Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King of M, P, Z...
There are few reviews on this particular 2x8oz Navitas product that need correction;
1. 8oz bag will stay fresher than a 16oz bag so these are 8oz bags not 16oz which is better especially with Amazon high turn over. If you consume more rhen these are not priced reasonably at all but due to high oil content, rancidity is a big issue with any seed that the shell is...
Published 15 months ago by NYFB [Je suis Charlie]

versus
55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but Manitoba Harvest brand seems like a better bet
Navitas is an American company, but hemp seeds cannot be grown legally in the USA, and seeds that are imported must already be shelled by law. Soon as hemp seeds are shelled they begin to oxidize and need to be packed ASAP for optimal freshness. So there is clearly some lag time between the shelling and packaging of hemp seeds that Navitas cannot avoid since they package...
Published on December 17, 2012 by Consumer awareness


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but Manitoba Harvest brand seems like a better bet, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
Navitas is an American company, but hemp seeds cannot be grown legally in the USA, and seeds that are imported must already be shelled by law. Soon as hemp seeds are shelled they begin to oxidize and need to be packed ASAP for optimal freshness. So there is clearly some lag time between the shelling and packaging of hemp seeds that Navitas cannot avoid since they package their seeds in the USA. Also Navitas does not use nitrogen when they bag their seeds either. Nitrogen is used to help reduce oxidation of the packed product.

Currently Navitas sources their seeds from Canada according to what they told me. However this may not always be the case.

The quality of the product I received was good, very similar to Manitoba Harvest brand. (I would have a hard time telling the difference between the two brands in a blind test in the batches I got) However it seems logical to me to buy from Manitoba Harvest, a Canadian company for a couple reasons. Manitoba Harvest works directly with their farmers in a vertically integrated manner, and they pack their seeds in nitrogen directly after shelling. Theoretically their product should be consistently high in quality since they don't face the same sourcing and packing issues Navitas has. Further they have their own shelling facility, quality control lab for testing and they specialize in hemp, whereas Navitas is just packaging various foods from various sources.

Navitas Hemp seeds are good, but I feel there is better value to be found at Manitoba Harvest both in terms of quality and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King of M, P, Z..., October 17, 2013
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
There are few reviews on this particular 2x8oz Navitas product that need correction;
1. 8oz bag will stay fresher than a 16oz bag so these are 8oz bags not 16oz which is better especially with Amazon high turn over. If you consume more rhen these are not priced reasonably at all but due to high oil content, rancidity is a big issue with any seed that the shell is removed or opened,
2. I consume lots of hemp due to the oil in hemp and majority taste almost the same but certainly not the same even from the same producer since it is a natural product with oil, organic always tastes different than conventional as well regardless,
3. This Navitas is organic and Navitas happens to be an high end brand regardless of whatever that they sell due to their high standards. Navitas does not gas their bags for a longer shelf life. Navitas sells variety of food items with high quality control although that they have had many issues with their Chia seeds for unknown reasons,
4. Hemp is no replacement for almonds like one reviewer claims, almond are the king for vitamin E, others only wish,
5. No food including hemp helps with weight loss, watching calorie intakes is the only solution,
6. Protein in hemp is incomplete just like all greens except the king of protein, quinoa.

