Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Naruto movie!
Ok, so im one of those people that actually wait for the dvd release in order to see the film. By saying this i mean i havent see the next 2 movies (Blood Prison and RTN). So this review is based on the dvd.
Synopsis: Naruto, Sakura, Yamato and Sai are assigned by Tsunade to go capture a rogue ninja named Mukade in the city of Loran. During the fight Mukade summons...
Published 15 months ago by StreetFighterFan

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best
First of all, let me start by saying that I like the Naruto series a lot and for a couple of (personal) reasons I'll still be buying this movie once it's on sale in NA, but from this point on consider yourself warned: This is not the best Naruto movie. At all.

As I recall, this was the one that did in the scriptwriter for the past few (all of them?) movies--he...
Published 18 months ago by Vidar


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Naruto movie!, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok, so im one of those people that actually wait for the dvd release in order to see the film. By saying this i mean i havent see the next 2 movies (Blood Prison and RTN). So this review is based on the dvd.
Synopsis: Naruto, Sakura, Yamato and Sai are assigned by Tsunade to go capture a rogue ninja named Mukade in the city of Loran. During the fight Mukade summons forth the power of the "Ley line" an ancient underground channel chakra. Naruto gets caught up in the chakra and is sent back in time in the city of Loran. There he encounters the Queen of Loran, Sara, whose rule is threatened. Naruto must help the girl regain her right to her people as well to find a meaning to what has happened to the city. Along the way he will encounter some unexpected characters and will give a true meaning in the words "Never Give Up!".
Dvd: Viz media this time around actually made some new features for this. For starters we have music to the menu! Also in "extras" you have 3 trailers for Naruto Shippuden: The Movie, Naruto Shippuden The Movie: Bonds and Naruto Shippuden The Movie: The Will of Fire. 4 trailer of all the Bleach movies. And 2 trailers of the upcoming movie Naruto Shippuden The Movie: Blood Prison. Last and best we get a short animation called Naruto and the three wishes. A comedy episode that last 15 minutes!
Overall i give the movie 9/10 for its plot which i loved and for the great action scenes and if you love the action scenes in Naruto this movie wont disappoint! Highly recommended to all Naruto fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, but a little hard to place in the series, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You should have seen the episode where Naruto gets the message from his father left in the nine-tails seal. This story happens before that though. In a way, long before that. You get to see a bit of the fourth Hokage in action, which is cool. The story itself is "very Naruto". The ending credits are stills that continue the story so don't stop at the end. It can be a little confusing until you think it out. (Or mayby I'm just slow!). I only gave it 4 stars because it does get a little hard to follow and Viz's tendency not to give translations of Kanji on the screen. It's actually excellent, one of the better movies to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naruto is awesome!, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have it on pre-order! I love Naruto! The movies are pretty awesome to me, I look forward to this myself. However I speak for myself, not whether or not anyone else will like this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nartuo Fan, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am so glad that it is in English now. Sometimes when you read subtitles you get caught in the words that you don't have time to really watch what is happening.
Can't wait for the next movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best, June 23, 2013
First of all, let me start by saying that I like the Naruto series a lot and for a couple of (personal) reasons I'll still be buying this movie once it's on sale in NA, but from this point on consider yourself warned: This is not the best Naruto movie. At all.

As I recall, this was the one that did in the scriptwriter for the past few (all of them?) movies--he was let go because this movie was panned so hard in Japan. Weak plot and weaker character interaction added to the weakest battle sequences I've seen so far made this movie a trial to sit through even though it isn't even an hour and a half in length. Watch it just for the sake of watching it, to say you've seen it, and you might not notice the issues present. Watch it twice, though, with greater attention paid to the nuances, and the flaws really begin to glare at you. I could go into a massive list of what's wrong with it from start to finish, but I already did that on my blog; at a ten-point font size it took three and a half pages to complete, so I'll just stick to the immediate issues here.

