into villages and back alleys. We meet Rwandan survivors, lovers, abused children, do-gooders, many bad guys with guns and a detective protagonist who, along with solving the crime, discovers the deeper meaning of life.

Yes, you often have to suspend your disbelief when reading fiction, but this mystery demands too much disbelieving. Written by Terry Baker Mulligan, author of "Sugar Hill Where The Sun Rose Over Harlem."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
There are very good books appearing by 2nd and 3rd generation African writers raised or educated or living, or all 3, in the US. This is a good murder mystery with many surprises and snapshots of Kenyans and Americans involved in aspects of both cultures.The characters are interesting although generally not presented in depth. The descriptions of aspects of life in Nairobi are amazing..One may be surprised also at some of the picture of Madison, Wis.!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
The story was interesting, the locale was all that I hoped it would be, but I didn't think it was very well written
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
When I saw that this was written by a college professor, I expected it to be kind of tame but it sure wasn't. The bodies pile up and the action never lets up! It was kind of educational (I learned about life in Kenya) but mostly a thriller. I enjoyed it a lot.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.