Customer Reviews

171
3.5 out of 5 stars
Need for Speed: The Run - Xbox 360
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Change
Price:$17.97 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

61 of 78 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
Pretty boring honestly. The game itself isnt that fun to play, it's ok but it's weak. The races are short for the most part and the driving is ok a camera stays focused on your car through turns which is cool but NO WAY this game is worth $60. Breakdown

Graphics-9.5 awesome graphics but unfortunately this is the best part of the game
Replayability-4 there are challenges to unlock cars an other things but nothing major
Physics (mechanics)- 2 it doesn't feel like you are driving the car, even when you choose the view to race from within the car there isn't even a steering wheel or nothing just looking at the road, this isn't the early 2000s
Length- 1...maybe 5 hours tops?? Really?
Enjoyment- 1 honestly it's pretty boring, it didn't make me want to play this game at all

I love NFS, mostly the older ones but I did enjoy hot pursuit but this game just doesn't appeal

Do yourself a favor, RENT before you buy. Trust me you will understand why after you rent it

Overall the game is just overall weak minus the beautiful graphics but thats it. If you are looking for a new game for xbox pick up Skyrim, Saints row 3, Battlefield 3, Mw3, Gears of War 3, Batman Arkham City, Sonic Generations even Forza 4, but not The Run. I'm not hating on this game it just doesn't being much too the table races too short an the little bit of excitement you'll have playing this game quickly vanishes.

Hope this helps
2323 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
This game is good, but there are a lot of people I know will be disappointed with it. All the races seem the same, just on a different stretch of track. Personally, I don't mind because I can sit and play a game for hours, not caring whether I do good or bad, or what's even going on in the game. The graphics are very nice, and they used the "Frostbite 2" engine, for those who don't know, which was used for Battlefield 3. The actual story behind the game isn't bad as well.

Overall, the game will keep you busy for at least one play through the game, and if you're interested, for some races online as well.

EDIT: It feels like it's sort of moving away from what NFS used to be. As far as I've played the game, I haven't come across any "lap" type of races, it's all get from point A to point B in an expensive sports car. I miss the street/drag racing kind of thing.

EDIT #2: I'm finding myself to rage quiting while playing this game quite a bit. It seems like there's always a car in the same lane that I can't see just over that hill. It seems like the obstacles in this game are too easy to predict. Once again, I miss the old street/drag racing type of style. This feels a lot more like a simulator than an arcade racer. [Edit: it seems they have have patched it since I originally posted the review. I don't run into those cars nearly as much anymore]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on March 5, 2012
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
After being extremely impressed with Hot Pursuit, I picked up this game thinking it would be a step up from that. Not true.

Don't get me wrong, this is a great game. The graphics are fairly good and overall it's a fun game, but compared to previous NFS games, it's nothing to brag about. Ironically, the aspect of this game that's the most boring and tedious is the running part. At certain points in the game, the police will surround your car and you will be forced to run on foot. In order to jump fences and avoid getting caught, you have to hit certain buttons on the controller. Mess up, and you have to try it again. These feel more like cut-scenes with a little audience participation than any type of challenge. I can understand that the hope was to give the game a little variety so it's not strictly a racing game, but if that was their intent, they should have allowed the player to control where they run and where to hide.

Also, NFS is known for having the police in the game. Sadly, the cops are only a small part of this game and many races won't even include them. This may not bother you, but if you're buying a game in the NFS series, chances are, you'll be missing that.

The game does have a lot going for it. Visually the game looks good and the selection of cars is nice and grows as the game progresses. The storyline is a nice element in a racing game, but it's referenced so infrequently that you'll often forget about it. Plus, you goal in each leg of the race is usually to just progress a few spots, so you'll wonder why you needed the story at all.

