Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nancy Drew 34: the Hidden Window Mystery
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2003
This review concerns the original 1956 edition as well as the revised 1975 edition, which is a shorter version of the original. Nancy reads a magazine article about an Englishman who is offering a reward for a centuries old stained-glass window believed to have been brought to the U.S. many years ago, but it has since vanished. Believing that the window could be located around Charlottesville, Va, near Richmond, Nancy, Bess and George set off to stay with Nancy's cousin who lives in the area. While there, an actress and her daughter beg Nancy to solve the mystery concerning the mysterious noises that they hear in their new home, Ivy Hall. How Nancy locates the hidden window and discovers the truth behind the ghost of Ivy Hall is a rather interesting story. Personally, I feel that this is the last of the really great books of the series. From #35 on, the books are typically nothing more than horribly-written, boring mysteries that (if Nancy goes to an actual place) read more like tour guides than anything else. The exceptions to this are few and far between. Thankfully, this book is nothing like that. The mystery is interesting, there is plenty of action and the book is fairly well-written. The book also manages to keep you wondering just who is friend and who is foe. I enjoyed reading this book and I would be surprised if other people who read this book couldn't say the same.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 1998
This is a book that I would recommend to my friends, but not many people are into Nancy Drew anymore. This book made me very anxious. I could not put it down. I squeezed in a page every minute I had. I had the greatest urge to turn to the back of the book to see what happened.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2003
If you hven't read this book you've got to!! This exiting book starts out when Nancy sees an article saying that whoever finds an old stain glass window will get a big reward. Nancy and her friends soon find themselves going to vist Nancy's cousin Susan to see if they can find more information concerning the window. Nancy soon gets aquinted with Mark Bradshaw who makes stain glass windows. While learning to make stain glass windows Nancy watches a suspect who is also workin there. Well if that isn't enough Nancy and her friends get aquinted with Sheila Patterson and her daughter Annette. Sheila and Annette recently bought the old mansion "Ivy Hall". They've been hearing strange sounds during the night and wonder if Nancy and her friends can stay at Ivy hall with them for a few days to see if they can solve the mystery. Of course Nancy agrees to help them. Soon she finds herself thinking up a plan to trap one of the suspects. If you want to find out how Nancy traps the thiefs, and whether or not she'll find the stain glass window you'll have to read the book!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
#34 in the series, the mystery begins when Nancy's mailman, Mr. Ritter, falls down in front of her house, and a lot of the mail goes flying. Nancy helps him pick it up and asks him in for tea. He asks Nancy to bring his mailbag in. He tells her that he read an article in a magazine that she would be interested in. The magazine belonged to a customer on his route, Mrs. Dondo. Nancy reads the article, which is regarding a reward for finding a stained glass window. Then Hannah Gruen, the Drew's housekeeper (since Nancy was three) reads the article. Mrs. Dondo shows up and is quite angry about Mr. Ritter lollygagging on the job. She then accuses him of stealing one hundred dollars cash which she claims her brother sent her in the mail, that she should have received that day. She's quite unpleasant and Mrs. Gruen orders her out of the house.

Nancy has a cousin, Susan Carr, living in Viriginia, so Nancy, Bess and George (her best chums) decide to fly down there to visit and solve the mystery of the hidden window. Before Nancy leaves, she writes a letter to her friend Ned Nickerson at Emerson College asking him to also come visit while the girls are there. Mr. Drew buys the girls their airline tickets and drives them to the airport, even though Nancy has just received a telegram (I love this old stuff) supposedly from Susan, telling her not to come.

Of course Susan did not send the telegram. Word gets around fast in criminal circles when Nancy Drew is about to become involved in a mystery, that they do not want her to solve! They will send telegrams in other peoples' names and cause any number of car wrecks. Poor George is clumsy or unlucky as usual, cutting her hand on a piece of glass and falling into a pit of ice cold water.

An actress, Sheila Patterson lives near the Carrs' home, in Ivy Hall with her daughter Annette, and asks Nancy to solve the mystery of a ghost in her house. Sheila wants to fix up the house but someone is trying to scare them into moving out! There can be only one reason for that.

In her spare time, Nancy takes lessons in making stained glass. The artist, Mr. Bradshaw, is reluctant, but gives in once he learns that Nancy has already attended art school. Alonzo Rugby (Mrs. Dondo's brother) works for Mr. Bradshaw and makes fun of Nancy's attempts to sketch a peacock for a stained glass window. This does not faze Nancy, as she correctly surmises that Alonzo wants to get her out of the class! He even snatches her drawing, wads it up, and throws it in the fireplace! He's just as rude as his sister.

Ned, Dave Evans and Burt Eddleton do come to visit. They are all football players and just happen to be attending an annual collegiate conference in Charlottesville. They don't stay long, but Ned helps Nancy on a sleuthing errand.

At Ivy Hall, Nancy, Bess and George search the place to find a clue to mysterious intruder. Nancy and George find a sliding panel, while Bess sees the ghost. Later they find a trap door!

Ivy Hall is broken into by someone searching for the stained glass window. "That horrible burglar," Bess exclaimed, "mussed up all our clothes!" And stole several new articles of lingerie as well! Also, the floors, walls and ceilings of the old mansion were hacked.

Nancy keeps her cool as always and everything ends just perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2002
"The Hidden Window Mystery" finds Nancy, Bess, and George visiting Nancy's cousin, Susan, at her lovely home outside Richmond, Virginia. The young sleuth is soon tracking down a beautiful stained-glass window, several centuries old. Along the way Nancy, and the readers, learn about the painstaking process of creating beautiful leaded stained glass.
Secret panels, hidden passageways, and double walls figure into the story. It's a rip-roarin' adventure for Nancy, her girlfriends, and Ned Nickerson. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
LOVE this book! I'm working a collection of nancy drew and hardy boys books. I've been wanting this one for quite some time, although most of my NDs are of the yellow-bound edition, this older one looks cooler than the yellow-bound version 😉
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
This was a wonderful read. I am from Charlottesville,Va which is where the setting of this story takes place so I was interested in reading this one in particular. It arrived when expected and was in great condition. This is a great addition to my daughters and my Nancy Drew library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
I read this book with two different ten-year-old girls. One grew impatient with the slow start and dated phrasing. The other couldn't get enough. For girls whose attention spans have not been ruined by the fast pace of video games and TV, Nancy Drew books are still as addictive as chocolate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2011
Don't get me wrong I am a HUGE fan of the Nancy Drew series. I have read a little more than half the series. But this one is probably one of the worst. It's just my opinion. I found it hard to make it through the first chapter, but I finished the book. It was just too confusing there was so many mysteries, characters, and events that you just got bored and confused. I quickly solved the mystery though. I wouldn't want to read this if I was you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2008
I loved this book. Let's start with the art on the cover. Absolutely beautiful. Between the art and the description of the window, I really wanted to see it in person. There are many mysteries in this book to be solved, and Nancy does an excellent job as usual. It was a page turner and I really enjoyed the background information about peacocks as well as the making of a stained glass window.

I'm still new to the series, and I'm reading the books that have been revised. I still love them and I love the unique writing and the way Nancy is able to always get to the bottom of things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.