Customer Reviews


410 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFS: Most Wanted, Reborn as Burnout Paradise 2
The premise behind NFS: Most Wanted is this: In Fairhaven City, there are 10 drivers who are the "Most Wanted". Take them down, you get their car. The goal: Become the most wanted driver in Fairhaven City.

Ok, so the story's lame, but you didn't have one at all in Burnout Paradise either. That's not really important to racing fans, as one look at NFS: The...
Published 23 months ago by J. Cummings

versus
35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinda dissapointing
This need for speed is not like the previous most wanted. No visual car customization, no buying cars, and especially, no story line whatsoever. And no hood view for the cars. I dont know if this is just me or any one else but i hate bumper and 3rd person view and thats all there is. I loved the hood view from the previous most wanted. Is it that hard to put it into a...
Published 22 months ago by A Reliable Person


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinda dissapointing, November 9, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This need for speed is not like the previous most wanted. No visual car customization, no buying cars, and especially, no story line whatsoever. And no hood view for the cars. I dont know if this is just me or any one else but i hate bumper and 3rd person view and thats all there is. I loved the hood view from the previous most wanted. Is it that hard to put it into a game?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFS: Most Wanted, Reborn as Burnout Paradise 2, October 30, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The premise behind NFS: Most Wanted is this: In Fairhaven City, there are 10 drivers who are the "Most Wanted". Take them down, you get their car. The goal: Become the most wanted driver in Fairhaven City.

Ok, so the story's lame, but you didn't have one at all in Burnout Paradise either. That's not really important to racing fans, as one look at NFS: The Run's reviews will tell you. What DOES matter are the cars, how do they control, modes available, upgrading possibilities, and multiplayer. Again, this is a review in process, so I can address all of these outside of multiplayer at this time.

- It's really hard to pin down the driving controls in this game at this early stage. We're not talking Gran Turismo level of difficulty, but it's also not as easy as the original Burnout Paradise, or even Blur. Think the controls in Ridge Racer Unbounded, but MUCH less touchy, and you're getting in the right ballpark. My best guess: If you're familiar and have played the NFS series, you'll be at home here.
- As for the cars, no more going through ranks 1-20 to unlock. Every car in the game is available at the start. Now the danger of this, of course, is that you'll find one you fall in love with and really have no need/desire to find all the rest (Why would you bother with the Delta Lancia when you can drive/upgrade a Porsche, for example)? All you have to do is look for the cars with an badge above them, choose the car and it's yours to drive. It's definitely a step in the right direction away from what a "typical" racing game would force you to do (aKa Gran Turismo, forcing you to grind for money to buy them).
- As far as single player is concerned, I am a little worried that the modes are a little on the bare side. The various events in Burnout Paradise were diversified and had cars to match them. In NFS: Most Wanted, it's pretty much limited to races, evading the cops and maintaining a certain speed through the course. In short, it's got the potential to get old in a hurry. However, you'll probably be too busy seeing if you're beating your friends, smashing billboards and the like to be worrying about that.
- Each car gives you the ability to upgrade various functions, such as tires, transmission, boost, etc. This is done by earning Speed Points, which you pretty much earn doing anything in the game. Now of course, for the completionists (like me), it will be fun going through and upgrading every car fully, giving an vast array of options for attacking different races (example: lightweight chassis give you more speed and are better for fast races, but suck when trying to go against the cops. Off road tires help you on those races, but you lose grip on pavement, etc). It'll be fun seeing online who gets the perfect combinations to set the best times.

And for now, that's it. As I get experience in Multiplayer, I will update my review, but it definitely seems to be at least as good as Burnout Paradise's, which is a testimony as to why there is still a good online community existing in that game 3 years after release.

Bottom line: NFS:MW takes it place alongside the other racers on the PS3 (GT5, Burnout Paradise and NFS:HP) as the best you can buy. There is an incredible amount of depth and layers in this game to unwrap and discover. Criterion, you did it again!

