Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny show ahead of its time finally on DVD!
Ned (Haden Church) is a cynical, self-absorbed advertising agency executive. Stacey (Messing) is an idealist who writes for The Village Voice. They are set-up on a blind date by their friends and its love and hate at first sight. He's superficial and she's all about substance. She's a left-winger and he's a self-proclaimed "no winger." Sounds like the perfect couple,...
Published on September 22, 2005 by Cubist

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No disk 1, two disk 2's
Very disappointed that this set included TWO disk number 2 but no disk number one, which had the pilot.
Anybody get two number one disks? Not as funny as I remembered so won't re-order.
Published 15 months ago by Boomatt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny show ahead of its time finally on DVD!, September 22, 2005
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Ned (Haden Church) is a cynical, self-absorbed advertising agency executive. Stacey (Messing) is an idealist who writes for The Village Voice. They are set-up on a blind date by their friends and its love and hate at first sight. He's superficial and she's all about substance. She's a left-winger and he's a self-proclaimed "no winger." Sounds like the perfect couple, right? Ned and Stacey was a short-lived sitcom that developed a small, buy loyal following. They have now been rewarded as Sony has released the first season of the show on DVD.

It's amazing that this show was even aired let alone lasting as long as it did - two seasons in total. The premise alone must've been problematic for the network: two self-absorbed people getting married for all the wrong reasons. Like the characters in Seinfeld (which is also set in New York City), the characters in Ned and Stacey don't particularly care if the audience likes them and that's what gives the show its edge. For example, in one episode we see the cutthroat world of corporate America first hand as Ned gleefully rubs it in a rival's face that he got married to get his cushy promotion over him. There is a sarcastic attitude that is prevalent throughout the show and a welcome alternative to the shiny, happy people of most other sitcoms. Ned and Stacey would go on to become even more surreal as one of the main cast would be killed off in an episode only to come back in the next one.

With these kinds of things going on, it's not surprising that people like Alan Ball (American Beauty, Six Feet Under) and Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) would eventually write for the show before it was prematurely cancelled during its second season. Ned and Stacey may have been a classic, opposites attract story wrapped in a sardonic package but it was too acerbic a show for mainstream audiences. Fortunately, this DVD has been released so that its fans can enjoy what was produced during its brief stint.

There is a retrospective featurette entitled, "Strings Attached: Ned and Stacey, Season One." Thomas Haden Church, Debra Messing, Greg Germann and Nadia Dajani are back for brand new interviews as they reminisce about their experiences working on the show.

There is also an audio commentary on the "Pilot" episode by series creator Weithorn. He ends up fleshing out some of the comments he made in the featurette (i.e. casting Haden Church and Messing) with some decent anecdotal information on this low-key track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waaayyy better than Will and Grace..., October 7, 2005
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
If you like Will and Grace, then you are sure to enjoy this sitcom that played for two seasons in the mid-90s. My roommate and I were obsessed with this show during college. I was actually very surprised and excited to see it come out on DVD considering it was never hugely popular. That's one of the sad things about television today...the truly good shows like Ned and Stacey are overlooked while drivel like Life According to Jim last multiple seasons.

The premise of Ned and Stacey is simple. Ned marries Stacey to get a job promotion, and Stacey marries Ned so she can have a place to live and move out of her parent's house. The catch is they barely know each other, and what they do know of each other, they don't particularly care for. They are both allowed to date other people as long as they are discreet and don't let certain people know about the 'arranged' marriage...namely Ned's co-waorkers and Stacey's parents(who incidentally adore Ned and Ned them which leads to a very humorous episode). Stacey's sister and brother-in-law(Ned's best friend and co-worker) know of the arrangement and make some humorous sidekicks for Ned and Stacey.

What truly makes this show great is the chemistry between Debra Messing and Thomas Haden Church who play Stacey and Ned, respectively. They just play off each other beautifully. Granted, they argue most of the time which leads to many humorous moments, but they do get along in their own way...sometimes. This show is not about a couple who hate each other...as Ned and Stacey definitely don't hate each other. It's more about personality-clash in close living-quarters. Ned is a neat though sometimes morally-ambigious character while Stacey is a slob who likes to think of herself as morally-superior...Ned often throws this in her face mocking how such a moral person could ever get involved in a 'fake' marriage.

Anywho, this was definitely my favorite sitcom of the 90s. I was highly disappointed when it was cancelled am ecstatic to see it out on DVD. I can't wait until the second season and last season comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!! A dream that's finally come true!!, February 20, 2006
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
N&S was one of my absolute favorite sitcoms of the 90's. Seriously. I really, really loved it. So did the critics, if I recall....but unfortunately, not enough viewers shared the same enthusiasm, and it only lasted two seasons. I can't believe it was virtually unknown, even in it's day. It had edginess I believe could be compared to Seinfeld (maybe even better). It's characters had dynamics (and jokes) that I believe could BEAT "Will & Grace". All the characters had something to contribute to the show. My favorite was Ned. I adored him. Thomas Haden Church wore his role's attitude like a fine, Italian suit. His impeccable, RAZOR SHARP wit...dispensing wisecracking, poison-tipped sarcasm with deadly accuracy (trust me, it's a lot funnier than it sounds!!)

Well, maybe not ALL the characters contributed to the show...For those who have seen the show: Do you remember around the beginning of the show, Amanda and Greg actually had a kid?? He was a little bratty-like kid with coke-bottle glasses, he didn't really do anything for the show....then several episodes later, he just disappeared without even a mention of what happened??

Anyways, when I saw what I (much later) found out was the last episode, I was real sore. All I can say is: if you have a TV show to pitch, and FOX gives you an offer, run don't walk. It's the kiss of death!! They will mangle the show beyond recognition, they'll under-advertise (then blame you for the low ratings), they'll endlessly move your show across the programming schedule like a chess piece, they'll push you aside to give attention to a crappier show just because it has a "big" name. It's unfortunate, tragic that N&S was a casualty of such treatment.

Sorry for the rant....heh...anyways, for those who are unfamiliar with this show: This show is bursting at the seams with intellegent jokes/characters and saucy wit. If you enjoy Will & Grace, I'm pretty certain you too will fall in love with Ned & Stacey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide, September 6, 2005
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
The first season aired from September 1995 - April 1996. The first 24 episodes are as follows:

#1 "Ned and Stacey"

A marriage of convienience results when a reporter, wanting to flee the confinements of her parents home, meets an advertising agent with a two bedroom apartment.

#2 "Portrait of a Marriage"

Ned and Stacey host their first party and discover that their fake marriage outshines most of the dysfunctional ones of their guests.

#3 "Take My Wife, Please"

Ned encourages Stacey to pursue an Englishmen she meets in a bar.

#4 "Cover Story"

Stacey wants to do an expose on one of Ned's environmental unfriendly clients.

#5 "Model Husband"

Eric thinks he's being a model husband when he admits to Amanda that he's spending the night with the beautiful (and drunk) supermodel spokesperson Ned has hired for a new ad campaign.

#6 "Saul and Ellen and Ned and Stacey"

Stacey's parents choose the worst time for a visit - when both Ned and Stacey each have a date over.

#7 "Here's to You, Mrs. Binder"

Ned develops a romance with one of Stacey's childhood friends (Joanna Cassidy).

#8 "Halloween Story"

Ned and Stacey share a kiss at a Halloween party and find they liked it.

#9 "Reality Check"

Stacey is in debt and takes a job as a waitress. Olivia Newton-John guest stars.

#10 "Thanksgiving Day Massacre"

Stacey is depressed at Thanksgiving when she realises that she doesn't have a "real" husband.

#11 "Sleepless in Manhattan"

Stacey wants a new bed and gets Ned to go shopping with her for one.

#12 "Threesome"

Stacey begins dating Ned's friend Sam - jealousy ensues.

#13 "Accountus Interruptus"

Ned fears he'll lose an important account unless he gives in to a client who's trying to seduce him. Kathy Griffin guest stars.

#14 "New Year's Eve"

Ned throws a New Year's Eve party for his co-workers but Stacey decides not to attend.

