Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect animal encyclopedia for kids
It is amazingly hard to find a large format encyclopedia of animals. This book was perfect though as it has beautiful photographs of all the animals with a bit of text relating to each, and is large enough to cover a broad range of creatures. Of course, the photographs are excellent given it is authored by National Geographic. This is the perfect book for kids...
Published 22 months ago by outwest

versus
98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but filled with errors
Although the pictures in this book are beautiful, some of the information is flat out wrong. There is a picture of a Sting Ray labeled "Red Ant". There is a picture of a King Vulture labeled as an Andean Condor. Another picture shows a Ground Squirrel, but is labeled as a Prairie Dog. The labels for the Sea Nettle and Urchin are reversed. I expected more from National...
Published 19 months ago by hippiemommy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but filled with errors, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Although the pictures in this book are beautiful, some of the information is flat out wrong. There is a picture of a Sting Ray labeled "Red Ant". There is a picture of a King Vulture labeled as an Andean Condor. Another picture shows a Ground Squirrel, but is labeled as a Prairie Dog. The labels for the Sea Nettle and Urchin are reversed. I expected more from National Geographic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect animal encyclopedia for kids, October 26, 2012
By 
outwest (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
It is amazingly hard to find a large format encyclopedia of animals. This book was perfect though as it has beautiful photographs of all the animals with a bit of text relating to each, and is large enough to cover a broad range of creatures. Of course, the photographs are excellent given it is authored by National Geographic. This is the perfect book for kids interested in animals who will enjoy leafing through the pages and looking at the pictures. I think it is directed at and perfect for the 3 to 8 year olds; plenty of photos with good overview text. It is certainly a hit with my four and six year old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations with great subject knowledge and succinct information. I would recommend the book to anyone with an interest in wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pictures, January 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I got this as a christmas gift for my daughter. She loved the pictures but wished there was more information about each animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nat Geo Animal Encyclopedia, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Purchased for my Grandson last Christmas. He loves it! Hardcover book with lots of pages and very colorful pictures, along with interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great value, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
My 6 year old son loves learning about animals and he really wanted to order those animal info cards that come in the mail every month. After looking into them I learned that they could end up costing a fortune and taking years to complete the set. I went looking for an alternative and found this book. My son loves it! The pictures are spectacular and the info is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!!! It is amazing!, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present and figured I would give it a flip through before wrapping. O-M-G This book is amazing. The photographs are exactly the kind or perfection you would expect from National Geographic and they give you a lot of information and side facts and some animals get a 2 page spread with information from someone in the field who has dedicated their lives to the animals. Child or adult, this book is definitely neat to have on hand whether you just like factoids or animals or collect N.G. stuff. Buy this book, you wont be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 4 year old daughter for Christmas and it just arrived. The photo quality is amazing. I am beyond pleased with it. The text that goes along with the photos is fairly advanced, and will be over her head, but it is rated for ages 8 and up so I expected that. I think this is definitely a book that can grow with her.

Perfect gift for little animal lovers. I have already recommended it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, November 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful resource for my curious elementary school-aged daughter to learn about any animal you could imagine. Very nicely done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Another must have book. Kids loved the great illustrations, unusual animals and the index to find specific animals. They spend lots of time just looking and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More!
$24.95 $16.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.