Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 473 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on September 29, 2000
Great movie that still holds up today. Chevy Chase and Anthony Michael Hall make the film with superb performances. As far as the DVD, don't buy this thinking you are 'upgrading' your collection to DVD because the quality is just not there. The disc picture quality is NO better than the VHS and is still pan-n-scan. I did a side by side and I think I almost prefer the VHS picture over the DVD, seems to be clearer. The sound is in MONO, which really takes away from the viewing enjoyment. The only reason to upgrade to DVD on thid one would be for the theatrical trailer or convience of chapter search. There also are a few cast bios but nothing more. I'm almost positive that Criterion or someone will re-release this as a special edition SOMEDAY, as this is a really disgraceful handling of an American Treasure.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2006
Hands down, one of the best comedies of the 80's. Chevy was at his best and director Harold Ramis was on a role. (Caddyshack and Stripes.)
Many cuts and versions are out there but the truest I've seen, so far, is the anniversary edition. It's in widescreen (I've heard matted/cropped,not sure, but??), nice 5.1 mix, some decent special features but where are all those deleted scenes and the alternate ending?
Plus, a big [..] I have. "I'm so exited" was the song played when Christie Brinkley pulls along side Chevy(Clark Griswald) in the original. Why, still is "Little boy sweet" a song also by the Pointer Sisters used instead?? Both songs were used in the movie. The latter in the truckstop sceen where Chevy eats the pissed on sandwhich.
Is the copyright on that song that expensive to get it??

Dunno. Great movie. Lotta fun.
Best DVD of it yet. Agreed??
33 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon March 11, 2002
NATIONAL LAMPOON'S VACATION still stands up as one of the funniest road movies ever made. With a canny script and dead-on performances from the superb ensemble cast, it serves as a cautionary tale for families everywhere how NOT to have the family vacation from hell.
Clark and Ellen Griswold (Chevy Chase and Beverly D'Angelo) and their two children (Dana Barron and Anthony Michael Hall) embark on a huge, life-consuming odyssey, otherwise known as the cross-country trip to Walley World in California.
Along the way, they have to contend with a trip to their hillbilly cousins Eddie and Catherine (Randy Quaid and Miriam Flynn) and end up dragging crochety old Aunt Edna (Imogene Coca) along for the ride through Phoenix. Adding insult to injury is the shapely blonde in the red Ferrari (Christie Brinkley) who is following Clark "all the way"...
Hilarious all the way. It is indeed painful to watch the hapless Clark fumble his way (Basil Fawlty-style) through the series of disasters that befall him on his vacation.
The DVD transfer is wonderful after years of...fuzzed-out video transfers.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2003
I loved this comedy. In fact, my ex-wife's family was alot like the Griswolds. This comedy is packed with lots of laughs and I'm sure anyone who's ever taken a family vacation by car can appreciate some aspect of this film. I highly recommed it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
Clark Griswold ignores his family's pleas to go to Hawaii for their summer vacation and opts for the Walley World resort in California instead. His long-suffering wife Ellen wants to fly, but Clark would rather drive and spend time with the kids he hardly ever sees.

Sounds like a simple journey from A to B right? Wrong! The Griswolds are a gene pool of absolute disaster and nothing...NOTHING goes right...ever. The fun begins with Clark being forced to accept a disgusting metallic pea-green family truckster instead of a cool-blue sports model with CB and optional fun pack. It's literally the most hideous car in the history of automobiles (and that includes the car that Homer Simpson made for his brother Herb).

As the lengthy days on the road pass, Clark is ripped-off by street hustlers, guilt-tripped out of $500 from his hick cousin Eddie (Randy Quaid in what is, begrudgingly, his most popular role), ripped-off by a hick sheriff/mechanic, and tempted by gorgeous blonde in a Ferrari. Though Ellen doesn't take kindly to anyone with an eye on her Sparky (actually D'Angelo's pet name for Chevy Chase and not something that was scripted).

Based on John Hughes' ill-fated trip to Disneyworld when he was five-years-old, Vacation brought us Chevy Chase's most famous character (sorry Fletch) and most successful series. He has absolutely perfect chemistry with Beverly D'Angelo, who, with her large eyeballs and perfect timing, is an under-rated comic actress in her own right.

While I absolutely love the first and third movies in the Vacation series, and both definitely score 5/5, I have to say the original is the best as it has a really dark edge that none of the others have. There's virtually nothing in Vacation that isn't funny. Harold Ramis, fresh off the absolute anarchy of Caddyshack, keeps a tight, sadistic reign on the disastrous road trip. If you have a dark sense of humor and enjoy evil comedy then you'll love Vacation. It was one of the first movies I ever saw and it helped turn me into the misanthropic, dysfunctional, ghoulish misfit that I am today.

Thank you, Vacation! Thank you!

The Blu Ray looks great with a 1080p 1.78:1 picture. The sound is in DTS HD-MA Mono, but it gets the job done. Extras are limited to an introduction by Chase and Quaid and a commentary. The could have done better, to be honest.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2002
One day when I was bored I went and rented some movies. Among them I got National Lampoon's Vacation. After watching it I rewound the tape and watched it again. This was one of the best comedies that I have ever seen. It isn't corny or stupid but a little bit more dark and daring. Chevy Chase stars as Clark W. Griswold, a man who decides to take his family on a cross-country road trip to Wally World in California. Beverly D' Angelo stars as Ellen Griswold who is more of a simple character but perfect for the part. From the beginning disaster strikes and never quits. This is defiently a must-see and must-own DVD. The only let down to the movie would be the lack of extras and full-screen format but that is not enough to even dent a great movie like this.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Who grew up in the eighties and doesn't love Vacation? Just a fun easy movie to laugh at and remember an easier time. The eighties should be bottled and given to everyone. The cast is legendary. Chevy Chase and John Candy are great and steal every scene their in. Wish I could go back and relive it. LOL
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
This movie is a classic! Anyone who enjoys watching movies more than once, should own this movie. This movie will always make you laugh. Chevy Chase is one of the best physical comedy actors of all times. Chase knows how to deliver funny. Who can't relate to having some crazy uncle, aunt or cousins, a father who wants to impress his family and friends, but yet still wants to be admired and loved by all, and a mother who is so busy with the kids, she's missing what is going on around her. This movie will always be around to make people laugh at life! This movie is not a movie young kids could or would want to watch. However teenagers, young adults, middle aged and older people will truly like this movie. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2007
After all these years Vacation remains a joy and a comedic masterpiece. The cast is great but one thing I never knew was that Harold Ramis was the director which explains fully why it is such a masterpiece. It's not Animal House or the Blues Brothers but it is darn close. When I look back on it, how odd it is that so much brilliance was produced in such a short period of time during the late seventies and early eighties. I don't think we'll ever experience another era like that again. Chevy Chase is near perfect here, and having Eugene Levy and John Candy as sidekicks didn't hurt.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
I remember all my childhood family road trips. And continue the Holiday Road tradition with my children now. OK, our mistakes and troubles may not reach the comic level of CC's family, but watching this again makes it easy to keep laughing about the time a 10 year old me got left behind at a gas station for a couple of hours on the way to a camping/canoe trip in southern MO. Never gets old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse