Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


389 of 392 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational. Builds upon "Think and Grow Rich".
There are thousands of self-help books out in the market and hundreds of self proclaimed "gurus" who have made a living by copying the wisdom in Napoleon Hill's books. As I went through some of those books I realized that there was not much in them that Hill had not already written about. I recommend quality over quantity. Instead of reading through many books, I...
Published on February 12, 2006 by Avinash Sharma, The Yogic Manager

versus
73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WRITTEN BY NAPOLEON HILL
Please be advised that this book is NOT WRITTEN BY NAPOLEON HILL. It is a rework of his writing of the other twelve books he wrote while his was alive. This book was published in 1994(per the published date in the book)and Napoleon Hill died in 1970.

If you are going to read and learn from Napoleon Hill, I suggest you buy the books he actually authored and...
Published on September 30, 2009 by Glenn C. Sojourner


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

389 of 392 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational. Builds upon "Think and Grow Rich"., February 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
There are thousands of self-help books out in the market and hundreds of self proclaimed "gurus" who have made a living by copying the wisdom in Napoleon Hill's books. As I went through some of those books I realized that there was not much in them that Hill had not already written about. I recommend quality over quantity. Instead of reading through many books, I recommend that you study the following works of Hill and internalize his wisdom:
1. The Think and Grow Rich Action Pack (1937) - I recommend the Action Pack edition,
2. Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement - this book,
3. Your Right To Be Rich [Unabridged] - this consists of 12 hours of live lectures covering the 17 principles, that Hill conducted in Chicago in 1954.
By internalizing, I mean studying in depth - analyzing the ideas, making notes and summaries. I own more CDs by Hill, but I believe that these 3 items make the perfect study plan on the Philosophy of Personal Achievement.
This philosophy is the end product of two decades of research conducted by Napoleon Hill. His research started when Andrew Carnegie (the steel tycoon who was then the richest man on earth) gave him the assignment of organizing a Philosophy of Personal Achievement. Hill, who was a poor journalist, armed with just an introductory letter from Carnegie, set out to interview over five hundred successful people including Henry Ford, Thomas Edison, Alexander Graham Bell, John D. Rockefeller, George Eastman, William Wrigley Jr. and Charles M. Schwab. Hill then revealed the priceless wisdom of his research in the form of the thirteen steps to success (in Think and Grow Rich) and the seventeen Principles of Personal Achievement (in courses and lectures he conducted).
This particular book goes beyond the 13 steps in Think and Grow Rich. It covers the following 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (also known as the 17 Keys to Success):
1. Develop a Definiteness of Purpose
2. Establish a Mastermind Alliance
3. Assemble an Attractive Personality
4. Use Applied Faith
5. Go the Extra Mile
6. Create Personal Initiative
7. Build a Positive Mental Attitude
8. Control Your Enthusiasm
9. Enforce Self-Discipline
10. Think Accurately
11. Control Your Attention
12. Inspire Teamwork
13. Learn from Adversity and Defeat
14. Cultivate Creative Vision
15. Maintain Sound Health
16. Budget Your Time and Money
17. Use Cosmic Habitforce
The concepts taught by Napoleon Hill transformed my life. Everything he wrote about or talked about is thought provoking. He was wise, humble and funny. His philosophy is universal; he did not mix it with religion. The riches he referred to were more than money, for the Philosophy of Personal Achievement can be applied to anything in life.
Hill was well ahead of his time. "Think and Grow Rich" has a chapter dedicated to some of today's most important issues - Specialized Knowledge, Decision Making, Imagination and Organized Planning (in which he deals with Leadership). And his principles deal with Teamwork, Creative Vision, Health, etc.
I am greatly indebted to Napoleon Hill. The purpose of my writing this is to spread awareness of his work so that more people can benefit from it. This, I believe is the best way in which Hill would have liked to have been repaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first true proactive success guru., April 16, 2001
By 
Randy Gilbert "Best Seller Mentor" (founder of 'BestSellerMentoring.com') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
"Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success" is one of those books that after you read it you begin to refer to the earlier part of your life as "before I read the book." Even before you finish reading it the first time, you will be a changed person - it's that incredible. I say first time because you will want to read it again and again.
Napoleon Hill's books have been a treasured part of my library. I've recommended this one to others countless times. I consider Napoleon Hill to be one of the earliest "proactive thinkers" in the world.
If you haven't read this book before, get ready for profound wisdom. Napoleon Hill makes it easy to understand that our thoughts are things and have God given powers, far beyond what is commonly taught by others. I can tell you from my own astonishing situations experiences that, "your success really is most definitely determined by what and how you think."
You will find that this exciting book becomes a part of you. Don't hold back - let it happen. In fact, you should spend 10 to 15 minutes every morning focusing your thoughts on the truths of this book, thereby allowing them to seep deep into your subconscious mind. If you do this I guarantee this wisdom will most assuredly bring you the success and abundance you deserve.
Enjoy the book and your new life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among my first batch of books...greatest influence on attaining personal achievement in life!, July 21, 2006
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
The first batch of significant books that had the greatest influence on me in terms of attaining personal achievement includes mostly Napoleon Hill's books:

