Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Edition Of A Manga I've Ever Seen
The Viz's "Nausicaä Of The Valley Of The Wind Box Set" is just about perfect and everything that a manga edition should aspire to be. I've decided to upload a series of photos so you can appreciate for yourself what a treat this edition is. The package consists of 2 large hardcovers books inside a beutiful and strong slipcase, including a small color poster...
Published 22 months ago by Bruno Marisi

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
The book are nice but the box and the tome number two were damaged
Published 1 month ago by Matias


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Edition Of A Manga I've Ever Seen, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
The Viz's "Nausicaä Of The Valley Of The Wind Box Set" is just about perfect and everything that a manga edition should aspire to be. I've decided to upload a series of photos so you can appreciate for yourself what a treat this edition is. The package consists of 2 large hardcovers books inside a beutiful and strong slipcase, including a small color poster. Nausicaä was previously published in 7 softcover volumes and is now collected in full in this 2 HC books. So for all of that, the $60 price tag (much less with Amazon discount), is an unbeatable value.

Both story and art is by Hayao Miyazaki, that's right, HAYAO MIYAZAKI: the man who co-founded the internationally acclaimed Studio Ghibli, one of the greatest genius of animation this world have ever seen. The art is simply amazing, the storytelling is brilliant, the pages are full of life and detail and magic.

* * * * * These are the highlights of the edition * * * * *

- The format is over-sized (like Akira's volumes), with a trim-size much larger than the one we are used to for mangas: the books are 10,4 by 7,3 inches. This gives you a much better appreciation of the art, and that's exactly what you want, being Miyazaki's pages so full of detail and wonder.

- Book I is 568 pages long and Book II is 552 pages long, adding up to 1120 pages worth of Miyazaki's art!

- Both books are hardcovers with sewn-binding, which allows for a very comfortable reading experience. It's a real pleasure to be able to enjoy a manga in HC format, as opossed as softcovers, it feels like a real luxury.

- The printing quality is excellent, with sharp line-art and a delicate sepia tone ink.

- The paper quality is beautiful and very apt for the reproduction of art. The paper stock is NOT glossy; it's traditional manga paper stock, but it isn't flimsy or cheap at all. It's really nice and proper for the edition.

- Each volume includes 8 pages in color at the beginning of the book. This pages are printed in glossy paper stock and the art reproduction is beautiful, with vivid colors and outstanding detail.

- The slipcase is very solid and well-build, and the books fit perfectly inside of it.

- The box set also includes a small two-sided color poster (16,5 x 11,7 inches), which is a very nice adition to the package.

- The reading order is from right to left, respecting the original page layout.

In conclusion, the Nausicaä deluxe box set is the best edition of a manga I've ever seen. I really hope Viz and other publishers release critically acclaimed titles like Akira or Vagabond in deluxe editions just like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nausicaa Box Set...Simply Amazing, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
This impressive deluxe hardcover collection features the complete "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" ('Kaze no Tani no Naushika') epic illustrated by internationally acclaimed film director and animator Hayao Miyazaki.

It features a slipcase box with 2 mammoth-sized hardcover tomes that collects the entire run (vols. 1-7). The pages are impressive as the illustrations are presented in sepia-toned hues, presenting to readers the story as how it originally appeared when it first came out. There are a few colored pages, and an exclusive 2-sided fold-out full-color poster.

The packaging of this collection is much similar to DC Comics' Absolute Edition books (e.g.,Absolute Batman: The Long Halloween). Kudos to Viz Media for publishing this magnificent collection in this deluxe format!

For die-hard manga fans and for casual readers who enjoy good ol' classic adventure epics, this collection is highly recommended. Well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true "graphic" novel, November 10, 2012
By 
oion (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
Just as I point newcomers to "Grave of the Fireflies" as a seminal example of good anime (as opposed to the stereotypes between Pokemon and Dragonball), I would say Nausicaa is the one manga any newcomer to the medium should read. Well, or just anyone who appreciates imagery and text. This series contains great textual content as well as highly detailed drawing; there's nothing cartoonish or comic about it.

Make no mistake: The story of Nausicaa has an epic scope. It's highly complex and not appropriate for children unless they can grasp the finer points and are able to comprehend its darker tones, since this is a complete story from beginning to end that requires good memory.

It features several major cultures involved with their own civil unrest and break-off groups, ruthless war and its effects on civilians, life and death, military maneuvering, political intrigue, enemies who are not merely enemies, religious oppression, post-apocalypse, a bit of science fiction, and at the core--one of Miyazaki's favorite topics--environmentalism. All of this is given life and meshed together into a grimy mess of opposing yet sympathetic human characterizations.

