Customer Reviews


1,269 Reviews
5 star:
 (379)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (112)
2 star:
 (148)
1 star:
 (453)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,628 of 1,687 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Organization Tool
I went to the store looking for the Neat Receipts scanner, and I came across this new product. I could not be more happy for buying it! I had 4 years worth of credit card and bank statements piled up in boxes, and with this scanner system I was able to scan them and organize them on my computer in less than a day (I'm talking hundreds of pages).

I have...
Published on November 4, 2008 by R. Toro

versus
7,102 of 7,194 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept But A Few Fatal Flaws
I purchased a NeatDesk scanner awhile ago to answer a growing need at home for more robust scanning. I'm one of those people that needs to have everything neatly filed away even though I will probably never see it again. I also religiously enter all my personal receipts and track my personal finances in detail. This seemed the perfect product to answer both needs...
Published on June 26, 2009 by Nathan Jones


‹ Previous | 17 8 9127 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Scaner is so not worth it, February 24, 2011
By 
B. Shashinka (Shelton, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this scanner directly from neat co after seeing one of there ads on TV, Being the nerd that i am i have every piece of paper i generated during my middle, high school and college years sitting in milk crates in the back of a closet, a lot of the information is lab reports from my electronics and computer engineering classes and I wanted to get them imported into my computer so that i could get rid of all the paper but not loose 10 plus years of work in case i ever wanted to review any of that information again. I spent a little over a week scanning all of the information in to the neat OCR software and letting it tag all the meta date from the documents and to be fair it did a decent job. Everything was sorted into folders and I was set to copy all of my newly minted PDFs to my archival disk array only to find out that the files were not stored in PDF form as the software had indicated, and they were not in individual files it was one large database which again in and of it self would not be a huge problem except that the software was so slow to search through the database that it was practically un-usable, I ended up sending the scanner back and spending the next several weekends exporting and sorting the neat database into regular files and folders. overall it did get the job done but in the end it probably would have been faster or taken the same amount of time to scan each side of each page with my old scanner.

Bottom line: the hard ware is great but the software leaves a lot to be desired. if it wasn't $400.00 it would make a great scanner for your favorite software
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If it worked for more than a couple of months at a time it my be worth a paper weight. I have two the will not hold up for ****, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
I have re-turned two of them in less than a year they do not work all the time. Then when stop working all receipt tied up in their software you have spend another 500.00. to edit your receipt and expense reports. I hope you will never buy this product. Just think I have a half year of tax receipt that can't be re-edited. I guess my time is worth nothing because I have start all over again. PS I rated it a star because they will not post without at least one star.

Guaranteed Construction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very surprised at all the issues--Mine works great!, October 13, 2010
By 
H. Jones (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many of the reviews I read don't seem like they are balanced. Maybe the software has improved since those earlier reviews were submitted but I have to say, I'm nothing but impressed by the feature set and performance I've seen so far. And contrary to another reviewer, I despise my HP All-in-One by comparison. Except for the convenience of WiFi on the HP, there's nothing I've seen from it that is better than the Neat Scan. That includes the very pleasant surprise when it scanned both sides of a document that I thought I would have to flip. The HP's impoverished secondary scanner requires a duplex feeder to accomplish this, so that was a very pleasant surprise.
In short, I am very impressed with this unit and its software performance, so will leave a very high marks ranking to counterbalance those from people who just seem to want it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PDF File Size is H U G E, June 24, 2009
An 8 page B&W text only document yields a 2.5MB file size! How can a company use this product for high volume file storage, when even simple documents are this large?

I called the NeatDesk tech support and someone answered quickly, but their suggestion (to save the document to the product's inbox, then export to my desktop at the lowest quality) not only added extra steps to their simple process, but it still got me a 2.5MB file. I have posted to the company's help forum but I see unanswered complaints from others on this issue, so I do not have much hope that there is a resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Regular crashing is "normal operation", May 9, 2013
By 
Josh (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PROUDCT NEW UNTIL ANOTHER VERSION IS RELEASED AND CAN BE TESTED BY THE PUBLIC.

Although the Neat for Mac scanners and software have historically been excellent products (I have been using two different scanners and the software for years on my Macs), they have taken a sharp decline since the release of version 4.0. At the time of this writing, version 4.0.1 is the most recent version. 4.0.1 suffers from regular crashes especially as it relates to syncing your data to the cloud and the sleep/resume functions of a laptop. If neither of those features interest you - Neat may still be the product to buy. But if you choose to use either of those features, do not run any version higher than 4.0. If you do not have the 4.0 software to install, I would not purchase this product at this time.

Unfortunately, to add insult to injury, the Neat support team has taken an interesting position of describing the problems as "normal operation of the software" (their words not mine). If you consider crashing to the point of requiring a "force quit" in OSX to be "normal" after every resume from sleep, then I feel really bad for you and your computing experience. Possibly Neat is just too proud to admit the issues publicly and is really working behind the scenes to fix the bugs - hopefully.

