Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!
This book is a must have.... That's why I can hardly wait to get one! Seriously, if you are an electrician and need to argue your case to an inspector this book (if it's like all it's predecessors) is the authority to help the inspector see your reasoning. After all, this book was written by the NFPA (The same agency that produces the NEC)! If you are an apprentice then...
Published on January 22, 2008 by D. Clodfelter

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook
Buy this one instead of the soft cover. It has better notes and it has illustrations that help you understand certain codes.
Published on March 5, 2009 by JIMBO


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a great gift for an electrician!!!, February 22, 2008
By 
Veronica Salvador (St. Clair Shores, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
I bought this book recently as a gift for my husband who is a master electrician. He loves this book!!! Its a great reference because it provides pictures and blue prints on exaclty what the code is explaining. If your in this trade, you cannot live with out this book. Its definetely an updated version from the NEC 2005!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy Workmanship of Hardback Cover, March 25, 2009
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
The 2008 NEC Handbook that I purchased from Amazon was poorly constructed. The hardback cover didn't completely cover the pages.
Apparently this is a common problem, after returning the book that I had ordered from Amazon I visited a few local bookstores and found the same problem with the 2008 NEC Handbooks that they were selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook, March 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
Buy this one instead of the soft cover. It has better notes and it has illustrations that help you understand certain codes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like pain, therefore, I like to read this., May 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
This is the Bible of the electricians world. I'd rather read this, than a novel. Why? Because I'd rather learn how things work than a mindless story about Harry Potter or Twilight Vampires.
but that's just me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEC Review, June 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
I like the NEC because it is a guide for preforming electrical jobs in the workplace. If I don't know the local jurisdiction's preference, I can use the NEC and proceed from there with little fear of reprisal from those concerned authorities. I like the fact that there is a national standard that field techs can refer to for quick reference and guidance on job assignments. This book can save a lot of telephoning for answers to electrical questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not more helpful, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
Not much more helpful than the plain ol NEC even with a few more pictures and a few more additional notes. But it is cheaper than the NEC if you don't mind the hard cover edition being twice as heavy as the soft cover editions. DON'T expect to easily find everything easily from either the index or the appendix. It is not meant for the amateur trying to find understand what is necessary to conform to the National Electrical Code. It compares to the national tax code, maybe not quite so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference!, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
Great reference for any Tradesman or Inspector, Reviewer. Explanations are fairly concise and the examples and tables are in invaluable tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
This book will DEFINITELY help me get prepared for my Electrician's Master License. It has pictures to go along with the description so I don't have to try and picture what they are describing. As anyone knows, each person's description of what they see can be totally different than what you envision -- having the pictures is worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great shape and a good price, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
WA State still using 2008 NEC and will not adopt the 2011 NEC. This is going to get more valuable, at least in that state. It came on time and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEC08, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) (Hardcover)
This is the Bible for Electricians. It did meet my needs it also came in Excellent condition. Also had tabs and its a very knowledgeable book with pictures and examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook)
National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook (National Electrical Code Handbook) by National Fire Protection Association (Hardcover - January 10, 2008)
$165.50 $157.23
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.