Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$69.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 4, 2010
This was the first game I popped into my 360 when I got my console, and much to my horror, every time I tried to access Galaga or Pac Man Championship Editions, I got booted back to the regular menu. I feared the worst--that I hadn't actually bought these games with my disc, but somehow, I had been scammed into getting access to them on Xbox Live by purchasing the disc. Even when I did some research online, many reviews made it sound like this was the case. But I...um...dig dug deeper and found this is NOT the case as some reviews have clarified here, but I'm going to clarify even further. I did NOT have any connection to the internet for my 360 when I finally accessed the games, so I know you don't need any kind of Live account to do it. The games, as others have said, are not accessible through the general menu on the game disc itself. You have to hit the round 'X' button in the center of your controller (while the game disc is in the console) and go to your xbox 360's main dashboard then maneuver through the menus to your list of games supposedly on your xobx 360 (this is RIDICULOUS). There you'll find the seemingly inaccessible games to choose from, but of course, those games aren't REALLY on your xbox 360, otherwise they'd still be there when you remove the disc from the console! Dumbest setup EVER.
1010 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
The MOST DISAPPOINTING thing about this game is YOU MUST BE ONLINE TO PLAY THE BEST GAMES.

I wanted to play the great classics like GALAGA or PAC-MAN or MRS PAC-MAN, but YOU CAN'T PLAY 'EM unless you're on Xbox Live. For a lot of people, that won't be an obstacle because you have XBox Live. BUT, you have to remember these are the Old Arcade Games enjoyed by fans who played them at an ARCADE. Therefore, not everyone uses Xbox Live or wants to. I would suspect there's a significant number of us, who JUST WANT TO PLAY THE OLD CLASSICS without having to go Online; especially if you don't have internet access.

I'm just sayin' it leaves people out, and after having ALREADY PAID for these games you SHOULDN'T BE REQUIRED TO BE ON XBOX LIVE OR HAVE INTERNET ACCESS TO ENJOY THE BEST GAMES. Obviously, there are other games you can play without the internet/Xbox Live, but THEY ARE NOT THE REASON YOU BOUGHT THIS GAME. As I said, DISAPPOINTING and FRUSTRATING.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
Apparently lots of people had this issue but I didn't see anyone mention this on the amazon reviews. I'd insert the DVD, press 'A' on it to play it, select one of the arcade games (any) and the game would act like it was going to load but it'd just sit there with black screen and nothing ever came up. Tried this on several different game selections. I had to force xbox to shut down each time. One find on the internet said you had to press 'Y' on the xbox home menu instead to install the games locally, instead of pressing A, but that simply opens the DVD rom door....

What I did: At the xbox home page i finally browsed to the games via the My Games menu and from there was able to launch games just fine, and every time. I then went back into the actual game menu (pressing A and loading game like normal from xbox home screen) and was finally able to load each game from th game's built-in menu just fine and with the little pac-man loading icon at bottom of screen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
Well lets begin this review with the games it includes:

XBLA (games will play without xbox live service)

Galaga Legions, Pac-Man Championship Edition, Mr Driller Online, Pac-Man, Galaga, Xevious, New Ralley X,Dig Dug and Ms Pac-Man

This disc is worth the price for just these games since they're the classics and remakes that are really good of the classics. Each game is worth a total of 200 acheivment points for a total of 1800 possible max points.

Museum Classics

Baraduke, Bosconian, Dig Dug II, Dig Dug Arrangement, Dragon Buster, Dragon Spirt, Galaga '88, Galaga Arrangement, Galaxian, Grobda, King & Ballon, Mappy, Metro-Cross, Motos, Pac & Pal, Pac-Man Arrangement, Pac-Mania, Pole Position, Pole Position II, Rally X, Rolling Thunder, Sky Kid, Sky Kid Deluxe, Super Pac-Man, and The Tower of Druaga.
With that you got some pretty good classics to choose from with a few title that could've bee left off but, hey why not. But, sadly theres support for leaderboards for these games or the usual acheivments for 1000 total for this game. (the game actually doesn't show up on your play list)

On the back of the box it doesn't state that these games will not have acheivments or that they do not support leaderboards. It's kinda miss leading cause it states on the back of the case that it supports leaderboards. Which is kinda true. It does for the XBLA games but, not the museum games. It should've stated that on the case.