GENERAL: No, these will not make you high mentally but yet I get high physically since three tablespoon of this beauty, once again only 3 tablespoon which is 30 gr, offer me 50% magnesium and 25% zinc which allows me to get to really high spots in the mountains with my mountain bike or catch those big high waves in the ocean since my muscles do not cramp due to magnesium intake of hemp seeds. What an absolute joke, in US they continuously talk about health care but yet this one creation of nature which offers so much not only is not produced in US but yet the only site that I trust for ingredients which is the USDA Nutritional Value, will not offer me any info in regard to this superfood. Now you probably get an idea why so many industries controlling your dear representatives in US Senate will not allow hemp to have a chance to flourish in US. Big Pharma loves that idea since they sell those magnesium supplements which god knows what is in those unregulated tablets but yet citizens of US will not have access to the simple knowledge of all the minerals, vitamins, proteins and multitude of healthy hidden ingredients that this superfood offers at a reasonable price but yet they have all the nutritional value of Chia seeds which hardly has any vitamin or mineral but yet a whopping fiber at a whopping price since it is no threat to any industry in US... shame, shame, shame. While hemp and marijuana are kissing cousins, the amount of THC in hemp is almost non existent. Two tablespoons contains 400 milligrams of anti-inflammatory gamma-linolenic acid and 2 grams of omega-3 fats, plus all nine essential amino acids, compounds that help maximize recovery from workouts. I consume these straight from the container with spoon, an hour before my work outs without mixing in a bowl or as dressing. I consume it first thing in the morning or when I need a quick burst of energy regardless of the time of the day. For years I have consumed 1)raw sunflower seeds, 2)almonds in water 3)organic sesame+flax seeds ground in coffee maker+cocoa powder+unflavoured protein isolate, 4)hemp seeds, 5)watermelon & garlic on daily basis. Seeds all go rancid due to the oil and the germ of the seed so regardless of the type or brand, seeds need to be stored in freezer, in a dark, cold, sealed container, away from any moisture. If plastic container then it needs to be #5 or for me it is much safer in glass containers that keeps air out. I consume seeds within two weeks and insure not to purchase in big quantities since freshness is a priority to me due to the nutritional value which I consume food for, any food. Hemp is an unbelievable product and you can not grow it in US since it is illegal and big business does not want to see you healthy. No gain for big industries either since it is so cheap to grow with so many benefits that scares big pharma, plastic industry, fabric-cotton industry, pesticide producers, etc... so if you live in US, Canada becomes your only hope. Hemp increases my level of energy without any artificial stimulants like caffeine and sugar. More energy with less empty calorie fillers like sugar and saturated fat, in all energy bars which I never consume. Hemp contains the highest percentage of globulin than any other plant which is an essential amino acid that helps my body to create antibodies, a component of a healthy immune system. Healthy addition to a weight loss plan since it provides essential nutrients such as protein, essential fatty acids, fibre, vitamins and minerals without adding an excess amount of calories, starch, sugar or salt. One of the best natural boosters that I can get when doing any type of sport or when I need energy without a big meal. Hemp is truly a good plant for the environment and it is shame that we have to deal with the politics of the hemp instead of the benefits of the hemp in US. Victim of its own success. This is a super food next to quinoa, kale, broccoli, dandelion, raw honey, garlic, legumes, nuts, seeds, etc...

MINERALS: Hemp is one of the kings of nutrients when it comes to minerals and so important to me as a whole delicious seed with highest magnesium, highest potassium, highest zinc and the healthiest fat.

Accordingly for 100gr servings size of;
SESAME__FLAX__CHIA__AMARANTH__QUINOA__HEMP__PISTACHIO__ALMOND__CASHEW

CALORIES
565__534__490__371__368__567__557__575__553
SAT FAT
34__18__16__7__4__17__27__19__39
CALCIUM
99__26__63__16__5__0__11__26__4
MAGNESIUM
89__98__0__62__49__167__30__67__73
POTASSIUM
14__23__5__15__16__167__29__20__19
ZINC
48__29__23__19__21__83__15__21__39
FIBER
47__109__151__8__11__4 __41__49__13
PHYTOSTEROLS
714__0__0__0__0__N/A__214__0__0

FRESHNESS: Fresh means nutritious and delicious. I consume lots of seeds, beans, grains, vegetables, etc. and freshness is a priority regardless of the brand so I always purchase my food ingredients in small quantities from reputable sellers with high turnover. When fresh, food is nutritious and that goes for any food in any form, from frozen to canned. Fresh food is nutritious as well as delicious since nutrients give food its delicious taste. When old or rancid, nutrients are gone and any food item becomes an empty calories with no taste and absolutely worthless regardless of the brand or price, organic or conventional. For few years I consumed seeds in oil form since physicians advised me to do so not knowing that majority are not aware that seeds hardly offer any nutrients unless; seeds are fresh, not old which means rancid, not in oil form, not in supplement form, not hulled, ground and consumed within few days, kept in dark cold temperatures, away from light-sun-moisture since the oil in seeds and nuts go rancid regardless. That is why brown rice which has its nutrients will go rancid even if kept in freezer while white rice will last for years at room temperature since it hardly has any nutrients or oil. I ground in my coffee grinder sesame, flax, chia, amaranth, hemp then add cocoa, isolate protein, soy milk and consume it before my workouts on daily basis for its vitamins, minerals, protein and many nutrients, without much spike in my glucose. Un-hulled seeds are full of nutrients. I never consume hulled seeds which are empty calories, absolutely worthless since the nutrients have been removed.

