Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best birthday present for my nephew!
I got this for my nephew last year for his birthday, we had a couple cars going on the track and it was so much fun! Everyone at his party had a blast with it, the cars go so fast! Great buy.
Published 3 months ago by Jennifer Citta

versus
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nano speed, Macro Frustration
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:04 Mins
Miniature cars seem set to make a comeback this year, with multiple options available from different companies. Nano Speed cars work on the pull-back method vs. needing batteries or other types of power. This set is very similar to the hot-wheels tracks that have been around forever. It uses the pull-back action of the cars to get you...
Published 22 months ago by Brian R.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nano speed, Macro Frustration, September 10, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
Length:: 1:04 Mins

Miniature cars seem set to make a comeback this year, with multiple options available from different companies. Nano Speed cars work on the pull-back method vs. needing batteries or other types of power. This set is very similar to the hot-wheels tracks that have been around forever. It uses the pull-back action of the cars to get you started, then relies on a battery powered booster/launcher to send the cars up the larger loop. From the outside, this seems like a really cool design and setup.

There are some good design points - for instance, you can just send a car through the launcher and bypass the initial loops. Also, since it's "Nano" sized, it doesn't require a ton of space. Also, all the pieces have numbers on the back of them making them easy to connect without using the wrong piece. On the flip side, it can't be used in any other way. All the loops and spirals are custom-made pieces, so you can't reconfigure the track, expand it, etc. The launcher is every bit as load and "rattly" as the hot wheels ones.

The cars themselves are cool and can be played with on their own. The pull back feature works well, but there's only so much power that can be stored in that little package, so they don't go very far on their own. The biggest problem, though is trying to get a car to go without messing up. Since they're so small, it's hard to let them go just right so that you don't pop a wheelie, or have it stick to your fingers when you let go. This was the biggest frustration for us, and the one that ultimately led to this product's return.

I did find one trick that works pretty well: instead of trying to just let the car go, move it forward while letting it go. This makes a smoother transition and the car is less likely to flip over or pop a wheelie. I got the hang of it, but kids will find it more difficult and frustrating.

When it all works, the track can be fun. With two cars zooming around, it's pretty cool. Eventually, they'll fly off, which is fun to watch and see where or how far away they land. The problem, though, is that this is all you can really do. And for the retail price of $35, that seems like a lot of money for something that doesn't do a whole lot, and is really very difficult to get it to just do that in the first place.

So, for being difficult to get the cars going, lack of expandability and variety, and the overall high price, I can only rate it 2 stars. Some people might like it, but I'd wait and see if the price drops or start off with a different set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Super Vert Crash Set", October 7, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very good toy to keep children busy for an hour or so, before they leave it and return to it later. Although this set's track is easy to assembly, the child may need assistance. The cars are small and fast, and traverse the track at blinding speeds, often leaving the track. The cars are pushed back before taking your fingers off of them and allowing them to go forward. The set takes two "D" batteries which are not furnished with the set. Children playing with the set should be cautioned to stay more on the "start" side, because the cars do fly from the track and could injure an eye. When it operates the way it should, the speed of the cars as they negotiate curves and gravity will amaze all. Fun game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best birthday present for my nephew!, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
I got this for my nephew last year for his birthday, we had a couple cars going on the track and it was so much fun! Everyone at his party had a blast with it, the cars go so fast! Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, November 8, 2013
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
Horrible and headed to the local trash dump. The cars are the only fun thing about the set. Track is a flimsy mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cute idea, terrible execution, December 26, 2012
By 
Rob Mattheu (Somewhere in the US) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
A miniature Hot Wheels set sounds cool, right? The 41 year old in me was very happy to open this on Christmas Day, since I had lots of Hot Wheels, but never a proper track. Unfortunately, the Nano Speed Super Vert Crash Set, once set up, appears to be a toy that went from prototype to shelf without ever being tested.

As you're putting the set together, you know you're in trouble. The individual track pieces are made of soft, flimsy plastic with zero weight to it. The entire set is self contained and doesn't have enough weight to keep it flat to the ground, or enough hard plastic to keep it rigid for the cars. The little motorized compartment that flings the cars around the track does a great job of doing it, but flings them so fast that they often become projectiles, since the track isn't rigid enough to keep them in place and rolling. Did I mention that the motor's off switch wouldn't work?

And the cars.... these little guys are cute, but suffer from a fatal flaw. No weight. If you try to play with them off or on the track they stick to your fingers when you release them and often flip before they go any distance. They're cute, but kind of worthless as toys, either on the track, or on their own.

The Nano Speed cars and playset seem like someone's great idea ruined in execution. I have to imagine that many of these purchased for Christmas are on their way back to the store or perhaps tossed in the bin of toy failures that kids discover on their way digging for something better.

What frustrates me most is that my wife and daughter were excited to see this in action, and both were disappointed.

Get your kid some Hot Wheels instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars doesn't work, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
Cars constantly flip over, only 1 in 4 will go all the way around the track. Kids (ages 6.5-2.5) lost interest after first day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandma in CA, December 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
I bought this set for my 6 year old grandson - he loves it!! It occupied him for several hours and he is in love with it......great Christmas gift!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Played with maybe three times!, May 27, 2013
By 
Joanne Saulsberry (INDIAN TRAIL, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
The concept is great and looks really fun on commercials, but in reality, my son only played with this a few times and the batteries went out. He lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
This has hardly been used. It's very loud and the cars do not stay on the track. My son likes the cars but not the track, so I guess I"ll have to buy something else for the cars to go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Toy, April 20, 2013
By 
Casey (Madison, WI USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set (Toy)
Bought this for my 4 year old son and he loves it! Track is sturdy and a ton of fun to play with. The cars are great and pretty durable and easy to fix if they need a repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nano Speed - Super Vert Crash Set
$34.99 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.