Customer Reviews


573 Reviews
5 star:
 (316)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (84)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


175 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An expensive but healthy food
These berries are thought to be one of the one of the healthiest natural foods. There are many "stories" about the amazing benefits of these berries, many of which may be true, but a few verifiable facts about them (in dried form) follow:

1) High protein (about 12%), and are a complete protein. This is good for anybody, but particularly noteworthy to vegans,...
Published on December 27, 2006 by Charles Burns

versus
268 of 288 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leaves and worms
To start with, I'm a big fan of goji berries. A friend recommended another brand that I faithfully purchased until it was no longer available. I just found out it's name and packaging have changed and I've placed my order! In the interim, I purchased the Navitas brand and have been disappointed. There were a number of green and dried leaves in the bag, which I never...
Published on November 21, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

175 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An expensive but healthy food, December 27, 2006
By 
Charles Burns (Pocatello, ID, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
These berries are thought to be one of the one of the healthiest natural foods. There are many "stories" about the amazing benefits of these berries, many of which may be true, but a few verifiable facts about them (in dried form) follow:

1) High protein (about 12%), and are a complete protein. This is good for anybody, but particularly noteworthy to vegans, who choose not to get their protein from meats.

2) Decent fiber content (about 10%)

3) 18 (!!) amino acids

4) Like most sweet fruits, high in carbs and calories. 100 grams give you about 350-380 calories; roughly 3/4 from carbs and 1/4 from fat.

5) 6 vitamins, 8 amino acids, 11+ minerals (more in trace amounts)

6) Carotenoids, unsaturated fatty acids (this is a good thing), phytosterols (help lower cholesterol), and other healthy (or theoretically healthy but not particularly well researched) phytochemicals.

Enough with the technical jargon. These berries are great in cereal, smoothies (once hydrated), and tea. For tea, try this:

Put water, a small number of berries (6-15ish) and a teabag in your cup, microwave for about a minute per teacup (time varies), drop a small amount in your favorite tea along with the teabag and let the berries and tea steep for about 3 minutes.

This adds a subtle character to green tea (plus an unusual, tasty snack to do with a few of the sips). The flavor seems to blend well with chai and jasmine too. This may work differently for those who use creamer.

I recommend that you try a bag, keeping in mind that you may need to soak the berries in water/tea/whatever in order to make them soft, and see what you think. I have found they make a great addition to my usual cereal-only breakfast because they give me a much-needed protein boost.

If you like them quite a lot, you may want to take the time to look for a supply in a nearby Asian foods store. I have heard they can be purchased at a lower cost in bulk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


268 of 288 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leaves and worms, November 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
To start with, I'm a big fan of goji berries. A friend recommended another brand that I faithfully purchased until it was no longer available. I just found out it's name and packaging have changed and I've placed my order! In the interim, I purchased the Navitas brand and have been disappointed. There were a number of green and dried leaves in the bag, which I never experienced with the "other" brand. I was about two-thirds of the way through my current bag when I discovered a couple of lovely little worms floating in my tea! FYI, I usually start my morning off with a big cup of hot tea, sweetened with gojis. After seeing the additional protein in my tea I decided to check the remaining contents of the bag. I emptied it out onto a white paper towel and discovered a number of more white worms. The bag has been kept sealed and stored in a dry, cool area so I blame the product not how it was stored. I'm very disappointed and will not be purchasing any more products from this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution - Mold infested Berries, September 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
Order with CAUTION, while all organic foods have some issues with shelf life, these goji berries were more than 30% spotted with black spots of mold. Picking through these berries to discard the bad ones is a slow and tedious JOB. They cannot be returned and you are taking a chance of wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Berry, October 25, 2006
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
Having consumed Himalania Goji Berries for over one year, the Navitas Naturals Goji Berry is a great addition to the exotic food market. The Navitas Goji is harder and drier than the Himalania Goji, but the flavor is much sweeter and better tasting.

