Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Disney Infinity 3.0 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on August 3, 2010
"Nauti Kisses", by Lora Leigh

New York Times Bestselling Author Lora Leigh indicates in the dedication of this novella that it is the finale of her "Nauti" series of stories. I'm late to the party. lol In fact, this is the first Lora Leigh book I've read despite the fact there are a number of her books languishing here in the stacks and on my e-reader. I will say, that even though I haven't read the series I think "Nauti Kisses" can be enjoyed as a standalone because I had no problem following the story.

John Calvin Walker Jr. is a member of an affluent Boston family and a successful lawyer in his father's law firm. John is engaged to Boston socialite Marlena, a gold digging bitch from hell who cheats on him with his soon to be ex best friend Gerard. While the passion in John and Marlena's relationship has been waning for some time he was unaware of her betrayal until it is revealed by Sierra Lucas a lovely fey like woman who he has known all his life. John has long suppressed a physical attraction for Sierra because his father is her godfather and he sees his feelings as highly inappropriate.

After a nasty confrontation with Marlena and Gerard, John retreats to his penthouse apartment where he proceeds to get thoroughly sloshed. Sierra turns up at his door to offer support and one thing leads to another. After a passionate encounter John passes out cold. Mortified and heartbroken Sierra exits the scene and refuses to return John's calls or see him following their tryst.

Fast forward a year and readers find John has returned to his family's roots in Kentucky and made his home on the "Nauti Wet Dreams" a two story houseboat that he moors on Lake Cumberland. John feels at peace for the most part, but Sierra and what he remembers of their night together (which isn't much) is never far from his thoughts. Then he gets a call from his father indicating that Sierra is in hospital recovering after a brutal and vicious attack, and she is asking for John. John Walker Sr. is convinced the attempt on Sierra's life was premeditated and her assailant will find her and finish what he started unless they are able to hide and protect her. It is under these unfortunate circumstances that John and Sierra are reunited.

"John couldn't handle the emotions rising inside him at the moment, the thought of the attempt that had been made to hurt her. To destroy her. The pure anger. The need to go to his knees before her and kiss every inch of bruised flesh, to beg for her forgiveness for not being there to protect her. The need to demand explanations, to beg that she stay, to simply hold her, was tearing him apart.

He'd never had so many emotions surging through him. For a man that prided himself on his control, he was growing close to losing it. Because despite the bruises, he wanted her.

Nauti & Wild © Lora Leigh"

I've read a lot of reviews of Ms. Leigh's books and from what I've gleaned she is known for penning exceptionally strong Alpha heroes and sensual, sexually explicit love scenes into her suspenseful stories. "Nauti Kisses", fits the bill. John Walker is one strong Alpha who feels an overwhelming need to protect 'his woman', he doesn't just make love to Sierra, he consumes her and she him. As in,'get out the ice water and fan' while reading this one if you intend to. Ms. Leigh also wrote plenty of conflict into Sierra and John's story which amplifies the sexual tension exponentially.

"Nauti Kisses", isn't just steamy sex. Sierra and John are drawn into an undercover investigation of one of the largest crime families in the nation. The story is suspenseful with an action packed conclusion that had me sitting on the edge of my seat. I don't think followers of Ms. Leigh's "Nauti" series will be disappointed because the MacKay brothers make appearances and assist John to protect Sierra from a cunning and lethal adversary.

"Riding the Edge" by Jaci Burton

As any of you know who have visited here in the past, I'm a huge fan of National Best Selling Author Jaci Burton's work and especially her "Wild Riders" series which was my favorite romantic suspense series of 2009. I've been waiting impatiently for this novella and for "Riding the Night" which is to be published in September. I've always found that Ms. Burton does her homework when writing her books and she is especially knowledgeable about motorcycle enthusiasts because she and her husband own a Harley motorcycle and attend rallies etc.. She therefore understands the psyche of the men and women who enjoy motorcycles as a hobby or choose to join "the life". I've read all 3 of the Wild Riders stories and Ms. Burton writes a good foundation into the narrative of "Riding the Edge" so IMHO readers would have no difficulty enjoying this novella as a standalone.

