Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion kills it again!
I've always loved the Need for Speed series. But honestly, it's lost it's way during a couple of installments. That is until Criterion stepped in with their entry 'Hot Pursuit'. Now their at the helm again for 'Most Wanted' and it's even better! Beautiful, tough, crazy-ass racing action! They hit it out of the park with the open world gameplay and EVERY car being...
Published 15 months ago by K. Hayes

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinda dissapointing
This need for speed is not like the previous most wanted. No visual car customization, no buying cars, and especially, no story line whatsoever. And no hood view for the cars. I dont know if this is just me or any one else but i hate bumper and 3rd person view and thats all there is. I loved the hood view from the previous most wanted. Is it that hard to put it into a...
Published 17 months ago by A Reliable Person


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinda dissapointing, November 9, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This need for speed is not like the previous most wanted. No visual car customization, no buying cars, and especially, no story line whatsoever. And no hood view for the cars. I dont know if this is just me or any one else but i hate bumper and 3rd person view and thats all there is. I loved the hood view from the previous most wanted. Is it that hard to put it into a game?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion kills it again!, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I've always loved the Need for Speed series. But honestly, it's lost it's way during a couple of installments. That is until Criterion stepped in with their entry 'Hot Pursuit'. Now their at the helm again for 'Most Wanted' and it's even better! Beautiful, tough, crazy-ass racing action! They hit it out of the park with the open world gameplay and EVERY car being available from the start. Only having to simply find the cars in the massive world. Such a simple, but clever idea. Thanks EA and Criterion. I very much look forward to your next effort.

p.s.- Please PLEASE support offline multiplayer. The fact that I can't race the person sitting next to me on the couch really irks me. Online isn't the only area for competition y'know. Just sayin....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFS: Most Wanted, Reborn as Burnout Paradise 2, October 30, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The premise behind NFS: Most Wanted is this: In Fairhaven City, there are 10 drivers who are the "Most Wanted". Take them down, you get their car. The goal: Become the most wanted driver in Fairhaven City.

Ok, so the story's lame, but you didn't have one at all in Burnout Paradise either. That's not really important to racing fans, as one look at NFS: The Run's reviews will tell you. What DOES matter are the cars, how do they control, modes available, upgrading possibilities, and multiplayer. Again, this is a review in process, so I can address all of these outside of multiplayer at this time.

- It's really hard to pin down the driving controls in this game at this early stage. We're not talking Gran Turismo level of difficulty, but it's also not as easy as the original Burnout Paradise, or even Blur. Think the controls in Ridge Racer Unbounded, but MUCH less touchy, and you're getting in the right ballpark. My best guess: If you're familiar and have played the NFS series, you'll be at home here.
- As for the cars, no more going through ranks 1-20 to unlock. Every car in the game is available at the start. Now the danger of this, of course, is that you'll find one you fall in love with and really have no need/desire to find all the rest (Why would you bother with the Delta Lancia when you can drive/upgrade a Porsche, for example)? All you have to do is look for the cars with an badge above them, choose the car and it's yours to drive. It's definitely a step in the right direction away from what a "typical" racing game would force you to do (aKa Gran Turismo, forcing you to grind for money to buy them).
- As far as single player is concerned, I am a little worried that the modes are a little on the bare side. The various events in Burnout Paradise were diversified and had cars to match them. In NFS: Most Wanted, it's pretty much limited to races, evading the cops and maintaining a certain speed through the course. In short, it's got the potential to get old in a hurry. However, you'll probably be too busy seeing if you're beating your friends, smashing billboards and the like to be worrying about that.
- Each car gives you the ability to upgrade various functions, such as tires, transmission, boost, etc. This is done by earning Speed Points, which you pretty much earn doing anything in the game. Now of course, for the completionists (like me), it will be fun going through and upgrading every car fully, giving an vast array of options for attacking different races (example: lightweight chassis give you more speed and are better for fast races, but suck when trying to go against the cops. Off road tires help you on those races, but you lose grip on pavement, etc). It'll be fun seeing online who gets the perfect combinations to set the best times.

