Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now Tikes

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

94 of 102 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2011
I bought the blu ray set after reading the previous two reviewers, believing that I was getting the full set.

Unlike the DVD version, the "Extraordinary Birds" on blu ray ONLY has *TWO* programs: "Hummingbirds Magic In The Air" and "Parrots In The Land Of Oz".
The other four programs are NOT included.

Sadly, Questar did not help its customers distinguish between the bluray and the DVD editions.
They could have done a better job informing potential buyers the program contents in the production description at
Yet they called both sets with widly different contents the same name.

The only clue is the blu ray has 110 minutes while the DVD version has over 400 minutes.

I checked their website and confirmed my suspicion.
Unlike what the previous reviewers said, there is NO blu ray edition of this title that has the entire 6 programs in one set.

I am very disappointed.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on April 5, 2011
Pros - Good picture quality for the Blue Ray version. Although it is HD, the pictures are not eye poping like the Planet Earth videos etc... The Blue ray version also includes the DVD and Digital copy, which I did not check yet. Birds lovers will enjoy ... Lots of varieties of Bird Shown...

Good Narration..

Cons - Not many Interesting facts captured for both the Humming Birds section as well as the parrrots Section, which makes this disc not so interesting. You may not like to see it again and again like Planet Earth videos etc..It is just a video of some common facts.

Also the HD Video quality is not the best.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 22, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful Photography of this Superfast Bird!

The 500 frames a second video camera captures and helps us understand more about this amazing species of birds.

If a humingbird wants to go just a few inches it has to fly, since the feet only accomodate perching. The only thing I find is that this dvd refers to changes the humingbirds make to Darwin's evolution; when thier whole relationship of these special little amazing birds testifies that without a doubt they must have been created and created to work together with the special nectar flowers they feed from and in turn pollinate.

The blu-ray disc is absolutely high definition. The other dvd you can view on your computer.

At this time you can view this dvd on the PBS (.org) website in "you tube" style and if you like it you can then come back and purchase it here on Amazon.

I wonder if in the next dvd video the authors will provide information of why humingbirds are limited to the Americas, and not found in other continents.

Enjoy this great high definition video photography that takes this tiny bird and fill the screen of your high definition television.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 17, 2011
"Extraordinary Birds" is a new collection from Nature (PBS) that highlights the unexpected, unimaginable, diversity of the avian world. Over six hours of award-winning programs includes: "The Wild Side of Paradise," "Raptor Force," "American Eagle," "Pale Male," "Birds" and "Hummingbirds." All are incredible nature films of great beauty with superlative images, but the real treasure is the simultaneous release of the Blu-ray edition of "Hummingbirds: Magic In The Air" (which is included as a DVD in the standard set).

Seeing hummingbirds captured at 500 frames per second is a trigger that evokes wonder. These birds, the smallest warm-blooded creatures on our shared planet are also among the fastest. Their wings beat up to 200 times a second! Try flapping your arms as fast as you can and you'll be lucky to get three flaps per second! Most of the fascinating world of these fragile creatures is beyond the perception of human eyes. But now, with high-speed cameras that world can now be seen. We witness their deadly predatory pursuits and their elaborate mating routines and rituals including aerial displays of nose dives that subject them to ten G's of force! Read that again. That's enough to cause a military-trained jet pilot to black out. If you appreciate nature as a source of delight and awe, this never before seen collection of stunning images is one to own. Academy Award© winner F. Murray Abraham does the exemplary narration.

To clear up any confusion, there is a Blu-ray set of the entire EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS series that includes the amazing "HUMMINGBIRDS: MAGIC IN THE AIR." There is also a regular DVD set that includes the standard DVD of "HUMMINGBIRDS: MAGIC IN THE AIR."