The Wild Riders are a group of covert US government operatives recruited from the streets as young, in trouble youths by General Grange Lee. Members of the team work deep undercover on assignments suited to their history and ability to infiltrate many criminal elements with chameleon like efficiency. This is Rick Benetti's story and he is none too happy when given what he considers a babysitting assignment to find a Nevada Senator's daughter who is thought to have joined the Hellraisers biker gang. Rick had a history with the Hellraisers 10 years previously and would have gone to prison if not for Grange's intervention. Rick therefore reluctantly rides to Las Vegas where a bike rally is being held and his cousin Bo is leader of the gang. Rick has to insinuate himself back into his old life as a Hellraiser to find the senator's daughter. His assignment, however, turns into much more then babysitting. And, Ava Vargas, is the exact opposite of what he is expecting.

Ava is a graduate student who has just finished her Master's in Social Work, and is planning to her complete Doctoral thesis when she finds the right college and program. She is brilliant, kind, intuitive, and worried sick about her best friend Lacey who abandoned college and her graduate studies to be with Bo and the Hellraisers. Ava is determined to find out if Lacey is okay and try to persuade her to return to her studies. Lacey however has no intention of leaving Bo, in fact she appears to have undergone a complete personality change which further alarms Ava.

Rick quite easily gains Bo and the gang's trust again and Ava literally falls into his lap when she is paired with him to ride for the duration of the weekend rally. Ava is quite surprised by Rick when they are introduced.

"Hey, Ava." Rick held out his hand. Polite, too. She hadn't expected that. She slid her hand in his and felt the sizzle of . . . something electric and very warm.

"Nice to meet you, Rick."

"This is just perfect, isn't it?" Lacey said, bouncing on the balls of her feet. "I was hoping you would find someone to ride with. With Bo's cousin here, you have a seat now."

"Yes. Perfect." Ava couldn't help staring at Rick. She supposed she had these preconceived notions of bikers. Dirty, scruffy, mean, and scary looking. None of those characteristics fit Rick. Or, for that matter, Lacey's boyfriend, Bo, who was tall, lean, and very attractive. He resembled his cousin in many ways."

Nauti & Wild © Jaci Burton"

It doesn't take long for Rick to figure out that Ava is quite out of her element with the Hellraisers and he can't understand what she is doing there. As he is unsure of her involvement with the gang and must maintain his cover he has to be very careful how he elicits information regarding why she is hanging out with the Hellraisers. Try as he might, Rick can't stop himself from being attracted to Ava, and despite his covert status things heat up between them.

This is a story of opposites attract. Rick endured a horrific childhood, being bounced from foster home to foster home. He has no love of social workers and considers them `do gooders'. Rick is a very strong, independent guy. He lives at the Wild Riders compound enjoying his anonymity and a no strings attached life with respect to relationships. Ava is a serious, meticulous, hard working graduate student who is immersed in academia. IMHO Ms. Burton's characterization of these two people is perfect. The sexual tension just crackles and it is further amplified by the conflict related to their backgrounds and situation.

Ms. Burton is known for penning off the charts hot love scenes in her erotic romances and "Riding the Edge" is no exception. Rick, needless to say, is sexually experienced, he shows the somewhat inexperienced Ava new heights of pleasure. Sensuality permeates the love scenes of this story. There is a scene with exhibitionism, voyeurism and an orgy, however I have to say in keeping with Ms. Burton's style I did not find it offensive in the least and it was woven perfectly into the narrative.

Rick's assignment takes an unexpected turn when he discovers his cousin is importing and trafficking cocaine. Rick is then tasked with the dangerous and difficult mission of discovering who the supplier is and how Bo is moving the drugs into the country, in addition to keeping Ava safe. Ms. Burton pens a clever, suspenseful plot twist into conclusion of "Riding the Edge", and I was certainly kept on the 'edge' of my seat.

The question is can Rick give up his no strings attached lifestyle to be with Ava? Or will he let her go?

I found this anthology compulsively readable and am looking forward to reading more of Ms. Leigh and Ms. Burton's work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on August 3, 2010
Nauti and Wild by Lora Leigh and Jaci Burton
Contemporary Anthology- Aug. 3, 2010
4 1/2 stars

Lora Leigh and Jaci Burton really know how to turn on the heat in this blazing yet rough and tumble anthology.

