Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nazi Mega Weapons: German Engineering in WW2
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
Price:$18.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 23, 2013
Overall it was a very informative series about several programs the Nazi regime pursued to improve their chances of winning World War 2. It also was very dark and disturbing on how they used prisoners to achieve those goals. Two discs with three episodes per disc. The Atlantic Wall, the construction of coastal defences against Allied invasion. U-Boat Base, how Nazi submarine pens were constructed to withstand Allied bombing raids. V2 Rocket, the development and deployment of the V2 rocket program. Super Tanks, the biggest tank on the battlefield is not always the most effective tank on the battlefield. Jet Fighter Me262, the first jet fighter aircraft, came into the war too late to put the Allies back on the defensive. Fortress Berlin, Berlin made into the place where Hitler made his last stand .
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
I found this DVD to be very informative regarding learning about German submarine bases in France, German missile production, and the German "wall" of fortifications in Europe during WWII. I believe this DVD was very well done, and gained quite a bit of information that I did not know about all three of these topics. I hope PBS will do further documentary type DVD's in the future regarding German weaponry in WWII, especially regarding the so called German "wonder weapons" (secret weapons) of WWII. Thanks for a great DVD, very well done!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
In terms of nuts and bolts of the weapons systems, the series is very interesting. As history, it's mixed quality. The V-2 episode interviewed one rather infamous nutty guy who is not respected in the history field at all. I just watched the V-1 episode in season 2, and it is typical. There is a lot of good information about how the V-1 worked, but it makes grandiose claims about how original it was, ignoring many earlier cruise missiles as early as 1916 (Sperry, Kettering). It fails to say anything about the extraordinary anti-aircraft technology that made the V-1 virtually useless -- a 90% kill rate by the time the assault on Antwerp began. The research is narrow and the series sometimes interviews people with questionable expertise.

The series is fun and interesting, but it also promotes a lasting misconception that the Germans were radically superior. You could easily have a series about Allied mega weapons -- the proximity fuze, the SCR-584, the M-9 gun director, the B-29, the a-bomb. It's something of a cliché to talk about Nazi engineer as if it were almost magical.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
The program is excellent when it comes to the engineering of various fortifications. This particular episode includes some information about the V2 and the ME 262 jet fighter. It spends some time on the submarine pens constructed in France and the Atlantic wall. I think it falls short of my expectations. When I think of Mega Weapons I think about various projects the Germans and Nazi's had underway or completed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
This is a well-done and interesting documentary series for those interested in looking "behind the curtain" at World War 2 and particularly the Third Reich's technological innovation. I had seen the episodes on PBS and wanted to watch them again as well as have them in my considerable archive of World War 2 programming. I recommend it to similar-minded folks and to those that have not seen the six-part series on PBS. It will be time well spent and you won't be disappointed that you purchased it. I learned a lot from watching this series and you probably will too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
I watched this on Netflix. I can't believe PBS thinks this is scholarly enough to broadcast. It sensationalistic. The reenactments are cartoonish and the German accented voiceovers are hilarious. Hitler is always portrayed as a caricature. It makes Springtime for Hitler look like a serious Broadway drama play. Would rather watch World War II, the Final Days, Hitler and the Nazis, etc.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
These documentary pieces on Nazi Mega Weapons are very well done. But what's missing is the contrast to the counter-measures taken by the Alllies to defeat them and the Germans, overall. Not even mentioned is the stupendous American and British effort in the Manhattan Project which produced the greatest scientific and engineering achievement in history. This is especially noteworthy when one or more of the Nazi Mega Weapons, like the Atlantic Wall, is described as just falling short of what it needed to be for lack of time. For goodness sake! If the Nazis had prolonged the war 3 more months, Little Boy and, probably, Fat Man would have landed on Berlin and, possibly, the U-boat pens at Lorient, northern France. OK, some of the flak towers and pens may have survived, in part, but the German citizens, including Hitler and his henchmen, would all have been fried or received fatal doses of radioactive fallout. Some may have walked around for a while, dazed and stupefied. They may even have glowed in the dark. But not for long. The Germans, not the Irish or anyone else, are the luckiest race of all. Three more months and they all might have perished.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
As we approach the 70th anniversary of D Day, I wanted to convey to my grandchildren the magnitude of of the invasion and the great adversity that the allies had to overcome on the landing beaches. The first episode, The Atlantic Wall, explained this extremely well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
Very good continued series , I enjoyed the DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
Excellent. I saw it on PBS and wanted it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse