Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Handi Book
Having known only English as my primary language this book helps the laymen learn the basis of translating the Najavo culture and language into English and back again.
Extremely detailed with notations on pronunciation, verbage and usage of slang.
Having know a Navajo Native American for a while, this book helped me understand the subtlties of the Navajo...
Published on June 6, 2002 by Lorenzo M. in the Hollywood CA...

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it's worth: translation of a particular form or two of a verb
On the plus side:
There's a great variety of phrases "what they saw," "they shot at him" "he started to chase him," which is what many Navajo verbs actually translate out to (as well as nouns, which are much simpler), so this can be very useful if you're reading a text and trying to get an idea of going on.

On the negative side:
- The type is small...
Published on September 10, 2010 by Almelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Handi Book, June 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
Having known only English as my primary language this book helps the laymen learn the basis of translating the Najavo culture and language into English and back again.
Extremely detailed with notations on pronunciation, verbage and usage of slang.
Having know a Navajo Native American for a while, this book helped me understand the subtlties of the Navajo Language and Culture.
Nothing compares to a real teacher, but this book does help. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it's worth: translation of a particular form or two of a verb, September 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
On the plus side:
There's a great variety of phrases "what they saw," "they shot at him" "he started to chase him," which is what many Navajo verbs actually translate out to (as well as nouns, which are much simpler), so this can be very useful if you're reading a text and trying to get an idea of going on.

On the negative side:
- The type is small and the font is clumsy.

- Even with the small pronunciation guide, you won't learn how to speak the words. You might check out Conversational Navajo Dictionary -- Dictionary and Pronunciation Cassette Set which is now available in CD form in some Navajoland area stores. It's also basic but at least has some audio.

- If you're trying to use verbs in other ways (eg. "I shot at you," instead of "they shot at him"), you aren't going to find any hint here as to how to do that. A little study of the Navajo verb plus something like Colloquial Navajo: A Dictionary may be of greater help if you're actually trying to learn some verbs with any facility!

My judgment is that this book could be a good complement to a collection of Navajo materials, but doesn't do much good on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Navajo to English only, October 30, 2013
By 
C. Van Blake (Vista, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
This is helpful if you read and speak Navajo and want the English words. It is not very helpful for English speakers who are looking for Navajo words. However; if you hear a word in Navajo and you already know how to spell it you can find the English meanings. It is useful if you are an English speaker trying to read and understand the Navajo bible for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many illegible headwords!, November 11, 2008
By 
kimko379 (Uji near Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
The print of too many headwords is just illegible! I hope that the publisher will re-make the printing plates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Navajo dictionary, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
I love this dictionary. the references are easy to look up. I am able to use this dictionary to form sentences and read new Navajo words and using this dictionary with the Navajo Bible..excellent tool for readers and literacy of the Navajo language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trying to learn English?, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
This book looks like it would be a great help for Navajo speakers who are trying to learn English.
If a person learned even half of the expressions and words in this book they would be well on their way to speaking essential English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I appreciate getting what is pictured., December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
I received what was pictured and very quickly. A great addition to my library!
I will be able to refer to this many times with accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book!!, February 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
This has been invaluable to me in learning Navajo. I am so happy I bought it to go along with my rosetta stone to learn Navajo. It is a little hard to read some of the printing but other than that I find it is just great. It is a must for anyone learning or interested in the Navajo language. I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not very, September 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
The book is exactly what it claims to be, a dictionary of Navajo words with English translation. To be really helpful a polyglot dictionary should translate in both directions. This one does not. If I need to know the Navajo word for "rabbit," I'm out of luck. A short section in the front of the book deals with pronunciation of Navajo words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, April 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) (Paperback)
I'm sure this is a good dictionary, but the actual printing is not very good, and therefore some words are hard to read. Also, it does not have an English-Navajo side to it, so that makes it only just so useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary)
Navajo-English Dictionary (Hippocrene Dictionary) by C. Leon Wall (Paperback - June 1, 1994)
$14.95 $12.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.