Below is an actual ticket I had with support. Although embarrassing that I became as angry with them as I did, I am posting it in the complete form in an attempt to shame Neat into fixing their issues. This is the entire ticket I had with Neat support - I have only modified the order (original thread was most recent to oldest), omitted last names for privacy, and I removed boiler plate superfluous text:

Discussion Thread
---------------------------------------------------------------
Customer By Web Form (Josh XXXXX) - 04/26/2013 02:44 PM
Neat software crashes after every sleep/resume cycle. It is new in version 4.01 - prior version did not have the issue.

sometimes I receive "Failed to open a session on the device" - other times I get a complicated error message basically indicating some sort of communications failure.

But every time after a resume, the Neat application is hung and non-responsive. I have to use "Force Quit" to stop it and re-open.

I have tried re-installing. But I have not tried deleting the application and re-installing.
[---001:004424:46117---]

On Apr 26, 2013, at 3:01 PM, "Neat Company Support" <support@neat.com> wrote:
Response Via Email(Shawn XXXXX) - 04/26/2013 03:01 PM
Hello,

Please follow the steps provided below to resolve your issue.
Click Neat -> Quit Neat in the top left corner of your software.
Select Finder and then GO in the menu at the top of the screen. Select "Go to Folder" from the dropdown and type the following:
~/Library/Preferences
Delete all the files starting with com.neatco or com.neatreceipts in this directory.
Launch Neat and sign in with your email and password.

You should be all set.
Let me know how this works for you.
Thank you for contacting us.

-Neat Technical Support
Thanks for contacting The Neat Company.

Customer By Email (Josh XXXXX) - 04/29/2013 11:26 AM
I performed the operations requested below last Friday. The error messages are no longer happening. But the Neat app did crash first thing this morning after waking the MBP from sleep and connecting it to a scanner.

Interestingly, I am able to scan to the app when it is "crashed". It appears as if just the UI is non-responsive - but the app isn't totally hung. Once again, I had to force quit and start the Neat app again.

On Apr 29, 2013, at 12:35 PM, "Neat Company Support" <support@neat.com> wrote:
Response Via Email(Shawn XXXXX) - 04/29/2013 12:35 PM
Dear Customer,

This may just be an issue with the way the Mac resumes from sleep and the way the program responds to that process. The best solution to this would be just to exit the program if you intend to place the computer in sleep mode.

Let me know if you continue to have any other issues or error messages.

Thank You,
Shawn@Neat Technical Support

Customer By Email (Josh XXXXX) - 04/29/2013 05:25 PM
Are you joking? Pardon me, but none of my other applications require me to open and close them dozens of times a day.

First of all, I already told you this is a new bug in your product - older versions did not have this issue and I have been a user for years. One would think the Neat development team is interested in fixing their bugs (but maybe not based on your response).

Second, you are asking me, the consumer, to go out of my way every time I open and close my laptop to workaround your application problems? I can tell you right now I'll light my "Neat" scanner on fire before I succumb to this so called plan - that will be "real neat" (and yes, pun intended).

I still have a few questions:
When did it become okay for Neat support to dropkick a ticket without resolving it?
How do I escalate this issue to someone who cares, because clearly you don't?

On Apr 29, 2013, at 5:58 PM, "Neat Company Support" <support@neat.com> wrote:
Response Via Email(Shawn XXXXX) - 04/29/2013 05:58 PM
Dear Customer,

Unfortunately our software works with what is known as a "Live Database." This style of programming does not respond well to constant sleep and resume scenarios of any kind.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing you, but the issue is with the program going from sleep mode to resume on and off. My solution was not an attempt to blow you off, it is just the only solution we can offer you for this particular issue.

If you would like, you can contact us directly with any further questions you may have.

Our number is 1 (866) 632-8732, option 3. We are available from Monday thru Friday, between 9:00am and 7:00pm EST.

Thank You Again,

Shawn@Neat Technical Support

Customer By Email (Josh XXXXX) - 04/29/2013 06:40 PM
doesn't explain why this used to work. Please escalate this ticket.