And for now, that's it. As I get experience in Multiplayer, I will update my review, but it definitely seems to be at least as good as Burnout Paradise's, which is a testimony as to why there is still a good online community existing in that game 3 years after release.

Bottom line: NFS:MW takes it place alongside the other racers on the PS3 (GT5, Burnout Paradise and NFS:HP) as the best you can buy. There is an incredible amount of depth and layers in this game to unwrap and discover. Criterion, you did it again!

**UPDATE #1 31 October 2012**
Multiplayer is definitely as diverse as in Burnout Paradise if not moreso, given that many of the cars (including the ones you receive from pre-ordering) are only able to be used in Multiplayer. Players who invest the time in the various races/race layouts with the proper cars/mods will have a definitive, FAIR advantage over those who do not, but given the chaos that is traffic in this game, there's a chance a person ending up in last can still make up ground for a good finish. Outside of the racing events, there are also ones that involve getting away from the cops (wreck your friend=them getting busted and disowning you) as well as who can drift the most, get the most air, break the most billboards, etc. in a certain time frame. While the single player, for those who dump a ton of time into it and find their favorite cars, probably has a short life span, when you start talking about multiplayer, and get a few friends who have this game, and the replay value goes through the roof as you try to "top" your friends to be the "Most Wanted".

If anything, multiplayer has reinforced my opinion that this quite simply is one of the best racers on the PS3, the best one released in 2012, and deserves your purchase.

***Update #2 10/31/2012

I'm seeing some questions about how this compares to NFS:Hot Pursuit. Keep in mind, Criterion's goal was to make this game a "spiritial" successor to Burnout Paradise (released in 2009). In terms of gameplay, NFS:HP and NFS:MW are different in terms of modes as well as scope (open world, explore at your leisure vs. rigid routes), but similiar in that you can wreck the cops when you are being pursued. The cops will use spike strips and roadblocks, no EMP or helicopters that I've seen. Your cars do have "mods" which can offset the roadblocks and spike strips (much like you had in HP for the racer). Online is much deeper IMHO vs. Hot Pursuit, even when you consider the DLC that EA/Criterion have released over the life of NFS:HP.

My verdict is NFS:MW will ultimately be much deeper and have more replay value then NFS:HP. But both are OUTSTANDING games in their own aspects.

Also, in another simularity to NFS:HP, NFS:MW will allow you to utilize your own soundtrack that you have on your PS3. I think you'll definitely want this as there's nothing memorable about the soundtrack I've heard so far from the game, and some of them are downright annoying. Why ALL racing games don't have this as an option I have no idea. It definitely enhances the enjoyment of the title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice game, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
nice graphics, nice driving, i expected less from this game now that i played the demo and i didnt like as much as ps2 version, because i think most wanted ps2 version is the best car game made in need for speed, but this game is something different not better not worst but different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed. Quite a departure from the original., November 7, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is really fun if you like CONSTANT crash cutscenes. Every time you bump a car, guard rail, or pole, you will have to watch a 10 second scene of your car crashing. Often times, you will come out of one of the crash scenes to find that the game has placed you directly behind another vehicle which causes you to crash yet again. This is the most annoying thing about the game and really characterizes the game for me.

For fans of the original Most Wanted, this game is disappointing. The game has a similar premise, but they have removed the storyline, customization, manual transmission, exciting pursuits, and the ability to plow through roadblocks. The graphics of the game are incredible, but the gameplay is lacking. The cars do not handle well at all. Unlike the original, hitting roadblocks now causes, you guessed it, a crash scene that stops your car in its tracks. Lastly, the game is very easy. I was the #1 Most Wanted racer before I had taken down Most Wanted #6-10. I got enough points to be first simply by tricking out a few cars; speaking of which, all of the cars are available from the start and races unlock performance upgrades. The Most Wanted races are very easy; in fact, they are easier than the races required to unlock car upgrades.

Multiplayer is no fun whatsoever; I give multiplayer a 1 out of 5 rating. You are placed in the open world with other racers. The game will randomly select events and races for you. Some of the events it chooses make little sense and are very repetitive.

Overall, this game is fun, but it is also VERY frustrating. I would recommend this game to people, but I want them to know that this game is not the original. The graphics are really the only improvement to the original; the other changes made to the game are a major downgrade.

SUMMARY:

Pros:
Beautiful graphics
Large, open world
Large selection of cars

Cons:
Lack of customization
Crash scenes
Repetitive races (many of the races for each car are exactly the same)
Lackluster pursuits
No penalty for being busted by the cops
Easy and short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOLO!, December 15, 2013
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
best DLCs ever even an expansion pack just like Burnout paradise wow!!! it's so amazing!! AND ITS AWESOME!!! YAY!
buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids loved this!, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This year we only purchased 2 new video games and both were for the PS3. This Need for Speed: Most Wanted was a winner! My 2 sons with 6 yrs between them, ages 9 and 15 yrs. old---both thought it was challenging and good! My 9 year old loves cars, racing and all that goes with that and he would randomly shout out of the gaming room "this is awesome! thank you Mom!!!!"
So, I am not a gamer at all, but I am a choosy mom and I think this was a hit with all of them--including my husband! I landed the cool mom for this one, so I am happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift for teens!, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This made my 13 year old very happy on Christmas morning and the price was well below any place else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun racer, but take caution before buying, December 26, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Gameplay & story
Well unlike 2005's MW, this one doesn't have a story. But it sort of has the same objective. There's a street racing crew called the Most Wanted. They are 10 of the city's best racers. Your objective is to defeat all 10 and become the "Most Wanted". In order to race them you have to build up a certain amount of points by completing races, police pursuits, doing crazy stunts, etc. When you have enough, you will be eligible to race them. After you defeat them you can take them out burnout style to win their car.
NFS MW's gameplay is reckless, dangerous, exciting, loud and fast. If you played Burnout, you'll know what I mean. MW is a Burnout game with licensed cars, which is a good thing. Hit anything at a speed of 50mph and up and your car will automatically look like a crumpled ball of paper. When racing rivals you can take them out just like Burnout and they'll return the favor, rivals AND cops. This is a free-roam game. When you're not in a race you can have fun with the cops, look for big ramps to jump off of, find an empty highway and speed your ass off, find a tunnel and listen to your Lamborghini Gallardo's exhaust sound echo OR find cars. Wait, Find cars? Yes, cars. From the time you pop MW in your PS3 or Xbox, EVERY car in the game is unlocked. All you have to is find them, which won't be hard. For example if you're cruising in a Mustang and you see a parked Camaro with a huge Chevrolet logo on top, drive up to it, hit the triangle and BOOM, you now own a Camaro. I find this more enjoyable than starting off with a 100 horsepower car and having to grind for 3- 4 hours before I can drive something faster.
The AI is well done. One of my biggest complaints about Hot Pursuit was the terrible rubber-banding. Criterion fixed this in MW. You still will see rubber-banding but not as cheesy. I love how if you're in second place and the finish line is a few yards away, the AI in first place will actually SLOW DOWN a little to give you a last chance. People may disagree with this but I think it's fair, especially with a chaotic game like this where you are bound to make A LOT of mistakes (by mistakes I mean crashes).

Physics
Just like Burnout and Hot Pursuit. Non-realistic and lots of drifting BUT each car will have some realistic features. For example the Audi R8 and the Gallardo handle VERY well around turns, which they do in real life. American muscles such as the SRT8 Challenger and ZL1 Camaro are harder to turn with...just like in real life. So the physics aren't THAT fake. But if you're someone like me, who plays racing simulators religiously (GT and Forza) expect a VERY VERY VERY different of pace. Most Wanted is a PURE arcade racer and will be sure to let you know as soon as start.

