Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc blink-182 Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
5 star
73%
4 star
27%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2008
and hawks, falcons, owls, and vultures, too. This was an interesting program about some of the major raptors and how they utilize various strategies when pursuing their prey. You'll see: the 200-mph dive of the peregrine falcon; how the owl uses almost silent flight and extraordinary hearing to locate targets beneath the snow; how vultures utilize wind currents to soar almost effortlessly in the sky; a harpy eagle change direction and retract its wings while maneuvering through a forest; and more. For some segments of the show a tiny camera is attached to the raptors, so you literally get a "bird's eye" view of the action, including the dive of the peregrine falcon. Pretty cool stuff.

Four stars. If birds of prey are your thing, this is one you probably don't want to miss!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 12, 2011
Being a birder and a physics teacher, this was a fascinating DVD. I continue to be amazed at the abilities of birds - like the peregrine that pulls 25 g's while diving at prey! The movie looks at how bird fly and how humans can use those concepts in airplane wing design. If you like birds and/or flying, you will like this!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
This is a fascinating look at raptors (birds of prey), especially their amazing flight abilities and the military's efforts to recreate some of their flight features into aircraft. It's mainly about the birds themselves, though, which I really appreciated. Extremely well done, with super footage.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
Not sure what my expectations where for this dvd but it goes into detail about raptors and their ability for amazing flight. This dvd compares the birds to various aircraft and is fairly informative. Not the BEST dvd for raptors, but there aren't many available on amazon, so I'm happy with the purchase.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
The nature series is a wonderful series from PBS. I love birds and have learned a lot about our indigenous species the American Bald Eagle through the Decorah Eagles web site and have learned a lot more through these informative educational DVD's. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
My son is a huge raptor fan. He loved this video (and so did the entire family). It's informative and well done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
My husband loves to watch hawks, eagles, and owls around our area, so I thought he'd enjoy this DVD. It was very interesting! We recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
Got this for my grandson for Christmas and he watches this and has learned alot from the DVD.

Steve
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
Excellent DVD on selected raptors. Worth the purchase. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Fascinating topic, exceptional DVD! The entire family is enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.