Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant history about Nazi Germany and the Jews
How does one write a book that is not preachy, didactic or prejudiced when one writes about the sensitive topic of WWII and Nazi Germany?
Saul Friedlander has succeeded brilliantly. His book goes through documents not seen before and includes diaries, letters and memoirs of those who perished (and some who survived) but wrote about what was happening in real time in...
Published on March 31, 2009 by Charlotte Tomic

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tough but educational read
This is a meticulously researched book with an abundance of detail. Unfortunately, the abundance of detail makes reading the
book tedious. It took some perseverance on my part to finish.
Published 14 months ago by johnlaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant history about Nazi Germany and the Jews, March 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition (Paperback)
How does one write a book that is not preachy, didactic or prejudiced when one writes about the sensitive topic of WWII and Nazi Germany?
Saul Friedlander has succeeded brilliantly. His book goes through documents not seen before and includes diaries, letters and memoirs of those who perished (and some who survived) but wrote about what was happening in real time in their countries, including Germany, Holland, and other parts of Europe. He also includes letters from Nazis, including a professor of Medicine at the University of Munster and an SS Hauptsturmfuhrer a Dr. Johann Paul Kremer, about his experiences at Auschwitz, and how the Sonderkommando inmates pushed themselves to participate in these operations, "because special provisions are passed out, including a fifth of liquor, 5 cigarettes, 100 grams of baloney, and bread....6 september. Today, Sunday, excellent lunch: tomato soup, one-half chicken with potatoes and redcabbage (20 grams fat). Sweets and fantastic vanilla ice cream...Evening at 8 o'clock outside again for a Sonderaktion."

Why the obsession with food, you might think? It turns out that this "doctor" was also researching in Auschwitz on the medical aspects of starvation. "His specimens would be put on a dissection table, interrogated about their weight loss, then killed and dissected. The effects of stavation could then be studied at leisure."

The historical evidence in the book is almost too much to bear, showing the brutality of the Nazis and their collaborators throughout Europe; how no one would take the Jews if they could, even when they knew what was happening to them; and how many countries, including the U.S. did little or nothing to help those innocent people, including the American Jewish community and the Church.

If you want to learn the real truth about the war, this is the book. While I never enjoyed history books, this powerful and haunting book reads like a novel and I couldn't put it down, even though it's about 650 pages long.

As a communications professional, I marveled at how the Germans could buy the Himmler Propaganda Machine that manipulated the masses to hate the Jews so much that they would agree to destroy them and rid Europe of all of them.
How the machine convinced Germans that they could still become great again if they followed the maniac Hitler's twisted emotional and murderous obsessions is amazing. Among 20th century leaders, Hitler had the unbridled enthusiasm and devotion of millions of countrymen "in one of the most advanced and powerful nations on earth." Hitler's charisma unleashed the terror against the Jewish population of Europe only because of the complicity and adoration of his followers.

I am still haunted at the words of a Hungarian Jewish poet Mikos Radnoti whose last poem describes how he too will be killed like the violinist who tried to get up and continue to march when the SS told them to lie on the ground and opened fire.
The Nazi said, "He is still jumping up!" and shot him.

In his poem, he writes,

I fell beside him and his corpse turned over,
tight already as a snapping string.
Shot in the neck. "And that's how you'll end too,"
I whispered to myself; "lie still; no moving.
Now patience flowers into death." Then I could hear
"Der Springt noch auf," above, and very near.
Blood mixed with mud was drying on my ear.

About a month later he was murdered by his guards.
Read this book. You'll never forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, bad Kindle presentation, March 29, 2010
By 
C. Ubik (Hillsborough, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review focuses on Kindle presentation only! The book itself is exceptional and I can't recommend it highly enough. Five stars does not do it justice.

The Kindle version, however, leaves a little to be desired. There are three main issues. First, the maps at the beginning are nearly illegible. I have the Kindle DX and even on the larger screen the maps are soft, fuzzy, and hard to read. National boundaries can be difficult to discern, locations of the camps are impossible to identify, text is jagged and pixelated, and the legends are simply illegible. Zooming in does not help at all. Consequently, the reader is unable to use the maps as a reference.

