Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite PSP Racer!!!!
I have not been able to put this game down since buying it a few weeks ago. I actually traded in GTA to get this because I was burned out on it from playing the 3 PS2 GTA games. I was not expecting this to be as good as it is. The graphics are nice and the sense of speed is great once you start upgrading your car. It is very cool having the cops trying to take you out...
Published on December 8, 2005 by Gus

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out Of The Way Coppers!!!
I definitely know what it is to have the feeling for the fast & the furious with the thrills of the racing. I've been a huge fan of the Need For Speed series for the past several years. While the game series has had its shares of status with the game on the thrills of the chase with Hot Pursuit 2, and the recently released Most Wanted games for the consoles. Yet, with all...
Published on February 6, 2006 by Michael Kerner


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite PSP Racer!!!!, December 8, 2005
By 
Gus (Oak Creek, WI) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I have not been able to put this game down since buying it a few weeks ago. I actually traded in GTA to get this because I was burned out on it from playing the 3 PS2 GTA games. I was not expecting this to be as good as it is. The graphics are nice and the sense of speed is great once you start upgrading your car. It is very cool having the cops trying to take you out while trying to win a race. This may not be up to par with the console versions but for a portable system it is very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out Of The Way Coppers!!!, February 6, 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I definitely know what it is to have the feeling for the fast & the furious with the thrills of the racing. I've been a huge fan of the Need For Speed series for the past several years. While the game series has had its shares of status with the game on the thrills of the chase with Hot Pursuit 2, and the recently released Most Wanted games for the consoles. Yet, with all the hype of Most Wanted for the consoles, the handhelds have all lost some of the momentum. With Need For Speed Most Wanted for Nintendo's DS edition have doesn't have the appeal of the thrill of the chase. With a different spin of the game for Sony's PSP out, could that have the same effect the DS had for gamers? Here is the answer.

Need For Speed: Most Wanted 5-1-0 for Sony's PSP is a different spin of the high speed thrills that the consoles have made. The game of course has some of the similar effects the consoles have made successful, but this is a different spin here. The object is the same as the other editions, you have the evade the cops in order to make your way to the top of the list, but there are much fewer challenges and courses for you to master. The graphics on this edition, are very well received and the sound is good, but the control at times, is very shoppy, and is difficult to manuever your way around the police where the console editions have a easier time making it happen. You get the same cars that you have to master on the console editions like the Mazda RX-8, the Chevy Cobalt, and other great cars. As you work your way up, you can get newer cars, and remodel and enahnce your car with better controls and devices, which are great, but they can be difficult to master at first, but easy to operate later on.

All in all, Need For Speed: Most Wanted 5-1-0 for the PSP isn't really worth all what it is speedwise worth. It is a good game for some, but if you have had the thrills of the chase for the consoles like the Xbox 360, or Playstation 2, you are just better off with the home console editions instead. If you just only have the PSP, I suggest you rent the game and try it out.

Graphics: B-

Sound: B

Control: C 1/2+

Fun & Enjoyment: C+

Overall: C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but flawed, April 27, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I haven't picked up any Need For Speed for a while so I decided to try this one out. The graphics are pretty good for PSP. The customization is okay, but nowhere near as detailed as the console versions. There isn't really much of a story here, you basically read a short little paragraph about the boss racer you're trying to take down and that's about it. The music on this extremely annoying, unless you're into that whole mainstream gangsta music and even though the generic stupid rap songs on here don't compose the entire soundtrack, the rock ones on here are garbage. Can you believe they decided to put songs from Disturbed, Static-X, and Avenged Sevenfold? Lame! One thing you will also notice when you start playing the game is that the cops will pester you to the very end. Using NOS will let you get ahead of them like ten feet but they'll just catch up again in a matter of seconds. The cop cars really bring down the game the most for me. The fun level in this game seriously goes down when a SUV cop car will be three turns behind you and catch up to you in about five seconds despite you going 170+ mph. Unrealistic! Other than that though, this game is fun, only if you can get past the stupid songs and the cops that catch up to you even when you're maxing out your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the frustration, July 26, 2006
By 
Ron (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
This game had allot of potentional to be great, sadly the morons who programmed the game ruined it with the AI for the cops and other drivers. The graphics are great for a handheld game and the music selection was decent. You can modify the cars with performance enhancements and visual upgrades. The racing was allot of fun and even intense at times....up until the cops gave chase and thats where the game is ruined. The AI cops go after you almost exclusivly. No matter how fast you are, the cops will catch you in a matter of seconds even if they start off half a lap behind you and there is no getting away from them. Once they are close they begin to hammer into your car while the other racers drive by untouched. In the end it ruins the fun and just leaves you completely frustrated. The best thing to do is save your money for a better game but if you really feel the need to get it then go to a gamestore and buy it off the used shelf....that's where my copy will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, February 17, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
the game is pretty nice and gripping and addictive and for the price it is very goooooood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great car game, May 7, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
The better graphics of all the serie. Maybe is not the better in history but is the better in anything else. Better graphics that the computer version. The game in the PSP runs excelent without any problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addicting, December 10, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
this game is addicting. be careful...you will spend a lot of time with your psp if you buy this game.

