Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Us Do Evil That Good May Come'
The above motto of the Taskforce team led by Pike Logan and his (almost) equally dangerous sidekick Jennifer Cahill, is alive and well in this rousing story by Brad Taylor.

Muslim terrorists are out to eventually create havoc in the USA, and the President calls on citizen Pike to sort things out...and let the roller coaster thrill ride begin! The action is non...
Published on January 19, 2012 by rck12

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good procedural, weak characters and story
I don't like the literary construct of several separate threads that seem to be unrelated eventually weave together. It took more than 100 pages for 4 separate plot lines to begin to converge.

Most of the characters' motivation are, at best, shallow. Hale Jr. 30-year vendetta to avenge his father's death is still so strong that he's willing to put his vendetta...
Published 18 months ago by Mehetabelle


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Us Do Evil That Good May Come', January 19, 2012
By 
rck12 (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
The above motto of the Taskforce team led by Pike Logan and his (almost) equally dangerous sidekick Jennifer Cahill, is alive and well in this rousing story by Brad Taylor.

Muslim terrorists are out to eventually create havoc in the USA, and the President calls on citizen Pike to sort things out...and let the roller coaster thrill ride begin! The action is non stop, exciting, and suspenseful, with several twisting (but easy to follow) sub plots. Anxious page turning is the rule in 'All Necessary Force' (aptly named indeed), and it is a one sitting book, if you are so inclined.

A fun read that is totally realistic (no leaps of faith required here), and a wonderful treat versus the norm for this genre. A solid 5 star outing, however be patient through the first few chapters which jump around, as the author builds his story. There is a solid ending that left me completely satisfied, and I was very please that the author did not fill the 380 pages, with the usual fluff and overextended fights or chase scenes.

I apologize to the author for my previous review of his first book "One Rough Man", for leaving the massacre of Pike's family unanswered. The reason is well understood in this second Pike book...a real character builder for our hero. BTW, you do not have to read the books in order to enjoy ANF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved the two protagonists, February 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
I found the reluctant but extremely talentedfemale operator taken under pikes wing engrossing and made for the best dam read i have had since flynn,s last novel. Brilliantand vivid action from page one. No regrets purchasing this if your a fan of the genre. Cant wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. Was a very entertaining book and I thought the author's writing style showed good improvement from his first book (which I also really liked). I'm already looking forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to the Pike Logan Series, January 24, 2012
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
I had the priveledge of reading an advanced copy of this excellent new novel. "One Rough Man", the first book in the series, was action-packed and hard to put down. However, "All Necessary Force" has introduced powerful new elements to the Pike Logan series. The result: Brad Taylor has, without a doubt, found his voice as an author.

The first new element to the series is an inward, almost existential look into the country's counterterrorism apparatus. The Task Force, although a fictional organization, confronts the real-world issues of the War on Terror. How do we categorize and combat home grown extremists? What is the potential for another 9/11 type attack and will we see it coming? Is the military a viable tool if Federal and local law enforcement are unable and/or unprepared to stop a pending attack? Brad Taylor is not afraid to ask the tough questions. Through his characters, the author explores all sides of these issues. This new subplot adds depth to the action and violence of the novel.

Just as Brad Taylor came into his own in writing this novel, the character, Jennifer, finds herself during the course of "All Necessary Force". Now an unnofficial part of the Task Force, Jennifer struggles and overcomes again and again to confront life as an operator. Brad Taylor, having been one himself for many years, conveys this violent coming of age with brutal realism.

Finally, the character of Pike Logan draws in the reader more than ever before. Pike has evolved from the unrestricted avenger of "One Rough Man". In "All Necessary Force", Pike has become an even greater asset to the Task Force. He is now smooth and controlled, once again the mature operator from the beginning of the series, before the death of his loved ones. However, when needed or provoked, Pike becomes rage and violence on a whole new level, eagerly killing any enemy in his path.

For those who enjoyed the action and can't-put-it-down quality of the first novel, "All Necessary Force" does not dissapoint. This novel contains all of the raids, espionage, and political intrigue of "One Rough Man". However, Brad Taylor has raised the Pike Logan series to another level in the quality of storytelling and character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Necessary Force, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must read for Patriots. I will be watching for all future books from Brad taylor. I am so pleased to have found this "Real American".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big surprise, June 25, 2012
By 
George Beinhorn (Mountain View, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
I picked up this book after reading Eric Haney's wonderful "Inside Delta Force." I was a bit skeptical. Too many thrillers lard the pages with more techno-politico-information than we really asked for, to the extent that it gets in the way of what we really want to read about: real characters and exciting action.

Pause for breath here. Golly, Brad Taylor appears to have gone about becoming a writer in the way Eric Haney described the process of becoming a Delta operator - learning to become highly skilled before plying his trade. Before I'd read 5 pages I was hooked deep, knew I was in the hands of a professional. No wearisome blathering about geopolitics. No delaying the action by painstakingly (and painfully) laying out the background. Just excellent writing from the get-go, with a wonderful story and great characters.

