Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$17.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 8, 2013
Just finished reading this book cover to cover. As a person who has studied EMP - and implemented post-EMP survival strategies for my loved ones - I found this book to be very informative, in particular Chapter 9 dealing with what you can do to be prepared, as well as the printed overview of the EMP Commission Executive Report (2004). Here is a list of the chapters in this well written book;
Chapter one: A direct attack on our nations capital
Two: The eastern united states - someday soon
Three: Our nation's core vulnerability - the power grid
Four: A direct hit - from the sun
Five: The route back to the nineteenth century
Six: Why haven't we been told?
Seven: What is the current threat assessment?
Eight: We can still do the right thing
Nine: One second after - literally
Plus Appendix's and end notes
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
The book is well written, and very appropriate for today's reliance upon sensitive electronics. The title is a bit gloomier than it should be, as we do have methods to better prepare for an EMP attack. We just need to convince our public officials to improve our defensive posture.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
Damage that could be caused by an EMP would devastate the United States and set it back a century. A potential EMP could occur naturally through major sunspots or through a terrorist attack. A Nation Forsaken tells how the United States government has basically ignored this threat and is far from prepared to survive one. This should scare every thinking person and generate a groundswell of grassroots support to encourage our government to take this seriously and start hardening our electronics that are vital to our nations defense so they will be able to survive such an event.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I think everybody should read this book. If you think you are safe and things can't go bad for this country you are very wrong. Check into this book, it will show you what you might expect when an EMP takes place and there is a list of survival equipment that might help you make it through it all. I would highly recommend it to any serious prepper or survivalist.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
This book was excellent. It really gave me a much larger grasp on the threats surrounding both emp-bombs and solar flares. This book is very much worth purchasing, and anyone who wants to know more about the possible threats of an EMP must read this. The author is very concise and keeps the book very organized, as well as creating excellent scenarios that make the threat real.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
This is a book that must be read by all Americans that love their country. So many do not realize where we are heading if we don't wake up to what is happening in our nation and around the world. Although this book is a tough read it is well worth the time to digest what is being said.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
The facts about EMP and how the government is hiding from the truth. Let's hope we never get first hand experience, unfortunately we probably will someday.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
This book should be thrown at the head of every congressman, DOD,DOE, HOMELAND SECURITY DIRECTOR, and the president in hopes they'll absorb the seriousness of the threat before us. As a geographer, educator, and writer I thought A Nation Forsaken was brilliantly explained with clear consequences if our government leaders continue to ignore the warning signs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
great book highlighting the threat to our way of life by an EMP nuclear bomb and how, despite vast amounts of expert testimony, or "leaders" have chosen to ignore this threat and have basically done little to protect our automated infrastructure from this credible threat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
Great book. Not a novel, but filled with good scientific information about an EMP event, covering man made or solar.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse