Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little brush, questionable recycle logistics
The humble toothbrush has been around longer than you might expect. Twigs and even porcupine quills were logical go-to tools for the ancients, and bristle toothbrushes were in use 1600 B.C., but the toothbrush went into mass production in 1780; the brainchild of a prisoner who cobbled one together in his cell and went on to become a wealthy businessman. Somewhere in...
Published 15 months ago by hyytekk

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Product from "Green" Company
I'll start with the "negatives" I do think this is a little expensive for a no frills toothbrush...but you are paying for the naturalness. No worries about BPA here, the handle is made from plant material. It's recyclable "through our terracycle program" I unfortunately threw away the box...so I'll have to look it up on the company website. If that means there's a special...
Published 15 months ago by Timothy Capehart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little brush, questionable recycle logistics, April 24, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The humble toothbrush has been around longer than you might expect. Twigs and even porcupine quills were logical go-to tools for the ancients, and bristle toothbrushes were in use 1600 B.C., but the toothbrush went into mass production in 1780; the brainchild of a prisoner who cobbled one together in his cell and went on to become a wealthy businessman. Somewhere in recent history, to be distinguished from competitors, they started growing neon fins, angled heads and brush designs to produce shock and awe to dazed consumers standing slack-jawed at the dizzying selection in the oral hygiene aisle at Target. Now, with 50 million pounds of them tossed into American landfills each year, it seems ecologically prudent to offer a solution to a huge plastics problem. So companies are now offering more responsible, renewable alternatives as this one by Tom's. The toothbrush itself is refreshingly simple in it's design. The brush head is smallish and maneuverable and the bristles are soft which dentists recommend. The handle is slim and easy to hold in even small hands. The handle is made from the castor oil plant and not drilling sourced petroleum. (The castor oil plant is also the source of the dreaded toxin Ricin, though I'm fairly confident they've worked out that kink, since you place this thing in your mouth every day.) I like this brush very much with it's refreshingly simple, no nonsense design. The recycle feature, however well intentioned, is perhaps impractical in the real world. The process is part of the "Tetracycle" program. You must sign up online, then after collecting your used containers you box and send them to the recycle location. Shipping labels are said to be printable at home and at no cost. On the surface great. But in reality, only the most dedicated consumers are going to separate, store, box and ship as described. Second, that process itself produces cardboard, paper and plastic bag waste. Add to that the gasoline burned by delivery trucks and related transportation waste and pollution, electricity used in the recycle process from coal burning electric utilities, and in the best circumstances, is that system conserving anything? In reference to a product like this, alternatives exist, like toothbrushes made with bamboo handles which is a rapidly growing grass that needs no processing if thrown in the trash. It simply decomposes in a landfill. Apologies for an overkill review of a simple product. The reality seems to be, buy this for the effective design, but not to be a conscientious consumer. Other more realistic choices are now available for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A natural plastic toothbrush is ridiculous, but it's a very good toothbrush, April 9, 2013
By 
Moheroy (North Idaho) - See all my reviews
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I am usually skeptical about eco friendly products, especially when they are made of plastic, but this is a very good toothbrush. It has very nice tight bristles, a very good ergonomic handle, and is not neon colored. It is superior in every way to the Oral B toothbrush that it replaced. Of course that was a completely adequate, and even very good toothbrush, but this is a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Product from "Green" Company, April 5, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'll start with the "negatives" I do think this is a little expensive for a no frills toothbrush...but you are paying for the naturalness. No worries about BPA here, the handle is made from plant material. It's recyclable "through our terracycle program" I unfortunately threw away the box...so I'll have to look it up on the company website. If that means there's a special service that recycles them, then it's more of a pain than it's worth. Also, the bristles of the soft brush feel a little stiff on my gums.

That said I have used it for a couple weeks and it was a fine replacement for my store-brand soft bristle toothbrush. The design of the handle is easy to hold at several different angles. It's light. How many nice things can you say about a tooth brush? If you feel you need to be greener, this might be of assistance. Tom's is a great company we use several others of their products. It is nice that Amazon carries them since our local stores often don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Well, Eco-Friendly, April 25, 2013
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
If you replace your toothbrush as often as you're "supposed to", the net result is a lot of plastic in the garbage on a yearly basis. I like that this toothbrush can be recycled and don't mind paying a bit extra for it. If only it included an envelope to mail it back to be recycled with, like some other brands do, it would make this even easier.

As for how it feels, it feels just like other soft toothbrushes, and the bristles do not pull out easily like in dollar store toothbrushes. All in all, satisfied with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, April 27, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
As far as toothbrushes go, this one is nice and soft and won't rip up your gums if they are sensitive, like some of the other toothbrushes. To be honest though, it isn't much different from the basic toothbrushes that dentists hand out for free. No real special shape, indicator, or anything of the such. Again, if you have sensitive gums or gum recession, this will probably be good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars save your teeth and gums and the planet too., April 8, 2013
By 
Sam I Am (San Rafael, CA) - See all my reviews
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Works as great as a regular toothbrush but has the advantage of being made by recyclable materials. Why not? Thanks for making this available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, April 5, 2013
By 
Cathe Fein Olson (curled up with a book) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I chose this toothbrush because of the materials that it was made from (and wasn't made from) . . . it's attractive and light, but otherwise nothing special. Though it is listed as "soft," it's not that soft and it's basically just a generic toothbrush bristle and handle-wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Toothbrush, April 4, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Naturally clean, Soft, Toothbrush feels good in my hand. It reaches the back teeth well. I like the texture and highs and lows of the bristles. They seem to clean the teeth effortlessly. The head is narrow so I think that aids in getting to the back teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naturally Clean Soft Toothbrush, May 16, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is an excellent toothbrush, the bristles aren't too harsh, which is good because I have sensitive gums which can bleed with stiffer bristles. Used it for about a month now, still in tact, time will tell how long it will last but if it holds out for a decent period of time, I'll buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it gets my teeth clean, April 25, 2013
By 
Stefohnee "stef" (Redmond, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My only complaint: Why this Tom's of MAINE product not made in Maine like all their toothpastes, deodorants, soaps, etc.?

The handle is a little bit bendy, which threw me for a loop but the brush is nice and big, so it reaches a lot of your teeth when you're brushing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Naturally Clean Medium Toothbrush, 0.5 Ounce
$3.99 $3.49
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.