Overall, the game is still a lot of fun and I have a feeling that most of the negative reviews are from those who just expected more from the NFS series and were a little let down. But used for a few bucks, it might be worth it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on August 5, 2012
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
This game is amazing. It has the feel of a great action movie. Before I bought this game, I was kind of skeptical because of some the mediocre reviews it had received. I decided to get it anyway and I am so happy I did. I think it is a must have for anybody who is a fan of arcade racing games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2012
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
As a casual gamer, Need for Speed: The Run has everything I want - entertainment, excellent graphics, and a good story. You start out as a character trying to escape the inside of a car in a junk yard car crusher. You mash certain buttons as they appear on the screen to pry your way out. Soon, seamlessly, you get into a car and start racing to escape your assailants. The concept of character interaction comes back occasionally throughout the game, bringing NFS to a new level of fun.

Racing from California to the east coast was a blast. Each stage you have to beat 5 or 10 racers to move up in the standings, or race as fast as you can to "make up time". Sometimes you race a big player one-on-one. I was amazed at the graphics driving through the snowy Colorado Rockies, only to be blown away later by the stormy Plains of Oklahoma with its plethora of shortcuts thorough apple orchards. It's all about moving across the nation. Stop only as needed at Gas Stations to switch to a different car.

Of course the "Challenge Series" races are there to enjoy in addition to The Run. They take place in various United States locales (Vegas, Desert, Rockies and such) in sets of 5 and based on each race time you are awarded a medal of Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Owned. New cars unlock when you achieve certain medals like Gold. Fortunately for me certain new cars are also awarded when you score Bronze.

I can understand the gripes of the hard-core racer Amazon reviewers. They want to race, not be bogged down by cinematics and stories. I myself am not a hard-core racer, preferring to stop and smell the flowers. No "NFS: Shift" for me.

There is lots of eye-candy and awesome music in The Run. My favorite Need for Speed games to date are "Most Wanted" and "Undercover". Before I played "NFS: The Run" that is. If you want to have some fun this game is for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
This game is utter trash. It's NFS all over again. Nothing new... except terrible game play mechanics.

Out-of-Bounds
The cars now must stay within the confines of the game's "invisible out-of-bounds" rules. The animated holographic boundaries previously found in NFS games that were solid walls are now able to be driven through into out-of-bounds territory. Cross the boundary line... even if you are heading back onto the road and you're automatically reset. And that brings up the next issue.

Resets to Checkpoints
You're allotted only 4 resets per race. After that you start all over again. I don't know what made it worse... the fact you're only alloted 4... or that the reset takes you back to your last checkpoint which could be miles back... OR that the checkpoint may place you in an unplaying position (speeding off the track for another immediate reset)... OR the fact that if you get reset before the first checkpoint, the race starts over anyways but with you having spent a reset. I always just restart the event at that point because why deal with 1 less reset? Which sets us up for another issue.

Load Times
Every reset brings and insanely long load time. Each EVENT brings and insanely long load time. Each event reset brings insanely long load times. It destroys the pacing of the game to the extent that it no longer fun to play. "Need for Speed"? Maybe they were referring to their own "need for speed" in getting the games loading faster.

Duplicating World Scenarios
While the one shining gem of the game is it's graphics and the world that's recreated taking inspiration from places in the USA, you'll find similar situations (track covers, city scapes) will recur if you drive the thing in one go. Streets in Chicago the you drive on while evading the Mob will be the same streets you drive on for the next race leg. Similar road curves (even a shortcut) are also duplicated verbatim from the Chicago area to the "State Forest" stage... just with new textures.

Car Selection
The game makes a big deal out of the cars it offers... but then it specifically mentions you're going to need certain cars in certain scenarios (mountains, street, highways each suggest a different style of car). That's all fine and dandy... but here's the snag. YOU CAN'T CHANGE YOUR CAR! Oh sure, you'll get to choose one at the start... and a couple times in the middle... but other than that you have to pull into a gas station to switch out cars. Gas Stations are located on VERY FEW event maps. Which means you might get to select a car on one event, but the next even you're still stuck with it because there is no gas station on that event's course map and then the car you chose might be all wrong for the event! Too bad... you're still stuck with it. If you're going to make car selection an important part of winning the game... ALLOW US TO PICK A CAR AT THE START OF EACH EVENT!

