Automotive Deals Summer Reading Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
Price:$46.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 17, 2002
Namco brings the actual classic arcade experience home starting with this CD. Pac-Man, the star of the disc, plays differently than the one Midway had or the one Namco put on its Classic Collection Vol. 2 arcade game...I think this one might be the same one the Japanese imported for show in 1979 or 1980. (Different patterns; glitch with Inky near the top of the maze, etc.) Both Rally-X and New Rally-X are also maze games; you try to collect all the flags before your fuel runs out, whilst avoiding other cars and rocks. Pole Position is basically a timed race game against other cars. (Be careful around sharp curves.) Galaga deals with a swarm of insects in space; your job is to shoot them down. (The "no bullets" code also works...only in less time.) In Bosconian, you have a free-flying ship in space with dual front and back shooting, dealing with alien ships and enemy space stations. Toypop, the obscurity, can be played with 2 players...you control a toy and open packages to reveal hearts (for your level exit) and various different weapons for different enemies. This CD is much easier to maintain than the arcade versions of these games. I highly recommend this one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2001
This game has 7 arcade games on it. They are Bosonian, Pole Position, New Rally-X, Galaga, Rally-X, Toypop, and Pacman. You can walk through the museum to the games. The graffics are great. Rally-X and New Rally-X. Try to get all the flags. Do not run into red cars or rocks. Galaga. Shoot the aliens but don't let them shoot you. Bosonian. Like Galaga but more conplex. Pole Position. Race against other race cars. Do not run into signs or other cars. Toy Pop. Distroy your enemies with cool weapons. Different weapons distroy different enemies. Pac-Man. Eat the dots and don't let the ghosts get you. You can play with one or two players. If you like this game also get Namco Museum Vo. 3.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 18, 2001
Namco Museum 1 (first in a series of five collections) is one of the better selections in the series. Pac-Man is probably the most well remembered, and an excellent translation from the Arcade version. Galaga is another title that makes the transition well. But the best is Bosconian. Every level - every ship - even the bonus levels and the weird levels beyond the 9th are all there in glorious color, faithfully rendered. The rest are a mixed lot, including Rally-X and Pole Position. A great ride for those who remember the classic arcade consoles.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 16, 2001
The games on this disc are literally the same games that were on the old arcade games. When you start a game it goes through the entire start-up sequence similar to turning on your home computer, which is exactly what happens when you plug in an arcade game and turn it on. The graphics, sound, levels, etc., are all exactly the same as the original arcade versions. Better yet, you even have access to all the difficulty controls that the arcade owners had: setting the difficulty, speed, number of lives, and when you get free lives. You can even save your high score list, just like in the arcade.
However, this disc does not support the analog joystick controllers, which makes it a lot more difficult to play some of the games, such as Pole Position. Because of the way the games load, it is very slow to go from one game to another one.
The games on the disc: Galaga, Pac Man, Pole Position, Bosconian, Rally-X, New Rally-X, and Toy Pop.
Overall, this disc is what you would expect if you remember the originals. It provides some entertainment, but most of these games just seem too simplistic and boring when compared to present-day video games.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2002
These games are great, but the playability is not quite like the arcade standup models. For some reason, there seems to be a slight hesitation when making some of the quick corners in Ms Pac-man and Dig Dug. Also, Pole Position plays differently without the wheel. Still, the games are exactly as they were years ago. The sames tendencies I remember on Galaga come alive in the Playstation version. These are exact replicas of the originals that helped start it all.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
I had this game as a kid...and many nostalgic memories I've had indeed. Well, of course I had to grow up into an evolving Teenager (Currently 14), and I felt really nostalgic. After going into my local Edward's Mckay to buy an NES but instead ended up buying a new PS1 due to a lack of money, I went home, got on Amazon, and started ordering many nostalgic classics like Road Rash, Tekken, ETC.

When I ordered this, it came in the case, used but really good condition. Anyways, Namco Museum is more than just your average "Alright boys, lets pile up a bunch of our best games and resell it!" type of thing...because it includes many new features that the later Namco Museums would soon lack.

There is the Museum Mode, which puts you in an FPS perspective of Pac-Man as you explore the Museum...This, is really the most nostalgic and best part of the game. I had a lot of fun walking into the game rooms and reading all the fun facts, looking at Namco Merchandise (That sadly says "No Longer Available"...o how time goes by), looking at all the pictures of earlier version of the game and its cabinets...The Museum mode is really cool, and once you get to the actual arcade cabinets, Namco did a brilliant job of designing "Custom Themes" for each of the rooms featuring the arcade cabinet. Galaga features a really cool space station cockpit with awesome sci-fi orchestrated music, Pole Position features a Ralley speedway type of theme with the cabinet in the middle, and my favorite, Bosconian features a game room with a moving space around the arcade cabinet as probably one of the most kick-ass tunes in gaming plays. I actually sometimes just walk around these game rooms and explore and listen to the music before playing the actual game!

If you don't wanna screw around though and just play the game right ahead, then you can just select the games from the menu itself, though I think that seriously and majorly degrades the experience from this awesome game! On top of that, there is also a bar you can explore that features a jukebox with some really nostalgic music, magazines covers from the old days of Namco, and other cool extras. I'm not sure why, but the Museum mode is probably the main reason why this was so nostalgic for me and remains #5 at my top 10 PS1 games of all time. This game has stood the test of time really well too! As for the games go, they are ported rather impressively, with no lag, and smooth controls. Your room will be flooded with the sound of Pac Man chomping and Galaga ships exploding, which just adds to the awesomness of playing it in your room instead of an arcade! (Though playing these IRL in an arcade will always be the best way to experience it...)

So pick up Namco Museum today. It's my favorite out of all the others in this series and you will not regret it! And yes...it does feature 2 player play, so I seriously recommend you grab a friend on a boring evening and get together to play some Toy Pop cooperatively or compete for the high score! Pick this game up now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2004
Alright, let's break it down:
Pac-Man: Still the best character on this side of the planet.
Galaga: The best damn shoot-'em-up game in the known universe.
Pole Position: Um, Hello? Where's the prepare to qualify voice sounder?
Bosconian: Sinistar on a killing spree (Just without the Sinistar) And it features great voicing and classy music.
Rally-X: Great game, but the music is somewhat stuck in your head and it's a two-note wonder.
New Rally-X: better music, better gameplay
Toypop: Very quirky music and very weird animation.
Now on the rest, the room to the game's music is a new rendition that gives birth to the phrase: "remix." Plus, the game rooms are eye-popping and the museum space is rendering and excellent! I love this game!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
PAC-MAN
GALAGA
POLE POSITION
BOSCONIAN
TOYPOP
RALLY-X
DIG DUG
NEW RALLY-X

If you've ever had to use a laundromat instead of having a washer/dryer set at home, then you are likely familiar with at least a couple of the games in this set. Perfectly emulated, some complete with screen rotation (for widescreen/hdtvs) this blast from the past kicked off a lucrative retro compilation craze on the Playstation hardware family that didn't end until the life of the PS2 did.

Fun for the whole family
Arguably the best in the series
Best value for your money in the series. (8 Games!)

Plays on Playstation 1-3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
This is a good game. It may be old, but it's gold! Literally. This includes a lot of old games like Pac-Man, Galaxy, and others which can be played in various parts of the museum. I recommend it if you like some old games
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Getting this Namco Vol. 1 (Playstation) Game was a blast for me, my son and daughter. My son who is 12 and my daughter who is 7 loved it so much! I am 45 years old and I still play video games. One thing I can say it sure brought alot of good memories playing these classics games from the 80's. Thanks I'm a happy customer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.