I was looking to compare my best score of Galaga 88 and Pac-Mania highscores. Plus Dragon Spirt would have been fun to play online. I'm guessing with Microsofts rules for acheivements theres some odd reason why namco couldn't give you the normal achivements for the museum classic games collection. Since it's only available on disc and is new while the XBLA games are something in reality that is seperate.

Other than feeling kinda ripped on the classic museum it's still worth getting if you're missing key favorites of your past arcade games. Or wonder what the fuss is with aracade games that just won't die almost 30 years later.....
44 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Yeah, the LIVE arcade game setup is pretty dumb. Others have already explained this terrible aspect of this collection. It will let you play one title from the disc menu but, kick you out to arcade menu when you want to play a different game. That wouldn't be such a big deal other than the fact that I have a very vast digital and installed library. So, it's hard to locate the other Live games. It loses a star for that. Very annoying.
That stupid quality aside, man does it have a lot of great titles on the museum side. These are the main reason I bought this collection recently. I hadn't ever played Baraduke or Dragon Buster before. Truly odd but awesome games. Also Galaga '88, Rolling Thunder, Xevious, Dragon Spirit, etc. The 3 arrangement remakes are also very interesting.
This last gen was very lacking in collections like this. There are only 4 for the Xbox 360 or PS3 (Ultimate Genesis, Midway, Capcom Digital, and this one). I don't count the Konami ones because they have 3 games each. Nothing like the gen before that had tons of great collections out, especially for the PS2.
If you do buy this or any other old school collection/games, do yourself a favor and get a joystick if you don't already own one. It makes a huge difference. They weren't designed for a gamepad.. There's just something great about the clicking noises and performing those actions that triggers nostalgia in the brain. Also, I personally am much better with joystick. I can recommend the Hori Tekken 6 stick (not as precise but, wireless) and Hori Fight stick EX. Both are kinda pricey but, really worth it. It's also a lot cheaper than building or buying an arcade cabinet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
BUYER BEWARE! MAJORITY OF GAMES WON'T EVEN LOAD!!! When i try to select any game from the main menu, the screen goes black and i literally have to restart my xbox! this is the SECOND copy i have tested and i have the same results. I am not the only person having this problem as other reviewers have attested. Complete disappointment!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2012
Love the simplicity of these old arcade games. They're fun, fast & easy to navigate. Just be aware that the playing field screen is small. About 30% of the TV screen. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
There are great things about this disc, and bad things. Good things: Plenty of great games. Achievements for the heavy hitters on this title that are the same titles you can pay for separately and download from Xbox Live. The ones that are "Museum" games, have PLENTY of games to love and play. This would have gotten this game 5 stars.

The BAD: NONE seem to support two player...not even Pac Man/Ms. Pac Man. Why? For Original XBOX, Namco Museum had Pac-Man, Ms. Pacman, Dig Dug Galaga, Galaxian, Pac Mania pac Attack, etc and even the arrangements. ALL OF THEM had two player support. Ridiculous that basically none of these, especially, the meat and potatoes show case games, do NOT support this!!!

I still recommend buying this game, BUT, if you like to play head to head with friends/family, also pick up the Original Xbox Namco Museum. Works perfectly on the 360 and saves scores too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 16, 2015
I got this collection for Galaga '88 as this is the only Namco Museum set on any home or portable console that actually has his game. I remember playing the hell out of this game on the Turbografx 16(called Galaga 90). The version on the Turbo was pretty good but it wasn't quite arcade perfect(and it is difficult to locate a Galaga '88 arcade game). So it is very nice to have this game included in this collection which plays and looks and sounds just like the arcade original.

