Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and illustrated book!
NATHAN SAVES SUMMER is a beautifully written and illustrated picture book. Nathan's demonstrations of his lifeguard skills and lesson on sunscreen make this a fun read for kids. My favorite line in the book is when Nathan tells his friends, "Maybe it's not me who's too large. Maybe it's the pond that's too small." What a wonderful lesson for children to learn!
The...
Published on July 30, 2010 by D. Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange story line
I agree with the other reviewer who is confused by the story line. I'm not sure how Nathan saves summer. Also, the other animals are mean to him and then they're nice when it's convenient for them, not because they're sorry. Nathan deserves better. The story falls short of providing a good message for kids.
Published on January 19, 2012 by T Birmingham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and illustrated book!, July 30, 2010
By 
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
NATHAN SAVES SUMMER is a beautifully written and illustrated picture book. Nathan's demonstrations of his lifeguard skills and lesson on sunscreen make this a fun read for kids. My favorite line in the book is when Nathan tells his friends, "Maybe it's not me who's too large. Maybe it's the pond that's too small." What a wonderful lesson for children to learn!
The illustrations are rich and full of color without being overpowering. Together, Renert and Bradshaw are a winning combination! I can't wait for their next book to hit the stores!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange story line, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
I agree with the other reviewer who is confused by the story line. I'm not sure how Nathan saves summer. Also, the other animals are mean to him and then they're nice when it's convenient for them, not because they're sorry. Nathan deserves better. The story falls short of providing a good message for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Explain to Me, September 10, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
I think this books has some very cute illustrations but can someone explain to me exactly how Nathan saves the summer? He knocks all the water out of the pond, then it runs down hill into another area, which some penguins find. Doesn't make sense. If you ask me the penguins saved summer. What am I missing? Thanks, DB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book for kids and parents, July 15, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
My grandson loved this book and so did his mom and dad (it was a gift from me). Most of all, it's a compelling and very funny story for young kids. My grandson laughed often but couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen to Nathan and his swimming hole. The book seamlessly blends the charming story line with valuable lessons about perseverance, determination and positive thinking. And who wouldn't want to go for a swim after this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Nephew Loved it, July 6, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
Bought this for my little nephew and he seemed to love the humorous characters. Also the painterly artwork was fun to browse through as an adult. But greatest appeal was the story itself with its themes of motivation, patience, perseverance and inner call-to-action paying off in a hugely (no hippo pun intended) surprising way. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, July 7, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
Nathan Saves Summer is a perfect book for little ones. The author knows his audience and the art adds to the enjoyment of sharing this wonderful story with my children. They want to hear it again and again and still giggle out loud. Bravo, Gerry Renert and Carrie Anne Bradshaw. We look forward to buying your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nathan sure to make a splash with readers, July 22, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
This well-written gem by first-time author Gerry Renert will delight youngsters and remind caregivers about the importance of explaining water safety to children. The beautiful illustrations only add to the whimsy of the prose and make this a must-read summer book that the whole family will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful kids book, July 22, 2010
By 
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
My kids and I love this book. The story is terrific and have led to some great conversations with my kids about how things - and people - aren't always what you think. Nathan has become our hero! The illustrations are adorable, by the way.
We can't wait to read more about Nathan and his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way to go Nathan, July 5, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
Very cool book! Great springboard for talking about water safety all is a bright and fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book about determination and dreams!, June 9, 2010
This review is from: Nathan Saves Summer (Hardcover)
This book tells a fun story with a good message. Nathan, the hippo lead character, is a great role model for kids as he shows them if they persevere, they can achieve their dreams. Since he wants to be a lifeguard, the story's also about the importance of safety in the water. It's a wonderful summer read but also something for all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nathan Saves Summer
Nathan Saves Summer by Gerry Renert (Hardcover - June 16, 2010)
$16.95 $14.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.