Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY IMPORTANT BOOK!, June 8, 2000
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Simply an outstanding book. Peter Nabakov has collected an impressive array of first-hand testimonials of Native people in one readable and very important volume. Chapters range from prophecies of various Peoples stretching thousands of years before European contact to responses and testimonies of Native people today. Many books in this vein focus on historical 'quotable quotes,' whereas this book is far greater in both depth and breadth. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Native Peoples, Native histories and Native issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIVES THE REAL STORY, July 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Native American Testimony is one of the best books I have ever read regarding the real history of the native peoples. It tells of the first meeting of the white man through the present. This is all from the Native American perspective. All tribes are represented throughout this book showing the different expereinces they each had with the white man. And the white mans need to change a beautiful culture. This book should be read by everyone at some point in there life, it should be mandatory within the school system as well. It shows the strength these people had to survive and how they fought for there rights. I enjoyed this book because for the first time in my life I felt I was being told the truth about the relationship of the US government and the Native Americans. Past to Present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening, April 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Native Americans have been fighting for ages to tell their side of the story, but they haven't been able to get through to the mainstream. In this book, Nabokov presents us the Native American perspective from prophecy to present. By reading the testimony of Native Americans themselves, we get a clear picture of their plight. This book doesn't give a detailed history of Native Americans, but rather gives us a finger on the pulse of the Native spirit.
Native Americans have lost a great deal. When Europeans first arrived in North America, they did what they could to help these new brothers, and were happy to share what they had. However, the Europeans kept on coming and they started taking what didn't belong to them. The Europeans started fencing off the native lands. They destroyed the land and the animals with their greed. The Native Americans were continually pushed off their ancestoral lands and were driven to less desirable lands. They suffered the loss of their lands, traditions, and way of life. It's important for us as Americans to examine this sad episode of our history. We should take this lesson and apply it to our lives, and think about how we treat others who are different from us. I really recommend this book to those who are interested in reading the other side of the history of our nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stirring account of Native American history, March 19, 2001
By 
Laura Brown McKenzie (On a mountain in AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Using eye-witness,first-hand accounts, Nabokov provides a chronicle of Native American history. Authentic, moving, and vivid are the words that come to my mind. The photographs used also stir the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perspective from the Native American Indian's perspective, December 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me learn about my family's history as a Native American Indian. I was always concerned that the Native American Indians had a unfair portrayal in American History. This book I think is a valuable literary piece. It breaks events down in historical order. They are easy to read. Once I finished with I felt I had read the Native Indian's perspective which is amiss in the Northeast school teachings of history. There were some interesting stories that were accounted as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Native American Testimony: Chronicle Indian White Relations from Prophecy Present 1942 2000 (rev Edition), May 6, 2007
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Nabokov's book is a fantastic compilation of Native American history as remembered and documented by the First People of America. I bought this book for a class that I am taking and will definitely keep this in my library as a valued treasure. It's easy to read and is in somewhat of a chronological order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naative American Testimony: Chronicle Indian White Relations, July 7, 2007
By 
Carole G. Barker (Dahlonega, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
Testimonies from all different tribes of Native Americans which are grouped by subject in part and chronically in part. Very informative primary sources. Wonderful for research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Native American Testimony, October 12, 2008
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
This book is a great collection of primary source documents about the Native American experience in America through the development of the country. Very useful for American literature and American history courses and anyone interested in the Native American voice in US History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1942-2000 (rev Edition), January 18, 2009
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
I was actually recommended the Dutch version of the book, but I prefered to have the original English version. I started reading this book and it is so exciting to learn about the (hi)story of the Native Americans which are to be considered as the real roots of the United States of America. Certainly an enrichment of my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Native American history 101, July 20, 2013
By 
Walter W. Ko "Walter Ko" (St Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000, Revised Edition (Paperback)
This is a condense Native American history before and after Columbus and Christianity. This history 101 is not taught in the general curriculum. It is not as glamorous as in Hollywood movies of cowboy and Indians. Indians are stereo-typed as strange dressed, custom, uncivilized savages in the way of Manifest Destiny. They were civilized and Christainized so that they become modern Americans.

This book offers an alternative version with Native American viewpoints from different tribes who shared their stories. This book helps reader understand or appreciate their tradition and heritage which are authentic American.

This highly readable book belongs to every American family library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.