While the series does feature one of my less favorite tropes ("the chosen one" hero), it's spun in that our main character is a girl capable of many things from the very onset. For a series written in the '80s to early '90s, that's rather interesting. She's no Disney princess.

In terms of art, the air battles and action scenes are convincing with great perspective, and the entire setting (backgrounds, from ground cover to smoky skies) is tremendously detailed to add depth and a solidly immersive look. Much of the sketchy detailing has to do with Miyazaki using pencil instead of pen inking. The world of Nausicaa is quite alive on the pages.

I wish I could say something about the quality of translation, which can be hit or miss in so much imported media, but I'm not fluent in Japanese to make an assessment. It does read well, though ("There's not much difference between being at the mercy of desire and being a prisoner of hate"). The cast is strong, both male and female of different ages, and spans vast geographical territories, so this should appeal to many readers.

I wouldn't say it's perfect, but if there was only one manga (series) I could make people read, it would be Nausicaa.

P.S.: Anyone who has seen Studio Ghibli's other works will recognize quite a few elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
This set is absolutely perfect. I fell in love with Nausicaa after watching the movie a few years ago, and it quickly became my favorite movie of all time. I just knew I had to read the manga (my first ever!), and luckily I found this boxed set. The artwork is stunning as to be expected of Miyazaki work. The story touches you in places you didn't know existed. Nausicaa is beautiful, strong, caring, and brave. The perfect heroine. I highly recommend this to any manga fan, miyazaki fan, nausicaa fan, ghibli fan, or just to anyone looking to experience an amazing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great graphic novel, great binding, November 6, 2012
By 
Neth (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
This box set contains two thick hardbound books, about 1.75 inches each. The covers contain the same artwork as the covers for the first two of the popular seven volume edition. Despite being large, the quality of paper and binding is fine, unlike some collected editions of works.

The translation is the same as in the seven volume version published by VIZ, with onomatopoeia untranslated and an index in the back. The printing is also still dark brown, rather than black.

Also included is a poster of about 11.5 x 16.5 inches, one side horizontally and the other vertically positioned.

If you want a copy of this graphic novel, then this is a fair, well priced edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All around an amazing product, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
I'll keep my review short: This print is one of the nicest (graphic) novels that I've ever laid my hands on. The slipcase, binding, paper and inserts are of the highest quality. As for the story itself, I must first admit that I'm not a comic or manga guru. That said, if you have even the slightest interest in the genre, then you'll find that Nausicaä is a pretty safe bet. Be warned though, as others have said, this story is quite intricate with multiple characters and plot-lines. Not needlessly convoluted, mind you, just intricate. Nonetheless, your time (and money) spent with Nausicaä will not have been wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowingly amazing!, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
Mind-blowingly amazing. A phrase I rarely use for anything! As a fan of Nausicaa the movie I had to read the manga and I must say the manga blows the movie out of the water!

And it's because in the manga, the world of Nausicaa, from the Sea of Corruption to the kingdom of Torumekia, is much more fleshed out. Kushana, for intance, was decidedly more evil in the movie, but in the manga, she truly achieves the moral ambiguity that Miyazaki-san was going for.

The artwork is beautiful and the story is full of surprises, even if you've seen the movie! Though I must warn you now that Nausicaa isn't a kid's comic. There's plenty of violence, complete with blood. There's also moderate profanity and a few panels worth of "Barbie doll" nudity.

Before this review gets any longer, in short, Nausicaa is an excellent, thought-provoking sci-fi adventure. If you love anime and manga and if you love a well-crafted story, Nausicaa may just be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it while you can., June 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
If you are like me, and just keep going back and looking at this set with shiny, greedy eyes but aren't sure if you want to take that plunge and just get it over with, let me give you some advice.
GET IT NOW.
I almost missed my oppurtunity to get it (for less than a hundred+ smackaroos) And as soon as I thought I had, I realized how much I needed to have it. NEEDED.
It's worth every penny, cheaper than getting the individual books, binding is great, poster is great, box is fantastic protection against the humidity without adding more space on your shelf, and it just LOOKS fantastic on your shelf.
Get it. Get it now. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
Haven't read more than a few pages, purchased this as a gift for my girlfriend, and she absolutely loves it. The artwork is incredible, and the movie poster that's included is actually pretty sweet. If you're a fan of the movie, definitely pick this one up, as it expands on many of the concepts introduced in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set (Hardcover)
For anyone who loves a great story and great art or you're just a fan of the masterworks of Hayao Miyazaki, "Nausicaa and the valley of the wind" belongs in anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nausicaš of the Valley of the Wind Box Set
Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind Box Set by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover - November 6, 2012)
$60.00 $41.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.