**UPDATE #1 31 October 2012**
Multiplayer is definitely as diverse as in Burnout Paradise if not moreso, given that many of the cars (including the ones you receive from pre-ordering) are only able to be used in Multiplayer. Players who invest the time in the various races/race layouts with the proper cars/mods will have a definitive, FAIR advantage over those who do not, but given the chaos that is traffic in this game, there's a chance a person ending up in last can still make up ground for a good finish. Outside of the racing events, there are also ones that involve getting away from the cops (wreck your friend=them getting busted and disowning you) as well as who can drift the most, get the most air, break the most billboards, etc. in a certain time frame. While the single player, for those who dump a ton of time into it and find their favorite cars, probably has a short life span, when you start talking about multiplayer, and get a few friends who have this game, and the replay value goes through the roof as you try to "top" your friends to be the "Most Wanted".

If anything, multiplayer has reinforced my opinion that this quite simply is one of the best racers on the PS3, the best one released in 2012, and deserves your purchase.

***Update #2 10/31/2012

I'm seeing some questions about how this compares to NFS:Hot Pursuit. Keep in mind, Criterion's goal was to make this game a "spiritial" successor to Burnout Paradise (released in 2009). In terms of gameplay, NFS:HP and NFS:MW are different in terms of modes as well as scope (open world, explore at your leisure vs. rigid routes), but similiar in that you can wreck the cops when you are being pursued. The cops will use spike strips and roadblocks, no EMP or helicopters that I've seen. Your cars do have "mods" which can offset the roadblocks and spike strips (much like you had in HP for the racer). Online is much deeper IMHO vs. Hot Pursuit, even when you consider the DLC that EA/Criterion have released over the life of NFS:HP.

My verdict is NFS:MW will ultimately be much deeper and have more replay value then NFS:HP. But both are OUTSTANDING games in their own aspects.

Also, in another simularity to NFS:HP, NFS:MW will allow you to utilize your own soundtrack that you have on your PS3. I think you'll definitely want this as there's nothing memorable about the soundtrack I've heard so far from the game, and some of them are downright annoying. Why ALL racing games don't have this as an option I have no idea. It definitely enhances the enjoyment of the title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed. Quite a departure from the original., November 7, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is really fun if you like CONSTANT crash cutscenes. Every time you bump a car, guard rail, or pole, you will have to watch a 10 second scene of your car crashing. Often times, you will come out of one of the crash scenes to find that the game has placed you directly behind another vehicle which causes you to crash yet again. This is the most annoying thing about the game and really characterizes the game for me.

For fans of the original Most Wanted, this game is disappointing. The game has a similar premise, but they have removed the storyline, customization, manual transmission, exciting pursuits, and the ability to plow through roadblocks. The graphics of the game are incredible, but the gameplay is lacking. The cars do not handle well at all. Unlike the original, hitting roadblocks now causes, you guessed it, a crash scene that stops your car in its tracks. Lastly, the game is very easy. I was the #1 Most Wanted racer before I had taken down Most Wanted #6-10. I got enough points to be first simply by tricking out a few cars; speaking of which, all of the cars are available from the start and races unlock performance upgrades. The Most Wanted races are very easy; in fact, they are easier than the races required to unlock car upgrades.

Multiplayer is no fun whatsoever; I give multiplayer a 1 out of 5 rating. You are placed in the open world with other racers. The game will randomly select events and races for you. Some of the events it chooses make little sense and are very repetitive.

Overall, this game is fun, but it is also VERY frustrating. I would recommend this game to people, but I want them to know that this game is not the original. The graphics are really the only improvement to the original; the other changes made to the game are a major downgrade.

SUMMARY:

Pros:
Beautiful graphics
Large, open world
Large selection of cars

Cons:
Lack of customization
Crash scenes
Repetitive races (many of the races for each car are exactly the same)
Lackluster pursuits
No penalty for being busted by the cops
Easy and short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed: Burnout, November 29, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I really wanted to enjoy this game - I thought that, since its' predecessor (and supposed inspiration) was so much fun, that this can in no way be a disappointment. Let me start off by saying that this is not NFS, this is not Most Wanted's sequel - this is just Burnout with no story and licensed cars.