#15 "Paranoia on the 47th Floor"

Ned thinks that he is about to be fired when his agency hires a young whipper-snapper and sends Ned on vacation.

#16 "A Tender Trap"

Ned's talents seem to outshine Stacey, who has applied for a journalist job with a major publishing firm.

#17 "Promotional Rescue"

Eric is up for a promotion and Amanda asks Ned to put in a good word for him.

#18 "Friends and Lovers"

Stacey asks Ned to play the perfect husband when her high school rival comes for a visit.

#19 "The Gay Caballeros"

A gay client of Ned's accidentally discovers that the couple has separate bedrooms and becomes convinced that Ned is not out of the closet.

#20 "Gut Feeling"

Ned becomes a chicken when he goes into the hospital for gallbladder surgery.

#21 "Pals"

Ned introduces Amanda to TV star Bobby Van Lowe, who's looking to buy property in New York; but after the meeting, Bobby has a different kind of move on his mind.

#22 "It Happened One Night"

Stacey moves out and goes back to her parents home.

#23 "You Bet Your Wife"

Ned gets into trouble during a poker game and bets a night with Stacey to cover his bets.

#24 "The End?"

Stacey bets Ned fifty dollars that she can find a better woman for him than he can find a better man for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, October 23, 2005
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I will agree with another reviewer and say that this show is/was way ahead of its time. There are only a few shows I remember that really did it for me and this is definitely one of them. The hilariously stoic facial expressions of Thomas Haden Church and the interactions between him and Rico are incredibly funny. Its the nonchalant humor that made this show one of the best. Debra Messing as Stacey ... its Grace before Grace existed! Nadja Dajani as Amanda taps into the parts of us that may think something, but don't necessarily say it aloud. She does! All the cast of the show, the writing, the situations...combine to make one great comedy. I wish it lasted longer...but again, it was way ahead of its time. People didn't appreciate this kind of humor before. Buy IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant......, June 25, 2006
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I could spend hours trying to explain how I loved this sitcom. All I can honestly tell is that TV is just a boring pit, from my very particular point of view, that way I can understand why this sitcom never gained any good rating. It seems clear that brilliant, creative and good dark humor didn't mean anything in the nineties, not even now. Hayden and Messing were so perfect, the dialogues, the performance, the situations !!!....

(No offense but Will and Grace is so cheap and mundane compared to N&S !!! ..... N&S beats that show even in the gay jokes !!! ....but that's only my opinion)

I wish the whole two seasons were available...........it would be worth all the way..........

Serve Yourself !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ned and Stacey is a great show. Very Funny!, November 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Ned and Stacey is another example of how network execs have no clue of what people want to watch. This was a very clever, funny sitcom that had the plug pulled after just two seasons. Could have had a long run if it had been given a chance. I know Thomas Hayden Church personally and he has expressed his disappointment that this show ended prematurely. He said he preferred it over Wings by a large margin. I do to. It is still funny today, just as it was several years ago when it first aired. Some sitcoms don't age well, but this one holds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah, I'm mad, March 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Oh yeah, I'm mad.... mad that the series was cancelled and mad that so far... only season one is on DVD. This show was either underrated or underappreciated(probably both). The point is... even on a gloomy day, I can watch an episode and catch myself smiling like a idiot during it. Please give it a try if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series and when is season 2 going to be released?, May 5, 2007
By 
R. Wiatt "Book lover" (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
N&S was a great series-acerbic wit and humerous real-life family relationships were reflected throughout the series.

Debra Messing and T. Church were spectacular together. It was a shame the series was cancelled so soon.

Does anyone know when season 2 will be released?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny. Where's the next season?, July 10, 2007
By 
R.K.M. "RKM" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I loved this series when it was on tv and was very pleased when I watched this DVD set to learn that it is still funny. There aren't really any extra features to the DVDs, which is fine, but considering that the season ends with a cliffhanger, I really wish they'd put out Season Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season
Ned and Stacey - The Complete First Season by Rob Schiller (DVD - 2005)
$19.94 $5.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.