Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for the budget photographer.
Purchased one of these and I must say, it works well. Right out of the box, no time to setup and fires everytime.

I will be purchasing another 1 ( maybe 2) very soon!
Published 23 months ago by Katherine Woten

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I got it.
Plenty of power for my small studio (aka, the basement). I have noticed a little quirk, though; If I don't use the modeling light, it doesn't recognize the sync cable after one picture. With the modeling light on, the sync cable works every time as long as you wait the 3-4 seconds to recharge.

UPDATE: Raised the light stand and tightened the screws ever so...
Published 21 months ago by squarepeg_photography


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I got it., March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Plenty of power for my small studio (aka, the basement). I have noticed a little quirk, though; If I don't use the modeling light, it doesn't recognize the sync cable after one picture. With the modeling light on, the sync cable works every time as long as you wait the 3-4 seconds to recharge.

UPDATE: Raised the light stand and tightened the screws ever so slightly and the mounting barrel broke. Wrapped with packing tape to keep it on the stand. Amazingly, I'm still glad I bought it but now it's just 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for the budget photographer., January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Purchased one of these and I must say, it works well. Right out of the box, no time to setup and fires everytime.

I will be purchasing another 1 ( maybe 2) very soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well for it's price, got some pretty awesome results with it., May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I did a class recently in Atlanta showcasing what you could do with a cheap strobe nowadays and bought this one. The bottom line is it works well and you can get amazing results, but don't expect much from the build quality.

I found the strobe plasticy to the touch, the umbrella holder is tension based and not screw based, and adjusting the tilt of the light very clackity. If held at certain angles the Phottix II stratos used to trigger the light for the class didn't fire the light, so don't know if there's an issue with the sync port or not, just happened consistently.

During use those the light worked extremely well and produced consistent results. I've attached a few shots from the event up to show the results you can get using this $50 light, a $30 umbrella modifier, and a $20 craigslist special 100-200 lens.

At $50 I would say this is a no brainer of a buy for anyone interested in starting studio lighting, or having an extra light as a kicker or a hair light. It works well and delivers for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I just buy this in the first place?, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I know. It's inexpensive. And usually you get what you pay for, right? In this case, it's true, but when what you want is:

• More Bokeh
• Low, dramatic light
• Creamier, softer light in even smaller softboxes
• More Bokeh
• More Bokeh

Then perhaps this is the light for you. See example images. You're welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
very good quality for the price.....reliable enuf for
professional work. yes they work great. the slaves are so
sensitive..I can stand 10ft in front of them and they still go off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Little Monolight!, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I have three of these and three 250W monolights right now and I'm blown away by how well they work...Not to mention the cost! So, the base has some plastic? The fact is that so far, they are all reliable and consistent. In the digital age, studio photography has become a pleasure.

These little units are a big part of my new happy studio life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal for the price., July 22, 2013
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Let's get one thing out the way right away: This light very inexpensive, and you need to set your expectations accordingly. It feels very cheaply made. That being said, I have been very pleased with this light. It has proven to be very reliable, and puts out quite a bit of light. And, while I noted that the build feels cheap, this also means that it's very light to carry around.
Overall a good light for someone on a tight budget (such as myself) or as a back-up light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Love being able to learn lighting without breaking the bank. Offers options like Alien Bees, but without the sticker price. Will order higher power lights later, but these still work great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value., September 30, 2013
By 
QuadJon (Austin, TeXXXas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I bought on of these a few years ago and it is still working fine. Recently decided to add a third strobe to my iventory and because of the price and reliability decided to purchase another one of these. Was not disappointed. Strobe arrived on time and well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this unit sucks, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I purchased this 2 months ago, I took it out of the box today as I was preparing for a shoot this weekend. I worked pretty good out of the box if you are just test firing it; but once I plugged in the sync cord the strobe stopped firing. The "ready" light never came back on. It appears that Neewer may be aware of this defect as I seen this written up in other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.