- The Law of Success;
- Think & Grow Rich;
- The Keys to Success;
- Success through a Positive Mental Attitude;
- Succeed & Grow Rich through Persuasion;

The others were from Clement Stone, Dale Carnegie, & Earl Nightingale.

That was the early 70's when I had just started work as a young engineer.

The author, Napoleon Hill, had impressed me most by his relentless dedication in spending some two to three decades of his life in pursuing & researching the success secrets of the rich & famous...with a little help from Andrew Carnegie, of course.

As matter of fact, many of the famous people he interviewed were also favourite role models of mine e.g. Henry Ford, Thomas Edison, Alexander Graham Bell, just to name a few

Till this day, I have never forgotten what he said:

"The most powerful instrument we have in our hands is the power of our mind."

I have never ceased to be fascinated by the simplicity & the potency of his ABCs of personal achievement: CONCEIVE, BELIEVE & ACHIEVE!

It is certainly enlightening to note that even Stephen Covey had drew inspiration from Napoleon Hill's work even though he never made that credit. He only admitted that the 7 Habits had its origins from "200 years of success literature in the United States." That remark itself is self explanatory.

Anthony Robbin's Mastery program as embodied in his books as well as his audio/video resources is no exception, even though he has been influenced in larger extent by NLP.

If you look at & compare the 17 principles of personal achievement in 'The Law of Success' &/or the 13 Steps to Riches in 'Think & Grow Rich', one can obviously see the uncanny resemblance of the 7 Habits & the Mastery principles...in one way or another.

At this juncture, let me outline the principal theme of each book:

The Law of Success: the original course on the fundamentals of success - all the seventeen essential principles of personal achievement;
Think & Grow Rich: The seventeen essential principles are reframed & condensed in terms of thirteen concrete steps to wealth creation (in actuality, this is a condensation of the Law of Success);
The Keys to Success: a further elaboration of the seventeen essential principles with concrete suggestions, exercises & advice;
Success Through Positive Mental Attitude: joint authorship with Clement Stone, with a further emphasis on developing a positive mental attitude;
Succeed & Grow Rich Through Persuasion: joint authorship with Clement Stone, with a further emphasis on developing master salesmanship & networking;
[It is pertinent to note that Clement Stone actually built his insurance business empire with these principles.]

My most productive, personal learning experience from Napoleon Hill's work is the understanding - & application - of his success principle #1: Develop Definiteness of Purpose.

[Very surprisingly, J Y Pillay, former Chairman of Singapore Airlines, - who had been credited for building the airline to what it is today, A GREAT WAY TO FLY! - also credited his work axiom to this same success principle, but he attributed it to an ancient Hindu scripture known as Bhagavad Gita.]

I am certainly gratified to note that Napoleon Hill's work had casted so much influence on - & empowered - so many people in the world, including myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WRITTEN BY NAPOLEON HILL, September 30, 2009
By 
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
Please be advised that this book is NOT WRITTEN BY NAPOLEON HILL. It is a rework of his writing of the other twelve books he wrote while his was alive. This book was published in 1994(per the published date in the book)and Napoleon Hill died in 1970.

