Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars29
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2011
Heard of Naruto? Of course you have. What anime fan hasn't? Having read Naruto serialized in Shonen Jump, I'm pretty far into the series. But, I never bought it as a graphic novel until now. This 3-in-1 edition contains everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) from volumes 1-3 of the Naruto manga series. Plus, this is like buying 2 volumes and getting one free. It's great!

The only problem I have is that it doesn't include the original volume covers. They could have been used as a title page or something, but Whatever. Other than that, I have no complaints with my purchase and plan on buying the next volume right now! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2011
Most people think Naruto is stupid kid stuff. They couldn't be more wrong. Others judge it by the very annoying and obnoxious anime on Disney XD. There are no annoying voices in books unless you picture them that way. And the majority of people think Naruto is for the 'scene-type' because of all the 'odd' kids with Naruto headbands. Read it, and your mind might be changed. If you don't like it that's OK, but I think everyone should try it.

The gist of it is that Naruto, a student at Ninja Academy, is the scourge of the town because he holds the power of the evil Nine-Tailed Fox and was never given any attention, so did very stupid things to make himself known. Even though Naruto is far from being a good student, he strives to become Hokage, the leader of his village. After defeating Mizuki in an early conflict, earning him his ninja headband can now begin serious training in with his new training partners, Girly and Sharp-minded Sakura and skilled, moody and mysterious Sasuke. The series is ridiculously long (vol. 56, anyone?) but these new three in one editions they are easier to collect for vetrans and new fans alike. Everyone- Try Naruto!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 4, 2014
Since this is in Shonen Jump, my son asked for the first volumes and he got this for his birthday last year. I try to read what he reads so we can talk about it and I want to be versed in the popular titles. This series started way back in the golden age of the '90s so has a lot of typical manga elements from that period. Exaggerated emotions, especially. This used to bother me, but I've read so much now, that I find it fun and nostalgic to read '90s stuff. This omnibus contains Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto, Vol. 2: The Worst Client, and Vol. 3: Dreams. I was in love with the book by the end of the first volume as I took to the characters right away and this ninja title hadn't been anything like I thought it would be. The three main characters are great, even though each has a stereotypical type. Throughout the three volumes Naruto changes the most. He starts off as an immature kid, annoying at times, just wanting and assuming he will be the best, biggest hero ever by the end of his training. Well, during the next two volumes, he gets a dose of reality and matures quite a lot that as we enter Vol. 4 we are going to find a different Naruto. The plot revolves around their training to become ninjas, which they complete and then their special training under a master and they begin going out on missions with him while being trained in high level ninja arts at the same time. They've taken a mission to protect a man as he goes home but find that he hasn't told them the whole truth and that a mafia type guy is really after him. Battles ensue. Sasuke's character's background is revealed and some of the mystery about him is lifted. Now the ninjas find out that other assassins have been sent out to kill them (or is it just their master). Battling with a super cool Ninja, Zabuza, is great stuff. I liked this beginning very much. The plot is simple and easy to understand; the characters are likable; the villains fun; and good humour for an all around enjoyable entertaining read.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 21, 2011
WARNING: This review may contain potential spoilers.

The first volume of the Naruto 3-in-1 releases combines the first three volumes of the Naruto manga into one edition. Like the Bleach and Fullmetal Alchemist omnibus editions, the physical height of the volume is not drastically different from the regular manga editions, and a lower quality paper stock is used for the pages.

Naruto, the title character of the series, is an orphan who has decided that he will one day become the Hokage (the leader) of the village where he lives. Unfortunately, Naruto isn't the best of students at the ninja academy, and he's pulling pranks to force people to pay attention to him. It turns out that, unknown to Naruto, the fourth Hokage sealed a fox demon that was attacking the village into Naruto when he was a baby. The Hokage died soon after, and he had hoped that the villagers would view Naruto as a hero. Instead, the adults of the village shunned him, hence why Naruto feels such a need to act outrageously in order to get noticed. The third Hokage, who took the position back after the death of the fourth Hokage, decreed that disclosure of Naruto's secret is strictly forbidden under severe penalty. While Naruto's peers know nothing of his secret, many have picked up their parents' animosity toward him and perpetuate it.

In the first volume, Naruto is tricked by one the ninja academy instructors to steal a sacred scroll. He learns a cloning technique from the scroll that becomes Naruto's signature jutsu during the series. When the traitorous instructor tries to take the scroll from Naruto, he is saved by his teacher, Iruka. Naruto manages to graduate from the ninja academy and is assigned to a three man cell with Sakura (the girl he has a crush on) and Sasuke (a boy who Naruto strongly dislikes because he's the class heartthrob and Sakura obviously has a crush on him). They are assigned to a new teacher named Kakashi, and the volume ends with them doing a survival test that they need to pass in order to continue to be ninja; if they don't pass, then they have to return to the academy for more training.