Response Via Email(William XXXXX) - 05/01/2013 12:49 PM
Hello Sir,

I do apologize however shawn was quite correct. Programs running live databases don't work well with the sleep\hibernate functions of Pc's
I apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing you, but that is the normal operation of the software

Neat Technical Support

Customer By Email (Josh XXXXX) - 05/03/2013 11:57 PM
I can't honestly believe that we are having a dialog about the Neat application crashing constantly and you think there is ANY logical reasoning that would make this behavior "acceptable" or "tolerable" to a user. This doesn't bode well for Neat's future as a company - I am not sure what to even say after that. Obviously none of my other "live database" applications crash after every sleep/resume cycle. There is a new bug in 4.01 related to sleep/resume - that is an undeniable fact and I prove it below:

I am attempting my own troubleshooting since I can't get support assistance. First I uninstalled 4.01, and deleted my database. Then I reinstalled 4.01and re-downloaded my database from the Cloud (trying to uncover any local database corruption issues). The clean 4.01 install still crashed every time I sleep/resumed. Then I uninstalled Neat 4.01 and installed version 4.00 (leaving the clean database version I downloaded via 4.01 as the default). I have not had a single crash on version 4.00 since the downgrade and I am using the same database as the 4.01 install did (which was crashing constantly). Since the only factor that changed from test to test was 4.01 downgraded to 4.0 and the problem went away, the code in 4.01 must have the bug as it relates to my Neat data / Mac OS setup somehow.

Maybe when Neat releases the next upgrade I'll give it a try and see if it is buggy like 4.01. Frankly I don't have high hopes for the next release though, since the Neat support organization seems bent on telling customers that the application is supposed to be broken.

Then again, Maybe I'll just post this entire dialog on Amazon reviews of Neat for Mac - just to do what I can to make sure no other customer gets this treatment.

Sincerely mystified - I am tagging out,
-Josh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, February 23, 2010
By 
Jacob Fleck (Denver, Co United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
Get ready to become frustrated if you purchase this product. Either the application does not open or the Open Quick Copy Center does not open in either case its very inconsistent. It also asks to place the document in when it's already in. The real problem is that you can no longer call and talk to an actual person. If you have a problem you will be at the mercy that someone will reply to your e-mail, which in my case they have not. However, the five times that I did talk to somebody their solution was always the same and that was to go into the control panel under Add/Remove programs and select repair program. I find I have to do this every time I want to scan something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Software/Scanner is junk.. wished I did my research first, January 23, 2014
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
I was so excited to finally get something to scan my receipts and documents so I could go as paperless as possible in my office. The problem? Everything worked OK for a few weeks and had to make some adjustments. It was time-consuming to figure it all out. Then, I just had so many problems with the scanner. I keep getting scanner failures where my receipts won't scan and software just says "scanner failure". So I contact technical support and try about 5 things and get it working again only to have the failure happen over and over and over. This thing is supposed to save my time and there's nothing more frustrating than wanting to scan things and not being able to get it to work right! I wish I never bought this thing and had researched other brands. I would NEVER buy anything from Neatworks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Corrupt Database, January 2, 2014
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
Should you find that your database gets corrupted, good luck ever getting it back. Neat's support is terrible. The times I got "help," it was a simple iteration of what the basic help says online, on their site. It also takes some time for them to get back with you, all the while, in my case, my business is getting backlogged. In any case, my database was corrupted and I could not open the Neat software. I had to uninstall every trace of it (not their uninstaller) using REVO uninstaller (removing all traces from the directory) before I could install it again. I then restored an older backup. I began to backup every day. Today, it flopped again on me and I have to rinse and repeat. I will no longer be using NEAT. You are better off to scan you files manually and file them normally. Neat is well-meaning but TERRIBLE product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS SCANNER, October 31, 2013
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
I recently purchased a Neatdesk scanner and have had nothing but problems with it. Specifically, the scanner is only scanning the left 2/3 of my documents. There is absolutely no telephone customer service whatsoever and I have sent four emails to their supposed 'tech support', only to have them reply with automated suggestions that had nothing to do with my problem (or that even acknowledged that my emails were even read by an actual person). I have also asked them in my past 3 emails to honor their warranty and give me a properly working scanner - which they have ignored in their generic replies to me. As of now, I have had to dispute this charge with my credit card company and am awaiting a response. In the meantime, I wanted to give all of you advance warning not to do business with this company. They are terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor support response and short life-span, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Personal Computers)
I love the idea of being able to easily scan + organize all of my receipts.

However, scanner is slow and it takes ages to process items once you scan them. Then, if you need to adjust anything, it takes that much longer to process.

So, we ended up only using it about 5 times in the little over a year that we had it and then it suddenly stopped working. When we would scan suddenly there would be a big black mark over whatever we scanned.

Neat Desk support is pretty weak unless you want to pay for it. At a price point of almost $400, you really shouldn't have these kinds of issues nor have to pay extra for support. Customer service is paramount for me in my business and I expect the same from those I do business with. I opened a ticket and they gave a response to 'solve the problem,' but it actually made it worse. When I responded with the details and an example of the problem to the email I received, no one responded.

I'm incredibly disappointed with the product and the service as a whole. I don't have time to sit and figure out why something isn't working when there is no reason it shouldn't be ... I bought this product for convenience and to ultimately save time and it's been the opposite - definitely takes too much time to use to end up being convenient, much less all the time I had my assistant put into trying to communicate with tech support to fix it. What a waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9127 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.