a lot of fun. i reccomend it. the graphics are great, the playability is great, the replay value is great.

the only complaint i have is there really isnt to much of a story to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks stunning and plays well, but..., April 8, 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
It's no wonder why the PSP is one of the must-have gadgets this year. EA's spectacular Need For Speed launches (Underground, Most Wanted) are indeed reasons why you should get a PSP. Though Underground was near perfect quality, it still had its faults. But I'm not reviewing that title.

Need For Speed: Most Wanted looked phenomenal on the PS2. Adding that fresh 'Underground' premise with the classic and original Need For Speed police concept, Most Wanted certainly attained that must-have quality. But even with the mixture of two different concepts, Most Wanted didn't come out as perfect as I would've liked it to.

Let's start with its different components:

Graphics

The graphics are near perfect to its PS2 counterpart. The on-going cars have that stalish body-paint and some of the courses have polgon collision - as in the car abnoramally runs into an invisible wall. Overall, the graphics showcases that gritty product Underground fantastically displayed, as well as day to mid afternoon courses found in classic NFS titles.

9.0/10

Gameplay

Handling the car in-game is too easy, and that's the problem. For avid, hardcore racing fanatics and veterans of the NFS series, you won't find that 'control' you have had access to in prior titles and Gran Turismo. I found the dismissal of 'Manual Handling' expectant because of the lack of buttons on the PSP, but it really was desirable. Overall, the gameplay is phenomenal for all ages and inviting to any gamer - new or old.

8.0/10

Story

It attains that Underground storyline, but if you have the PS2 version of this title, you're better off following the story from there as it is not entirely text-based. Still, the story is very suiting to the game and once again wraps you up in that 'Underground/Fast and Furious' pseudo experience. Its very easy to comprehend, as well as lackluster in some parts.

5.5/10

Sound

This is one of the profound qualities of the game. It has that 'pedal to the metal' pumping game sound as well as a decent soundtrack - featuring artists like Disturbed and T.I. The sound is very rich in quality and is equal to anything of the Gran Turismo series.

9.5/10

Features

Body Kit, Paint, Spoilers, Rims, Exhausts, Nitrous and Engines are all available as in the Underground series. What's more is that the main-menu boasts new 'Career Mode' with sensational graphics. There's also demos of NBA Live '06 and Madden NFL '06. Another new feature (with the help of the PSP) is the ability to challange anyone, anywhere to an online duel. The plus is that you get to challange anyone, the negative is that he/she has to be atleast 15 feet away. Still, the features are broad for something produced on something so compact as a UMD.

8.5/10

Overall

The game is a must buy for anyone with a PSP. The sound and graphics are magnificent and the gamplay is easy to pick up. The only gripe I have towards this game is the A.I. of the squad cars. At times it can be really exhasperating and unnecessary, but the main objective is to overcome the odds. This game is very good and recommendable. Long-time fans might be a bit dissappointed though.

8.0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot!, December 14, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
This game is the devil! I'l lured in to play, but get so frustrated when I lose! It's addicting and may cause you to project your PSP across the room or into the wall.

Beyond the frustration, this game is the most fun game I have ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars $tup!d AI kills this game, May 1, 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I've never felt so frustrated with a game like with this one. I'm usually too busy to write down a review for a product in Amazon, this is the main reason I'm lately buying games for the PSP, because I can pull out my PSP and play my favorite passtime (gaming) anywhere and anywhen. Still, I'm so angry right now that I decided to make the time out of sleep time to rant at EA and warn others about this game. I have to tell "Rivals" was a mediocre attempt, but I kind of understand it because was the first NFS for the PSP, and EA was probably rushing to get it out.

What about PSP NFSMW you ask? well the game is good in graphics, control and soundtrack, but there is one part of the game that really makes my PSP be glad its not a cheaper device, otherwise I'd have thrown it out the window from sheer frustration, the incredible stupid AI, specially the cops! I can't believe who in EA was the Project Manager or QA Manager for this game, the cops RAM straight into your car, push you into incoming traffic, they never miss a curve and their cars seem to run up to 500mph. This is stupid!! there is no other way to look at it. And it completely ruins the game, there is no sense of challenge here, it just makes you wish the next game includes a gun to fight back to these spychopaths.

This is a shame on EA, I think they recycled this AI code from a different game. Is there a patch to this game in the future? "Ethic and Common Sense v2.1 patch".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP
Need for Speed Most Wanted - Sony PSP by Electronic Arts (Sony PSP)
$44.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.