In the second volume, Naruto, Sakura, and Sasuke finish their final test and become junior ninja. However, all they're being given are "D" level missions, such as babysitting, yard work, and running errands to neighboring villages; with the rank they are at, these are basically the only missions they get to build up experience until they make it up to the next ninja level. Naruto, being the knuckleheaded ninja that he is, starts to throw a fuss about the missions his team has to do, and tries to insist on doing missions that are higher ranked. Kakashi and Naruto's teammates chide Naruto for his behavior, but the Hokage decides to permit the team an opportunity to take on a "C" level mission. Naruto and his team are assigned to serve as bodyguards to protect a bridge builder named Tazuna from bandits and thieves. But, as the start on their way, Naruto and his team quickly learn that Tazuna had omitted some very important details about his situation, and that the mission is really a higher ranked mission than the Hokage had realized. Because of this, Naruto and his team find themselves face to face with some of the most lethal Mist Ninjas.

In the third volume, Kakashi has Naruto, Sasuke, and Sakura do some training while he recuperates from their battle in the second volume. Naruto also has disagreements with Inari, Tazuna's grandson, and the group learns why Inari has the attitude that he has. While Naruto is training, he has an encounter with a mysterious young man. The volume ends with another confrontation between Naruto and his teammates and the lethal Mist Ninjas.

When it comes to the art, Kishimoto has an ability to convey his characters' feelings through their facial expressions. In some respects the character designs feel a little rough in the first volume; however, for me, this may be due to the fact that I have more familiarity with the character designs from the Naruto anime series. Since this is a shonen series, there are some "busy" panels and "sound effects" utilized in the art, but they are not overdone and are used effectively to convey the story. In the second volume, it feels like Kishimoto was starting to get his groove on a little more when it came to drawing the characters. The look of the characters is more refined in comparison with the first volume, and they're starting to look much closer to their anime counterparts. There's definitely more "busy" panels in this volume due to the battles near the end of the volume, but Kishimoto knows how to use the "busy" look effectively to portray the fights. Even in non-fighting scenes, Kishimoto has a good feel for effectively utilizing "sound effects" in his drawings to help convey characters' reactions. The art style between volumes two and three are much more consistent than it was between volumes one and two.

Naruto isn't a bad manga series at all, but it can be a little slow to get going. However, if you're willing to stick it out, you'll see just how much deeper the series gets over time. While the early volumes of the manga may be suitable for pre-teen readers, the themes in the later volumes are probably better suited to older teens.

Naruto is rated "T," which means the series is being aimed at teenagers.

I wrote this review after reading a copy of this manga volume that my husband and I purchased.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2013
Loved it so much that i wanted to support the author after reading it all online for free. It takes a lot for me to actually purchase something after I've seen it/read it
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 25, 2012
Naruto is awesome! Best manga I have read very exhilarating packed with action and you are basically getting a free book! But there are some Teen rated pictures at the beginning nothing a 13 yr old couldn`t handle but if your kid hasn`t taken some sort of health class I do not recommend this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2013
It is very nice to have the three books in one. The price is really good and it's a pretty good deal. If you love NARUTO or Japanese comics I suggest that you get one! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2012
it was very nice to recieve this manga so fast. i wasnt expecting it. with a few creases i am left still very satisfied with the product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 5, 2013
I love the three in one books, it saves money for if you would buy them as there own book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
i like this series a lot it's action-packed, humorous & dramatic. this 3in1 volume is generally good the only downsides are; it doesn't have the original cover art for the volumes it contains but thats okay & the translation is somewhat awkward for example the (Kage Bunchen no Jutsu) is translated as (Art of Dopple-ganger) instead of the much more common, easier to understand (Shadow Clone Technique).
athor than that it's excellent, i highly recommend it for people new to the series or wanna collect the whole story.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto
Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto by Masashi Kishimoto (Paperback - July 9, 2003)

Naruto (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 2: Includes vols. 4, 5 & 6
Naruto (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 2: Includes vols. 4, 5 & 6 by Masashi Kishimoto (Paperback - July 5, 2011)

Naruto (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 3: Includes vols. 7, 8 & 9
Naruto (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 3: Includes vols. 7, 8 & 9 by Masashi Kishimoto (Paperback - September 6, 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.