Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great reusable dust mask
I work in a wood shop. We're constantly making more dust than we can handle in an enclosed space.
I got very tired of buying more dust masks. Not to mention felt incredibly wasteful when I did it.
This mask is comfortable, doesn't fog up my work goggles, and I never need to worry about going through disposables at an alarming rate again.
Published on December 3, 2009 by J. Mizzi

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Fit, But Good Filtration
I purchased this mask for evening jogs, when the pollen plays havoc with my allergies. First the good: the filter works well in keeping out unwanted particles, which is the most one can ask for in a mask. Now for the bad, if you are an average American male, the fit is lousy on two counts. One, the head straps are too long, or big, which makes for a lose fit. Two, the...
Published on November 25, 2011 by Menkaure


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great reusable dust mask, December 3, 2009
By 
J. Mizzi "Aceofspades" (El Cerrito, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I work in a wood shop. We're constantly making more dust than we can handle in an enclosed space.
I got very tired of buying more dust masks. Not to mention felt incredibly wasteful when I did it.
This mask is comfortable, doesn't fog up my work goggles, and I never need to worry about going through disposables at an alarming rate again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must if you have severe allergies!, February 28, 2011
By 
T. P. (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I live in Las Vegas where dust is a constant, however it's the months of March and April that render me practically useless. I also go to school at UNLV (which has one of the highest pollen counts in the Vegas valley) and I would normally go to school with a disposable painter's respirator. Those got funky really quickly, as well as would crush really easily in my backpack. Then my step dad found this as he's a bit of a handyman. This mask is "crushable" and will still keep its form when over your face.

It comes with plenty of replaceable liner filters. And earplugs as you can see. I suppose that would be more for people doing a job with a loud generator for painting or something.

Sure, you look a little weird just walking around outside with this on, but as I always tell people when they ask about it "It's not on you or it's snot on you. Take your pick."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very effective in filtering out air pollution, pollen, dirt, and especially cigarette smoke!, April 12, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
London is a very polluted city and I live right in the middle of this pollution center (one wonders why they decided to have the 2012 Olympics here! bad idea!). Within a month of moving here, I started to notice this nasty cough and runny nose I constantly have whenever I go anywhere outside my door. If it isn't all the smokers who puff like chimneys outside, it's the automobile exhaust, dirt from the running trains and subways, and the heavily perfumed women (and men!) who walk around and cause me to have these coughing fits. I used to come home with a really bad runny nose and have to blow it...the stuff that comes out is completely black and I don't want to gross you out, but you get the picture. I bought this mask because I've finally had enough. I want to be able to actually breath outside without having to worry about developing a respiratory disease by the time I leave this city! This mask is a savior. People might stare at you (especially the kids) when you wear it outside, but what's more important -- your health or the stares of people who don't know that pollution/smoking is killing them? I walk around proudly with this outside. People stare but I smile behind my mask because now I can actually breath without coughing nonstop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Fit, But Good Filtration, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I purchased this mask for evening jogs, when the pollen plays havoc with my allergies. First the good: the filter works well in keeping out unwanted particles, which is the most one can ask for in a mask. Now for the bad, if you are an average American male, the fit is lousy on two counts. One, the head straps are too long, or big, which makes for a lose fit. Two, the face-cup is way too small to cover mouth, nose & chin all at the same time; so unless you have that rare combination of a large head with a very small face, this mask will not fit properly. Another disadvantage, at least in my case, is that the filter-pad is fairly thick, which makes for difficult breathing during heavy physical activities---but I suppose that's the price of blocking out pollen and dust. After two tries, I've stashed this mask in a drawer and went back to wearing a simple bandana. Consider your needs carefully before spending money on this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked well, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I purchased this mask to use while cutting the lawn and raking leaves. I have one of those leaf vacuums that I tow behind my garden tractor that makes quite a bit of dust. I wore the mask for 4 hours yesterday while cutting grass and vacuuming leaves. The mask worked perfectly. After I was finished and removed the mask I had none of the irritation I usually have with just a paper mask. Temperature was in the mid 60's, and it was comfortable. I'll have to see if that continues when the temperatures get warmer. Ear plugs worked great. The only issue I had was with the nose piece. It took a little adjusting to get it comfortable. I think as I wear the mask more that will not be an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for burning man, velcro bad for hair, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
We used this at Burning Man this year and it works well for filtering. The replacement filters that come with it were enough for a week but there was not much dust storm this year of course.
The only complain we have is that the velcro while theoretical nice is a real bad thing when you have to wear the mask around your neck and put it up and down several times a day. It tangles with ones hair and clothes and quick up and down is not possible after 2-3 hours wearing it. Would be much better if it came with some other closure - that was more adjustable for different head sizes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating p.o.s., December 17, 2011
By 
ET Call home (British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I work with wood too, and based on another users praise I gave this a try. Today I tore it to shreds and threw it in the garbage. Maybe my face isnt fat enough but that metal band just dug into my nose. Those attachable earplugs contantly get caught in the velcro and the velcro straps were difficult to get on. Plus as soon as i try to put on safety glasses they fog up, in other words the thing leaks towards the top. I like the earplugs though..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Mask!, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I'm allergic to many trees, grasses and weeds, so I have to wear a substantial mask whenever I work in the yard. I bought one of these a few years ago and I recently bought another so I can alternate when I throw one in the washer. I can wear this mask comfortably for hours at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toxic fumes, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I purchased this mask because I was working with a solvent that was know to cause neurological problems. The mask filtered well, although I did find the straps a little awkward to keep straight; also because it is neoprene the heat builds up quickly under
it in warm weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mask for outdoor allergens - I use for cycling, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Neoprene Carbon Mask - Multi-Purpose Dust Mask with 2 Carbon Filters and 10 External Filters (Misc.)
I bought this mask because I ride outdoors in TX and there are year-round allergies here. The mask doesn't have nasty vapors, it comes with replacement carbon and other filters (that come in plastic "zip" cases). It washes up great (I washed twice before wearing but wash at least 4x week now - after every ride - but air dry it - and don't wash with the filters). For my purposes I wound up cutting off the part that goes over the head (didn't need it). Sometimes I don't even wear the filters inside the mask and just wear the neoprene to keep bugs out of my mouth while riding! Good deal. The aluminum clip over the nose molds to your nose and bends and shapes repeatedly. Fogging when wearing sunglasses? Eh - comes and goes depending on which filter wearing or no filter. Great protection from cold and rain, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.