Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 12, 2014
The Democrats and especially our nation's CEO should take the time to read this book as it expresses why millions of people risk their lives on a daily basis to come to this great land of opportunity. To this day there is no mass exodus to Mexico, Canada, or any other country yet immigrants from around the world come to America in hopes of a better life and usually they are lucky enough to experience this. Newt Gingrich explains this in basis English which even Congress members could understand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
First, a caveat:

I was born a democrat, son of a policeman in Boston. Now a registered Independent, I was one of the Tea Party guys from the early days who helped to get Scott Brown to take over the "Kennedy Seat" in Mass. Enough about me.

Gingrich and Haley do a very credible job in this book providing a historically sound portrayal of the very early days of the English settlement of the east coast of the North American continent. They then tie some of the experiences of the early settlers into the development of an American Ethos that has become what differentiates us from many people around the world. There are several words that aptly describe the American character that the authors convey: indefatigable... optimistic...determined... and charitable. A look at our darkest hours over the years will find that these are the traits that have always not just gotten us through, but allowed us to PROSPER when conventional wisdom said "these guys are done".

(Having lived abroad for 5 of the past 15 years, I can tell you that these aren't usually the first words that come to mind when other cultures are asked for their impressions of us. But with some dogged persistence, the ethnocentrism embraced by virtually all cultures starts to wear a bit thin, and you start to hear that other cultures are, indeed, struck by America's amazing ability to produce people en mass with the above tendencies. )

To net it out... this book is a call to action. It identifies exactly what the issues are with our "radical secular" judiciary, with the progressive movement in general, and lays out specific things we can all do to start taking our country back. 2012 is a critical year.

Speaker Gingrich is no saint. Neither were some other guys that turned out to have the right stuff when it counted.( can you say "Franklin... Jefferson... Grant... Patton?) But this book has convinced me that Speaker Gingrich both understands the problems America faces at the moment, AND understands procedurally what must be done to start to overcome them.

Great book!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2011
It has become tradition for nearly all candidates to publish a book about "their vision" a year or so before the election. Some rise to the occasion, most are fluff, some are absolutely pathetic especially if you read them a year or two after the candidate is in office. This work stands out as a different kind of book. It is courageous, a demonstration of guts because Gingrich lays out a very clear agenda of the tough decisions that must be made now rather than hand us feel good stories. Rare indeed for a candidate to declare, in writing, what his goal is not on his first day in office, (and if it does not materialize "oh well, it was just a campaign promise anyhow,") but to present a document declaring, "this is where I plan for us to be my last day in office."

The book, is a rally cry as well that America is indeed an exceptional nation, in the best sense of that word exceptional. Gingrich, an historian with a Ph.D. long before he was a member of Congress presents a clear, concise understanding of American history, conveying the message that if we are to chart a better future, we first must understand our past and how we arrived where we are now. Gingrich presents us with a fundamental question and analysis. Historians can never argue with the fact that the 20th century was indeed "the American Century," but the challenge Gingrich presents in this book is how to insure that our grandchildren can some day say that the 21st century was "The American Century" as well. This is not a candidate thinking just a few months ahead to winning a nomination, this is a man, with a sense of history, who is asking to look generations ahead and insure that our grandchildren have an America that is secure, prosperous and still a global leader. To insure that we as a nation are going to have to make some very tough, painful decisions now and not a decade hence. Gingrich has the guts to "tell it like it is." That is vision, and that is a rare thing to find today. . . But you will find it in this book and this man.

To be fair and up front, some of you reading this might recognize my name. Yes, I've co authored several books about history with Newt. And I must add here a sharp clarification. At least one reviewer on this site has made scurrilous implications about Newt's involvement in our novels. Newt truly is a co-author in every sense of the word and I am proud to work with him.

In closing I have tried to be balanced in the review of this book, transcending personal involvement and friendship. If I honestly did not see this work as one of the finest "campaign books" ever, a book I urge every voter to read, I would simply have remained silent. Even if you do not support Newt's efforts read the book anyhow to glean a wealth of information, ideas, and questions you should be asking all candidates a year from now. Whomever sits in the Oval Office on Jan. 21, 2013, this time they must be there because of their ability, intellect, understanding of the uniqueness of our country, and with the guts to make hard choices in the tradition of Lincoln and FDR, rather than a president elected with vague impossible "feel good" promises. It is time for a revolution in how we select our president, to return to the real issues, which are. . .THE ISSUES, rather than a popularity contest as trivial and absurd as American Idol.
22 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
I believe we must keep believing (and teaching to our children) that democracy is the best form of government - '
by the people and for the people!'. As Winston Churchill quoted, " Democracy is the worst possible form of government, except for all the other forms that have been tried!"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
This just shows what an intelligent, informed historian and American Newt Gingrich is. He knows how to write a book as well as he speaks, making it interesting and informative while giving in depth facts regarding his writing. I am so glad we bought this and would recommend it to everyone out there who is proud to be an American and/or those who want their children to learn about this wonderful country in which we are blessed to be born and live.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
If you wonder what Newt's talk of a "solutions campaign" is all about this is a good place to go to find out. Newt has always been a man of big ideas focused on problem solving. His love of country is well known. In A NATION LIKE NO OTHER he attempts to help reawaken the country to the "exceptionalism" of the United States and make a case for why it should be embraced and fought for in this crucial period of our history. It could be read as a companion to his previous TO SAVE AMERICA. The book is clear, to the point and a quick read. The reader will better understand Newt's campaign for the presidency as it focuses on the various parts of why he thinks we are exceptional as the various chapters ("Who we are," "work," "civil society," "rule of law," and "safety and peace," to note a few.)the elements of why he thinks we are exceptional and why our government should embrace the concept in its domestic and foreign affairs.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2011
Very well written. I was very touched by some of the stories Newt gives as examples of the American spirit and those who gave up everything to realize the American dream. We truly have been blessed with a wonderful freedom and we cannot let it slip away. Thanks Mr. Gingrich.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 25, 2014
In “A Nation Like No Other” Newt Gingrich gives his views on American Exceptionalism, why America is different from all other countries, where it has strayed from its exceptional path, what it will take to get it back on track and why it is necessary that we do so. He treats the reader to a history lesson about a country built on the idea of freedom country that has fought to defend its ideals and that has voluntarily contributed more to the needy than any land in history. He blasts the Obama Administration for its lack of belief in American Exceptionalism and tells us what we need to do, individually and collectively to reclaim our heritage. He identifies the 2012 elections as a choice between a return to greatness or a continued slide into American mediocrity and increased world-wide danger.

Although the 2012 elections have come and gone and we did not elect Newt President, an unstated but certainly primary goal of the book, it is still an interesting and inspiring read. It reminds me a bit of “Going Rogue” by Sarah Palin (see my review) and Ronald Reagan’s Farewell Address in its unabashed pride in America, and recipe for preserving and improving it. It does us good to read a book like this every once in a while to be reminded, encouraged and energized. Read it, go out and do your part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
An excellent read. Well thought out, researched and documented! So much truth found in here is omitted or covered up by today's news media. In order to know who we are today as a nation, we need to know what our foundations are.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
Many tell you history is boring. Not So! Newt Gingrich engages readers immediately in the true and dramatic events that propel the founding of the United States of America. Yesterday comes alive as we participate in physical trials and critical decisions which shaped the destiny of the people
ultimately called to lead the free world. You will be proud of those who went before us. Read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse