Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Example Of Diamond's Legendary Performance Style
This DVD is indeed in Dolby 5.1. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it defaults to Dolby PCM but can quickly be changed in the AUDIO menu of the DVD.
The audio and video on this DVD are extremely well done. The sound is better - than - CD quality and the performance was edited to perfection. The crew truly captured the concert in its entirety: Neil, crowd, band,...
Published on February 7, 2001 by Ron

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Voice - Too Little Music
I had seen Neil In concert in 1999. His performance was trmendous in every sense -Voice, stage presence and his rapport with the audience.
Unfortunately, on this DVD there is a sense that not everyone involved in the process was on the same page. It is badly mixed. On many of today's CD/DVD's the music drowns out the singer's lyrics.In this case it's the other way...
Published on March 5, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Example Of Diamond's Legendary Performance Style, February 7, 2001
By 
Ron (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
This DVD is indeed in Dolby 5.1. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it defaults to Dolby PCM but can quickly be changed in the AUDIO menu of the DVD.
The audio and video on this DVD are extremely well done. The sound is better - than - CD quality and the performance was edited to perfection. The crew truly captured the concert in its entirety: Neil, crowd, band, and lights. The different camera angels work to further enhance this divine display of talent.
As for the concert, Diamond once again poured out his heart and soul for his beloved fans who couldn't contain themselves on such rocking numbers as "I'm Alive" and "Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show." It is clear from this performance, as it has been through all of his songs and other concerts, that the fans ARE his life.
Neil is at his best in this show, belting out beautiful slow tunes as well as spine - chilling renditions of his more vivacious hits. His medley tribute to John Lennon consistently brings tears to my eyes when I watch it. We get a REAL treat when he sings "You Don't Bring Me Flowers" with Linda Press, his female vocalist. They are perfect together. Their amazing chemistry translates into a version of the song that is superior to his duet with Barbra Steisand.
Here's the bottom line: If you get the slightest bit of joy from listening to one of Neil's songs, you HAVE to buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best! But sometimes anything by him will do!!, April 9, 2003
By 
 R I Z Z O (Denver Metro Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you want to see the best Neil Diamond Live Concert, get his late 70s "Love at the Greek." He will never perform like that again! This one doesn't come close, but hey, sometimes concert performances are rare and you have to settle for anything.
As usual, he has the audience revved up and interactive. The man is a true performer. But, for "I Am I Said", that passionate, lonesome feeling he is able to emote just doesn't come through on this show. "Headed For the Future" shows the music video he did for this song.
Filmed live at the Aquarius Theatre in Los Angeles in 1988 and it is punctuated by his 80s music with the few 70s classics included the fun "Forever in Blue Jeans." He also offers a tribute song to John Lennon.
Linda Press, the sole female in the band joins him for millionth time for "You Don't Bring Me Flowers." Neil, give that poor girl another song too sing! She has been doing this song and only this song at your concerts for years, even today!!!
So, enjoy an o.k. performance, but for a magical experience get "Love at the Greek." .....MzRizz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey everyone, it is in Dolby 5.1, July 10, 2000
By 
David Buchanan (Highlands Ranch, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
Just read some of the other reviews of Neil Diamond's DVD. There seems to be some confusion if it is in Dolby 5.1. It is in 5.1. The problem is it defaults to PCM. So go to the main menu and select the audio button and you will see the 5.1. I also recommend increasing the center channel volume about 4db. This is a must for Neil Diamond fans. Sound and video are well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Voice - Too Little Music, March 5, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
I had seen Neil In concert in 1999. His performance was trmendous in every sense -Voice, stage presence and his rapport with the audience.
Unfortunately, on this DVD there is a sense that not everyone involved in the process was on the same page. It is badly mixed. On many of today's CD/DVD's the music drowns out the singer's lyrics.In this case it's the other way around. You see various instruments being played,but you don't really hear them. The result is a tinny vocal sound that dominates.
There are also problems with song selection and how they are presented. A third of them are not considered to be anywhere near Neil's best work. Left off are Holly holy, Soolaimon( a concert must) Cracklin' Rosie, Song Sung Blue etc. etc. In addition we are left with short versions of some songs eg. Forever in Blue Jeans and Brother Love. There is a sense that the concert was slapped together in a choppy fashion. We see Neil sweating early but not late. There is little continuity. One feels they are suddenly somewhere else.
Is there a reluctance on the part of age 50+ performers to release comprehensive DVD"s of their best work? There is nothing wrong with a 2 hour performance when you have an extensive repertoire. One wonders if such artists worry that having seen a DVD of their best, fans would not attend their concerts. Think of Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Rod Stewart, Prince as examples of those with little concert material available. Then think Elton,The Stones, Eagles,Bee Gees and Roy Orbison.
Final thoughts: Since this is the only DVD of Neil in concert, I probably would buy it, but really they could have produced a much better quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Neil Diamond, but in a "music video" type format., November 22, 1998
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
I am a dedicated Neil Diamond fan, and was really looking forward to having a performance of his on DVD. Upon receipt of the disc, I was disappointed to find that the recording was done in Dolby Digital PCM, two channel stereo instead of the 5.1 channel surround format that you would expect for a live Neil Diamond performance. I would have expected more! However, my Yamaha DSP did a good job of compensating for a mediocre audio format.
The performance was good, but in some cases you would hear the backup symphony, and then notice there was no symphony anywhere in the concert. This added to the "music video" feeling throughout the performance. One part of the performance flashed between Diamonds' on-stage presence and an off-stage music video performance. I was very impressed with the "Jazz Singer", and thought this performance would be of comparable quality. Unfortunately it came up short.
If it weren't for Neil Diamond's classic quality singing, I would have given this performance 3 stars instead of the above 4. A note to the savy shopper: Dolby Digital does NOT necessarily mean Digital 5.1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just One star for adequate concert footage!, September 23, 2004
By 
Michael Alan Smith (Brookston, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
By The Way this applies to both Neil's Greatest Hits Live DVD and STAGES DVD. Tell ya if all of sudden all our audio CD's get lost over the years, yet the DVD's still exist, and if the generation in the next century ever discover them, it would send the wrong impression on the way Neil had his concerts, length, and ect.

With the Greatest Hits Live comes up short as it only has a handfull of songs, and the Headed For The Future section is a shame, I would of had the LIVE version included in the video first and offered up the studio version to the last section. Plus I would of wanted to hear Cracklin' Rosie, Song Sung Blue, Red Red Wine, Thank The Lord For The Nighttime, Holly Holy, The Story of My Life, The American Popular Song, Forever In Bluejeans(REPRISE). Also it's TOO short! Just doesn't chase away our 'Neilie's'. Neil's voice and actions are great in this DVD, but it lacks adequate concert footage.

As for the STAGES DVD. I would of included the ENTIRE concert. We missed a great opportunity to see Neil play the piano during the Yes I Will/Lady Magdelene Medley, The guitar action that Neil gave Cherry Cherry, Red Red Wine, and The Boat That I Row is missing. Also Neil's stage movements and actions with Holly Holy, Soolaimon, Shilo, Forever In Blue Jeans and the songs from the TCO album are missing. Also it would of been interesting to see Neil in the studio and digging out those tapes for the STAGES album.

What also I'm getting at is that we have those audio CD's for a great roadtrip or party, but nothing that can last a while on our TV sets and DVD players. If you only count TWO DVD's that are no more than an hour long, those really don't help me. Greatest Hits Live and STAGES is just nothing but a concert sampler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Diamond! Need I say more?, October 3, 2004
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
Neil is a class act and to see him in a more intimate setting where he is more able to interact with the audience is wonderful! Neil is a MUST SEE act! This is a MUST OWN for any Neil fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEELING DOWN? WATCH THIS DVD! ! !, March 20, 2005
By 
Vic Setterholm (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
I have always liked Mr. Diamond, and this DVD (the only one at Amazon) did not disappoint me. Whenever I feel down, I just put it on and his exuberance and positiveness bring me up to a good mood. It may be an older performance, but it is ageless.

I recommend it to anyone who likes quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pitiful at best, May 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
I have seen Neil Diamond in concert three times. This DVD does him absolutely no justice. The small venue seems to sap the energy out of him. He lacks fire and enthusiasm. It appears that he is just out on the stage singing his songs, just trying to get through the show. I am extremely disappointed with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 10 Karat Diamond, September 8, 2006
By 
Rose Leith (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live (DVD)
If you have never seen a Neil Diamond concert, this DVD makes it clear why Neil Diamond isn't a diamond in the rough, but is the real thing. There is just the band, the audience and the man himself with that fantastic voice. No need for anything else. Sit back and enjoy!!! Rose Leith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live
Neil Diamond - Greatest Hits Live by Peter Israelson (DVD - 1997)
$11.98 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.