In Nauti Kisses, Lora Leigh again brings her super alpha hero who comes to the rescue and the woman who he thinks can't handle him but instead turns the tables and takes him on!
Sierra has always loved John. When she realizes that his fiancée and his best friend have been having an affair behind his back. She knows she must tell him, even if he hates her for it. But what results is a drunken night of passion that John can't exactly remember. Humiliated, Sierra flees. But what she doesn't know is that John has always cared for her but thought she was too young and innocent for a man of his sexual hungers. (Oh, yeah!) He is determined to stay away from her until he hears that she has been attacked. His protective instincts in full gear John is determined to show Sierra how much he really cares.

In the next story Jaci Burton brings together suspense and hot blooded passion in Riding the Edge.
Agent Rick Benetti is on assignment to guard the spoiled daughter of a senator. He must infiltrate a biker gang that Ava has just joined. But soon he realizes that she is not a brat who only wants thrills. Ava is intent on trying to save her best friend, Lacey. Lacey is falling into a downward spiral since she joined the bikers. The more Rick knows about Ava, the more he begins to care for her and lust for her luscious body. And once is definitely not enough! But drugs and money soon endanger them both and Rick fears his broken cover may make Ava hate him. Something he can't accept.

If you have weakness for sexy bad boys who rush to save the day then you will devour this anthology. Both stories were well written and easy to read. The heat between the 2 main characters will be guaranteed to get your engines all fired up! Between the 2 stories I enjoyed Jaci Burton's more because I felt she developed the relationship between the main characters more thoroughly and I really grew to know and love them. Lora Leigh's book while still a great read uses a familiar storyline (and characters) that her readers will definitely enjoy but lacked the same originality.

If you love smokin' HOT men and super-charged, racy stories this book will be sure to light your fire!

Reviewed by Steph from Bookaholics Romance Book Club
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
"Nauti Kisses" by Lora Leigh. Rogue's brother John Calvin Walker, Jr. has moved to Lake Cumberland, Kentucky. However, as he seeks a peaceful lifestyle after all his escapades he misses his beloved Sierra, who he has known from her birth and is almost family. When she is attacked by a stalker in Boston, John's father, who is also Sierra's godfather, asks his son to keep her safe. Sierra makes it clear she is irate with John for leaving her.

"Riding the Edge" by Jaci Burton. In Vegas federal agent Rick Benetti is assigned to keep Ava Vargas safe while escorting her to her father, a senator. He also investigates Ava's involvement with his former gang. Ava has a rescue mission of her own; to save her best friend since childhood Lacey from self destruction with Rick's cousin, Bo

The latest Nauti Kentucky bad boy (Nauti Nights and Nauti Dreams) and Riding Bad Boy (see Riding on Instinct and Riding Temptation) romantic suspense thrillers are exciting novellas with kick butt lead females who are perfect matches to their hunks. Fans of both series will enjoy this collection.

Harriet Klausner
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on September 18, 2012
Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

First things first... Look at that shiny new cover this book got when it was re-released this month! *drools* Although I already have the print with the old one, I maaaaaaay be tempted to buy this one as well.

But enough of that. This book is special to me because this was my very first read by Jaci Burton. Yep. I discovered her when this book came out because I was anxiously awaiting the last Nauti story by Lora Leigh. See why anthologies are so important? After reading this, I went back and pretty much have gone through I would say 85-90% of Jaci's backlist and she is now an auto buy for me.

Nauti Kisses by Lora Leigh - 4 Stars

This is the last chapter in the Nauti series. For an ending it was ok but it didn't blow me away and I think part of that was the fact that I really had no vested interested in the couple featured. John is Rogue's brother. We met him during her book and although I really liked her, I could take or leave her brother. He's big money, society and a hot shot lawyer. Which is a lot of what Rogue was trying to get away from. In his story we meet a woman that has been in love with John but he's always seen her as the innocent he didn't want to ruin. Except he ruins her and then can't remember it because he was so drunk! OK maybe that pissed me off a bit. When he leaves town, Sierra is attacked and nearly raped and John comes back to protect her. Much in the same way as the first Nauti book storyline goes. NAUTI KISSES worked well as a short story without leaving out any important details of their relationship. Of course it helped that the love and crush had been developing for years for my mind to come to terms with that. However, I thought a little more originality could've been put into this story being that it would end the series and maybe the couple choice should've been better or at the very least, the characters been more present in the previous book. But overall it was a good story and not a bad intro to Lora Leigh or the Nauti series if you haven't read either.

