Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most profound wisdom that mankind has to offer
Before Napoleon Hill became a massively successful author, he wrote articles for a magazine called Success Magazine. The nucleus of those articles is what this book is made of with each chapter coming from a different article. It is a book that everyone should read once in their life.

There are twelve chapters in the book and the first chapter is only four...
Published on January 14, 2009 by Mohamed

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just o.k for me
When I purchased this book it was based on reading a lot of the reviews that the book received.

Being totally honest because that is the only way I now it, after reading Think and Grow Rich this book is just o.k.

For me it was a hard read.

The only chapter that I thought was worth the read was lesson 6 How to Build Self Confidence...
Published 8 months ago by cwbrit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most profound wisdom that mankind has to offer, January 14, 2009
By 
Mohamed (Hayward, Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
Before Napoleon Hill became a massively successful author, he wrote articles for a magazine called Success Magazine. The nucleus of those articles is what this book is made of with each chapter coming from a different article. It is a book that everyone should read once in their life.

There are twelve chapters in the book and the first chapter is only four pages long, but it is packed with information which should be read more than once. Hill says we all consist of and develop "sense impressions" from the same things; teachings we received at home, Sunday school or Church (which can be substituted for whatever religious background we have), public or private schools, and daily newspapers or magazines.

The impressions we have is what make up our conscious and sub-conscious minds and in order for us to be successful, we need to fine- tune them.
He emphasizes two things in later chapters; suggestion, which is how we influence the minds of others, and auto-suggestion, which is how we tap into the powers of our own mind. Hill believes the latter of the two is more important as we need to create in our minds the plan for achieving what we want.

He says the person who has a sound plan and has the self-confidence to make it work is undefeatable. Confidence must be created in the mind before that mind is "neutralized." What Hill means is that our minds can lose focus and it must be in a certain state where it will only accept the things which will help a person achieve his or her goals.

In the 4th chapter, Hill says there is an "unknown phenomena" that helps us when we pray. He emphasizes that it has "no connection whatsoever" with organized religion. He doesn't clarify whether he means any person who believes in a higher power can pray or anyone, including Atheists, can make a prayer. This is something that is interesting since those who do not believe in God can obviously pray, but to who they pray is something of a mystery.

Later on, Hill talks about how we must turn the thing which we are trying to overcome or master into a habit. He says we must stick to doing whatever it is we aspire to do until it becomes 2nd nature. He says we should have the "tenacity of a bull-dog" and not let anything deter us from getting the thing we want.

Towards the end, Mr. Hill talks about the power of persuasion and says that a teacher who can stimulate minds and make students reach for higher then their averages "will confer a blessing on the human race second to none in the history of the world." This stresses the important role that educators play. It is crucial that future generations are allowed to reach for greatness and become successful by developing their highest level of concentration.

He ends the book by summarizing the Golden Rule Philosophy and tells us not to worry about the injustices in the world and people who do not apply the Golden Rule. "You can change the attitude of others towards you by first changing your attitude towards others." Your job is to master yourself and believe that you can be successful by being a force of attraction and then others will follow your lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent self help book, February 7, 2009
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
Excellent self help book useful for any situation you may come up with. It supplies you with the personal power and feeling of confidence which is so needed in making correct decisions in your daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon Hill... that says it all, everyone self help copies this!, February 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Buy it, read it, use it, change your life and all the world!

Yes, this is the self help author that did it all almost 100 years ago and is still used as the inspiration for over 99% of all self help books!

Oh... That other 1% are not really self help as much as they are spiritual... like the Bible, and in all the religious books, Ask and you will receive, the law of attraction, they are as old as sand.

And Hill tells you he got his inspiration from God, so he's not taking all the credit like the people who use his information, spice it up and say it is theirs... when it is Napoleon Hill!

If we all read this there would have never been a group of people that take and give nothing back, causing all the pain and turmoil that we see from Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total shock, November 11, 2011
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
I am in total shock that this book does not have a million 5 stars. This is the best book that i have read about the author. Truley amazing because it goes step by step on how to apply the golden rules to your life. LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK AND A MILLION STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all times!!!!, December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
Napoleon Hill is the BEST motivational author of all times.
Every technique or method, used in modern literature, is either directly borrowed or modified from Hill's ideas.
This particular book is a set of journal articles published in Hill's magazine in 30's. Although more than 70 years have passed the author's insight and ideas are extremely valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
This is the kind of book that you can read over and over (Just like Think and Grow Rich). Every time you read, you get a new thought, and it certainly keeps you motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings, November 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
Napoleon Hill describes in-depth the rules to adhere to in order to achieve success in life. If you break down each rule and come up with an example of how it would apply to your life, then you would understand the powerful impact of the rule. There is not an example in personal or professional life that you can not assimulate these rules to. This is a very powerful and impactful book that can truly help you to advance in life. This isn't a book that you read once and put it aside, this is the type of book that you should live your life by. I recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Common Sense knowledge for a business owner, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had started this book in hard copy many years ago and to now have it on my Kindle, just wonderful, a refresher never hurts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just o.k for me, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings (Paperback)
When I purchased this book it was based on reading a lot of the reviews that the book received.

Being totally honest because that is the only way I now it, after reading Think and Grow Rich this book is just o.k.

For me it was a hard read.

The only chapter that I thought was worth the read was lesson 6 How to Build Self Confidence.

Napoleon Hill is a great author but this is definitely not one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great, motivational and to the point information. This information should be taught in our schools. Kids, especially teens, should know all these concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings
Napoleon Hill's Golden Rules: The Lost Writings by Napoleon Hill (Paperback - December 31, 2008)
$16.95 $11.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.