Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money.
My lab mix has a very sensitive tummy. He had recurrent bouts of diarrhea, vomiting and constant wretched gas. I had given him pedigree for awhile but realized that was no good for him. Then we tried science diet, but his gas seemed to get worse and his tummy would gurgle all day.

I read about this dog food and its natural ingredients. There's no corn meal or...
Published on January 2, 2009 by schb30

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New ownership - different look
We have been struggling to find the canned fish and sweet potato recipe. Turns out Dick Van Patten sold the company to Del Monte in May and they are having production problems. I just opened the new bag of dry food and the color and smell is completely different from the last order. Knowing that the Van Patten's took pride in their food quality and not sure how Del...
Published 6 months ago by Roxxxie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money., January 2, 2009
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
My lab mix has a very sensitive tummy. He had recurrent bouts of diarrhea, vomiting and constant wretched gas. I had given him pedigree for awhile but realized that was no good for him. Then we tried science diet, but his gas seemed to get worse and his tummy would gurgle all day.

I read about this dog food and its natural ingredients. There's no corn meal or other fillers. He's been on this food for about 2 weeks now and his gas has disappeared! He has not had a single bout of diarrhea or vomiting. I'm impressed. Yes it's pricey and I normally wouldn't buy something so expensive, but it is well worth it for the health of my dog.

*Updated* to say that he has been on this food for a few months now and has continued to be free of tummy troubles and wretched gas. He hasn't vomited at all or had diarrhea. His coat has gotten so much shinier and he seems to be a much happier dog without all the tummy issues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dog Food for allergy sufferers!, December 22, 2009
By 
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
We finally found this food, just by luck at the pet store. Our dog (boxer/bulldog mix), now 6, had suffered mysterious allergies from the time he was 2 until I found this food. We went to a Veterinary Allergy Specialist for over a year, spent thousands of dollars, went to extremes trying prednisone (which the side-effects are very problematic) & antibiotics, and tried over 6 different prescription pet foods; nothing helped. Our dogs paws/feet would blister up in between his toes, burst, and bleed. We even had our dog run grassed with synthetic/artificial turf in case it was due to grass allergy.

The food is a little pricey, he eats 6 cups of food a day, but I cannot express the relief we have had from finding a food that eliminates his allergy symptoms. I have to admit that the smell of the fish is a little overwhelming. We had had to resort to feeding him outside now, which wouldn't be so bad, except the birds seem to like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleared up my Schauners Skin!, November 18, 2010
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
I have 2 schanuzers, one has great skin one has serious skin allergies. When we adopted them they were eating kibbles and bits, and the one with bad skin looked horrible. I hate to say it, but I didn't even like petting him.

We went to the vet and spoke to a nutirentest, they gave us some small samples for each dog to try and find out which brand of dog food they liked the best. Turns out they both loved the natures balance.

I chose the fish and sweet potato flavor since most dogs that have alleriges are also allergic to chicken and rice. We have been using this dog food for almost 3 months and I have seen a dramtic change in both of their coats!

The one with great skin, is even softer and shiner. But the one with bad skin has had the most change. He has a beasutiful shiney dark black coat. He has completly stopped itching and all the bumps are gone.

I cannot say enough good things about this food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New ownership - different look, December 16, 2013
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
We have been struggling to find the canned fish and sweet potato recipe. Turns out Dick Van Patten sold the company to Del Monte in May and they are having production problems. I just opened the new bag of dry food and the color and smell is completely different from the last order. Knowing that the Van Patten's took pride in their food quality and not sure how Del Monte's quality control is, we are switching to the Blue Buffalo brand. I do not want to put my babies at risk if the Del Monte co. is already struggling. Blue Buffalo is also grain free and good for dogs with allergies. Hopefully this change will work out. I just feel that I cannot trust this brand and seeing already how different the food looks, scares me.

Update: March 2014

After being on Blue Buffalo for a couple of months, my poor babies had really bad stomach issues. They had gas all the time and their stomachs gurgled all night and my boy starting the constant licking on his paws like he did on Paul Newman's food. The vet said that the food had to much protein and that it is hard to breakdown plus it is hard on the kidneys. After much thought, and with the Natural Balance being back in stock, we did the whole weaning process off Blue and back to Natural Balance. I have to say that their stomach issues are gone, the mess I pick up in the yard is not has gross and runny and overall they just seem better being back on this food. Thankfully, the itching has stopped as well. Hopefully they will not have production issues again and we can stay with this brand since I know it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but why is it going up in price?, April 8, 2012
By 
js (New Orleans, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
Great dog food. My 2.5 year old lab is at a healthier weight after a year on this (she was 90 lbs as a 1.5 year old pup, and she's slimmed down to 80. But she's a very large lab, so she wasn't really fat to begin with). Also, I don't wanna get too graphic, but there is evidence on our walks that she's digesting this better than the grocery store food I used to give her.

(I started her on this because we suspected a food allergy, and then I liked the results.)

But why is it going up in price? I've been buying it off Amazon because, with Prime, it's cost effective. But it was $50 in February, $55 in March, and now $60 in April? What gives?? I might have to start buying it at the brick-and-mortar store again. And that's a shame, because having a month's worth of dog food delivered to your door is pretty awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars healthy food; healthy dog, December 12, 2010
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
My Golden is my heart. And she has allergies, and with a Golden ear infections are very possible. Switching to a limited ingredient dog food has been a huge positive. And, she loves this stuff. Give the option of a few dog foods, she'll go to this one and bark for it. Her weight has remained consistent since the switch, btw. I do recommend it. For those on a budget, I would add: this flavor (as opposed to their Venison and/or Bison flavors) tends to be about five dollars cheaper; stalking the items price fluctuations tends to save another five. This size bag is about a six week supply for us, I think. The plus side to ordering is that you can get the bigger bag, and someone else carries it to your door. However, if you have a local business in your area that stocks this (I don't, but my Mom does) they will probably load it for you. And the local Natural Dog Food store actually gives samples. Anywhoo, wherever you buy, I think this is a product worth trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, September 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
Natural Balance Sweet Potatoe and Fish is awesome. Since eating this my cocker spaniel has not had anymore ear infections!! He loves the food and it has benefited him greatly. Would recommend this dog food!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Food For Dog's With Allergies, July 15, 2009
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
I love this food. It actually is the only food I have found that my dog is not allergic to. (except for an extremely expensive prescription diet) I have a boxer on this food. He is allergic to almost everything. However, he is not allergic to salmon or sweet potatoes making this food the perfect choice for him. All food related allergies have disappeared and his coat has improved tremendously. He still deals with outdoor allergies, but this food has shown a big improvement in him. The only issue I have had is that he packed on a few extra pounds, which he has now lost. I cut down his dry food amount and mix canned green beans and carrots in with the dry food so he has enough to eat without the extra weight. He loves it and eats every bite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogs love it!, July 16, 2011
By 
Maui S. (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
The only brand that wont give my doggies the itch and allergies! Been loyal to the brand for 4 years now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars food seemed old, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natural Balance Dry Dog Food, Grain Free Limited Ingredient Diet Fish and Sweet Potato Recipe, 28 Pound Bag (Misc.)
I have been feeding my dog Natural Balance for over two years without any issues. When I received my recent order I noticed that they food was a different color and smelled funny. My dog was also hesitant to eat it. Needless to say this will be the last time I order his food from this vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.