Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Download! Buy it! It's worth it!, February 9, 2005
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
Those of you that have been reading Negima through the various scanlation groups will know that volumes 3 & 4 is where the manga starts to pick up its pace. While the first two volumes where standard Harem-manga-filler, from volumes 3 and 4 Negima starts to forego its harem roots (don't worry, the drawings STILL have a good amount of fan-service) and starts moving into the fantasy-action genre, which, quite frankly, suits this title a whole lot better.

I won't go into any more further details, as it would spoil the plot for you. I will say that volumes 3 and 4 is where the manga starts to get GOOD! What I WILL go into detail is why you should choose to buy the Del Ray version rather than downloading this from a site somewhere.

First of all, Del Ray has put enormous effort into providing a translation that actually reads well on paper. Rather than "dumbing down" the script, Peter David's (yes, THAT Peter David) adaptation of the script is hilarious and the dialogs read well and genuine. Even though I don't agree with David's interpretation of some of the characters, I like David's version.

The sound effects are translated, which is good, considering the fact that the author uses them often. The honorifics are untranslated, and a special section is added at the front of the book giving valuable information about what they mean. Translation notes are provided at the end of the story, which give a lot of valuable information about Japanese culture and explain a lot of thing that are missed.

The translation is by no means perfect. Fans of Negima that have been following the title through the scanlation groups will especially notice one HUGE error. Del Ray however has vowed to correct that mistake in its future publications and reprints. Not only does this add to Del Ray's integrity as a publisher, it also means that my first edition copy with that mistake will rise hugely in value in the future (as "error-prints" tend to do)!

Finally, nothing beats reading this title on paper, without the computer screen hurting your eyes. If you've been downloading this, now's the time to leave the computer screen, cough up the cash, and start reading it the way it should be read, dammit!

For no other reason than to support publishers like Del Ray, that put such an enormous effort into providing translation worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class Trip!, January 21, 2005
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
The fourth volume in the Negima! manga has Negi taking his class on a feild trip to Kyoto and Nara. This is not only for fun and education, but Negi has it on good authority that the

"Souther Master", his father, once lived in the aera. However the headmaster of the acdemy want Negi to deliver a letter for him. However the headmaster warns Negi that their will be danger in just traveling to Kyoto and the letter only compounds the danger. With this new danger, his class acting like they always do, and a few other suprises make this volume the most exciting of them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, January 31, 2005
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
Graphics, story, everything, it's all very good. If you've liked the series up to this far, this is a very nice compliment. Akamatsu is now giving each girl a story, so it's like little "episodes". Anyway, if you haven't read the first one, I'd suggest you go read the reviews there. It's a must buy for those keeping up with the series, and the series is a very good one itself.

(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to Kyoto and Nara- and beyond!!!, May 23, 2007
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
So here we are. Negima! volume four. Up until this point, Negi's had to deal with a lot of stuff: beginning to teach at an all-girl's school, a dangerous excursion deep beneath the school library, and a powerful vampire by the name of Evangeline McDowell (aka Dark Evangel), but Negi's never had to face the intricacies of a girl who's in love with him. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

Volume four begins with a brief conversation between Negi and Evangeline concerning Negi's father, the Thousand Master; when Negi tell Eva that the Thousand Master is alive, she initially just laughs it off, but realizes that he's telling the truth and advises Negi to go to Kyoto to look for clues about his father, since Kyoto was the last place that anyone ever saw Nagi. Negi then gets the idea of doing it legally (since he's accrued no time off, neither does he have any extra cash) by organizing a class field trip to see the sites at Kyoto and Nara. The headmaster agrees to the field trip, but only on the condition that Negi delivers a letter to the leader of the Kansai magic group, the main group opposed to the field trip (Kyoto is in the Kansai district and their opposition stems from the fact that a wizard [i.e. Negi] would be leading the trip). Things start to get out of hand on the train ride, though, as the students are attacked by... frogs? Also, a paper bird steals Negi's letter, but one of his students, Setsuna Kagurazaki, slices the bird in half while leaving the letter untouched; this leads Chamo to believe that Setsuna might be a spy for the West. Their time at Kyoto is no less eventful, including a first-day trip to the fountains that has everyone passed out drunk from booze that was pumped into the fountains. Then there's that little thing about Nodoka finally confessing her love for Negi...

One of the main reasons that I'm so impressed with Negima! is that each novel seems to be better than the previous one, and this one is no exception. Of course, the fan service is there, but the best parts of this novel are Nodoka's confession to Negi and a neat little sidestory about just how deep the relationship is between Setsuna and Konoka (who Setsuna insists upon calling "ojou-sama", a highly reverent and respectful term for a girl of affluent parentage).

Enjoy!!

~andy~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Same Old Magical Pimp, New Problems and Setting, June 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
Darn it all, I'm hooked. I can't put this damn series down for a life of me, no matter how much I tell myself that I don't like manga such as this. I like blood and guts and mature situations. I like adult titles like Berserk and Hellsing and Monster, not Negima. But Negima has somehow wormed itself between these manga and made a place all its own on my manga shelf, one that continues to grow yet one where Negima seems to hold its own.

But seriously, this is shaping up to be one heck of a manga series. After finishing the fourth volume, I've come to understand that I won't soon be disappointed by this series. It continues to stay fresh by bringing in a constant stream of characters, without overwhelming a reader too much. It has added a small element of action that wasn't found in the first couple volumes. And it has moved settings now from an all-girl's high school to a public tourist attraction.

Plus, Negima is still as funny as it was when it first started, still using a subtle adult humor and a mocking style of fan-service.

In this volume in particular, Negi takes his class on a field trip to the old Japanese capitals of Kyoto and Nara, which has since become world famous tourist attractions. Though his battle with the vampire Evangeline is on hold for now, a new dilemma has arisen for Negi, and that is finding his father, the Thousand Master. He learns the first clue may be in Kyoto. Along the way, however, he runs into a couple bumps, including a mysterious girl swordmaster who is also a student of his, some crazy paper-using wizard, a plot to kidnap Konoka, the daughter of the school's headmaster, and a student reporter who wants to know all of Negi's deepest secrets. But worst of all, Negi must confront the idea of having someone in love with him.

As for the problems with this volume, it still suffers from an over-abundance of fan-service. Even if it is comical, it always feels forced. Another problem I found with this one is the appearance of yet another character outside the student body, making it well into the thirties. It's becoming difficult to keep track of the names of the students. While the book has a handy roster at the back, when a character is brought in that isn't in that roster, it's close to impossible to remember them. The characterization is also a bit iffy on some of the characters, though Ken Akamatsu apologizes for this in his earlier volumes, saying the sheer size of the cast causes some problems with keeping things in order. As a writer, I've got to appreciate creative honesty.

With everything Negima has going for it, it's shaping up to be something instantly special (I don't want to use any cliches like "my favorite" or "instant classic"). The manga has me hungry for the anime, which is due in August through FUNimation. Though not yet perfect, I'm sure that it will always stay at least a solid four in my eyes. I recommend this to anyone seeking a change from their normal manga reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars School Trip Part 1 of 3, June 30, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
With the impressive mark left by Volume 3 of "Negima!," I was eager to see where things went from there. Fortunately things remain pretty good, we are introduced to two new characters and a 3rd gets some work as well.

Evangeline tells Negi that he should take a trip to Kyoto as his father, the Southern Master, used to live there. Thus Negi-sensei decides the class field trip should be to Kyoto and Nara. The headmaster then gives Negi a quest to deliver a letter to the head of the magic association based there (Kansai Group) to stop an age-long feud between them and the Kanto Group. Thus preparations begin by the students and Negi to take this 4-day trip. Konoka and Negi are out in a nice district of Tokyo and are spotted by the cheerleader squad who think the two are on a date. Naturally Ayaka learns of this and will not tolerate anyone else being with Negi, so she grabs Asuna and begins her plan to make sure nothing happens between Negi and Konoka.

The school trip finally starts with Negi-sensei being attached to a group of girls that includes Asuna, Konoka, Miyazaki (the library girl), Yue, and Saotome. They are also joined by Setsuna-san, a girl with a nodachi - a giant, long sword. Forces opposed to the Kansai Group and Kanto Group making amends begin to work with a series of mild attacks by frogs and then monkeys. Setsuna is comes to the aid of Negi as she is sworn to protect Konoka-chan, whom she has known since a child and refers to with the very reverent title of "oujo-sama". The battle heats up as Asuna (armed with a new weapon), Negi, and Se-chan team up to battle a female Japanese wizard and her summoned demons as they attempt to kidnap Konoka-chan.

Once the battle is over, Miyazaki-san is determined to confess her feelings for Negi, something that has been brewing since Volume 1. Being so shy, she has a very difficult time of it, but her friends Yue and Saotome are there to force her to keep on. She is further aided by talking with Asuna and Se-chan. Hearing someone may be confessing their love to Negi, Ayaka dispatches the class reporter Kazumi on the case. Kazumi is bored with the assignment but soon comes upon the scoop of the century when she learns Negi's secret.

There is a fair amount of fun "filler" in this volume, especially at the beginning. The subplot of Miyazaki's feelings is sweet and while being told, the main story arc is not forgotten. Kazumi's learning of Negi's secret should prove interesting and we'll see where this is taken. There's more naked girl fighting in the manga than one would dare dream.

Del Rey does its usual good job and I noticed that they are starting to use a little more of the sister honorifics (neesan) which is cool. The standard extras of the spell lexicon, the translator notes, and early character sketches by Akamatsu-sensei are all included as are definitions of the honorifics.

Bottom line: While not as intense as the previous volume, it is still very good and I look forward to seeing where the story goes from here. Se-chan is a great charater and Asuna continues to grow on me. Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking a trip..., November 5, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
Negi takes the class on a field trip to Kyoto and Nara. People there are out to kidnap Asuna's friend Konoka, and another student has taken it upon herself to defend Konoka. Nodoka has difficulty telling Negi of her feelings for him. And a reporter-in-training finds out Negi's secret.

Paper panty-stealing monkeys, a female samurai, and a birthday surprise. The total is one excellent graphic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, January 11, 2013
By 
Jackie (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
I gave this as a gift for my boyfriend. He was in love and enjoyed it very much and read it in one night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RIVAL WIZARD FACTIONS, November 26, 2008
By 
Sesho (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
Most of the third volume of Negima was taken up with Negi's battle with Evangeline McDowell, a vampire who had been cursed by Negi's dad, the Southern Master, and trapped in the body of a young girl. Evangeline believed that his father was dead but Negi tells her the story of how the Southern Master was the one who gave Negi his staff. Negi wants to find him but has no idea of where to look. Evangeline suggests he look in Kyoto, where his dad used to live. In a bit of a selfish act, mixing business with pleasure, Negi proposes that his class go on a field trip there. That way, he won't have to miss work. The headmaster of the school agrees to let them go to Kyoto but he also has a task for Negi to perform. Apparently, Kyoto falls under the territory of the Kansai Magic Association, which has a running dispute with Negi's Kanto branch. In an effort to smooth out the relationship between the two organizations, the headmaster appoints Negi as an ambassador of sorts and gives him a letter to be delivered only into the hands of the leader of the Kansai wizards. Unfortunately, there are elements of the Kansai group that do not want peace with Kanto and want to keep Negi from fulfilling his mission.

As always, the first thing that jumps out at you with Negima is the excellent art in which Ken Akamatsu cleverly combines cuteness, comedy, realism, sexiness, and and great layout to create a very unique style. The story is where this book could get a bit muddled. I mean how many times can we stomach someone's clothes getting blown off at least once a volume, if not more, without it becoming a cheap parlor trick? Well, the answer for now is...a lot more! This series hasn't worn out its welcome yet, seeing as how we know so little about the 31 girls in Negi's class. In this volume the spotlight focuses on Miyazaki, who is pining to declare her love to Negi, and Setsuna, a sword bearing student who is a bit of an enigma. She seems to be obsessed with Konoka, but Negi has to figure out whether she's trying to protect Konoka, or working for the Kansai faction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A secret date!?, March 19, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 (Paperback)
This is the fourth volume in the Japanese comic book series about a 10 year old wizard who is assigned to be a teacher at a Japanese girls middle school. Most of this volume is about an extended field trip (which isn't over yet). With 31 students in the class, it's hard to devote time to all of them. But this time around, we get to know the cheerleaders, the swordswoman and the reporter. This book has a good mix of comedy and drama. Sure, it's weird that a bunch of 14 year old students have a crush on their 10 year old teacher, but if you can get beyond that, you may enjoy this comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4
Negima! Magister Negi Magi, Vol. 4 by Ken Akamatsu (Paperback - December 28, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.