Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Naruto movie
When I watched this movie a year or so ago I thought it was a pretty decent addition to the Naruto movies. Now, its finally available in America to buy. Its great that still keep the original Japanese audio for fans (like me) who prefer to listen to it in its intended language. The only thing that bothers me (which I'm sure hasn't been fixed for this release) is when...
Published on July 18, 2008 by A Gamer Guy

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frothy ninja tale
The vast majority of movies adapted from TV anime -- especially for anime that are still running -- are basically like long episodes of the TV series.

That pretty much sums up the second "Naruto" movie, straightforwardly called "Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel." It's a puff pastry of a movie, but it has pretty much everything you'd expect of a...
Published on July 26, 2008 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frothy ninja tale, July 26, 2008
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
The vast majority of movies adapted from TV anime -- especially for anime that are still running -- are basically like long episodes of the TV series.

That pretty much sums up the second "Naruto" movie, straightforwardly called "Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel." It's a puff pastry of a movie, but it has pretty much everything you'd expect of a Naruto story -- lots of slam-bang fight scenes, a big dramatic threat and a megamalomaniac villain. But it also feels like the writers and designers were making a cultural potlock for maximum effect.

As the story opens, the Sand Ninja -- including Gaara and Kankuro -- are battling a band of strange armored foreigners, who also have a very impressive warship.

Elsewhere, Naruto, Sakura and Shikamaru are handling their easiest assignment -- returning a ferret to its owner. But a clash with an armored warrior named Temujin brings Naruto into contact first with a caravan of wanderers, and then with Temujin's charismatic master. Master Haido holds almost religious sway over his various followers, and insists that he and his friends are trying to create a utopia of perfect peace.

Except nothing is ever that simple in a movie, or it would be very short. Naruto follows Temujin and finds out what "sacrifices" are being made under Haido's orders. And Haido's true motives are revealed when the leader of the caravan reveals an ancient story of a long-lost empire, and the staggering power that led to their destruction. Now it's up to Naruto and his friends to stop Naido, before he gets to the Mines of Gelel.

"Legend of the Stone of Gelel" pretty much sticks to the basic "Naruto" anime formula -- deranged villains seeking ultimate power, nasty minions with their own set of powers, and Naruto and his pals triumphing over the baddie after getting smashed into the floor about a dozen times. It's a fluff action anime, and has few differences from the TV series, but it's pretty entertaining fluff.

The writers also throw in a rather hackneyed message about the importance of friendship and stuff. Okay Naruto, we get it -- friends are important. But along the way, it doles out plenty of fight scenes, colorful techniques, and a fairly interesting backstory for the stones of Gelel, and the remaining people from its fallen empire. It moves by at a fast clip with lots of explosive fight scenes, especially when the ever-stoic Gaara battles a woman who can control lightning.

As the plot winds on, they up the ante to make the action ever more explosive and complex, right up to a finale involving a black hole, and a massive implosion in an underground cavern.

But in their quest to amp up the action and the visuals, the makers of "Legend of Gelel" went a little too far. The villain and his minions dress like medieval Europeans, and the ancient empire appears to have been populated by Aztecs. What's more, the baddie is inexplicably able to turn into a rock monster, and his minion is able to turn into beasts. But we have no idea why.

None of the characters really get explored much -- Naruto is his usual bombastic, hyperactive self and spends much of the movie brooding over the injustices of what's going on, his buddies show off their special skills, and the baddie is a cackling madman. Temujin is the most deeply explored of the characters, and the writers do a pretty decent job outlining his tragic, warped personality.

"Naruto The Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel" is an amusing, fluffy action anime that echoes the tone of the TV series, albeit with some rather bizarre trappings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Naruto movie, July 18, 2008
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
When I watched this movie a year or so ago I thought it was a pretty decent addition to the Naruto movies. Now, its finally available in America to buy. Its great that still keep the original Japanese audio for fans (like me) who prefer to listen to it in its intended language. The only thing that bothers me (which I'm sure hasn't been fixed for this release) is when you play the English subtitles for the Japanese audio. the names are still written "Naruto Uzumaki" or "Sasuke Uchiha" yet your ears just cleary heard "Uzumaki Naruto" and "Uchiha Sasuke". It gets extremely confusing, and I wish the subs had the names written in there original format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best naruto movie, November 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
The fights are really cool and if you are a fans of naruto its something that you need to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but better Naruto fare exists . . ., October 14, 2008
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
This movie was very reminiscent of the very first ten to fifteen episodes of the Naruto series. Problem is, this movie takes place nowhere near that timeline. As such, this feels so rehashed and, while it embodies the 'my determination will see me through any situation', the plot just doesn't pull it off. Honestly this feels like the characters are back-sliding in development as compared to the series. Of all the characters Gaara seemed to be the only one that had continued to develop in the movie. I probably could have added a star for the wonderful animation, but with the higher budget movies have you kind of expect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see for fans of shonen anime!, August 13, 2008
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel is the second feature-length animated film starring the popular manga character Naruto, a brash, headstrong, passionate youth determined to prove himself the best ninja in the world. Sent on a seemingly run-of-the-mill mission to return a lost ferret to its owner along with his teacher Shikamaru and female classmate Sakura, Naruto becomes entangled in the machinations of a ruthless invading force and its loyal front-lines warrior Temujin. Though the attackers claim to be founding a utopia that will spread peace to the world, their merciless quest for the stone of Gelel has already brought them into fierce conflict with Sand Ninja Kankuro and Gaara! It's an all-out battle not only to survive, but to separate truth from lies in this action-packed epic adventure. A two-disc set, Legend of the Stone of Gelel is in 16:9 anamorphic widescreen and includes director's audio commentary, as well as over sixty minutes of extra content and a colorful collector's booklet. A must-see for fans of shonen anime! 95 minutes plus special features, color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
Worked fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NARUTO MOVIE 2!, July 7, 2014
This review is from: Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (DVD)
This one was a surprise i expected it to be a standard sequel. But it was a lot better then i thought. I saw the film six years ago while i was house sitting for my now ex girl friend. I got bored one night and found it on youtube and watched it and i thought was great
fast forward to now about a month ago i had re-purchased a new copy of "Ninja Clash In the Land of Snow"
then i started to remember the sequel and a few days ago i purchased "Legend of the Stone of Gelel", and it does everything a sequel should its darker, more action packed and a lot of fun, it may be worth mentioning that this one never get a theatrical release in the states. There were also some moments of the film that were kind of creepy (intionally of course) Like when Temujin figures out that his master murdered his parents and when temujin looks at Haido's face he has this creepy smile on his face that gave me Chills. All and all this movie is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice movie., June 19, 2014
It was a very nice movie a lot of action and very internment my kids love it i will recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, May 11, 2014
Awesome Cool awesome and fun and great and it was very super cool to watch at home did I say cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go! Naruto Go!, April 28, 2014
This anime I grew up with. It tells about friendship that is real and no matter what it takes you will do it for your friend. It is also very hilarious...hahahaha...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel
Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel by Hirotsugu Kawasaki (DVD - 2008)
$29.92 $17.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.