I love the fact that they're raw, vegan, sun-dried, and free of chemicals and pesticides! Goji berries are believed to strengthen the immune system, increase energy and reduce fatigue, and reduce the threat of free radicals (due to HIGH levels of antioxidants). Gojis have highest ORAC score to date! The ORAC scale is a standardized test used to measure the total antioxidant potency of foods and nutritional supplements.

Definitely, one of my favorite foods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They Taste Terrible And I've Had Way Better., December 9, 2008
By 
Steve (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
Navitas tasted pretty good the first time I had them, but after having premium berries from California Academy of Health, I can't even finish this bag. In comparison, CAOH's have a fresh picked taste that is sweeter and softer. The difference is night and day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Moldy!, April 27, 2012
By 
Audrey (Providence, RI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
I just opened this bag of Goji Berries, ate a handful and spit it out. I emptied the bag onto a paper towel to examine. The berries are moldy & lots of bits & pieces of seeds, stems, & half eaten parts of berries from insects or worms perhaps. It tasted like mold. I checked the stale date, 9/26/13. Yikes! I can't imagine eating these a year and a half from now. The item is not returnable. It says USDA organic on package. It's a product from China. Very poor quality. I don't trust it, & will never buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed by the latest batches, May 18, 2012
By 
Chuck (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
I have been ordering these same Navitas Goji Berries for probably 4-5 years on Subscribe and Save, going through a pound every month or two. I use Goji berries for cooking, snack and tea, and they are great for everything. The quality and price from Navitas have been very good until the most recent shipment I got. In the past, the berries are relatively dry but still a little chewy, which I really like. The most recent batch (shipped to me in March 2012) seemed very damp, and the berries were stuck together in clumps. When I made tea with it, some berries, which I usually chew and eat, had distinct moldy taste to them. I examine the bag and found some berries with MOLD growing on them.

Very disappointed to the recent QC on this item. I will not order this item again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty berries!, February 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
These supposedly have some of the highest levels of antioxidants of any food, which is why I bought them. But I really like the taste too. It's not too far off from a cross between a tomato and a strawberry, but a very little bit bitter at times.

Overall they taste great, though some kids might not like them due to the slight bitterness.

Edit: A few of these berries have a bit of mold on them. I would reduce my ranking by 1 star if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another bag of molded Goji berries, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
I believe this is my first review. I am slightly addicted to Goji berries. I snack on them at work and re-hydrate them in tea before adding the mix to a tall bottle of ice and fresh lemon juice. I have a subscription to Navitas on Amazon. I got my first bag. I found the fruit very hard and dry but decent in size and still a great snack until I kept having to spit out mouthfuls due to the distinct nasty taste of mold. I thought I just got a bad bag but when my second order arrived.....same thing. You could see the black spots of mold on the berries. Most Goji's coming from China are dried til they are hard as pebbles b/c of the long month long journey (or more) to get here. They are still prone to pathogens and mold. I ordered Dragon Herbs Heaven Mountain Goji's and will follow up on how they are. Dragon herbs is a reputable company that has a process for dealing with the issues facing Goji's travel from China. If anyone knows a locally grown organic source of Goji's that is reasonably priced, please list it. Goji's grow easily in the US and it's obviously more sustainable. Regretfully, I am cancelling my Navitas subscription. Beware when purchasing. I read other reviews about mold and you can't return this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL-Moldy and poor quality, May 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries, 1 Pound Pouches (Grocery)
This was my first experience with goji berries so I was excited to try them. I actually spit them out they were so bad. Tasteless except for a moldy/salty taste! Thinking that maybe this is how they are supposed to taste, I asked a coworker about them. He had a bag and let me try his...they taste NOTHING like what I got. HIs actually had a flavor that was berry like. I looked at the product I received closer and can see mold growing on the berries. Also the berries in the bag are mostly just hacked up pieces-not a lot of whole berries. I will steer clear of Navitas brand from now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Navitas Naturals Organic Goji Berries,  1 Pound  Pouches
$23.10 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.