Taylor avoids all the fatal mistakes of novice writers. He doesn't fall in love with his characters and start forcing trivia about them down our throats. He doesn't stop the action. He knows that Job #1 is making his characters likeable. And best of all, he doesn't lure us along for 300 pages and then get lazy and give us a fizzling and/or unbelievable ending. As thrillers go, these books are giants. Thanks, Mr. Taylor, for many hours of beautiful storytelling enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an absolutely awesome thriller! I am truly impressed with Brad Taylor's ability to keep the reader engaged with the story. "One Rough Man" was a fantastic book, written only the way a Delta Commando could write, but this one was even better. The author really knows how to lay out a story and provide the detail and character development to give the reader a great insight to what's going on. He writes like a seasoned novelist and both of these books are right up there with veterans of the genre. The plot was also very unique and creative and I was hooked from the very beginning. I only hope Brad Taylor continues to thrill us with his writing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a fabulous book, February 26, 2012
By 
LindaT (Columbus Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
I read this book before reading his first one....One Rough Man...but you can read them in any order and not be disappointed...my ONLY complaint is that Mr Taylor,no relation,has not written any other books in this series....Pike Logan is a wonderful character...like Mitch Rapp but older . the action is great and the situations are plausible....EXCELLENT...Brad...get busy honey and write MORE MORE MORE.......and soon.....and keep the team together please .... the concept works...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you're ready to read ALL NECESSARY FORCE, you better sit in a mile-long chair, February 8, 2012
By 
Bookreporter (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) (Hardcover)
Brad Taylor acquired a legion of fans seemingly instantaneously with ONE ROUGH MAN, his first novel. It introduced Pike Logan, a retired Delta Force commander who had been recruited to work with the Taskforce, a black-op, off-the-books military unit authorized to work outside of the law in the course of defending the United States from its enemies. ALL NECESSARY FORCE is, if anything, even more exciting than his debut, offering the return of Logan and the Taskforce, and upping the stakes of their mission to even greater heights.

A word here. When you're ready to read ALL NECESSARY FORCE, you better sit in a mile-long chair, as you'll otherwise quickly find yourself on the end of it. The first few pages alone, detailing an up-close-and-personal doomed mission in the war-torn Cambodia of 1970, should come with a Surgeon General's warning if you have a weak heart. Things don't slow down as Taylor gets to the present times. There is an indication that a major terrorist event is in the works, but that is as far as the traditional (read: legal) sources of intelligence are able to track.

The Taskforce is brought in to gather all of the intelligence it can, locate the potential doers, and shut their mission and them down. It is nothing if not a group of world-beaters, and it follows the intelligence trail and the terrorists, from Asia to Alexandria (Egypt, not Virginia) with danger every step of the way. Logan and Jennifer Cahill, Logan's partner and budding love interest, quickly find that things become more complicated and dangerous for them. They discover that what appeared to be a single mission is actually two, being carried out by two competing terrorist organizations. The aim is to launch a weapon of unspeakable power at the heartland of the United States from within that will render the country helpless at almost every level. Yet, if it reaches the United States, Logan and Cahill face another problem: the U.S. is the one country where the Taskforce is forbidden by mandate to operate. They are in a constant race against time and terror throughout the book, one in which the fate of the nation --- not to mention their own lives --- is at stake.

Taylor holds a Master of Science degree in Defense Analysis and, when not writing bestselling novels, serves as a security consultant regarding asymmetric threats to a number of different agencies. To put it another way, he is not making up the threats set forth here as he goes along. His narrative gives the reader an over-the-shoulder look at the deadly work that is done by the nation's protectors, the rough men Orwell spoke of who stand ready in the night to do violence to those who would harm us. Truth be told, Taylor is one of those himself, a retired Special Forces lieutenant colonel who knows of what he speaks.

So it is that, while it has its occasional moments of humor, ALL NECESSARY FORCE is also infused with the gravitas of one who has an intimate acquaintance with the fog of war, whether on a battlefield or in a back alley. This book is for real, written with a knowledge of how the world works.

Reviewed by Joe Hartlaub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good procedural, weak characters and story, February 17, 2013
By 
Mehetabelle "mehetabelle" (Silicon Valley United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I don't like the literary construct of several separate threads that seem to be unrelated eventually weave together. It took more than 100 pages for 4 separate plot lines to begin to converge.

Most of the characters' motivation are, at best, shallow. Hale Jr. 30-year vendetta to avenge his father's death is still so strong that he's willing to put his vendetta before national security and let the president of the US know this. Jennifer, supposedly such a smart woman, wanted to run through a hail of bullets to save a child, cannot accept it that Pike would kill someone in cold blood (didn't he do this with her in a previous novel?) then forces the team to completely change its plans to save several sex slaves. How convenient that by sheer coincidence, one of those slaves has valuable information for the team. The Jennifer character is patronizing to women (ruled by their emotions), not sympathetic.

The author is clearly an insider on special forces procedures but he must improve his plot lines and character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller)
All Necessary Force (Pike Logan Thriller) by Brad Taylor (Hardcover - January 17, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.