No Replay Value
The game also has very little replay value. Previous NFS games I've enjoyed exploring the world... or taking out another car and avoiding the cops. This one is just a single path... from San Francisco to New York... and not even all of that. Total playing time for "The Run" itself took around 2 hours (not counting the resets or the load times) and then you've seen it all. Oh sure there are challenges to go back and do... but it's on the same tracks you've already raced on. And the game itself is a challenge enough!

Terrible AI
The computer cars display insanely impossible acceleration and driver recovery capabilities. Think you've just pushed an opponent over the cliff? Guess again. But they can perform the same move and send you flying for... you guessed it... another instant reset. Or think you've passed someone at 190mph? Guess what... they'll go flying by you 2 seconds later without nitrous with you still going 190 but making it look like you were standing still.

Do yourself a favor... and "Run" away before it sucks $60 from your pocket.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
The game could have been longer,but the scenery,and the driving aspect will make you play it multiple times.I also enjoy watching my grandsons play so I have time to take in the amazing graphics.The driving mechanics is still a little archady,but better than some previous NFS games.The story line is week ,but it's a racing game ,you don't need a story to drive fast.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 6, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
made by the guys that did the first Most wanted. Great handling and set pieces. Wish there were more cars and some levels are reused (you have to really pay attention though) but the biggest complaint is that it's too short and I wanted more. The online community is obviously not great at this point but it's worth it for single player if you like a little cheesy drama with your racing like Most Wanted.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 12, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
The last two Need for Speed tiles, Hot Pursuit and Shift, were considered more as spin-offs but have provided the best two racing games for the franchise. What The Run has going for it is that it returns to it's old-school NFS roots. Black Box develops the game this time, making it the first time they have returned to the Need For Speed franchise since creating and finishing Underground and Undercover series. Once again players will return to nitrous-powered action that graced the last generation of NFS gamers. This is a welcome return for many veteran NFS fans, but unfortunately Black Box under-performs severely.

Growing up, the Need for Speed franchise was still rather new. Need for Speed Underground, developed by Black Box entertainment, featured an excellent career mode at the time. Even though it was a small portion of the game, it fulfilled its premise and brought a new dimension for the game. Fast-forwarding eight years to Need for Speed: The Run, it feels like jumping back in time and revisiting an old friend. The problem however, is that Black Box's formula doesn't hold up to arcade racing standards and fails to finish on the podium.

Diving right into the single player campaign, the main story line in The Run is your cheesy Hollywood setup. You play as Jack, a marked man who is being hunted down by the mob. The only way to pay his debt is to win a 3,000 mile race that spans from San Francisco to New York. The campaign gets straight to the point on what it wants you to accomplish. Driving from San Francisco to New York is often breath-taking because of the maps you race on through the long Nevada desert, down the cold and edgy Colorado Mountains and the packed Chicago Streets. Don't feel bad if you get distracted while you admire the scenery as you drive along. Even though it's a beautiful treat, it doesn't even come close to hiding all the problems with The Run's campaign mode.

The campaign has a good balance of racing types that you will eventually go through. Ranging from the time attack races, one-on-one battles, cop chases and your standard eight car races. These are all fun simply because of how the controls feel. Driving in The Run feels very loose, which is something to actually be glad about. It allows everyone to pick up the controls with ease and not have to learn how a car drives like some games. The only thing that requires learning on your part, is how certain car classes perform. There is a wide range of classes ranging from muscle cars to luxury cars which gives the game much needed variety and spice.

The biggest design flaw in the game is that progress from race to race never transfers over. Every time you race, it's your mission to pass a certain amount of cars or finish a map with a certain time. If at any chance you fall below these standards, you are instructed to retry over and over again until you beat that stage. This the biggest design flaw because it stops people feeling like they are on the run. It makes the game feel very linear and out of place. If The Run could track progress from start to finish, then it would make players push the throttle more and have more excitement for the story.