Also, there is a stand alone of the Blu-ray "HUMMINGBIRDS: MAGIC IN THE AIR." The Blu-ray of course is significantly sharper, and in a widescreen format, on a hi-def TV, but the DVD looks fine as well. From Questar. DVD and Blu-ray
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 31, 2014
This set is actually not entirely about birds. The first DVD is about "violent" Hawaii and "wild" Cuba. What's that doing here? Yep, there are some bird pictures in that one, but not many. Photography is ok throughout, but the scripts that accompany the pictures are just based on pseudo-factoids and so have very little educational value. Instead the tedious narrators try to provide a lot of adjectival mood work. For example, Hawaii has its "DARK" side...meaning lava and eruptions. Whoa!! Cuba, well "perhaps" the crabs that walk to the sea have been doing this for "eons". How about some information? How long the crabs been there? What evidence is there for the evolution of the habits of the two indigenous hummingbird species?
Save your $$$$.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2012
"Nature: Extraordinary Birds" Blu-ray contains 2 segments -- one about hummingbirds and one about parrots. The photography is exceptional and, in Blu-ray, the visual is stunning. Aside from all the great information about these birds, the video displays the amazing coloring of hummingbirds and parrots. I was so impressed I went out and bought 2 hummingbird feeders.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
This movie has some nice hummingbird scenes, however.
I give this movie five stars for being illogical.
This "magic in the air" episode contains a video of some experiments performed to validate a theory.
The theory is that the chirp heard in the Anna's hummingbird mating dive is produced by the tail feathers.
This theory is now professed in many prestigious colleges as being proven fact.
As a physicist I know better.
You see, you can take virtually ANY thin planar object and subject it to air flow and create a chirp. In case you grew up in a concrete world, try this for yourself.
Place a blade of grass between your two thumbs pressed together.... press your lips against your thumbs and blow.
This is the very phenomenon upon which all woodwind instruments are designed.
Therefore: doing the same thing with a hummingbird's tail feather, or any feather will produce the same results. (a "chirp")
Problem is, the hummingbird's tail feathers are not edge-on at the bottom of the dive and not held at both ends as was done in the "confirming experiment".
The "confirming experiment" modified itself to support a theory and in the process created false and irrelevant results.

As a scientist I found this entire snafu interesting.
The premise was, Anna's hummingbirds don't chirp or sing.
Therein resides the flaw in reasoning.

Luckily for me.... I have Anna's hummingbirds and a camcorder.
So I set out to prove that Anna's hummingbirds don't chirp or sing.
Guess what????
I have an actual video of an Anna's hummingbird chirping and singing while holding perfectly still on a branch.
In fact.... anyone can witness this with their own eyes and ears throughout most of the entire year.
(catching it on film is much harder)

So, I give this movie five stars for being illogical and scientifically incompetent.
The chirp heard during the mating dive is NOT created by the tail feathers, it is created by the bird chirping.

Truth is, scientific experiments that seek to prove a theory correct CAN manipulate the tests in such a way that the theory appears proven even though the theory is entirely false.
In this case.... subject a Finch's tail feather to same wind tunnel test and you will hear a chirp.
If the Anna's tail feathers produce the chirp, then EVERY Peregrine Falcon on earth chirps in its swooping dives because the air velocity / pressure produced is the most of any animal on the planet.
In case you didn't know.... the Peregrine is the fastest animal on the planet.
(chirping dives would be present and witnessed on numerous raptors)

In very simple words.
To prove that the Anna's hummingbird produces a chirp with its tail feathers, you must first prove that the bird cannot chirp.
If you enjoy hummingbirds and enjoy analyzing theories created by opinion, you will enjoy this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 7, 2014
One of the best DVD's about those little feathered jewels on the market. The footage is nothing short of excellent. If you love Hummingbirds as much as I do, you won't be sorry you bought this one for your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I love all birds and think they are some of the most intelligent beings on our planet, especially parrots and hummingbirds. The education of a U.S. fighter pilot takes some 20 years before he is ready to fight for his country, while a little hummingbird at only 3-4 months of age is is able to migrate 3000 km from Texas across the Gulf of Mexico to the Panama Republic. This is incidently the topic of my next book, "Rubilito - the traveling Hummingbird. But I also am working on a huge project to re-introduce the Scarlet Macaw into the mainland of Panama. These birds are some of the most beautiful parrots and this is a very serious project. I would therefore like for anyone who is familiar with the Scarlet Macaws and is willing and able to help us to come forth and contact me at
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
This is not only for birders but for everyone! The photography and the narrator are great! The two stories are great! My husband and I are birders. Is was great to watch the first one all about Hummingbirds. It really taught you a lot and gave you a great closeup of the birds. It really brings out their color.
The second one is about Parrots. We have pet birds. We both love the tropics. Again it taught us a lot and the photography, narration and color is excellent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Nature: Birds of the Gods [Blu-ray]
Nature: Birds of the Gods [Blu-ray] by Nature (Blu-ray - 2011)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.