If you are going to read and learn from Napoleon Hill, I suggest you buy the books he actually authored and not these rehashed, updated versions of his books. The twelve books Napoleon Hill wrote are: Law of Success(1928), The Magic Ladder to Success (1930 and if you are looking for information on Master Minds, this is the one to read), Think and Grow Rich(1937), How to Sell Your Way Through Life(1938), Mental Dynamite(1941), The Master Key to Riches(1948), How to Raise Your Own Salary(1953), Success Through a Positive Mental Attitude(1959 co-authored with W. Clement Stone), PMA Science of Success Course(1961), Grow Rich With Peace of Mind(1967), Succeed and Grow Rich Through Persuasion(1970)and You Can Work Your Own Miracles(1971, a year after Hill's death). These dates are per the Napoleon Hill Foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, December 29, 2004
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
I have to admit, when I started reading Napoleon Hill's "Keys To Success" I wasn't expecting it to be a great book. I had read "Think and Grow Rich" a couple months ago and I wasn't too thrilled with the older style English and abstract thoughts without real world examples. However I can confidently say that this was a great book!

The book goes through 17 different habits and thoughts of highly successful people. All of them are excellent techniques that a person can use to take themselves to success. Aspects like creating a definitness of purpose, creating an alliance of experts, keeping positive mental attitude are all included along with great examples and words of wisdom.

While there is still some older style English in the book, and some abstract topics such as keeping in contact with a higher intelligence do not contain as many practical examples, I believe this is only because this refers to topics that cannot be explained as well. I also admire him for tackling the tough job of writing about such things... but it appears to be a very important issue for Mr. Hill. I tend to agree with him.

In all, I thought this was a great read and definitely worth the time. 4 out of 5 stars for the old English... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expands on Think & Grow Rich, July 10, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
Although this book should not be compared to Think & Grow Rich, since others already have, all I add is that it expands on the content in Think & Grow Rich. Think & Grow Rich was a great intro to the 17 principles of success and has a lot of content. This book expands on those concepts. Read Think & Grow Rich first, then add this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Napolean Hill book?, June 16, 2004
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
Those were my thoughts as I was browsing books in the business section of my favorite book store. I already read Think & Grow Rich, Law of Success and Success Through PMA. What else could Napolean tell me?
This book is more like having Napolean Hill as your personal coach. It is like a written workshop with exercises and self analysis techniques. Hill also takes each of the 17 principles, dissects them and explains them in more detail than in Think & Grow Rich.
I always tell people that if you are going to buy just one Napolean Hill book, make it Think & Grow Rich. But if you are like me, if you like to feed your mind with good mental protein, then I would add this one on as well. It complements Think & Grow Rich.
For the price of a meal you can create the mental attitude of a champion. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you want burning desire to do something? Read this!, December 28, 2005
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
This is an excellent self-help book that can aid you to succeed in your goal. After I read this book, I felt the burning desire to do what I have to do, instead of my usual procrastination. The author tells his points with anecdotes and experiences of many successful people. This book should be read by all people but younger people will find this more helpful to achieve the goal earlier than they think.

The book can be a little stiff because it categories a lot. For example, the extra mile formula, seven fears, four steps of mastermind establishment, 17 principles of success, etc may daunt your reading as if you are reading softcover textbook. Just read them, you dont need to memorize all those 17 principles of success. Just read them a few times, it will just get into your subconscious mind.

I also recommend Million Dollars Habit by Brian Tracy, if you want more life and goal orienting advices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, December 12, 2000
By 
Andrew Burong (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
The Keys to Success contains all of Hill's 17 principles in one book. Dr Hill's other books such as Master Key to riches mentions the 17 principles but this is the first to explain in detail each and every one.
This book is also a little simpler to read than Hill's other works. For example some people need to read Master Key to Riches 2 or 3 times before it makes any sense. Keys to Success seems to be easier to read.
I run a network marketing business and we use the Hill philosophy as part of our success formula. I use this book to introduce the philosophy of success to new people because it makes so much sense.
I would highly recommend the Keys to Success to anyone who is half serious about lifting themselves beyond mediocrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best place to start reading Napoleon Hill, May 5, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement (Paperback)
If you only have time for one book, start with this one. It's been updated (somewhat) to modern sensibilities without changing the force or meaning of the message. Additionally, it encapsulates all the relevant teachings into a more readable format.
What's missing is the folksy, literate, archaic language used by Hill in his original volumes which I enjoyed so much. If you have time for more, read something he wrote in its original form so that you can enjoy the marvelous literate voice of days gone by when our schools still taught reading and writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Napoleon Hill's Keys to Success: The 17 Principles of Personal Achievement
$15.00 $10.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.