Second, the footnotes are not enabled! A typical chapter contains dozens of footnotes yet there is no way to read them. This is a huge oversight in such a massive, scholarly, and important book such as this.

Finally, like many Kindle titles the text has been shoveled onto the Kindle without taking into account the electronic format. As a result, one frequently finds words that were hyphenated due to a line break right in the middle of a sentence. Needless to say this can be a lit-tle annoy-ing, especi-ally when it happens sev-eral pages in a row. This problem is not specific to this publisher; I've noticed it in several titles I have read. Still, it is shoddy quality control and a problem I have never encountered outside of the e-book realm.

Despite these flaws, I still highly recommend this book. Yet I wish the publisher did not cut corners in bringing the title to the e-book to market. I wouldn't say these flaws ruin the experience, but they do add a level of frustration that simply does not need to be present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great insights and use of historical documents, October 29, 2012
By 
Friedlander's accounts of the Holocaust stand as amongst the best. I appreciated his nuanced use of historical and textual material to try to understand developments in Germany that led to the Holocaust. Friedlander amply documents the presence of anti-semitism and gives texture to the shocking prevalence and public acceptance of anti-semitic sentiments.

I guess my only reservation is that I'm not convinced the Holocaust occurred just because of anti-semitism. In other words, its not clear that all those who turned a blind eye necessarily held anti-semitism views. Rather, as suggested by the Milgram experiments, many could have been compelled by authority structures. Still horrible, but a different type of horror. I'd have been interested in seeing Friedlander attempt to reconcile different explanations into a coherent whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not your ordinary before-the -bed book. Well-written, well-researched and backed by real facts. Gives a very good description of the events. If you are interested in history- this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessed with the Jews, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The nazis envied the Jews and became obsessed with them down to the minutest detail. SS-officers studied Jewish history, culture and religion. Nazi-doctors experimented on Jewish prisoners. Used Jewish hair for warm clothing. Even made lamp shades and soap of their skin and fat. And they stole Jewish property and valuables. Officers took over Jewish houses and lived in them often keeping the furniture and knicknacks. They behaved like dogs rolling in dead animals. Sick, perverted, disgusting beyond imagination. Utterly obsessed with their targets. (The nazi-regime was run by trolls, bullies and psychopaths. It was a stalker-culture. First they exterminated the mentally ill and handicapped, then the Jews, Gypsies and Jehovas witnesses etc, etc. In the movie The Crucible, about the witch hunt in Salem, they also exterminated the mentally ill and handicapped first. Then the outsiders, norm violators and outspoken). There's a pattern to it. 1. The Handicapped 2. The Misfits 3. The Norm Violators - like Adulterers and Anti-Authoritarians...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable resource., January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition (Paperback)
As a student of the Holocaust, I found this book provided details and perspectives I had not encountered in exactly the same way before. It is not the most reader-friendly prose, but then, it's not an easy subject to deal with. It will remain in my library as one of many resources on this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Germany and the Jews, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition (Paperback)
An amazing journey through the horrors of Hitler's killing time. Everyone should read this book. It would help one to understand the times we live in and the importance of freedom. This could happen in America just as it did in Germany and other parts of Europe.
It was an excellent book, well researched and easy to navigate. I love his writing style. This book is a must for any student who is serious about researching the history of the Jewish race under the reign of Hitler's terror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book took you through every step of the Nazi plan for the Jewish people in Europe. It also showed the complicity of the occupied countries that helped implement all of the steps leading to the murder 6 million Jews. From the deportations to the gas chambers, it described in detail how it was done. Brutally realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nazi and the jews germany, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition (Paperback)
great book....very somber. always wondered how that tradgedy could happen to that group of people,but now i see it could happen here under present day politics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Germany and the Jews, June 9, 2011
This review is from: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition (Paperback)
This is an important book that must be read, though some parts are hard to understand, it is a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition
Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1933-1945: Abridged Edition by Saul Friedlander (Paperback - March 10, 2009)
$16.99 $12.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.