There is no semblance of a plot to be had here; the basis of the whole game is to find random cars scattered about the whole map, evade cops and compete in races - doing the latter two nets you points, which contribute to your most wanted score; once you get to a certain point, you race a most wanted car then, "shut it down", or in other words, crash it to obtain the car, after which, you just rinse and repeat until you're number 1. That's it. You do get an intro scene for each race (that you can skip), so that is kind of a plus - but I can't understand why Criterion didn't add some type of plot - it doesn't need to be complicated, just something to add motivation to the game.

One thing that you can't skip however are the crash scenes. The horrible crash scenes. Every single time you crash your car, either from scraping a concrete fence or by going through a police blockade, you will be treated to a 5 second un-skippable replay of your crash. This is only compounded by the sluggish handling in the game - it takes around 3 seconds from the time you use your analog stick, to the time it actually takes for the car to turn! It feels like i'm driving a brick with melted butter for wheels.

The use of car modifications does make the handling more manageable and the crash scenes less frequent, but these design choices are still rather infuriating - and only furthering my frustration with the game is it's horrible "rubber-banding" Slender-man style AI; no matter how far you are ahead of your opponent, he will catch up and outrun you, and if you crash (especially in the beginning of the game), then you're almost guaranteed to lose. With that said, there are some good things about this game.

Namely the aforementioned car mods, and the graphics. The frame-rate is incredibly smooth, the lighting is great and there is absolutely no pop in. I think that's partly due to how empty Fair-haven feels: there are no pedestrians and barely any civilian cars - in fact, I would say that one out every 10 or so cars is highway patrol! There is also a greatly diminished sense of speed, you could be driving 120mph (193km) and feel like it's 40ish - some type of motion blur could help that, but really, that's only a minor gripe.

The soundtrack is pretty good; it has a good mix of rock, grunge, break-beat, dub-step and Drum and Bass. It is a little on the short side though, and it would be cooler if I could pick my own stations, a la GTA and Sleeping Dogs. I would link to a couple songs, but amazon doesn't allow it, so Google it...

Tl;dr

I found this game rather disappointing, the handling, crash scenes, lack of story and empty environment are all serious issues (which can of course be solved with an inevitable sequel), but the graphics, car mods and police chases are all definite pluses.

Graphics: 9.7 - Other than a few less then stellar textures (stop the car and look at the canyons), the graphics are gorgeous.

Sound: 9 - Great soundtrack, but a little on the short side.

Presentation: 5 - No story whatsoever, but it does have a slick look.

Game-play: 5 - The car handling needs to be improved, and the crash scenes are inexcusable.

Replay Value: 6 - Multiplayer, and collectibles extend the game somewhat, but it's still on the short side.

Side note - I actually wrote a better and more cohesive review, but my computer crashed and I lost it! Then I proceeded to get writer's block, so ya; fun stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion kills it again!, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I've always loved the Need for Speed series. But honestly, it's lost it's way during a couple of installments. That is until Criterion stepped in with their entry 'Hot Pursuit'. Now their at the helm again for 'Most Wanted' and it's even better! Beautiful, tough, crazy-ass racing action! They hit it out of the park with the open world gameplay and EVERY car being available from the start. Only having to simply find the cars in the massive world. Such a simple, but clever idea. Thanks EA and Criterion. I very much look forward to your next effort.

p.s.- Please PLEASE support offline multiplayer. The fact that I can't race the person sitting next to me on the couch really irks me. Online isn't the only area for competition y'know. Just sayin....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice game, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
nice graphics, nice driving, i expected less from this game now that i played the demo and i didnt like as much as ps2 version, because i think most wanted ps2 version is the best car game made in need for speed, but this game is something different not better not worst but different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars birthday for my son, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
My 24 yr old is still a big kid cant go wrong on games he aske for this one and Rivals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
speed, extreme, addictive, love this game pure speed and has to drive the best cars, best races ever, recommend the maximum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure adrenaline, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The best game ever for the cars and racing lovers! The best in their category... fun, challenging for all family members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I like most need for speed games. They seem to be going down in quality but they are still fun enough to play when I've completed other games. I would recommend for Need for Speed heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3
Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
$22.87
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.