Barring Inheritors of the Will of Fire, the plot of this movie is essentially what has been seen in various series filler arcs and since the very first movie, Clash in the Land of Snow: Spoiled/jaded woman/child selfishly rejects everyone/everything because of some great personal past agony, but Naruto's blunt honesty and overbearing optimism inspire his unwitting victim to step from a suffocating cocoon of nihilistic turmoil, find an inner strength once feared lost, and help him save the day from a figure in the victim's life who had previously been considered trustworthy. The main difference in The Lost Tower--and a big plus, in my opinion--is that the new, one-time Rasengan invented for this movie has nothing to do with the angsty princess and her special connection to what in movies past would have been the chosen Rasengan power-up. Unfortunately, that's pretty much the only good thing I can say about it.

Yeah, Minato is on the cover here, but don't expect to see much of him; he and his team periodically drift in and out of various scenes, offering virtually no information and precious little assistance in the overall scheme, so that Naruto is more or less doing ALL the investigating (such as it is), ALL the rescuing, and ALL the boss-battling. What makes this particularly bad is that when there ARE battles, they pretty much consist of Naruto using shadow clones and Rasengan. Really--that's all he ever uses. EVER. The other characters--by which I mean Minato and his team, as they're the only ninja you see for any length of time--have similarly lacking repertoires. Each has a maximum of two techniques he uses, but the difference is that it's slightly less noticeable with them because they simply aren't THERE for most of the movie (nope, no Hiraishin/Flying Thunder God here--sorry). They tend to show up and save Naruto from a situation he probably could have saved himself from, then vanish while he dives back into the fight ALONE. I don't normally concern myself with the fighting aspect of any show or movie because I consider the story and characters more important, but these sequences really were just plain BAD.

You might have been hoping to get some father/son interaction with this movie. You were? Ha ha--joke's on you. If it were possible I'd advise you to buy just the last fifteen minutes of the movie and forget the rest. This movie takes place after Jiraiya's death but before the Pain-arc reveal of Daddy!Yondy, though, so there is no overt discussion about the topic--it's hinted at, but not explored. That, at least, couldn't be helped. However, there is nevertheless a nice, somewhat emotional scene between Minato and Naruto at what is pretty much the very, VERY end of the movie, and it's worth seeing if you're a fan of either or both of these two. And no, Kushina is never even mentioned, let alone seen--hold your breath for that one and you'll definitely pass out.

I wish I could give this a higher rating, because I like Minato a lot and it was fun to see him in a movie before the big canonical revelations, but his presence was minimized so much--whether because so little had been officially shared at that time or simply because as the title character Naruto was considered the only one worthy of the limelight--that he just couldn't carry the whole movie. If you REALLY want to see Minato and Naruto interacting and don't have a lot of money to spend, save your cash for the sixth movie--Road to Ninja.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grandson loved this gift, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
he was so happy that it came with English also he has watched it several times and he is nineteen years old this was shipped super fast and was just what he wanted its hard to buy for kids when they get older this was a super hit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naruto Shippuden: The Movie - The Lost Tower, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So glad to have this movie in my collection. have been waiting for a while to get it. Can't wait to get the res of the Naruto Shippuden movie and more. Such a big fan of this and the original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Naruto vs The Pupper Master!, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just finished watching "Naruto - The Movie - Shippuden - The Lost Tower" released by VIZ Media.
"The Lost Tower" is a combination time-travel/clockwork adventure where Naruto and his team are sent to caputre Mukade - a rouge ninja who is about to call forth the power of the Ley Line in an ancient underground channel of chakra energy. As a result, Naruto gets thrown a thousand years into the past where he encounters Ninato Namikaze, the future fourth Hokage, and the Queen of Loran, who unbeknownst to her, is ruling a city of puppets while her people are being enslaved by one of her advisers - who is Mukade in disguise.
Another gripping and intriguing Naruto adventure.
This DVD also contains a Naruto short where he stumbles upon a magic lamp and release a genie.
Highly Recommended!
Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of the current movies, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This one is my favorite for the simple fact that Naruto gets to go back in time and actually meet his dad, even if he never realizes it's his dad until the last possible second. Great action and a new/different version of the Rasengan are seen and it's pretty darn epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this 4th naruto shippuden movie feature was the longest and great story and message to me it was like forever, May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this movie was well written and great action going back to the past was cool when naruto meets his father and young kakashi this movie was longer than the previous 3 movies and original naruto feature movies as well 4 stars cause its everything u want in a ninja anime movie to all fans this is the best story telling movie u can get from naruto yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.