Sound-
Loud and realistic! I don't know how Criterion does it but all the car sounds are ACCURATE as hell!!!! If you don't believe me, drive a car in MW for a few minutes, then hop on YouTube, search for a video of the car and LISTEN. It's strange how an ARCADE racer has better sounds than the hardcore, simulator brothers (Forza & GT). I really hope they take some notes. Although MW's car sounds are perfect, the soundtrack is ass. It just doesn't match the gameplay. Weak hip-hop, dubstep, pop....it sucks. Criterion should have just kept their signature punk rock soundtracks which would have matched perfectly with this game but you can't really complain b/c MW gives you an option to use your own music so its whatever. But a true gearhead like me plays racing games the way they were meant to be played....no music. The only music a gearhead needs is the car sounds which once again; EA did a spectacular job with.
Graphics- Looks pretty good. Not QUITE as good as Hot Pursuit (2010) or GT5 and Forza 4 but it's still pretty crisp and clear. The cars look good and real. The environment looks nice. But with a crazy game like MW.....none of this matters. Most of the time you'll just being seeing pieces of your car on the floor, cop cars, your bumper hanging out....chaos.

What I don't like-
-For a big city like MW 41 cars is not enough. I think EA knows what they are doing though because just like every game these days....there's DLC. A car pack with 5 cars just came out, including the Pagani Zonda R....bastards. Also EA seems to be a bit lazy with the car roster. Why is there only one Nissan, one BMW and one Aston Martin? Why isn't Lotus, Mazda, or Gumpert in this game? Why did EA added a Tesla? Why only 3 Lamborghinis?
-Once again, the soundtrack is crap
-No split screen, which sucks because this could be a pretty fun party game.
-Police chases can be a bit annoying at times. In some situations only pure luck can help you escape. When you are in cooldown mode there isn't a hiding system that was in the orignal MW or Carbon. In this game after losing the cops you have to turn off your engine and PRAY that a cop doesn't find you.
-If you're not a multiplayer type of guy there's really not much to do after beating the main game except for completing every race with all cars. You can complete it in a day or two.
-There are only 10 boss races. And each race is just a 4-5 mile sprint race with cops, which isn't really hard. I think they could've added some more cars to the group. 15-20 bosses would have been cooler.
-You can't play as cops in mulitplayer.
-Hot Pursuit had a WAAAAY better car roster. One can not simply include Porsches without the Carrera GT
-When you crash during a race, its takes about 5-10 seconds for your car to respawn, which is stupid because by then you're in last place.

Verdict-
Criterion did an OKAY job with remaking my favorite (1st ) NFS game. It feels weird calling this Need for Speed because it's more like Burnout. If you just want a FUN racing game where the objective of the game is to have FUN, Most Wanted is a MUST. It's FUN!! But the fun doesn't last very long. After completing the campaign there really isn't much to do unless if you play online. Take that into consideration before buying this.
FUN FACTOR-10/10(I highly suggest you make some friends online...multiplayer is a blast)
CAR ROSTER-7/10 (No Lotus, No Mazda, very few Lamborghinis and Porsches)
PHYSICS-8/10 (typical Burnout physics...lots of speed and drifting)
SOUNDTRACK-4/10 (use your own music)
ENGINE SOUNDS-10/10(very realistic)
AI-9/10 (they are pretty smart)
CAMPAIGN-6/10 (too short)

1/6/2013
-Still playing it and found a few more complaints. Sometimes when the screen loads it shows a picture of a white Dodge Charger SRT8 being chased by cops. The Charger isn't playable so is this a tease or what?
-Multiplayer is still is blast. Met quite a few people and we play online alot. Pretty fun. Still sucks that you can't play as a cop like in Hot Pursuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Racer, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
In the Need for speed series I give this a 3/5, Online is fun, Customization is bland, If you are looking for more realistic Gran Turismo 5 is way better, if you are looking for more arcade like racing then go with Burnout Paradise. As for the game itself Great Car Selection, The social aspect of the game is amazing, how it constantly updates you verse people on your friends lists and reminds them as well. Without the social aspect or online racing its an average racing game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa600c570)

This product

Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3
Need for Speed Most Wanted - Playstation 3 by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $19.85
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.