Riding the Edge by Jaci Burton - 4.5 Stars

Like I said before...new author for me when I read this and it blew me away. I mean, I can't resist a hot biker who is also some kind of special military type agent and riding with a bike gang. So basically Rick is assigned to protect a senator's daughter who is riding with the Hellraisers bike gang. Ava had decided to ride with the gang in order to try and see what was going on with her childhood friend Lacey, who had become involved with one of the leaders. Rick has to infiltrate the gang so that he can protect Ava but to make matters more interesting, this is the same gang that Rick used to hang with ten years ago when he was nothing but trouble and before the Wild Riders, and his cousin Bo is now the leader. Gives him an in but also puts a lot of doubt on everyone's minds as to his real reason for being there. Rick is just to die for! Take me on a ride on the back of that bike and runaway. HOT HOT HOT! Ava was young but not so stupid, loyal to her friends, smart about her choices and one all around lucky gal if you ask me. Rick is controlled and you would think intense and tough but he's got such a soft side when it comes to Ava. He truly makes her feel beautiful and cared for. And all this with just the right amount of danger while riding along all those hot rods. ;)

Which cover do you like best??
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 16, 2010
Nauti Kisses by Lora Leigh
length: 145 pages

review
One blurry night changed everything between Sierra and John (he's Rogue's brother) and even now, one year later, he doesn't know what really happened that made Sierra stay back from him. When she is attacked and seriously hurt John wants nothing more than to protect her and get her back into his life.
Sierra is sent to John's new home in Somerset and together with the Mackays he will do everything to find her attacker. And he will do everything to convince her of his love.

I was excited to read the final book in the Nauti series and to see more of the people I met in the previous books. Nauti Kisses grabbed my interest from the first page and entertained me a lot. The storyline is a combination of everything that I liked in the former books and both Sierra and John are great characters. Both are strong and caring persons and I enjoyed reading about their relationship.
I also loved meeting the Mckays and co. again. To see them with their children was so cute and just the perfect way to end this fantastic series.

final appraisal
The last part in the Nauti series was IMO just perfect. Even though the book is short I didn't feel like I missed out on anything. Everything I love about this series was combined in "Nauti Kisses": strong heros, smart and witty heroines, lots of hot scenes and a sweet love story.

Nauti series
1. Nauti Boy (2007)
2. Nauti Nights (2007)
3. Nauti Dreams (2008)
4. Nauti Intentions (2009)
5. Nauti Deceptions (2010)
6. Nauti Kisses (2010)

Riding the Edge by Jaci Burton
length: 192 pages

review
Rick Benetti, a federal agent who is part of the Wild Riders, is not happy with his latest assignment. Babysitting Ava Vargas, daughter of an US senator, is not his kind of dream job. But when he meets Ava for the first time he is fascinated by her and realizes that this job might be more interesting than he thought it would be.
Ava is riding with a biker gang to reconnect with her best friend Lacey who became part of the gang one year ago. However Ava soon perceives that Lacey is a new person and that their friendship might be over. Riding with the biker gang is still exciting and when Ava meets Rick (she doesn't know who he really is) she knows that this trip will be special. For once in her life she has the chance to be free and to do whatever she wants. And she wants Rick. What begins as an adventure changes into something more serious and Ava and Rick have to figure out what really is between them.

"Riding the Edge" is the first story in the Wild Rider series that I read and I loved it! Some of the scenes in this book are amazingly hot and I wonder why so far I didn't read the other books in the series (they have been on my wishlist for quiet some time now!).
From beginning to end I enjoyed everything about this story. Getting to know Rick and Ava and seeing how they fell in love was great and also cute. Both are very interesting and likable characeters. I also enjoyed the storyline and how Rick handled what his cousin was doing. Furthermore I enjoyed that Ava was a good friend for Lacey and really cared about her well-being.
Like I already said, the sex scenes between Ava and Rick are very sensual and never got boring.

final appraisal
This book was a joy to read from start to end. The whole story is unbelievable hot and I loved both main characters. I didn't read the Wild Rider series before but now I will! I already ordered the first book in the series and can't wait to get it.