Other games in this set that are rarely seen anywhere(and also never included in any Namco Museum set) include DIG DUG II, KING&BALLON, PAC&PAL, SKY KID, and SKY KID DELUXE. Okay so the annoying thing about this collection is that there is a separate Xbox LIVE Arcade menu for games such as Ms. Pac Man, Xevious, Dig Dug where you are redirected to Xbox Live Arcade(and have to endure some loading time) in order to play. It's kind of a clunky design forcing you to use your Xbox account. But otherwise this is a great collection with classic arcade games that are true to the originals.

Here is a list of all the games:

(Museum Classics)
Baraduke
Bosconian
Dig Dug II
Dig Dug Arrangement
Dragon Buster
Dragon Spirit
Galaga '88
Galaga Arrangement
Galaxian
Grobda
King & Balloon
Mappy
Metro-Cross
Pac & Pal
Pac-Man Arrangement
Pac-Mania
Pole Position
Pole Position II
Rally-X
Rolling Thunder
Sky Kid
Sky Kid Deluxe
Super Pac-Man
The Tower of Druaga

(Live Arcade Classics)
Dig Dug
Galaga
Ms. Pac-Man
New Rally-X
Pac-Man
Xevious
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
Before I go further let's get the list of the titles present in the Namco Museum Virtual Arcade out of the way....

Xbox Live Arcade Games:
Dig Dug
Galaga
Galaga Legions
Mr. Driller Online
Ms. Pac-Man
New Rally-X
Pac-Man
Pac-Man Championship Edition
Xevious

Museum Games:
Baraduke
Bosconian
Dig Dug II
Dragon Buster
Dragon Spirit
Galaga '88
Galaxian
Grobda
Mappy
Metro-Cross
Motos
Pac-Pal
Pac-Mania
Pole Position
Pole Position II
Rally-X
Rolling Thunder
Sky Kid
Sky Kid Deluxe
Super Pac-Man
Tower of Druaga

Arrangement Games:
Dig Dug Arrangement
Galaga Arrangement
Pac-Man Arrangement

Coming back to review the Namco Museum Virtual Arcade after all these I'm surprised no one's conjured up the list for archival reasons...but here it is.I really like this collection though and my usual childhood classics are all here-Galaga,Xevious,Pac-Man,Dig-Dug as most of us born in the late 70's to early 80's so lovingly remember that were common in department,retail stores,restaurant/roadside diner lobbies,and arcades.Some real gems though you might not have heard of as much unless you strolled through the arcade and popped in a quarter or renting it for your home console.Bosconian was a pretty cool shooter guiding your ship that fired shot from the front and rear simultaneously.You had to...enemies came at all directions at your attempt to destroy all the space stations.Rolling Thunder was a personal favorite of mine-gunning down lots of bad guys and dodging gunfire to make a well-placed shot was crucial.Galaxian actually came before Galaga but you could see re-designing had improved the aspect that made Galaga more well known....still fun though.Motos being on this collection is a gem indeed.Your character's goal is to bump all enemies and obstacles(which reduce your freedom of movement) off the board and into a bottomless pit that surrounds the board to advance to the next level.Different enemy types with speeds faster than your character can make this challenging.Dragon Buster is another cool vertical scrolling shooter similar to Xevious.Pac-Mania I never played in the arcade in my youth but had it on my Sega Genesis.I liked the 3/4 angled 3D perspective it had and that Pac-Man could jump.Pole Position and RoadBlasters by Midway were probably the most popular racing games of the 80's.Not much to praise about the Arrangement titles other than a refreshed version of the original games which isn't bad...I'm just smiling on Galaga '88 more.

Conclusion:
Plenty of good games by Namco on this collection and the most generous/up to date so far.It's very hard to say which set is better this or Midway Arcade Origins.Both collections invoke fond memories,a plethora of enjoyment,and games have changed drastically.Ultra hi-res graphics sacrificing gameplay time and being easier to beat (on my end) really makes the old-school games have something to say in challenge.Plus all the numerous quarters you pumped into these games trying to beat...you're getting them back.We've all been down that road (regardless of system) dropping $50-$60 on a game,these games are more true to a conquest to beat than games of today.5-stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$13.56-$69.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.