FAT: The most important hormone, and the one that's crucial for weight loss, is insulin. Insulin is the hormone that controls fat storage. A high-carb diet increases the amount of glucose in the bloodstream, which in turn means you produce more insulin. The more insulin the body produces, the more fat gets stored. A low-carb diet means less insulin, making it easier to lose weight because less fat is then stored. For intake of a massive 5,000 calories every day for three weeks with calories from a low-fat, high-carb diet; and for another three weeks with calories from more fat no carbs with exactly the same amount of calories, with moderate exercise regimen each time; low-fat diet stacked on 16 lb with 3.7" (9.5 cm) around the middle where the high fat diet offered a loss of 2.5 lb and loss of 1"(2.5 cm) from waistline. If calorie is calorie, then in my case and my experience shows that I would prefer to get my calories from a healthy fat from sesame seed and almond than the calories from the carbs in chia. Almonds have the highest fat calories from all the seeds and nuts and that is a priority to me in type of calories since I am kind of vegan who consumes fish but hardly any meat or chicken.

Accordingly for 28gr/1oz servings size of;
Amaranth__quinoa__flax__peanut__almonds__chia__sesame__sunflower__cashew__pistachio

TOTAL CALORIES
28.6__33.6__ 150__166__161__137__160__162__155__156
CALORIES FROM CARBS
21.2__23.6__33__28.9__24.6__50__26.8__31.2__34.4__31.8
CALORIES FROM FAT
3.7__4.8__98.8__121__116__72.1__116__112__103__104
CALORIES FROM PROTEIN
3.7__4.9__17.8__16.8__20.6__15.2__17.2__19.1__17.7__20

For almost the same total calories sesame offers half of chia's "CARB CALORIES" gain but 50% more "FAT CALORIES" with high amount of nutrients for weight loss. Sesame is my calcium but almonds are the superfood when it comes to fat calories and vitamin E. Americans consume enough peanut butter each year to coat the floor of the Grand Canyon, priced for 1/3 but hardly with any nutrients vs. sesame. None offer ALA and not only flax's high ALA is needed but it balances the omega-6 which is so abandoned in all foods and not healthy at all. But, but, but, Hemp is the king for magnesium, potassium, zinc where is needed most for my muscle cramps and goes with all my work outs.

Organic is always better for the planet earth and its inhabitants if organic available. The most harmful and deadly diseases plaguing America today are caused by food; cheap, low quality processed foods high in sugar, fat, salt, genetically modified ingredients and pesticides. when you reach for whole, nutrient-dense, organic foods, you get a food-remedy tool kit that not only will ward off cancer and heart disease, but also colds, flu, allergies, and a host of other ailments that plague us every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for green smoothies., July 9, 2013
By 
Mitch H. (Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
I purchased this to add to my green smoothies, and I had 1 heaping spoonful to each smoothie. Drinking one of these a day, along with working out more, has helped me to feel healthier and lose weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for protien, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
I juice everyday so I bought to get protein in. They taste great! They make me feel full when adding to my juice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add these seeds to your morning smoothie~, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
I would definitely recommend this product! I add it to my morning smoothie to get that extra protein and oomph to start off my day clean and right! Also great for those who suffer from inflammation since it contains omega-6 and omega-3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good omega oils, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
I used them in pancakes, sprinkled on eggs, as a garnish, and for snacking. A good product to use in the kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemp Seeds, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
Tastes great! Thank You very much..I love these hemp seeds and are very healthy. Organic and I checked nongmoproject.org and they are listed as a verified non gmo product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE!!!, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
these are classified as a super food (health wise) I love them for the taste (although subtle) and the texture. I add to greek yogurt and bump up the protein!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product! Fast shipping!, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
Love hemp seeds! I have been eating them by the spoonful straight out of the pack! I really like adding a spoon or 2 to my salads and greek yogurt. I just started changing my diet, so this is the only brand I have actually bought (besides ones that are in chobani blueberry power flip). Shipping was super fast (took 2 days... I am in NJ) and I will definitely buy again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemp is nutritious delightfull and great, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Raw Hemp Seeds, 8-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2) (Grocery)
Have you tested Hemp orchata? it is wonderful. Hemp is nutritios delightfull and great. I sprinkle it on my fruits, smoothies and oat meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.