Wild Rider series
1. Riding Wild (2008)
2. Riding Temptation (2008)
3. Riding on Instinct (2009)
4. Riding the Edge (2010)
5. Riding the Night (2010)

cover
A hot guy on a bike fits the book perfectly!

final overall appraisal
I loved this book and finished it in one day. Both stories are erotic contemporary romances the way I like them: lots of hot scenes, strong characters and great romances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 9, 2010
Both stories in the anthology have an alpha male protecting his female even though she is not a weak heroine. The mildly suspenseful plots and explicit and erotic sex scenes make this anthology well worth reading. - Lisa Freeman
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 21, 2012
Great fast read. I am a huge Jaci Burton fan. I never hear of Lora Leigh. Now I check her out and gosh she has written a ton of other books. So I bought them. Leigh's story continues her Nauti series, which doesn't have to be read in order. They are a series, but stand alone.

This is about John Calvin Walker Jr. is a member of an affluent Boston family. Aside from that he is a successful lawyer in his father's law firm. John gets engaged to Marlena. Turns out they were not meant too be - spoiler - she is the daughter of a rumored mob family. They sizzled out about 6 months after the engagement. We find out John's best friend Gerard is the reason. The girl who comes into the plat is sierra, and she is hot, but God daughter to John Sr. Marlena's betrayal is revealed by Sierra Lucas

The **** hits the fan and John gets drunk. Sierra shows up feeling guilty. why would John be mad at her? She is confused, but she had to tell him. BIG things happen between them and Sierra leaves.

Fast forward a year ... John has moved to Kentucky, and made his home. Then he gets a call from his father about Sierra. She is in the hospital recovering after an attempted rape. asking for John. John Walker Sr. is convinced rape and attack was premeditated. So John Sr tells Jr where to get Sierra. John was disgusted and wanted his father to get to the assailant and get that evil person taken care of.

So much drama and suspense. These two are amazing together and the story is fluffy in spots and dramatic in others. So yeah it was great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on July 12, 2013
Ok. First let me say that I was a little uncomfortable with the first Nauti Boy book I read. I just kept looking at the cover to make sure who the Author was. Once I told myself to just relax and give the book a try, got past my own "uptight attitude" (which believe me, I never ever would be described as that by anyone who knows me). So once I let myself just roll with the story line and tried to see how things could be that way, I understood it a lot better and even got fairly comfortable with the story. At that point, I was totally hooked on the Nauti Boys. Make sure tho' that you also get the book that is about Sheriff Zeke Mayes and the chick who owns the "biker bar" (lol right...) and she goes by her middle name of Rogue Walker. Oh boy, what a treat. You will laugh and squirm at how hot and heavy things can get. Whew - I went looking for the hubby when I finished one of these books!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 12, 2010
I have throughly enjoyed Ms. Leigh's Nauti series and am very sad to see it end. I really wish this book had been longer. It was also nice to revisit the Mackays briefly. I cannot however give it more than four stars because of an inexcusable continuity error between Nauti Intentions and this story. When John is introduced in Intentions he is described as "Overly long white blond hair fell almost to his shoulders and framed hard, slashing features." In this book the description is "The sun had bleached his thick, light brown hair almost blond..." How did an error like this get past editing and proof-reading? It didn't ruin the story for me, but it did annoy me greatly.
I have not read the second story. I enjoy Ms. Burton's books so I will probably buy the prior books and read them in order.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on June 5, 2015
read Riding the Edge in the Wild Riders series and I really liked it! Great flow and a quick read about a side character that we haven't seen a lot of but we know has the integrity to be a Wild Rider so we know that we love him or that reason alone.

Ava and Rick come together as 2 people from totally different backgrounds but they make sense because they can give each other the love that neither had ever had. This read is a great reminder to live the life that YOU want and not the life that others think that you should have!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Nautier and Wilder
Nautier and Wilder by Lora Leigh (Paperback - April 2, 2013)
$11.18

Nauti Enchantress (Nauti Girls)
Nauti Enchantress (Nauti Girls) by Lora Leigh (Paperback - June 27, 2014)
$11.99

Nauti Intentions (Nauti Boys)
Nauti Intentions (Nauti Boys) by Lora Leigh (Mass Market Paperback - August 30, 2011)
$7.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.