Speaking of the story, the highly publicized story of Need for Speed The Run is probably the most disappointing things about the game. From the get go, it tries to be a Hollywood block buster but the problem is that it falters on nearly every level. Starting with Jack, who owes the mob money, but we don't know what he did or how he got in that position.

There are very few times that the game slows down to provide back-story for the main characters in the game but your going to get most information in the loading screens than in quick time events. The Run does provide some cool quick time events that take Jake out of the car but they're so few and far between each other that they are out of place and are not needed. It's a real shame because The Run does have some good moments, it's just the package doesn't come together making the storyline easily forgettable while your racing towards New York. If it wasn't so scripted and provided much needed story details, then Black Box might have had a good campaign to go along with its online features.

Online play is the biggest bright spot and will keep players playing for quite a long time. It's nearly impossible to not early XP for racing. Even if you joined in a race late you can still climb the leaderboards and win. At the start of each race, depending on who you are playing with, you earn exclusive cars and gain ridiculously high XP if you come in first. Most of the modes are the same in story but tweaked a bit to balance the maps for online. It's a very refreshing feature and you can see they developed the online first then worked on the single player experience.

Even though it has a great online experience, Need for Speed The Run will be a quick finish for most. It only takes three hours to finish the campaign. After the single player experience, you can still complete all the single and multiplayer challenges that await you. There is really nothing besides the multiplayer that will keep you coming back to The Run. To make things worse, the game has only 36 achievements and trophys to get, with most of them on the single player side. With a lack of long term content, people are simply going to be turned off by NFS and be busy playing something else during the holiday season.

Need for Speed The Run looks good on the outside as it provides beautiful visuals and is easily playable. The more you start digging, the more you will see that it's just an average racing game that crashes in every possible way. Horrible story, dumb AI and the lack of freedom kills The Run's chances of being the best racer on the market. Black Box's under-performs severely, making it clear to EA that the Need for Speed franchise was better in other people's hands.

Score: 6 out 10

Please follow me on tumblr and on twitter for more of my reviews

[...]

[...]
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
EA is here again to bring another amazing Need for Speed game, or that's what they try to do here. Need for Speed: The Run at first glance seems to bring NFS fans what they've wanted for a while, which is going back to the roots with awesome action-racing and an awesome storyline. And with it being developed by Black Box(Developers of Most Wanted) and using the all new frostbite 2 engine, makes it even more exiting. This game though, fails to do so in many ways and in the end just feels like a pretty mediocre racing game. This is not saying that this game is bad, it's just that the game could have been way more than it is.

Story: The story is pretty bland. The idea is interesting, but the execution is off. So you have to race from California to New York. That's it. All the awesome conflicts that you think the driver would go through throughout the game are just not there. You think you would get a story like Fast and Furious, but you don't.

Story 4/10

Gameplay: The handling of the cars is more or less like the new nfs: Hot Pursuit. But way more bugged. Sometimes you dont even have to break when going 100mph at a u-turn. You just automatically drift through it. The AI aren't anything special and the awesome destruction events promised by the frostbite 2 engine just don't seem that exhilarating.

Gameplay 6/10

Graphics: The graphics of this game don't compete at all with other racing games like Forza 4. And with games like battlefield 3 using the frostbite 2 engine and having great graphics, you'd probably expect the same from this game.

Graphics 7/10

Sound: The sounds are okay. They sound like how they're supposed to sound.

Sound 7/10

Overall it's a 5/10. It's okay for a rent, but if your looking to buy something that will blow you away. Just RUN.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Need for Speed: Most Wanted
Need for Speed: Most Wanted by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$18.28

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, XBOX 360
Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, XBOX 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$18.99

Need for Speed: Undercover - Xbox 360
Need for Speed: Undercover - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$19.96
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.